Ray the DJ Reviews

321 | Tempe, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

321 Reviews for Ray the DJ

Recommended by 99%

321
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

11 User photos

Ray the DJ 1
Ray the DJ 2
Ray the DJ 3
Ray the DJ 4
Ray the DJ 5
Ray the DJ 6
Ray the DJ 7
+ 5
Sort by:
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 03/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Clint and I had a blast at our wedding and so did our guests. Our main review from our guests was how FUN it was and we think so much of this had to with the way DJ Dan helped us plan the timeline and play the right tunes the day of. We were so impressed

    Sent on 05/03/2016

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Thank you Caitlin! We love to keep our clients happy!
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 01/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These people are amazing!! I love the website and how you can plan everything to a t!

    Sent on 05/06/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Chelsea, We're so happy that you like the online system - we do too! Looking forward to assisting you as you plan your wedding!
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 01/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray the DJ was easy to work with and we were very happy with the service. You get assigned whatever DJ is available on your event date. We got assigned Marcus and he was an awesome DJ. Marcus made sure that my guests danced the entire reception, helped with the cake cutting and games, he even checked in with us to move up our sparkler exit because we had lost a lot of guests toward the end of the night. I would definitely recommend Ray the DJ to other brides.

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • User4294795 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeremy from Ray the DJ was phenomenal! He personally took the time to go over each and every detail we wanted for our wedding. He was so great about communication and everything was flawless for our reception. He was extra prepared for everything and accommodated all of my detail-oriented requests. Their online portal made it super easy for us to fully customize our wedding and all the music that was played. We would recommend Ray the DJ to anyone who wants a great party and a flawless reception.

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Ray the DJ for our reception, and they did a great job! Marcus was our DJ and he was awesome. He kept the music going, and made sure he was playing music that we liked. We had a few last minute changes in the agenda during the reception and he stayed on top of everything making sure they didn't look like last minute changes. He took the time to meet with us before the event so that he could get to know us. This definitely helped him make sure our guests had a great time! We would certainly tell any of our friends to hire Marcus!

    Sent on 01/03/2016

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Sarah,

    Thank you , thank you, thank you!!!
  • P

    Patrick and Meredith · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Marcus was the best. Throughout the entire process he was responsive and very professional - he met with us on numerous occasions to ensure we were on the same page. His setup at the venue was great, and he did a fantastic job. I've been to dozens of weddings in my life and seen how important it is to have a good DJ, and Marcus was it! Marcus provided the music for both the ceremony and reception, and it was flawless.

    His booth was very classy, and even had some awesome light graphics for our grand entrance. If I could give Marcus and Ray the DJ even more stars, we would! Music is such an important part of the event, and we couldn't be happier with how things turned out. Days later our guests are still emailing and texting us about how much fun they had.

    Thank you, Ray the DJ and specifically DJ Marcus for making our day the greatest day of our lives.

    Sent on 11/25/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Patrick & Meredith,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services. We are especially happy that you were so happy!!!
  • User6038875 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we were planning our wedding, we looked at these reviews and discounted ones that were 5 stars across the board assuming they were not being hard enough graders or objective enough. And I say that knowing I just filled out 5 stars for all areas of my review.

    Marcus at Ray the DJ provided the music for our ceremony, dinner and reception, and to say he was amazing would be an understatement. (When you're done reading this just call them and book Marcus. Seriously, you won't be disappointed.)

    We met via Skype a few times and our personalities all clicked. Marcus quickly understood what type of wedding we were looking for. He asked great questions, did his research well, and recommended approaches that fit with our style and the type of event we wanted. It was comforting to know we were in sync so early on. He even recommended some things we would not have thought of or planned for. Before the event. we were supremely confident he would knock it out of the park. And even with those lofty expectations, he still managed to exceed them.

    We had a small wedding but he did a great job of reading the crowd and mixing in different types of music until he found the group's sweet spot (90's hip hop). It's tough to explain how a DJ manages to keep a dance floor alive while looking for the group's groove so I'll just say this. During the entire evening, Marcus played one song that cleared the dance floor (a bad request from an attendee) but within 20 seconds he had mixed that song out and moved on to a classic that pulled everyone right back.

    When you're wedding is over, you expect to hear the basic compliments. "We really enjoyed your wedding. It was so nice. Etc." We heard how awesome the music was. How great Marcus was. People kept bringing up how well he wove in different styles of music and read the crowd. So in a nutshell, if keeping the party going is an art, Marcus is Picasso.

    So go and book him right now...before someone else does.

    Sent on 12/09/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Oh my, we're blushing - with pride! Thank you for your amazing review! We're so happy that Marcus (and Ray the DJ) were able to be part of your concept for your day! We never take for granted that it is your day and do our best to fit our services to your vision! Congratulations and Best Wishes to you both!
  • User5633603 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus from Ray the DJ was excellent! Played all of our random requested songs in a way that made sense. Kept nearly everyone on the dance floor all evening. We'very received a lot of positive feedback from family and friends on Marcus. Easy to work with. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/21/2015
  • D

    Daniella · Married on 11/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeremy was our DJ and he did a great job at our reception. My husband and I had a few calls with him prior to the wedding to discuss our style and the kind of music we liked; I thought the Ray the DJ planning software was really helpful during this process. Jeremy kept guests engaged throughout the night and, from what I saw, worked well with venue staff. Overall, very pleased and would recommend!

    Sent on 01/17/2016
  • C

    Candace · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray is AMAZING!! He is on everyone's "Top Vendors to Work With" list and I can totally see why. He played the perfect music during cocktail hour and dinner and then kicked up the music for dancing. I loved that everyone was on the dance floor the entire reception and that's in part to the crowd but also to Ray. I didn't choose too many songs for specific things but he nailed every recommendation. If you are trying to decide who to use- STOP. Choose Ray and you will be so glad you did!!

    Sent on 11/23/2015
  • Olivia

    Olivia · Married on 11/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Robert from Ray the DJ. He was wonderful! He was always easy to get a hold of, he was always there for advice and he was really easy to work with. We had some minor changes the day of the wedding and on top of being on time,he was really flexible.

    Sent on 11/10/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Olivia,
    We are so happy for you! Also happy that Robert was a good fit for you! He's a good guy! :)
  • User5647571 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus with Ray the DJ was phenomenal! He was a true professional who led our wedding timeline at a perfect pace and kept a great energy throughout the entire event. We were a lively bunch and Marcus fit right in! Marcus executed everything flawlessly and I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone who is looking for a DJ.

    Sent on 11/28/2015
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 10/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus was fantastic. Multiple employees at the resort commented that in years of doing weddings, they had not seen a DJ as good as Marcus.

    Sent on 11/04/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Thank you Ryan! We're thrilled that you were so happy!
  • User4810842 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you James for being such an awesome DJ at our wedding! Everyone, including grandparents and younger children loved the music and flow of the reception. We highly recommend Ray the DJ as they are so easy to work with and have wonderful DJ's!

    Sent on 07/25/2015
  • User6031105 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Ray the DJ for our wedding, and they were wonderful! The price was very reasonable, and the service was superb. Andy was our DJ, and he did an excellent job, both in helping us prepare and in making sure the actual day went smoothly. His expertise in planning our reception was especially invaluable. I would highly recommend Ray the DJ!

    Sent on 12/07/2015
  • User5571948 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend Ray the DJ! The initial point of contact is Breanna, who handles the bookings. She was very helpful and kept the bride and groom on track. The DJ we had at the wedding reception was very good, had everyone dancing and played exactly what the Bride and Groom requested! Very happy with this vendor!

    Sent on 10/30/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Thank you so much and thanks from Breanna as well. She is a huge part of making sure the DJ knows your wishes. We appreciate her VERY much and are glad to know that you do as well!
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most amazing DJ team in Arizona! DJ Jeremy was PHENOMENAL! I got all kinds of compliments on our choice of DJ - he read the crowd and played music that complimented the music we chose - we NEVER had a lull in dancing. He was an amazing master of ceremonies and made sure that everyone was where they needed to be for toasts, bouquet toss, garter, and cake cutting. He was funny, friendly and super approachable - we never had any problems asking questions or getting answers. Amazing company and amazing guy! Highly highly highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/31/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Kaitlyn, Thank you so much for your kind words! Our team works hard to make sure that your day is special so we're very glad that it was!!!
  • G

    Ginia · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have been recommending Ray the DJ for years! It was great to finally be able use his services for my own daughter's wedding! They were the first service that we booked (even before the venue) so that we could make sure to get them. And it was a perfect event. Jeremy made sure that everything ran smoothly, played everything on the play list that the kids requested and really kept the dance floor full until the last song! Great job as usual!

    Sent on 12/19/2015
  • K

    Kailey · Married on 08/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very happy with our dj! Jeff was awesome! and made the reception very personal to us!!

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • User5062808 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've loved working with Ray the DJ! They've been so helpful and have an awesome portal for choosing which songs we want for our wedding. Very organized and easy!

    Sent on 05/19/2015
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ Jeremy from Ray the DJ was absolutely fantastic! He made our wedding so fun that when the last song played no one wanted to leave! We wish we could've ordered a bigger dance floor because we didn't have room for all the people who wanted/were dancing to his amazing musical choices!

    Sent on 10/27/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    It's the sign of fun party when you wish for a larger dance floor! So glad that you and your guests had fun and that we could be part of your day! Thank you!
  • K

    Kura · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ended up getting Jeff, and happy we did! Jeff is awesome and knows how to keep the party going non stop all night. Thanks Jeff and Ray the dj. Will definitely recommend Jeff to everyone!

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • D

    David · Married on 05/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire process of working with Ray the DJ was seamless. After contacting them by phone they led us to their website which was very interactive which were able to select our music selections. Breanna from the office contacted us to finalize details. Andy who is assigned to our wedding then called us to further finalize our timelines pronunciation of names and any specializations of requests. All equipment was set up well in advance of our ceremony and the delivery was as promised.

    Sent on 06/03/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    David, We're thrilled that our crew served you so well!
  • J

    Janet · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray is amazing. He is a true professional and so easy to work with. As a local wedding planner, I have had the pleasure of working with Ray for many many years and have always been happy with his and his teams' services. So when it came to selecting a DJ for my own wedding, there was no question who I wanted to emcee our day and keep the dance floor full! He truly made the day flow seamlessly with no dead air time. He really pays attention throughout the day and picks up on the tiniest nuances. For example, a few words my groom said in his vows were reflections from our first dance coming later and Ray caught it and talked about it as he was announcing our first dance. Our first dance was choreographed with two songs pieced together, of course they were put together perfectly. We selected a very old song and a new version of it for our anniversary dance and Ray made it fade together perfectly for the winners celebrating 61 years. Basically, he nailed it, as usual. Thank you so much Ray for orchestrating an absolutely beautiful day for us. The only thing we wish we could do differently is have another hour or two on the dance floor!!! :) I will continue to refer Ray again and again and look forward to continuing to work together! XOXO

    Sent on 08/23/2015

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Thank you Janet! To be chosen by a wedding planner to do her own wedding is really our honor! We are so happy that you chose Ray the DJ!
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Get Jeff from Ray the DJ! He is THE best DJ we have every heard/seen! A couple of my friends used him for their weddings and I knew we had to have him!! Very professional and definitely kept the floor busy and knew when to cut songs because no one was dancing and he knew how to pump up the crowd!!!

    Sent on 08/12/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review