Rare Form Band LLC Reviews

96 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for Rare Form Band LLC

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

96

20 User photos

Order by:
  • L

    Scott · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Among the myriad decisions couples must make regarding their wedding day, perhaps none is more sigificant than the entertainment. Towards that end, selecting Rare Form to play at our wedding reception was, quite possibly, the single BEST decision we made and we truly can't say enough about the incredible performance they submitted.
    Leading up to the wedding, the Band Manager (Donna) was extremely attentive and responsive to our needs, ensuring every last detail was accounted for while also being extremely sensiitve to our needs and the overall vibe we were trying to achieve with our reception. We always felt like we were in the most capable hands throughout the planning stages.
    As for the wedding day itself, it could not have gone any smoother. Donna placed an unexpected (but much appreciated) call to us the night prior to ensure everything was set and confirm any last-minute details. It was an extremely personal touch that really demonstrated how invested the band was in our special day.
    In closing, we can guarantee that you will NOT be disappointed should you choose Rare Form to perform at your wedding. Their song selection is as diverse as it is extensive and they earned nothing but rave reviews from all of our guests. They made the reception so memorable and special, I can't thank them enough.
    Seriously, book these guys NOW!!!

    Sent on 01/18/2012
  • J

    Jamie A. · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare Form is simply spectacular! From the moment we heard the band play at the Boston Harbor Hotel summer concert series, we knew instantly that they were the band for us! They are high quality musicians who have a wide range of vocals - with an ability to play everything from Louis Armstrong to Black Eyed Peas to Cyndi Lauper ... and sound exactly like each artist/group! We would definitely recommend them to anyone who wants to dance the entire night. They kept the crowd on their feet from the minute the reception started. The band and manager were very accommodating - I requested a special song for my husband since it was also his birthday. And the band learned and played the song to perfection! Thank you so much Rare Form for helping to make it such a special day!

    Sent on 02/20/2012
  • M

    Maria · Married on 07/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Donna & Band,
    When it came time for our middle daughter Janelle's wedding we had no idea where or when we would have the wedding...so many decisions to make with photographer, florist, etc etc . THE ONE THING WE DIDN'T HAVE TO EVEN THINK TWICE ABOUT WAS WHAT BAND WE WOULD HIRE!! RARE FORM was OUTSTANDING at our first daughter Jena's wedding!! Our guests are still talking about the DiCarlo/Lepore wedding 2 1/2 yrs later we are still hearing from guests "that was the best band ever, we had so much fun at your wedding!!!!! "
    Thank you RARE FORM, we can't wait to enjoy your unbelievable talent once again !

    P.S. Did I forget to mention we have one more daughter who already agrees RARE FORM will be at her wedding some day too !


    Maria & Joe DiCarlo

    Sent on 01/24/2013
  • S

    Stephen · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare Form rocks the house every time they play together, no matter who they play for, they go all out and entertain to the masses.

    Sent on 01/16/2012
  • K

    Kelley · Married on 09/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They played for my sister's wedding and really made the night. I can't say enough about how good they are. The dance floor was packed all night. They took requests with the bride and groom's approval and every song was great! A band is more expensive but worth every penny. All the guests raved about them. They responded quickly to requests and were consummate professionals. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/29/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare Form was the single factor that made the wedding a success. Guest after guest commented on how great the band was. While it normally takes a while for the dancing to pick up at events like this, people began dancing before the salads were even served! Rare form provided a personal flair that completely suited our style and personalities. The band was very accomodating, professional and responsive to our requests. A+ all around.

    Sent on 09/12/2009
  • M

    Michael · Married on 08/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Why this band isn't more well known in Boston, I simply don't know. We picked them because they sounded great, were among the more reasonably priced 8-piece bands we could find, and when we saw them at another function, the dance floor was full! The week before our wedding we saw them play at Rowes Wharf, and we knew we had something special when diners at the surrounding restaurants left their tables and started dancing! We weren't disappointed, and our guests are still talking about our band. We could not have been happier!

    Sent on 10/18/2009
  • B

    Patty · Married on 12/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Based on the referral of a friend, we hired the Rare Form Band to play at our wedding reception. Six months later, we continue to hear rave reviews about our reception. We owe much credit to Rare Form for keeping their promise to have our guests on their feet and dancing as much as possible.

    The manager of Rare Form was accomodating and flexible from the planning e-mails through the reception - making it all very easy for us. The band has a music selection list beyond what any other band we reviewed offered. With it, we were able to select a mix of music from 70's to modern pop and from jazz to classical to Christmas music (for a December wedding). They played it all with style, energy and pizazz! One guest commented that it's the first wedding they've seen so many people dancing between the salad and entree course. Whenever the guests moved onto the floor, Rare Form responded by picking up the tempo. When the guest sat back down, the jazz/classical appropriate dinner music continued. After dinner, the dance floor was full through to the last dance. If energy and fun is what you want in a wedding band, we highly recommend Rare Form.

    Sent on 06/09/2009
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 08/21/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare Form Band played my wedding and people STILL talk about them 10 years later. They were amazing, they played amazing music and I loved them. We danced all day. They were able to play music from the 60's to 2000's. I am now in the wedding industry as a photographer and I recommend them to my brides. They are amazing.

    Sent on 04/25/2014
  • Rachel

    Rachel T.

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most Amazing Wedding Band!

    If we could give more than 5 stars to this fantastic band we absolutely would! Thank you all SO much for the best night of our lives! You played every song perfectly, especially our first dance! We loved it more than the original :) They also played an amazing Hora, which was extremely important for our Jewish wedding. Everyone has been raving about the band ever since, and my family is from New York so that is high praise! We'd get married again just to have you play!

    Sent on 10/27/2019
  • User7293164 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The band was amazing I would highly recommend! They were very flexible with our song selection for the day of and kept everyone on their feet the entire time. It was a pleasure to have them!

    Sent on 01/06/2017
  • L

    Lynn · event on: 07/14/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Rare Form was awesome. Music and vocals were commented on by all the guests as being great!
    Highly recommend this band as they can play anything, and the lead singers have voices that can perform any song!

    Sent on 03/05/2014
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 08/27/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare for was everything we could have hoped for. They played our first dance song as if it were the original, exactly the way we envisioned it. They were super open to working with us to create the ceremony and reception we were dreaming of!

    Sent on 01/17/2017
  • B

    Bryan · Married on 06/13/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife, myself, our families, and our friends were all very impressed with Rare Form. We also really appreciated their willingness to stay an hour longer (caterer was running very late). Talented musicians and entertainers - thanks so much!

    Sent on 06/18/2015
  • J

    Jeanne · Married on 04/25/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great band, lots of fun at my nephew's wedding.

    Sent on 05/02/2014
  • Jenalee

    Jenalee · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare Form is an awesome band. Everyone loved them. They play all the great old stuff all the way to Lady Gaga. We were so happy with them! I would def choose them again for another event.

    Sent on 09/06/2011
  • P

    Patty · Married on 05/08/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome band. They weren't available for my wedding but we wanted to hire them.

    Sent on 12/16/2010
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 05/24/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a wedding coordinator and have worked with a number of bands. Rare Form is unique in that 95% of the time they sound like the band they are covering. Everything from Hootie and the Blowfish, The Knack, Stray Cats and John Cougar. They offer a huge range of sound and style. High recommendations!

    Sent on 06/16/2015
  • Miriam

    Miriam · Married on 07/23/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band was one of several recommended by our venue and they were phenomenal! Weeks later, our friends and family were still singing their praises!

    One reason we went with Rare Form was that they had both a male and female vocalist. This, along with a trumpet for swing standards really round out the sound and musical options. Their ability to mimic the original recordings is absolutely uncanny.

    On personalizing the night, we had only a few requests and left a lot of the musical set up to the band. They read the crowd well and kept the dance floor full all night long while still sticking to our requests. Best of all, they picked up on a couple inside jokes and carried those through the night as well. (Science!)

    We’d highly recommend them!

    Sent on 09/04/2017
  • User3973740 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Amazing!!!!! You know a band is amazing when no one, old or young, is sitting in their seat for the evening. Everyone was dancing and some even offered them extra money to continue playing into the night! By far the best wedding band I have ever heard and seen and have been lucky enough to have them at both my and my sister's weddings.

    Sent on 03/17/2014
  • N

    Ngoc A. · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rare Form made my wedding even more special!!! We received so many compliments on the band after the wedding from friends and family!! Thank you so much for making our day extra special!!!

    Sent on 07/09/2012