Rabbi Adam Chalom Reviews

4 | Highland Park, IL
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for Rabbi Adam Chalom

Recommended by 100%

4

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Adam Chalom was the best decision we made for our wedding.

    I am a white non-religious Jewish woman, and my husband is a non-religious Taiwanese man. We wanted to include some Jewish traditions, but without having a religious ceremony. We wanted our ceremony to be about our love.

    With the help of Rabbi, our ceremony was everything we could have ever dreamed of. It was our favorite part of our wedding, and all of our guests told us it was the most beautiful ceremony they had ever seen. This was due largely to Rabbi's suggestions and his execution.

    When we first met with Rabbi, we knew we wanted him to be our officiant. It was very comfortable talking to him, we liked his approach, and he was very steadfast that our wedding was our wedding, and we shouldn't incorporate anything in our ceremony based on what other people wanted (like parents).

    As for the structure of the ceremony, he has a whole booklet with ideas of what you can include or exclude. This was really helpful, since we had no real idea of what the structure would look like without his help.

    One of the ideas he had, that our guests loved, was that we write what we love about each other in separate documents, without seeing each others notes in advance of the wedding, and he (or we) would read them at the ceremony. We elected to have him read the letters, and he read them so beautifully, with so much expression. This part of our ceremony was perfect due to his execution.

    Rabbi also wrote up the Hebrew version of the wording we elected for our Ketubah. We are very grateful that he helped with this.

    Overall, I just think he did a wonderful job.

    Sent on 08/01/2017
  • Alida

    Alida · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Adam Chalom was the perfect fit for our ceremony. He was able to provide just the right mix of tradition and history along with modern twists/creativity and personalized information to make the ceremony memorable and engaging. We have heard nothing but positive reviews and comments on how amazing the ceremony was since the wedding. We can't thank Rabbi Chalom enough for being such an important part of our big day.

    Sent on 06/15/2016
  • T

    Toni · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Adam Chalom was wonderful. He married us in a Jewish/Christian ceremony. He was thoughtful and characteristic in addition to bringing a little humor to our day. He helped us create a ceremony the reflected who we are as a couple. We're so glad to have had to work with him! Thank you, Rabbi!

    Sent on 11/02/2015
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 06/04/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Officiant: Rabbi Adam Chalom, A+++++++++++++++++++
    www.kolhadash.com, rabbichalom@kolhadeash.com, 847-602-4500 We LOVED LOVED LOVED Rabbi Chalom!! From our first meeting with him, we knew we would never find a better of officiant of any religion for us. I'm Jewish and dh is a nonpracticing Catholic of Mexican descent. We wanted to be married by a rabbi but the few we met with before Rabbi Chalom really rubbed us the wrong way. We wanted to incorporate both Mexican and Jewish traditions into our ceremony, namely the laso and the breaking the glasses. First off, its hard to find a rabbi who will officiate a mixed marriage. The others we did talk to were super expensive, we're talking $800 for an hr of work. this one rabbi insisted we have mariachi music. Umm, maybe if he paid for it and rolled his eyes when we said both our parents were divorced. Rabbi Chalom is so non-judgemental. Fi went in to our first meeting ready to say how wonderful he thought the Jewish faith was and how he was interested in converting (which he really is considering despite my lack of religiosity) when Rabbi Chalom says, "Hold on, the only thing I need to know to marry the 2 of you is do you love each other." Awwwww... He melted us right there. He asked us where we met how long we'd been together, what we liked best about eachother. He got us all mushy about eachother. He was full of helpful advice, everything from invitation wording with divorced parents to whether or not to have a huppah. At the ceremony he was this calming force who soothed my frazzled mother while getting ready, and calmed fi and I. He gave such a beautiful talk about us that was so personal it made me cry. He talked about how we are such a great team and how this was only making the love we had been sharing for 11 years official and was a way to share it with our friends and family. Everyone keeps telling me how great he was on both sides of the family. He also suggsted we both break different color glasses and then put them together in a mosaic or something to keep. What a great idea! He is a humanist rabbi so the only thing you have to know is he will not mention god. Even in hebrew, he does a prayer over the wine in Hebrew that refers to the rabbis of the past as opposed to god. That was fine with us. And our religious Jewish and Catholic relatives still thought it was beautiful. He charged $450. A bargain for everything he provided.

    Sent on 01/01/2009