Ramekins Culinary School, Events & Inn Reviews

31 | Sonoma, CA
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for Ramekins Culinary School, Events & Inn

Recommended by 96%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • B

    Blair · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ramekins catered our wedding, and everything they provided was fantastic! From the passed hors d'oeuvres to the local cheese station to the cones of the best french fries ever, I consistently heard one thing from my guests - "This is the best wedding food EVER." The service was impeccable and professional, and communication was easy and prompt. I couldn't be happier with the value we received from the entire Ramekins experience, and highly recommend them for a wine country event!

  • L

    lynn · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we hired ramekins for our daughter and son in-laws wedding. everything from the tasting to the actual event was top notch! the food and service was amazing. we went with family style service. the servers came to each table, surrounding it, and then at exactly the same time all presented the platters. they were beautifully done, and the dinner was delicious. we would highly recommend ramekins!!!!!

  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very friendly staff who accommodated our wishes, and helped guide us through the meal, linens, and table setting selection process. Our guests really enjoyed the cocktail hour service, family style dinner, and dessert/wedding cake buffet. The tables were set beautifully. The servers were pleasant to our guests and helped answer questions about diet restrictions. Everything was perfect!

  • R

    Rosemarie · Married on 06/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The minute we walked in Ramekins Culinary School, Events & Inn, we fell in love with it. It had a very intimate, rustic, Italian village feel. We love all the decors and furniture in the property. You get to see the chefs in action as well. The room were we stayed is so well-appointed. Susan who helped as through the wedding process was very accommodating, knowledgeable and responsive to all our endless emails. She went above and beyond making sure we get what we want for our wedding. The food and service was superb. All our guests kept telling how good the food was... From passed hor d'oeuvres to dessert. It was first class! The servers were so courteous and friendly. Right after the ceremony, one server went out to give us own hor d'oeuvres plates while we were having pictures taken and then after the reception, we again have the dessert sampler plate he delivered to our room. The wine was flowing as well. Another surprise we got was a sweet note from them with a bag of gourmet goodies from Ramekins. You could just tell how they value their customers. Also, being in a Sonoma, they are less expensive than the other venues. Don't be afraid to stray away from vineyards because this venue though a culinary school is very lovely and beautiful. *Tons of place to photograph here. They even allowed us to use their adjacent property for our preceremony photos* We strongly recommend Ramekins to anyone getting married who wants one of s kind wedding in a wine country. Excellent excellent job!!!

  • K

    Kate · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Have received so many rave reviews about the food at my wedding and even from my a couple of guests who are professional chefs! We also hosted at Ramekins because of it being indoor/outdoors, close to Sonoma Square, and because of the flexibility they offered- everything we wanted to do for our wedding they could make work. I would highly recommend them for your wedding!

  • User5277587 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was amazing! Every single person mentioned something that they loved about it. I could not get enough of the Ahi tacos. Also, the staff was so attentive. They kept coming up to us to make sure we had what we needed, day of. In the weeks and months before Yvette & Ruby were very responsive. The tasting was one of the most fun days of the planning. I would recommend Ramekins highly to anyone planning any event. And next time we are in town, we plan to try a class. We love this place!

  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 08/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A foodie's dream caterer. Ramekins catered a family style meal at our wedding at Paradise Ridge Winery in Sonoma, and executed an outstanding meal that pleased even our toughest critics (including my husband)! All of our guests commented that the food was the best they've ever had at a wedding and that the presentation was just outstanding. To be honest, after our tasting, we booked Ramekins even before we found a venue. That's how impressed we were with our first impression! They do their job well!
    Yvette and Ruby were such a pleasure to work with. Responsive communication, flexible, accommodating, and detail oriented. They coordinated all of our rentals and made the process stress free for us to enjoy our big day.
    They are a little higher priced than other caterers in the area, but the quality of the food and their customer service more than make up for it. Highly recommend!

  • T

    terri · Married on 10/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ramekins Culinary School was the caterer for my daughters recent wedding in Sonoma. Susan, Kristen and Cameron were the people that we worked with and I cannot write enough positive thoughts about this caterer. We used the General's Daughter for our rehearsal dinner and Ramekins was our caterer, which was perfect for our 80 guests that came from around the world. We also used Ramekins as our caterer the next day at a Sonoma winery. The food was served family style, which I highly recommend. The hors' d hours were a treat to behold and would definitely recommend the beet salad. Their staff was professional at all times, and was so comforting that Susan was at both events, to make sure that everything was perfect…and it was. Cameron was constantly checking in with me as he was the banquet manager, to make sure everything was great. He even brought me out my own plate of their delicious beet salad. We had the choice between two caterers, and couldn't have been happier to have chosen Ramekins. Thank you.

  • C

    Cybil · Married on 02/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Ramekins' owned property The General's Daughter, which is an old Victorian house (right next to Ramekins) that before becoming a venue was a restaurant. We were looking for a venue that wasn't too large (a maximum of 70ish guests), had a lot of character and allowed our guests lots of places to dance, drink, chat, etc. We fell in love with the house before meeting the Ramekins staff.

    When we sat down with staff at Ramekins, we became even more enamored with the venue. The people here know what they are doing, they are professional and also easygoing and friendly. As for the venue, they offer most of what you need (with the exception of the flowers) and don't nitpick you with upcharges. Everything from the ceremony chairs to the china to the staffing was included in the venue and catering charge. They're also very accommodating, especially as things get a wee bit crazy as the wedding neared.

    Then there's the food!! Why am I not leading with the food! Really tasty. We had salmon, filet, tortellini, roasted vegetables. All of this was from local, sustainable sources and just delicious. We served everything family style and some of the tables even ordered seconds of the food due to popular demand.

    Our guests were not only raving about the food ... but also the service. It's just a great crew of people taking care of your party. Really impressed by the Ramekins team from the first meeting through to the end of the wedding reception. Everything was simply stellar.

  • J

    Joslyn · Married on 12/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ramekins catered our wedding at The General's Daughter. The food was exquisite! They pride themselves on using local, fresh, seasonal ingredients, and even have their own garden! There is so much variety and they were helpful in balancing the whole menu, from the passed hors d'oeuvres to the plated entrees. They were also very accommodating of our custom bar requests! During the event, the staff was very kind, efficient and unobtrusive. We got so many compliments from our guests on the food! Ramekins definitely defines Sonoma-style cuisine! We were blown away!!

  • User3645682 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ramekins provided catering for our small wedding at a Sonoma winery. We choose Ramekins for a our caterer because they had the most delicious food - which we knew would impress our most food- snob guests, but was still delicious and accessible enough for the less food-adventurous. The locally grown food (at their own farm) and carefully crafted dishes made me believer! Because of this we were willing to pay a little extra. In addition, because our wedding was small we weren't going to have a planner. Their staff was wonderful at working with me to make that work. They shared their knowledge and expertise to make sure the reception flowed smoothly. They were wonderfully understanding about helping set up additional items for us like placing favors, place cards, arranging the cake table, etc. I would HIGHLY recommend them to any bride!

  • L

    Laurabeth · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent in all respects. Responsive and professional through the whole process. Extremely accomodating of every request. Most importantly, the food was amazing! The salad was so fresh that the guests thought it had come from the garden below. People are still talking about the "fish that melts in your mouth". We were so glad we went with "family style" which allowed folks to have plenty of their favorites and to accomodate vegetarians and the like. At the request of the bride and groom they created a gelato bar with amazing flavors and toppings . . . still being discussed from the east coast to the west coast. Service was impeccable! Highly, highly recommend! Exceeded expectations!

  • User2326871 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at Anderson Ranch owned by Ramekins. They also did all of the cooking and serving for our wedding day. I could not be more happy with the final result of our wedding day. The venue was GORGEOUS, the food was amazing, and the staff were some of the nicest and professional people. All coordination leading up to the wedding day was superb. Highly recommended!!!

  • J

    Jillian · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We selected Ramekins to cater our August 2013 wedding. We chose Ramekins because right from the start we enjoyed working with Susan. Susan took the time gather details of our likes and dislikes and from there designed a tasting menu. The day of our tasting, we were so impressed with the presentation, attention to detail, flexibility to make augmentations, and quality and taste of the food. Susan was such a pleasure to work with - she was always willing to work with our requests and menu/quantity augmentations, and quickly got us updated pricing invoices based on our changes. We were so happy with Ramekins that we also had them cater our Rehearsal Dinner at General's Daughter - which was fantastic.
    Ramekins surpassed our expectations the day of our wedding. Not only did the food look and taste wonderful, but the wait/bar staff were so friendly and efficient and helped our guests to relax and enjoy themselves. I highly recommend Ramekins for any catering event and particularly enjoyed working with Susan.

  • User3441307 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked all around the Bay Area for a venue that would allow us to have an outdoor component to our event (especially the ceremony), but not require us to end our event before 10 pm. This specific criteria led us to Ramekins, but we chose and would recommend Ramekins for so many more reasons!

    We had our ceremony and cocktail hour outside in the gorgeous courtyard, then dinner and dancing inside the beautiful dining room, and late-night pizza outside by the wood oven. The entire venue is impeccably appointed, landscaped, and decorated, but without feeling stuffy at all. Yvette and Christine were wonderful to work with. They were extremely responsive and helpful. We always felt like we were receiving the highest level of service and personal attention, even though they have many events there each week. Our wedding day went so smoothly. Everyone at Ramekins was so attentive and communicated well with all of our vendors and guests. The food was absolutely AMAZING (a huge reason to choose Ramekins!), from the hors d'oeuvres to the sit down dinner to the wood oven pizza.

    We also loved that we could book the 6 rooms in Ramekins' Inn upstairs. We stayed up there with our families and all of the girls got ready on-site. This made everything so easy and a little bit more relaxed!

    All in all, I cannot say enough good things about Ramekins, their service, and their staff! We had a wonderful wedding day!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are a foodie...look no further! Ramekins is a beautiful venue. We had both our ceremony and reception at the same location. Everyone we interacted with over the past 1 year were so professional and helpful. Our wedding was exactly what we had hoped for and more! The food was amazing. We were so pleased to have chosen Ramekins for our celebration!

  • C

    Chris · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I started writing a review but ran out of space! Message me and I will gladly elaborate.

    Another 5 star review, but we are genuinely proud to have had our wedding at Ramekins. Raving reviews from all guests, as it’s beautiful, functional, convenient, and unique. I dare you to find a square foot of that venue that doesn’t belong in a magazine. Great main dining room where we did little to decorate and it still looked very nice. Picturesque courtyard was perfect for ceremony, cocktails, late-night lounging and fresh pizza from the pizza oven outside (big crowd-pleaser!).

    Yvette brings in most of these 5 star ratings on her own in responsiveness, professionalism, and flexibility. We worked with her for 10+ months, and she always was very thorough with her responses. Granted sometimes it wasn’t a same-day response, but concurrently talked to the chef re:seasonal produce, modify furniture rentals, and re-structure the purchase order – that stuff takes time (remember that all you bridezillas)! But responses were mostly immediate anyway =)

    Food is what inked the deal (tasting was amazing). Chef Doug is very accomplished and the people that prepared the food that day know what they’re doing. Farm-to-table, very fresh, seasonal, organic, all that goodness. Bar is a great value compared to others and they have nice brands for the levels. The inn rooms are also very comfy and well appointed and I’d highly recommend renting them all out Fri and Sat for a Sat wedding.

    Can't put a price on a venue that doesn't see you as just another sale, will provide high levels of service, and care for your event as their own. But there is a price, and for what you get, it's a steal. Flexibility in menu, decor, timeline, etc. You absolutely owe it to yourselves to check them out and pay a visit in your venue search. We cannot wait to find another reason to host an event there again -- I don't know many couples that generally feel that way about their venue!

  • E

    E · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married at Ramekins on Saturday and could not have been happier with the venue. Everything was spot on from Ambiance/ Decor, Food, and Service. From our very first meeting, we were impressed with the attention to detail and care of the staff on site. It's a stunning property with a lot of charm: an alcove area for the ceremony, beautiful landscaping throughout, indoor and outdoor fireplaces, fountains, exposed beams and rustic chandeliers in the ballroom, and lots of great antique furniture. The set up of the property allows for a very smooth flow from the ceremony outside, to the cocktail hour on the adjacent patio, to the reception indoors. Since Ramekins is a culinary school, we were also able to tailor the menu to our exact needs. Since it's just a few blocks from Sonoma square, we were able to easily transition to the after-party downtown.

    We rented out all six rooms upstairs for family members which was really convenient for getting ready the morning of the wedding, changing into my reception dress, and making sure that grandparents/kids were comfortable if they needed a break any time during the night. The rooms are so gorgeous and spacious! We stayed a total of three nights- rehearsal the night before, wedding night, and the sunday following the wedding and were able to enjoy breakfast upstairs with the family and the wine and cheese reception in the evenings.

    If you are considering Sonoma for a wedding or just want a fantastic place to stay while in the area, definitely visit Ramekins. We cannot say enough good things about our experience there and the wonderful staff on site. We're looking forward to coming back each year for our anniversary! Thank you to Yvette and Brooke for being so great to work with!

  • E

    Erica · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married at Ramekins on Saturday and could not have been happier with the venue. Everything was spot on from Ambiance/ Decor, Food, and Service. From our very first meeting, we were impressed with the attention to detail and care of the staff on site. It's a stunning property with a lot of charm: an alcove area for the ceremony, beautiful landscaping throughout, indoor and outdoor fireplaces, fountains, exposed beams and rustic chandeliers in the ballroom, and lots of great antique furniture. The set up of the property allows for a very smooth flow from the ceremony outside, to the cocktail hour on the adjacent patio, to the reception indoors. Since Ramekins is a culinary school, we were also able to tailor the menu to our exact needs. Since it's just a few blocks from Sonoma square, we were able to easily transition to the after-party downtown.

    We rented out all six rooms upstairs for family members which was really convenient for getting ready the morning of the wedding, changing into my reception dress, and making sure that grandparents/kids were comfortable if they needed a break any time during the night. The rooms are so gorgeous and spacious! We stayed a total of three nights- rehearsal the night before, wedding night, and the sunday following the wedding and were able to enjoy breakfast upstairs with the family and the wine and cheese reception in the evenings.

    If you are considering Sonoma for a wedding or just want a fantastic place to stay while in the area, definitely visit Ramekins. We cannot say enough good things about our experience there and the wonderful staff on site. We're looking forward to coming back each year for our anniversary! Thank you to Yvette and Brooke for being so great to work with!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ADORE Ramekins in every single way possible. The site itself is GORGEOUS. It's like being in Europe. The ceremony site is perfect, the outside patio is beautiful, and inside is warm and cozy (but not in a small way). I loved it more every time I visited.

    Food was amazing. And one of the few places in the Napa/Sonoma area that work with you on the menu to fit your likes and dislikes and how you invision your wedding. We had food stations and one of them was a pizza station using their wood burning ovens and I can say that people are still talking about how amazing the pizza was and it's been a month since my wedding. The cake was fabulous too. They also paired local wines with what food we were serving and it was just perfect.

    I think the thing I liked best about Ramekins was the staff. I saw that other reviews had issues with the staff, but I had none. In fact, I loved every one of them. Yvette was FANTASTIC and I think my very favorite person to work with through my entire wedding process. I was there when Mercedes left and Brooke was hired, but I incurred no issues because of it and, in fact, I loved working with Brooke more than I did Mercedes. The staff at the Inn was fabulous too (we rented all 6 rooms for the weekend...it was the best!!). Jason even came and interrupted pictures just to say bye, which was so nice of him! And Donna, the waitress, was FABULOUS. I was talking to my relatives and said I was hungry, and all of a sudden, there was Donna with a big plate of food just for me during cocktail hour! She was so attentive and paid extra attention to me and my wedding party to make sure we ate! LOVED it all.

    My wedding turned out to be the best day and the most fun weekend I've had in my entire life and it was, in large part, to Ramekins and the staff. Thank you will never be enough. We're looking into doing an anniversary weekend there next year we loved it so much.

  • Kimberly

    Kimberly · Married on 08/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would give 10 stars if I could.

    I love Ramekins, and I love the staff! Everyone we met with from the initial phone call to the end was spectacular. Yvette is so knowledgeable, and it’s clear that she really cares about her clients. I felt comfortable working with her from the very beginning. She keeps wedding planning fun! My fiancé and I were planning a destination wedding and I felt completely at ease knowing that everything would be taken care of and that I was in the hands of professional, high quality vendors.

    The venue is gorgeous! My favorite part is the outside patio. The ceremony area is totally private and classic. Then there is an outdoor bar so your guests can easily move from ceremony to cocktail hour (but they’re far enough apart that you’re not getting married in a bar). I love the string lights over the patio! There is also a light canvas cover so if it’s super sunny your guests will have some shade. The dining room is so cozy and warm. There are windows all around so there is plenty of natural light that brightens the space. Not much décor is necessary here. Pictures don’t do this venue justice; as soon as I walked in I knew it was where I was going to get married.

    A major reason to have a wedding at a cooking school is the food~ the menu we had prepared (ALL CUSTOM MENUS!) was spectacular. Cocktail hour consisted of Lobster & Crab summer rolls, Fig & Goat cheese on toast points, and fresh wood fired flatbreads with roasted peppers, salumi and goat cheese. YUM! Dinner started out with an heirloom tomato salad and then moved to the seated meal of grilled chicken with pancetta in a chardonnay sauce paired with vegetables and fresh made pasta. There is nothing better than fresh, seasonal food prepared just for you.

    Another plus is the fact that Ramekins is also a B&B. They have 6 fabulous guest rooms available overlooking the back patio. It’s basically Bridesmaid heaven. You can rent out the entire place and have it all to yourself for your wedding. It’s great!

    The best part was the price. Ramekins is very competitively priced for what they offer. For us it was a no-brainer to book with them. The venue is gorgeous, the food is fresh and delicious, the staff cares, and it is conveniently located blocks away from downtown Sonoma.

  • D

    Diane · event on: 06/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was fabulous. The event staff was profession and courteous. The Generals Daughter was the perfect venue.

  • I

    Ilana · Married on 08/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ramekins culinary school catered our wedding at Paradise Ridge Winery in August of 2016. We went with Ramekins because we felt that from all the caterers we spoke with (and there were many) we were getting the best value for our dollar and the food was delicious. The crew was great to work with and they even let us come back a second time when we weren't happy with one of our selections at our initial tasting. They were timely in letting us know when payments were due and staff were on hand the day of, introducing themselves and congratulating us. Everyone commented afterwards how tasty the food was and we were delighted to have a tray of appetizers waiting for us in the bridal room as we took a few minutes to relax. Thank you Ramekins!!!

  • S

    Sandy · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So many wonderful things to say about Ramekins where my husband and I got married. The food was excellent, even better than our tasting - our guests raved about it. Great service - made our signature cocktails and passed them around along with champagne, wine was flowing, attention paid to allergies and dietary restrictions, speedy in getting the food out and refilling. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that we had guests staying in the rooms upstairs, and Ramekins was not very responsive in terms of getting their reservation and payment details, but not a huge deal in the grand scheme of things. We loved the small details / touches on the day of that put this place over the top - we were brought a plate of hors d'oeuvres and champagne immediately after the ceremony, we had a whiskey tasting bar that they set up indoors with the most adorable small glasses, and we given a cute bag with goodies from their shop at the end of the night. We also had brunch at The General's Daughter next door the next day which was fantastic and a lovely venue, and the staff did such a seamless job transferring our florals over, setting up, making sure we had all of our things before we departed, etc. Amazing experience and so glad we picked Ramekins!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review