Port City Shakedown Reviews

40 | Wilmington, NC
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for Port City Shakedown

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

40
Order by:
  • W

    Walker · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rent. This. Band.
    Seriously, these guys are so awesome. We rented them for our wedding and could not have been happier. They are extremely personable and easy to deal with. They played songs that had everyone dancing, and they will tailor what they play to what you want. They even learned a couple songs for our first dance and the bride-father song. We saw them play at Wild Wing Cafe before our wedding just to make sure they were what we wanted, and after hearing them play two songs we knew they were the band for us. They are at a very reasonable price point and we couldn't have been happier. We had so many people tell us how much they loved the band!

    Sent on 07/02/2016
  • J

    jan · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown was amazing!! They played at my daughters wedding reception and ceremony music. The dance floor was packed from the first song until the last. Everyone enjoyed VERY much. They sang songs of choice for newly weds first dance, father daughter dance, groom & mother. They were great! I would highly recommend for any function that you are having and want a band that everyone will enjoy!

    Sent on 06/21/2016
  • C

    Chris · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown was AMAZING... Tim and the group were great to communicate with leading up to the event. They were so organized which made that part of planning a breeze! The band is the perfect size, they had everyone up and dancing from the very beginning. We heard from all of our guests that we had the best wedding band they had ever seen. They really did go the extra mile for us and the music was awesome. If you are looking for the perfect band for your wedding reception... look no further!

    Sent on 05/27/2016
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown played for my son's wedding on Bald Head Island. They were easy to work with and didn't hesitate at the thought of having to load all their equipment on a ferry and travel to the island. The band made the evening great. Everyone was dancing and having a great time. I would highly recommend them for any event. So often we have been to an event where the band plays so loud people can't talk. This was not the case with Port City Shakedown, they are experienced and know the crowd they are playing to. Thanks Port City Shakedown!

    Sent on 05/27/2016
  • J

    Jon · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown is by far the best bend this city (or any surrounding one) has to offer. We went to see them perform several times before booking them and every time was a blast. They helped make our wedding truly amazing. The dance floor was packed all night and everyone couldn't get over how good they were. I still get compliments about them.

    This band is a solid 5 out of 5 and anyone choosing not to book them is making a huge mistake.

    Sent on 05/24/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City was the perfect choice for our wedding! They were great from start to finish and we are so happy that we decided to go with them. Tim was super helpful throughout the whole process! We would recommend them to anyone and received compliments throughout the entire night on how great they were.

    Sent on 04/16/2016
  • User6058784 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING!!!!! We hired this band to come to Awendaw, SC (right outside of Charleston, SC) and they made the wedding the best ever. The musicians are top notch and so professional. We had people dancing only minutes after the band started and the dance floor was full the rest of the night. Most people stayed until the very end!!! That never happens! Well is does with Port City Shakedown. I heard many people say that it was the best band they had ever heard :)

    Sent on 01/21/2016
  • User5587451 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's so wonderful to hear from all your guests that your wedding is one of the best they've ever been to! I have to thank Port City Shakedown for keeping the energy high and the dance floor packed until the venue started stacking up the chairs and clearing up the room for the night! Even after last call my guests were screaming for an ENCORE! We danced the night away to the best selection of current top 40, 80s, 90s, and classic. There's nothing this band can't do! Such a pleasure to deal with as well, they are so customer oriented and go above and beyond to make your event special. We had such a blast! One of the best moments during the reception was when my husband leaned over and whispered to me "Port City was definitely the best investment of the whole entire wedding." If the couple isn't having fun what's the point?

    Sent on 11/05/2015
  • C

    Casey · Married on 05/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown is UNBELIEVABLE! They made my wedding a huge success! All of my guests have been asking about them! This six-piece band is the way to go! They had the crowd dancing, singing and loving every minute of the night! When a summer thunderstorm popped up on the horizon they set up the DJ inside for the cocktail hour and waited out the rain. When things dried up they set up in a quarter of their normal time and were jamming out as soon as the ceremony was done. They played the first dance, father daughter and mother son songs they learned for us and said, “No more slow songs, lets party!” That’s exactly what happened! I can’t wait to see them at one of the venues they play in Wilmington the next time I am in town. They are phenomenal and easily the best price in town!

    Sent on 07/17/2015
  • User3662417 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Port City Shakedown play at our recent wedding reception and they were phenomenal! They were very kind and flexible to work with given our venue location on Bald Head Island, which required slightly more planning and coordination. At the reception they had everyone up dancing, we still have guests complimenting on how fantastic the music was. They helped organize the whole evening from cocktail hour to the first dances to cake cutting and the garter/boquet toss. They even worked to learn new songs for us which was an amazing addition. We now have memories we will cherish forever! I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for an awesome band to play their event.

    Sent on 04/25/2015
  • K

    Kelli · Married on 12/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown was absolutely phenomenal for our wedding reception! We had the best time, our guests raved all night long about the music, and the dance floor was covered with friends and family until the night ended! Tim was very professional throughout the entire experience, was accommodating of all of our needs, and made the experience as stress free as possible. Give them a call- it will be the best decision you make!

    Sent on 01/12/2015
  • Michelle

    Michelle · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Port City Shakedown Band is Amazing!! They are incredibly talented, professional, accommodating, and just awesome!! The band can play a wide variety of music, not to mention every song they play sounds as good as the original! Their energy is contagious, you can be guaranteed a great time!
    Besides being a great band, they made the whole planning process so easy....Tim was extremely organized, and the entire wedding reception went exactly how we had planned!!! They are just amazing!! I cannot say enough about this band!! You will love them!!

    Sent on 02/21/2015
  • User4476975 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a fun wedding reception and Port City Shakedown delivered! PCS was the perfect choice for our wedding reception. We wanted something unique, personal and FUN and we were not disappointed with our choice. The communication leading up to the event was professional and organized. They listened to ALL my concerns and made all my requests a reality. The band's talent is deep and diverse which comes out in their performance. The band members were kind, personable and interacted well with the guests. They had the reception rocking for hours and we didn't want to leave! It's been two months and our friends and family are still talking about what a blast they had dancing the night away with Port City Shakedown! Hiring PCS for your wedding reception will ensure it is a night to remember!

    Thanks for everything,
    Jenn & Matthew

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/25/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding band – Port City Shakedown provided the cocktail hour and reception music and MC’ing for our wedding this past weekend, and they were absolutely phenomenal! We had heard good things about them in advance, and they 100% lived up to the hype. They were high energy and kept everyone dancing all night long! No one ever seemed to leave the dance floor, even between band sets when they were just DJ’ing. Their set lists were upbeat and the perfect mix of funk, new dance hits, and a few slow songs sprinkled in. Each of the musicians/singers in the group are the cream of the crop and make a truly awesome super band all together! They also provided the MC’ing for introductions and toasts, during the bouquet toss and cake cutting, and they were perfect! Funny and enthusiastic, while moving the evening along exactly as it should. Finally, they provided the microphones and speakers for the ceremony, and they worked as expected. We (and all of our guests) would highly recommend them for any event (and are already planning the next time we can hire them again)! Thanks Port City Shakedown!

    Sent on 04/14/2017
  • E

    ERIN · Married on 10/07/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked this band for our wedding in October 2016. We had seen them play at a couple of other weddings the previous year and loved them! Due to the ever so timely Hurricane Matthew, we were unable to move forward with the wedding that we had originally planned. With this new plan, this band could not longer perform for our big day. This review is more or less to let folks know that this band is good people. They worked with us throughout the whole planning process and when it came down to the refund process, they were obliged to help us out and offer our full refund back because of the loss of our event. We would recommend Port City Shakedown to anyone planning any kind of event that you want to have a good time! They are very talented and professional band:)

    Sent on 01/03/2017