Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel Reviews

23 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

23
Order by:
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a beautiful wedding in Boston in a great location, this venue is for you. We had a lot of guests traveling from out of town and they all enjoyed the location so much. They were able to explore nearby restaurants and other things, such as Lawn on D. It is also so close to the airport. Besides the location, the service at the Renaissance is top notch. Jennifer F. is amazing and was so great to work with. She is so accommodating and calm. I probably sent her an email a day leading up the wedding. She was able to provide everything we wanted! I cried when I saw how beautiful the ballroom looked for the wedding, and the food was some of the best I have ever had. The appetizers were so unique and unlike any other venue. If you like seafood, definitely go with the Renaissance. The suites and guest rooms are also so spacious. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for your venue. You can definitely trust the event staff to do an outstanding job!

    Sent on 09/04/2016
  • E

    Effie · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On September 12th, we held our wedding reception at the Renaissance Waterfront hotel. We had the fortune to work with two great coordinators at the hotel, Sarah Traub and Jennifer Fruscillo. Jennifer really went above and beyond with EVERYTHING for our wedding.

    In all honesty, we know that it is hard to walk into an event or project that is already rolling along and we were concerned that something would be overlooked. We had booked the hotel almost two years prior and as you can imagine, a lot of back and forth happened during that time period. Jennifer captured EVERYTHING and more. She has been extremely attentive to our communications and paid attention to the smallest detail. She is pleasant and professional with everything that she does. It is obvious that the role of being an events coordinator is tedious and overall hard work. It is obvious that Jennifer can steadily roll along without flinching. It is impressive.

    The food was awesome, we had the beef w/lobster ravioli, chicken w/polenta and a vegetarian dish. All the food was served HOT and fresh. There were no complaints from the guests on the food, which is saying a lot for me! The venue was beautiful, we booked the ballroom with floor to ceiling windows (I believe it is called the Aegean ballroom). The hotel rooms were great and the service was above and beyond expectations. Would recommend this hotel for any event in the future.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is amazing! Right when I saw the place, I knew it was the one. Everything was handled so perfectly! Jennifer did an amazing job with coordinating everything!

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • User4300428 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best experience at the Renaissance for our wedding. Chelsea, Jillian, and Heather were all incredible and made both the planning and the actual wedding day seamless and perfect. Every detail was considered and we really felt taken care of from start to finish. The hall is gorgeous and our friends are still talking about how much they loved it. The event space is on its own floor separate from the rest of the hotel so you really feel like you have the place to yourself which is unique from other hotels. I HIGHLY recommend the renaissance!

    Sent on 08/04/2014
  • User3934185 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter selected this venue for the wedding reception because she loved the tall wide windows, the high ceilings and the location in the seaport area of Boston. We were very happy with our beautiful suites, the service, the quality of the food and drink and the friendliness of the staff. We worked with Sarah Traub along with our wedding planner, Courtney Graham and were most pleased with our the Renaissance. Many guests commented on how they loved this seaport area of Boston and remarked they would return at some point in the future.

    Sent on 02/26/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the Renaissance Boston Waterfront hotel! I recently had my wedding at the hotel and the experience was fabulous! The staff was extremely professional, the food was incredible! We have since received so many compliments from our guests. Sarah and Ashley were wonderful to work with!

    Sent on 11/02/2013
  • User3982469 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole Renaissance team, especially Sarah, Ingrid, Julie, were phenomenal. They made sure our every need was attended to..no ask was too much. They made us feel at home and made sure we didn't worry about anything.

    The location itself is fantastic, I love the Seaport area and it is right next to the water and restaurants. The layout is great too, but again, it was the team and their service.. throughout the planning process and right up to the last minute that made this an amazing experience.

    Sent on 03/20/2014
  • User2771607 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our wedding venue. Ashley and Lindsay were awesome, they did such a great job accommodating us, and were so easy to deal with through the entire process. Always friendly, always helpful. The food was delicious, and they really went to great lengths to make our day beautiful.

    Sent on 11/14/2012
  • S

    Susan · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter's wedding was magnificent!! The venue was beautiful, clean, bright, new; the attentiveness and the service was beyond superior between the Event Manager, Ashley Cakounes, the chef, Wallace, the waiters/waitresses (Sarah), the hotel accommodations for those who stayed over; the food--people are still raving about it; this was a wedding like no other. I will spread the word at every opportunity that the Renaissance is the best place to have a wedding!!!!!!

    Sent on 10/17/2012
  • A

    alexandra · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot describe how amazing it was to work with everyone at the Renaissance! Their attention to detail was impeccable and we could not have asked for more. From our first meeting with Lindsay until the day of the wedding, the process was nothing short of flawless! Even weeks after the wedding, people are still commenting about how delicious the food was and how stunning the venue looked :) Ashley, we cannot praise you enough...you are AMAZING at what you do! Thanks to everyone at the Renaissance for making our wedding absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 10/24/2012
  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Renaissance is an amazing facility to hold a wedding. They are the most helpful and accommodating individuals a bride could ask for. When my mother had issues with the first tasting, they offered us a second! Everything was customized to my specifications and when we walked in the door after being announced, it was as though Ingrid had made my exact vision come true.
    The food was amazing and I am continuing tor receive compliments about the hospitality of the servers. If I could do it all over again, I would not change a thing.

    Sent on 10/17/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with The Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel was truly amazing! The entire team was very personable! They were very flexible in helping us add our own personal touches to things. They made our wedding as perfect as can be for us from the very beginning! We are still hearing from our family and friends about how beautiful the room was and how delicious the food was!! Thank you to everyone at the Renaissance!

    Other great highlights of the venue:
    Amazing views of the harbor and Boston skyline.
    Many great, fun spots for photos in and around the hotel!

    Sent on 08/07/2012
  • N

    erin · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a wonderful time at our wedding, and the staff at the Hotel worked around the clock to ensure our wedding was the best day of our lives. The space was great, the food was excellent, the overall decor matched my theme of the night. But all of these elements aside, the details that the hotel staff provided and the assistance they provided made the night go so smoothly and made me much less stressed than I pictured myself as the bride being. They accommodated our every need as well as the needs of our guests, and we have gotten nothing but the best praise from our guests as to how wonderful and elegant of a wedding we had!

    Thank you and XO!!!
    Erin Leahy

    Sent on 06/05/2012
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at the Renaissance could not have been more helpful in planning our wedding. They made the reception really easy for us to plan and made sure the whole night ran smoothly. Their event staff has a lot of experience so I knew our wedding about be in good hands. A lot of my guests commented that they had never had restaurant quality food at a wedding before. I was really happy that the food served to our guests was of the same quality as at our tasting. The location was also perfect, close to major highways and the airport. Most of our guests choose to stay over so having the reception at a hotel made that very easy.

    Sent on 10/03/2011
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Renaissance hotel was the PERFECT place to have our reception. It was in a great location that was easily accessible from both the airport and all major highways. We fell in love with the modern decor of the hotel immediately. We also liked that there was a parking lot for $5 directly across the street from the hotel, so we didn't have to worry about burdening our guests with typical "Boston" parking prices. Our sales manager Lindsay Leete and Banquet coordinator, Ingrid Berberian really came through for us. The food was absolutely amazing and we are still getting compliments from many of our guests. The day of the wedding went incredibly smooth. Ingrid and Laurie (Banquet manager) coordinated with all of our vendors to make sure that everything was set up exactly how we had planned. They handled all of our "special requests" without hesitation. Our wedding could not have been any better. Thank you so much to everyone at the Renaissance for making it such a memorable event.

    Sent on 09/08/2010
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My parents and my husband and I were really happy with the planning leading up to the wedding, as well as the actual wedding day. All the details seemed perfect and the staff with whom we worked were reliable, flexible, and overall accommodating. I have recommended your venue to people who I know are getting married in the upcoming year.

    Sent on 08/05/2010
  • K

    Kristin & Thomas · Married on 10/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    EXCELLENT value for cost! Lindsay Leete and Ingrid Berberian are a pleasure to work with and helped us not only maintain composure throughout the process, they helped us focus on us and enjoy our wedding!

    Sent on 11/16/2009
  • A

    Allyson · Married on 03/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was an outstanding venue for our wedding. Our day was everything we hoped it would be. The hotel and facilities are beautiful and the staff is exceptional. 6 months later, our friends and family are still talking about how great the event (especially the food) was!

    Sent on 09/16/2009
  • I

    Ilene · Married on 07/28/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was a pleasure to deal with- Ashley was efficient and attentive to our needs and a pleasure to work with. The food was outstanding .Bill,a-v person, apparently did not check out p-a system in advance forcing us to turn it off during ceremony .Many out of town guests remarked at how lovely the hotel and accommodations were.Many guests complained that they were unable to valet park because hotel was unable to accommodate them.

    Sent on 08/15/2012
  • A

    Amy · Married on 12/31/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel was a pleasure to work with. They were accomodating and responsive to all of our wedding requests. I received positive feedback from the wedding guests, who complimented the service, staff and venue itself.

    Sent on 09/16/2009
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/04/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved it.

    Sent on 06/21/2011
  • P

    Danielle · Married on 03/11/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The hotel is very new and beautiful and in terms of price, reasonable. The service is excellent and the staff is friendly and accommodating, willing to let us use the halls to decorate the night before and lending us what we need for the preparations/storage before and during the ceremony. I think the problem was with my event coordinator (who is no longer there). We had a beautiful ceremony, but there were 3 things that I was not satisfied with. The coordinator did not show up until 10 minutes before the ceremony began, so everybody was pretty lost in terms of where and what. Also, the coordinator was supposed to make sure everything was perfect before I walked out, but the only thing she did was spread out my dress. She did not notice that everything was messy looking from the back! I don't see how she could've missed this, and wished I had asked a relative or friend to stand there instead. Basically, she didn't care. Last of all, there were numerous complaints from the guests about the lack of food during the cocktail hour. I purchased 6 hors per person in addition to 2 food stations, but the guests said they only saw 2-3 waiters w food in the first half hour. We're talking for 100 people here, so basically most people got nothing or if they're lucky 1 or 2 pieces. Thankfully, I had two stations set up, but the bulk of the money was spent on the hors, and I just don't understand how they can not have enough staff to make sure everyone gets their share of pieces which I was charged for, or why the coordinator didn't ensure this. Just make sure you address these things with the event coordinator (or make sure that she's a good one) beforehand and you'll be good to go. It would'be been perfect otherwise.

    Sent on 08/20/2012
  • User3683921 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    If I had written this review on the day after my wedding, I would've given five stars all around. We had an amazing event. Yes, the food was fabulous. I felt like we received alot of extra value with this downtown venue since we were given so many complimentary add-ons with our package, as well as bonus reward points to put toward future Marriott stays. The suite was amazing and our guests loved the location.

    In the weeks following our event, however, we had a few billing issues arise that took several e-mails/phone calls and lots of prodding on my part to get worked out. We had paid the balance in full for our wedding 3 days prior to the event, but the Renaissance attempted to bill me a week later with a rather large amount that I could not imagine we actually owed. When I asked for an itemized receipt (several times), they could not manage to provide one. After going back and forth during my honeymoon and after, we finally resolved it and they reimbursed the charges to my credit card. They also attempted to charge my parents for their hotel room that was included as "complimentary" in our package/contract. I do not think these issues would've happened if our event hadn't changed hands a few weeks prior to our date, as Sarah was not fully aware of everything we had finalized with Ashley. That being said, Sarah was very sweet and handled these issues with care. We eventually worked it all out. All in all, we were really happy with our wedding and would plan it again at Renaissance in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 11/17/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review