Weddings

Party in A Box Reviews

Party in A Box

Party in A Box

Hastings, MI
View more information

38 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 38
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • H
    Heidi Getting married on 08/13/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Definitely Recommend!

    Yon was so helpful and did a ton for us on the day-of the wedding. He was extremely knowledgeable, experienced, and professional. He went above and beyond to help make our wedding sound amazing!
  • Carolyn
    Carolyn R. Married on 08/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Fun

    There isn’t another DJ out there that can carry the ceremony or night like Yon! He is amazing! Personable, Fun and Professional! I heard many guests comment on how great he was and they never seen a wedding party on the dance floor so much! My wedding so unforgettable! Thank you Yon lots of love from Ethan and Carolyn Schwindt
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin C. Married on 07/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Yon was amazing, everyone loved him!

    We hired Yon for our wedding on July 11th, he was amazing!! He has such a great personality, did an amazing job with the music and with communicating with us the entire time with all the uncertainty due to covid around our wedding. He took the extra time to make sure everyone's name was right when introducing us and also planned all the music which was nice to have one less stress on us :) I would recommend him to anyone!!
  • Katie
    Katie V. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would recommend a million times over!

    We knew that having a great DJ can really make or break the wedding experience for the guests, but we knew that we were in good hands with Yon! He was absolutely amazing. Guests continued to make comments about how great Yon was for weeks after our wedding! He is everything that you could hope for in a wedding DJ. He is professional, kind, flexible, competent, and it’s easy to see that he genuinely loves what he does. His positive energy and enthusiasm translated to an active dance floor all night long. He had us complete a form that allowed him to get a sense for what we wanted and didn’t want, he did a fantastic job announcing, he kept the dance floor going all night, he played guests’ music requests, and he audio recorded our wedding speeches for us (an unexpected surprise!). Yon is clearly experienced and beyond competent at what he does, and there were little moments and actions that made Yon’s work exceptional. He called us in advance of the wedding just to introduce himself and to provide us with an opportunity to ask any questions. And on the wedding night, he went above and beyond by taking our drink orders and bringing us drinks! For as great of a DJ as he is, he seems like an even better human being. One of those people that just makes you smile. I’d recommend him a million times over. Thank you, Yon! You brought so much joy to our wedding day! We can’t thank you enough!
  • Matt
    Matt M. Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent choice!

    Yon (Party in a Box) was truly a pleasure to work with prior to, and most importantly during our wedding. For context, Yon worked both the ceremony and the reception.

    Planning stage:
    He was extremely responsive with any questions we had when planning the ceremony in reception, and his simple form prompts you to think about what music you want at all parts of the ceremony, without being too cumbersome of a form. Simple, but effective.

    Wedding Day:
    During the ceremony itself, the sound quality was excellent, even in an outdoor area with tourists present. Everything went very smoothly, and Yon was able to even use a "specialty" song that we wanted to use during the ceremony as well.

    Now to what most people are looking for, an AMAZING reception. Overall, our dance floor was packed for pretty much the entire reception, truly a testament to the music selection provided by Yon, based pretty music exclusively based on that simple form I mentioned. This is obviously extremely important, but I mainly wanted to highlight a few differentiating factors on based on our experience, why you should pick Yon to DJ your wedding:

    -During dinner, Yon checked with the head table to see if anyone needed a drink. Just a nice bit of added value that did not go unnoticed.

    -First dance: For our first dance, we had a version of a song that was sped up slightly (mainly to help with our dancing ability!). Yon said "No problem" when we emailed him a version of this song, and sure enough it was perfect during our ceremony

    -Mother/Son Dance: I had a very unique song, one that was very important to me, but also had some "explicit" parts. I reached out to Yon prior to officially selecting this song, but once again he said "no problem" and was able to "cut and paste" portions of the song I wanted and did not want. You never would have known the song was manipulated, it was that smooth.

    -Lastly, Yon even let me be the DJ for 1 song. It was a total spur of the moment occurrence, but Yon asked me to DJ,and before I knew it I was wearing headphones and working the turntable (looks like pictured on his Instagram). What a unique experience I'll never forget.

    In summary, I'm sure there are plenty of good DJ's out there, but none who are truly PART of your wedding. Yon didn't just stand up there and play good music, he was an integral part of making our wedding everything that we wanted. I cannot recommend him enough.

    Thank you Yon for everything!
    Matt
  • Theresa
    Theresa Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    We could not in a million years have found a better DJ. He did an amazing job of reading the room and keeping everyone from my 2-year-old cousin to my 80 year-old grandfather out on the dance floor. It was so incredibly special to see everyone I love enjoying themselves so much. He kept the reception moving and everything for me was stress-free. Thanks so much Yon!!
  • J
    Julie Married on 05/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This DJ was fantastic! He played all kinds of music and was very entertaining.
  • Claire
    Claire N. Married on 01/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic DJ

    Yon was did a fabulous job! He was communicative prior to the wedding, was very organized, and made us feel at ease. On the wedding day he had a fun, yet relaxed presence. He offered to get us drinks and continued to check on us throughout the night to make sure that we had everything we needed. The dance floor was jam packed all night and every single guest was dancing. My only complaint is that we didn't have more time to dance!! We would most definitely recommend Yon!
  • Rhonda
    Rhonda Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best. DJ. Ever.

    Yon was very accommodating and did a great job of selecting music that got guests of all ages out on the dance floor throughout the night, all night. There was never a moment without a group dancing. He did a wonderful job of mixing up genres of music to make it enjoyable for everyone, as requested. Not all the music we like is danceable, and he did a nice jobs of playing song that were, and that everyone liked. He also did our ceremony music, which helped make things less stressful for us.
  • TAP
    Taylor Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing, amazing, did i say amazing?

    I cannot say enough good things about Yon. He was the superstar of the day. He definitely was one of the best parts of our wedding. His kindness did not go unnoticed. After the ceremony he checked on the groom and I several times and even got us drinks from the bar and walked them out to us while we were taking our photos. He even grabbed our photographers belongings and put them in a safe place so they did not have to carry everything around. He even took my plate and helped me load my plate at dinner!! When you think of a DJ, you just automatically assume someone who knows how to work a crowd and has high quality music, keeps the energy going. Yon was SO much more than those! Our guests loved him and were so impressed by him. He is an awesome guy! I promise you, you will not be disappointed if you choose him as your DJ.

    Thanks again for everything Yon! You are seriously the best!!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yon was absolutely amazing. We had people on the dance floor during the whole reception. He even went so far as to serve me my dinner and offered to refill my drink for me. He made sure to check in with us during the wedding and see how the timing of everything was going as well. All of our guests loved him and his dance moves.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yon was great! SUPER energetic and really engaging with the crowd. Played music that had people dancing all night and made sure all our requests were played. Would book him again!
  • User3313504 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yon was amazing! He made the reception! He played the perfect music to keep everyone dancing all night long. I would highly recommend him!!!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Party in a box was hands down the best company that we worked with for our wedding! Yon was cheerful, professional and went above and beyond! He served drinks while
    We were taking photos and even carried my plate for me at dinner! Everyone loved him. It was the only thing that was perfect on our big day.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 05/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had Yon's Party in A Box service for my son's wedding on 5.27.17. He was fantastic! Communication, ease of payment, upbeat presence, all extremely easy and friendly! He was very quick with set up/tear down. The event coordinator, both sets of parents, bride and groom, and especially our guests, loved him!!
  • C
    Cory Married on 04/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    It's party in a box's world, we're just lucky to be living in it

    Excited about getting married? Family and friends gathering for your big day? Nervous about the music? Why? If you hired Yon i can guarantee everything is taken care of and your wedding day will be a blast. He's efficient, energetic and personable. We were very lucky to have outstanding vendors for our wedding and party in a box was no exception.
    Your wedding day will be the party and celebration its meant to be.
  • A
    Anna Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so thrilled to have Yon as our DJ! He came highly recommended by our friends and we knew if we booked him we would be able to relax and enjoy our reception (and party the night away!) :) He goes above and beyond in everything he does. He made sure the wedding party was never without a drink, checked in with my husband and I to make sure we knew what was going on and where we needed to be, and even took the time to help me fill my plate at the buffet so I could carry my dress train!! :) He is very skilled at what he does. He plays a variety of music that everyone can enjoy and making sure that there is never an empty dance floor. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a wedding DJ that knows how to facilitate a reception as well as keep the party going on the dance floor!!
  • K
    Kara Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have been happier with Yon as our DJ! Not only is he amazing at what he does as far as reading guests and keeping the party going on the dance floor, but he treated my husband and I like royalty. He was so kind to us and our guests, kept the flow of the reception going, brought us drinks so Dan and I could just enjoy each other before the end of the cocktail hour and helped me get my food at the buffet so I could carry my dress. At one point, he also had my husband's little brother (12-years-old) spinning with him, which is something he will never forget! We are certain that he is the best DJ and person that we could have hoped to work with! Book him now and your day will be just as incredible as ours!
  • M
    Michael Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yon was AMAZING at our wedding! From start to finish at our wedding the dance floor was packed! He chose the perfect songs, kept the energy up, kept the pace for the evening, taught our guests the wobble and went above and beyond to make sure my wife and myself were happy at all times! Yon even sent us audio files with the toasts from our wedding! It truly was the little touches that made the difference and there is no question that one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning was booking Yon as our DJ!
  • Steve
    Steve F. Married on 05/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing, book an event with Party in a Box!

    Party in a Box is just that. All you have to do is pick a date and Yon will bring the PARTY!! He will get your group on the dance floor and if they are not dancing then he will get in the crowd and even show you some dance moves. He will blend in your requests throughout the night and has something for young and old. He is a born entertainer and I have been to many events where Party in the Box rocked it.
  • M
    Megan Married on 10/04/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Yon and Carl was wonderful. Yon was extremely helpful as we planned our wedding and would answer any question I had in a timely manner. On our wedding day they were very efficient and involved in every part to help make sure everything moved along as it should. We were very happy with Party in a Box DJ and would definitely recommend their services!
  • User1838580 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yon was amazing!! He was fun and the second we arrived at the venue, Yon was asking what he could be doing to help and make us comfortable! I would recommend Party In A Box to anyone if you are wanting a great time!!
  • K
    Krystal Married on 06/28/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Where do I even begin! Yon is amazing!!! He provided ceremony music, reception music and videography for the ceremony. Planning from a distance, I was concerned about not being able to meet with some vendors, the DJ was one of them. Having put all of these services on a vendor I had never met, made me a little concerned, until I talked to Yon. He is very reassuring and you could tell from the beginning that he knows exactly what he's doing! I talked to him again a week before the wedding and he made me so excited about the wedding! On the day of the wedding, he came up to me and was so relaxed and pumped that I knew I was in good hands. The ceremony music was spot on, timed exactly and I had hoped. Every friend of mine had wished that they had gotten a videographer for the ceremony, so we did, my one concern was that they would be intrusive to the actual event, I didn't even notice Yon. I can't wait to see the results! For the reception, Yon went above and beyond. He has this ability to read the crowd and let us know when we should be starting the formalities and when we had a few minutes to mingle, he really helped with the flow. He goes above and beyond, even getting us drinks when there weren't any at the head table during toasts! Everyone is still talking about what a great DJ we had and how amazing he was!! Thank you so much Yon!! You are AWESOME!!
  • J
    Jillian Married on 05/10/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yan was so great! Super easy to work with and so much fun! People who attended our reception keep telling us what a great job he did and we completely agree!! You know your DJ is good when the reception vendor says he is their favorite DJ!
  • User1096049 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Probably THE BEST DJ I have ever heard. The grandfather (my dad) of the bride (my daughter) wanted to sing the father/daughter dance live at the reception. Yon graciously offered all of his equipment to my dad, and allowed him to do this for us. He asked the five longest married couples to come up and give the bride and groom one piece of advice. This is a nice surprise. Finally, the dance floor was FULL the entire night. This was my daughter's biggest worry - that no one would dance. However, that was NEVER the case! Party in a Box is THE BEST!!