Palace Cakes Reviews

15 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Palace Cakes

Recommended by 98%

15
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • L

    Lana · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Palace Cakes made our daughter's wedding cake. It was beautiful and it tasted as good as it looked. They were great to work with, especially long distance. We were all very pleased.

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • E

    Erleene · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved out yummy cake! Sweet little bakery and great value. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/15/2015
  • E

    Erleene · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service and everyone loved our cake!

    Sent on 09/15/2015
  • User4840759 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elizabeth gave us great service from start to finish! We got to try a good range of flavors at the tasting, enough to feel confident choosing any of the flavors they have to offer. Cake was one of my top priorities in terms of quality, but I didn't have a very specific vision. She made some recommendations, promised that it would be delicious and beautiful, and followed through 100%. She responded very quickly and was a lot of fun working with. I hear a lot of mediocre things about wedding cakes in general, but I've been getting compliments on these since the wedding. We had a ton of different kinds of cake, and so were able to provide quite a few styles that weren't the traditional wedding-cake style, like an almond torte, flourless chocolate cake, and hazelnut cake, to name a few, which kept the people who don't always love standard cake really happy. I can't say enough good things about Palace Cakes, they will have my business for all my cake needs for a long time to come!

    Sent on 08/09/2015
  • K

    Kate · Married on 08/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such amazing cake! Palace Cakes was a wonderful cake vendor to work with. Our cake tasting was fun and informative. Most importantly, after realizing I had told Palace Cakes the wrong date for the wedding a week before the wedding, they were still able to make it work and get us delicious wedding cake. I would definitely recommend Palace Cakes for anyone who wants fresh, delicious cake for their wedding.

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • A

    Alissa · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best cake ever!!! We had four cakes: chocolate joe, triple ginger, enriched uranium with vanilla buttercream, and a flourless chocolate. I'm still getting emails from friends and family about how much they enjoyed it. All other wedding cakes pale in comparison, when it comes to taste.

    Sent on 07/22/2015
  • S

    sasha · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Palace Cakes. The tasting was a wonderful experience, my mother and I had a lovely time. The communication was easy and quick. The cake delivery was seamless and the cakes at our wedding were both beautiful and delicious. I will absolutely use Palace Cakes again, for special occasions or just because I want to eat cake.

    Sent on 05/04/2015
  • User4615425 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the most divine wedding cake. I was hoping to have a little slice the following day, but learned that EVERY PIECE was eater of my 200+ person wedding cake. Juli was so fantastic in creating an amazing, tasty dessert that was a different flavor on each of 4 layers! It was truly a sight to be seen in the best possible way, and the best tasting cake I've eaten in Portland. I also recommend stopping in for a slice on a random weekday- their cafe is super cute and they always have delicious flavors. The wedding cake was very well-priced compared to all other bakeries I considered.

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best and cutest bakery in the world. Seriously.

    Palace Cakes saved the day. After our original bakery bailed on us a month before our wedding, my little brother mentioned that a new bakery opened nearby his high school. When I walked in I didn't even need to taste the cake, the aqua walls and Julie immediately won me over. We were their first tasting in the space, and it was pure magic. The quality and simple beauty of their cakes exceeded any of our expectations.

    The cake turned our beautifully and their timeless style and deliciousness got rave reviews and zero leftovers. So happy they are neighbors, because I will definitely be making up any excuse to order more cakes and desserts from them.

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • User4376367 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "best wedding cake I've ever tasted" was a comment heard from many of our wedding guests. The cake was simply elegant and The Palace Cake ladies were wonderful to work with.

    Sent on 09/04/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Elizabeth is a brilliant baker. Everything is classic, beautiful, and delicious (and I'm usually not a fan of cake). Juli was responsive and easy to work with. We really enjoyed working with palace cakes.

    Sent on 01/31/2015
  • H

    Hend · Married on 09/12/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ordered a lavender cake with blackberry filling and honey buttercream for my wedding. It was gorgeous, I asked it be designed in a semi naked style, and I couldn't be happier! Elizabeth also did a wonderful job decorating the cake with fresh flowers. All of my guests loved how unique it looked as well as the seasonal combination of tastes. I loved how pure it tastes, rather than being overly sweet and frosted or covered in fondant. I appreciate how accommodating she was with my requests and my wedding location

    Sent on 10/09/2015
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 08/14/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, the best cake tasting we had was at Palace Cakes! After reaching out to them, we selected three flavors of cake that we wanted to taste, which were then baked into "mini cakes" for our scheduled tasting. When we arrived to our tasting, we were warmly greeted by the staff and were able to enjoy our coffee while deliberating which flavor was our favorite. Unlike other vendors in which we sampled at, we never felt rushed or constrained to a set amount of time to finish our tasting and make a decision.

    On top of that, the cake was delicious! With an August wedding, we chose to go with the lemon curd with a seasonal berry buttercream. So many of our guests commented on how good our cake was and we're so thrilled that we can return to Palace Cakes each year to enjoy a slice of cake on our anniversary!

    Sent on 11/23/2015
  • I

    Iris · Married on 09/13/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I ordered 3 lemon chiffon cakes for my wedding in September. After trying four different places, they were definitely my favorite. Juli worked with me on our order. She is incredibly friendly, answered all of my questions, accommodated us when we wanted to change the size of one cake, and decorated the cakes on-site with fresh flowers on the day of the wedding. They looked beautiful and tasted delicious.

    The one mishap we had was that all three had lemon buttercream even though we had ordered one with their seasonal flavor. That said, I didn't even notice until the following day when we were reminiscing about everything, at which point, we'd already had an amazing day, and there was literally nothing to make a fuss about.

    All in all, delicious cakes and excellent service.

    Sent on 12/15/2014
  • L

    Lee Ann · Married on 08/09/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Palace cakes did a great job with our cakes. I decided to use three of their individual cakes instead of one big wedding cake. The flavors were amazing and they even provided their own cake stands. I can't wait to order another cake from them.

    Sent on 09/04/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review