Phi Unit Reviews

37 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

37 Reviews for Phi Unit

Recommended by 100%

37
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

Phi Unit 1
Sort by:
  • L

    L · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was the DJ for our wedding in the Catskills, and he brought the most amazing energy into the room and onto the dance floor. We could not recommend him more highly! From our first planning meeting at a bar, to subsequent meetings with other family members there in his studio, he was flexible, easy going and genuinely interested in how he could help us have the best night we could. On the night of, he was flexible about staying a little later than planned when our ceremony and speeches ran over and we were worried about having too little time for dancing. And, most importantly of all, he got nearly everyone on the dance floor. His song choices flowed smoothly into each other, and the song choices managed to be recognizable, fun dance music without being the usual wedding clichés. His energy was super laid back, yet warm, and he really contributed to making our night as special as it was. He even helped us with other sound details of the night, including playing/amplifying a voice recording of my grandfather who couldn’t travel into our outdoor ceremony and playing songs that have been special to our relationship during our dinner. Couldn’t imagine anyone better to handle all things sound! It was a real treat to have Phi DJ our wedding.

    Sent on 09/28/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Phi for my wedding in Colorado even though I knew he was located in NY. He happily worked with me on logistics of him DJing our wedding and coordinated equipment like it was a breeze. During the time leading up to the wedding, Phi was very organized in gathering all of the info he needed (timeline of the night, songs for dances, playlists, etc) in addition to what he needed at the venue. During our wedding, everything was perfect. Not only was Phi one of the best DJs I've ever been around, he was an amazing MC and helped everything flow perfectly throughout the night. After the wedding, I got so many compliments on the music and how much fun people had. I would recommend Phi to anyone I know getting married since the DJ makes or breaks your wedding!

    Sent on 03/08/2018
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi is awesome — killer music, great communication, and very accommodating of our non-traditional wedding style. All of our guests told us how great the dance party was. Would recommend Phi to anyone.

    Sent on 10/28/2017
  • K

    Krystal-Jay · Married on 06/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I followed Phi’s DJ sets at a couple neighborhood bars in a Brooklyn before we got married. When it came down to finding our wedding DJ, we were 100% sure it had to be Phi. It was the easiest choice we made through wedding planning, and we’re so grateful we did. Phi turned our wedding into the greatest dance party, and our friends are still talking about it! He is amazing at connecting with the scene and knows exactly how to work the crowd. No one wanted to walk away from the dancefloor because they didn’t want to miss out on the fun. That’s how good Phi is. He’s so easy to work with, super professional, and has incredible music taste. You just know you’re in good hands with Phi!

    Sent on 03/07/2018
    Phi Unit 2
  • Nikki

    Nikki · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was everything you look for in a wedding DJ! We went to one of his shows in Brooklyn, and immediately knew to look no further.

    Phi was organized and proactive. He engaged with us early to ensure that our reception was delivered perfectly. He gave us homework in the form of a worksheet to clearly define everything from Wedding Party names and pronunciations even to what songs to stay away from. He was also thoughtful and honest throughout the entire process. When something didn't make sense or logistically wouldn't work, he let us know. He even offered to edit down our special dances to save our guests from sitting through too-long of a show.

    That said—Phi is thorough, talented, and intuitive. He knew all the right questions to ask prior to our event, rarely having to interrupt us during the night. His ability to gauge the crowd and keep the party going was impeccable, and I wouldn't have changed a thing.

    We knew that choosing the right DJ was mission-critical to ensuring that our night was fluid and fun. It's obvious that Phi knows that and takes his job seriously. He cares about getting it right, and it shows. Look no further!

    Thank you, Phi—for keeping us moving and grooving! (both literally and figuratively!) Our night was perfect.
    - N x G

    Sent on 06/14/2017
  • E

    Esther · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great to work with and has amazing taste in music.

    Sent on 03/14/2018
  • M

    Monica · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was an amazing DJ to work with- helpful but flexible, low key, and excellent music selections. He was super responsive during the planning stages, and we got a million compliments on the music and vibe of the reception from our guests. Couldn't recommend him more.

    Sent on 01/04/2017
  • J

    James · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will not be disappointed with Phi!! We received so many compliments from both young and old on the music selection. He really knows how to read a crowd! Book without hesitation.

    Sent on 12/21/2016
  • User7323467 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was amazing to have at our wedding! We wanted to work with someone who's laid back and easy to work with, and Phi was exactly that. My husband and I met with Phi in person before we made our final decision and Phi was so accommodating, coming to my apartment building to for an in person meet up.

    We Skyped a few weeks before the wedding to discuss music choices and he gave us what we wanted. We also had a rather unusual request - to have him read the English translation of my father's toast. Phi was amazing, and really tried to make our night the best night of our lives. Definitely book him if you want to work with a no hassle DJ who will work with you to get everything you want :)

    Sent on 12/20/2016
  • R

    Roman · Married on 09/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was great, from the first meeting to the last minute of our party, he was very friendly and easy-going. Music selection was on point, most songs requested by us with a few of his own mixed in. Many guests said afterwards that they really enjoyed the great selection. Would definitely recommend!

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • J

    John · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was incredible at our wedding! We hired a band do all the classics early in the night and then Phi took over for the dance party until after 1am. We had a pretty specific list of the songs we wanted to hear and he was totally accommodating and worked every last one into his set seamlessly. All of our guests were on the dancefloor the entire night. Every time we thought we'd step away to grab a drink, he played another mega-hit. We didn't want it to stop! His communication was flawless throughout and was a true professional, getting there extra early to make sure the setup was perfect. Booking Phi is an easy decision to check off your wedding to-do list.

    Sent on 01/14/2017
  • S

    Sandy · Married on 08/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi is amazing. He is professional, attentive, quickly responds, and worked with the other vendors (sound & lighting company) very well. He also listened to what kind of music we liked and really brought out our personalities during our wedding. During the party, his music was so on point! Everyone got up to dance! I've been to a lot of other weddings, but I have never seen so many people on the dance floor! All our guests complimented us and said they thought our music was amazing.

    He also played the music during our ceremony, which was perfectly timed. He also played the music during the cocktail hour, which matched my requests as well as played other songs that fit into the category. Our bridal party also did a choreographed dance and we needed the music to be loud and played at an exact time, which he did perfectly. He made announcements on our request, helped introduce the bridal party, and helped introduce the toasts.

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi DJ-ed our August 2016 wedding in NYC and he was amazing! He created the exact atmosphere that we wanted. He was very responsive - we mostly corresponded over email but had one phone call and in-person meeting to finalize the details. He perfectly understood and executed on the flow of the night and style of music we wanted at different times. The dance floor was packed and he was great at reading the crowd to keep everyone up and dancing. He was open to and played many of the songs we suggested, but also threw in some of his own picks that went perfectly with our selections. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was so easy to work with, and most importantly he kept all of my guests on the dance floor for over 4 hours! If you want people dancing, hire Phi Unit!

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • L

    Lou · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi Unit was awesome! Without reserveration we would recommend him for your wedding. He took great care in listening to our special requests and nailed every piece of the event. He threaded together beautiful strings of songs and had everyone up and dancing the entire night. We heard so many compliments throughout the night and since our wedding about how amazing the music was. Phi was perfect!

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • M

    Mark · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi Unit went above and beyond at our wedding. Before the event, he handled all of the logistics himself and consulted directly with our day-off coordinator and venue owner on the nitty-gritty. We had been warned about problem DJ's by our venue, but Phi showed professionalism and put their minds at ease regarding sound levels and ordinance compliance. We had a somewhat tricky venue (4 unique outdoor locations on the same property), but Phi was able to get everything setup so we could have our perfect musically centric-day: impeccable timing on the ceremony cues, classy soft sounds (folk/indy rock, jazz) for cocktail hour and dinner, and professional announcements to keep things moving for toasts, first dance, cake cutting, etc. The main event was the dance party - Phi wow-ed us, and every one of our guests. We had a specific feel in mind, and Phi nailed it. Couldn't recommend this DJ more.

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • B

    Brett · Married on 05/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was a wonderful DJ at our wedding and went above and beyond to help us plan and execute the details. Can't recommend him enough to others.

    Sent on 07/06/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was a fab DJ who did an amazing job on our wedding. He was super easy to work with during the lead up: really flexible with meeting times, easy to talk to/plan with, very friendly and warm, always making sure to ask questions so we got exactly what we wanted. My husband is from Denmark so we wanted to include some Danish traditions in our reception, and Phi was really great with learning and accommodating what we wanted. Also, and perhaps most importantly, he made the reception amazing. Everyone was on the dance floor all night, having a blast. We were getting texts weeks after the wedding about how much fun everyone had dancing. Phi was also great about making a grandma-friendly environment for the beginning of the night and then switching to the Parental Advisory stuff later. Plus his pricing was super reasonable.

    TL;DR: Phi is GREAT!!!! Use him for your wedding!

    Sent on 02/20/2016
  • User6404450 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would definitely recommend Phi Unit for your next Wedding DJ! Our DJ cancelled last minute so didn't have too much time to find a new one. I've heard Phi DJ at other venues and parties in the past and absolutely loved him, so messaged straight away. He was super quick to respond, had his own equipment ready, and was open to any last minute changes. Phi played everything on our music playlist as well as avoiding others we didn't want to hear. ; ) Not only did he spin off the hook, he transitioned smoothly during the toasts, cake cutting, first dance, and was a great MC. Our wedding guests seriously danced ALL night from the moment he started till the end, and didn't want him to stop. Our friends still talk about how great our Wedding DJ was till this day. One of the best choices we made and highlights of the entire Wedding! Highly recommend!

    Sent on 02/23/2016
  • Z

    Zane · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was great to work with and really understood the kind of atmosphere we were trying to create with our wedding reception. We thought his set was fantastic, and our guests agreed: In the weeks that followed several people reached out to us to tell us how much they loved the music!

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • User6446105 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A buttoned up professional that did an awesome job keeping the party going.

    We had no worries whatsoever throughout our entire day from the speakers and mic for the ceremony, to speeches and music at the reception.

    Extremely responsive and easy to work with.

    Sent on 03/04/2016
  • User6148680 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi did an excellent job DJing our wedding and we were incredibly happy with the result! He played a great mix of fun wedding songs and new hits and old classics. he was very attentive to the crowd and changed the music accordingly. He took all of the songs we requested last-minute and seamlessly integrated them into his set list for the night!

    Sent on 01/04/2016
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phi was far and away the highlight of our wedding for many of our guests. From the time the cake was cut until the end of the night our dance floor was packed (As in: 100+ people-never-left-the-dance-floor packed). He can read a crowd and his transitions were creative, entertaining, and fluid. He kept the energy going the entire night.

    Phi also MC'd and DJ'd our cocktail hour and dinner. We had a few songs and styles that we knew we liked. He listened to our requests and then expanded on our preferences with incredible taste. Guests were commenting on the music well before they hit the dance floor. He was professional, patient, and friendly — and made our day incredible.

    Months later, we still receive compliments on the music and "fun" of our wedding dance as well as requests from guests for his contact information. I could not recommend him more full-heartedly.

    Sent on 01/25/2016
  • User6290523 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My hubby Rocky and I were SO impressed with Phi's professionalism. He listened to our wants and needs, had great music suggestions, and was amazing to work with. I never once stressed out about our music. Our guests were on the dance floor shakin their a** all night long! (Friends still talk about how our wedding was the BEST dance party- Rocky and I agree.) I would definitely recommend Phi to my colleagues, friends, and fam.

    Sent on 01/29/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review