Weddings

Oliver Howell Photography Reviews

Oliver Howell Photography

Oliver Howell Photography

Kalamazoo, MI
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 63 Reviews
View more information

63 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 63
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

10 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jackie
    Jackie F. Married on 06/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Photographer!

    I am astonished at how beautiful our engagement pictures were and cannot wait to see how even more beautiful our wedding pictures will be next June. I cannot say enough great things about Oliver!
  • S
    Steve F. Married on 11/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome photographer!

    Oliver did an INCREDIBLE job at our wedding! He took wonderful pictures and had them to us very soon after the wedding! Overall we had a great experience with him.
  • L
    Lexie C. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An excellent experience

    Oliver did an incredible job with our engagement photos! He made the shoot so comfortable and enjoyable, we truly had a really fun day! The photos look great and were sent to us very quickly. I would definitely use him again!
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey S. Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!!

    Highly recommend Oliver! He did our engagement photos recently. They turned out great! He was very flexible about scheduling around the weather. He even managed to capture some really good photos with us and our very ADD dog! Our only problem is trying to pick which photos to use because we have so many good ones!
  • C
    Connie Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver was great! I didn't have a clear idea of what I wanted for our engagement photos, and he knew just what to do. He was fun and professional, and the pictures turned out amazing! We have a variety of pictures in different places and poses to choose from, which is exactly what we wanted. Call Oliver if you need a wedding photographer, you'll be happy you did!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our engagement pictures taken with Oliver, and we highly recommend him! He is extremely professional, talented, and a ton of fun to work with. Oliver was very flexible with us in rescheduling due to poor weather. He also got the photos back to us extremely fast, and they were perfect! We will absolutely be working with Oliver for our wedding!
  • Lauren
    Lauren C. Married on 02/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Oliver was Amazing!

    Oliver was an amazing addition to our special day. Because it was an out of town wedding, we only met him the day of and were extremely happy. He has a great attitude that puts the entire party at ease and most important, his work is beautiful!!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver did an amazing job capturing our wedding this past May. We could not have been happier with not only the professionalism Oliver had while capturing our big day, but also the amazing quality of the photographs he took. Oliver got our photos back to us extremely quickly and was very easy to communicate with. We would highly recommend him in the future!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 11/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just received our wedding photos and they are stunning! Mr. Howell does a phenomenal job. Most importantly, he is professional and efficient with his work. Oliver was always on time, respectful, and got our photos back so quickly (I'm amazed).
    Oliver has a creative mind and is a blast to work with! We were lucky to have him as a part of our day.

    :)
  • K
    Katelyn Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver is incredibly talented and enjoyable to work with. From our engagement session to our wedding day, and all of the planning in between, Oliver was very organized, flexible, and made the whole process enjoyable. Oliver was open to all of our ideas and requests and helped us make sure we had our timeline nailed down so that things would run smoothly on the big day. Oliver has a true gift for photography. He is artistic and does an excellent job capturing all the special moments. Our pictures our absolutely gorgeous. Thank you Oliver!!
  • M
    Michael Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver did the photography for our wedding in Kalamazoo and did a truly outstanding job. When we received our pictures soon after the wedding we were blown away. There were shots of everything from the day, from set up and empty shots at both the ceremony and reception, to getting ready, to every angle imaginable during the ceremony, to all the action during the reception. All wonderfully edited to give us a huge collection to choose our favorites from. He is helpful and friendly and professional through the entire process, and out of all of the vendors from the day is the one I would recommend the highest.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver did an amazing job at my wedding in October 2016. He was very patient with me and my requests, he was a great listener and provided the most amazing photos that captured my day perfectly. He was efficient with family photos after the ceremony which allowed our family to enjoy the cocktail hour and not be tied up with photos. The best part was he got the important shots and angles we were looking for and then more without being intrusive (we all know those weddings where the photographer always seems to be in the way or in the faces of the bride and groom-- Oliver on the other hand, blended in with the crowd and captured everything!). We are always going to keep him in mind for family photos in the future!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver, we absolutely LOVE our pictures! You captured the day better than I could have ever imagined. You were fantastic to work with, you were so efficient, which I can't tell you how much I appreciated for our wedding day - we were able to get every picture and pose we could possible want and get to our reception in a timely manner. No one could have handled our crazy group as well as you did. I am so grateful we hired such a professional and talented photographer. Thank you for allowing us to relive our wedding through our amazing pictures! I would highly, highly recommend Oliver.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver was our photographer for our June 25th wedding at Boyne Mountain and we could not be happier! Our photos are amazing and he had them to us in about a week! Somehow, we look great in all 1,200+ photos! He not only captures us but the beautiful scenery in each and every photo. He is so organized and on top of everything; for example, we were extremely pleased when we emailed him over 6 months out from the wedding and he responded the same day with a complete day of itinerary with a list of "must do" photos (one less thing for us to plan and worry about!!). And he devoted his entire day to us. He showed up before noon to scout photo location and was snapping photos of the girls getting reading by noon and was still there taking photos late into the night on the dance floor. He is perfectly assertive as well; he is able to direct everyone in an efficient but very nice manor. We've been to other family weddings where extended family photos after the ceremony take forever... to a point we almost didn't want to do them at our wedding... but we did and we were done in under 10 minutes due to Oliver's organization and guidance. It was AMAZING. Everything about Oliver and his photos are wonderful.
  • J
    Jeff Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was June 4th, 2016. Our venue was Hawthorne Gardens in Marshall, MI. The venue is simply stunning. We were blessed with an amazing photographer like Oliver to be able to have the eye to capture that beauty in each and every shot. Having friends that are professional photographers in a different state I showed them Oliver's work prior to booking with him and the response was common "This guy has an amazing eye.". Due to our wedding being in Michigan and both of us living in Iowa made meeting ahead of time difficult. We didn't meet Oliver until the day of our wedding as the Bride was getting ready. His personality is so calming and outgoing that we immediately knew we would get along great. I might have questioned some of the poses and shots that Oliver asked of us, but quickly realized how good he is and how bad I am and learned to trust him. There isn't a single picture out of the hundreds that he took that we don't like. We had an outdoor wedding and had rain starting to come in and needed to get our pictures done somewhat quickly. Oliver was amazing, he was focused, helped us move along, still have fun, and captured all the photos and more. We are eternally grateful we found Oliver and highly recommend him to anyone.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I'm not even sure where to start, as our entire experience with Oliver was amazing from start to finish! My husband and I wanted a photographer who we knew would produce quality work because the pictures are the only tangible reminder you have of your wedding day (well…husband aside I guess?), and we chose Oliver because we knew the pictures would be top quality and amazing. We were not disappointed AT ALL. He has this unique ability to capture the personalities of the people he's photographing and he is simultaneously professional and really able to just go with the flow - he somehow managed to keep our wedding party and our parents on time and on task *and* he did it while encouraging us to have fun in the process. And for our engagement pictures, he not only let us incorporate our dog into the photos, but also snuck in some "glamor shots" of her - imagine our surprising and delight when we looked at our photos and found those gems! He really takes the time to work with his couples and do what they want, not just what he thinks will work best.

    One of the best things about Oliver is his unobtrusiveness, too! After we finishing taking formal pictures, it's like he melted into the background. I know he took amazing pictures of our reception, first dance, and the ensuing party on the dance floor, but he never got in the way or made himself an obvious part of the proceedings. In the lead-up to the wedding, he was also an invaluable resource - Oliver is very willing to give suggestions and help you block out your wedding day if you need it. It's really wonderful - he's done so many weddings that he's great at helping a bride figure out where everyone needs to be and when (especially if you're doing a first look like we did). I legitimately cannot say enough about how wonderful the experience was or how beautiful our pictures are - I keep looking at them and they bring a giant smile to my face. Everything was wonderful - HIRE THIS MAN!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 05/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver did an excellent job for our May 20th wedding! We received our photos within about 3 weeks after the wedding and they are beautiful! Everyone of our family members and friends really loved the photos he took. Everyone has been raving about what a great photographer he is and how nice of a guy he was during on our special day! My wife and I are so glad that he was our photographer, we could not have been happier with our choice! Thank you again Oliver!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 11/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough about how amazing Oliver is. Not only did he make me and my husband feel at ease, but our bridal party as well. We had an absolute blast with him. His photos turned out beautifully and without the over-editing of other photographers. He captures the raw emotion of the day and leaves the lucky couple with beautiful memories of their special day. The best decision I made while planning my wedding.
  • D
    D Married on 11/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver was wonderful he was everywhere catching all the moments that a mother of the bride could not, he making looking at their wedding a wonderful experience! He had a smile on all day a was a blast to work with! Has a wonderful eye!
  • K
    Kristie Married on 10/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver is just great. Whenever we spoke with him, met with him, it didn't feel like we were speaking to a "vendor" for our wedding, it was more like talking with a friend. He's such a relaxed and friendly person, but is very focused on the photography aspect. He was nothing short of amazing, which is the reason why we chose him for our wedding, after seeing the incredible job he did for my sister's wedding the year before. I have nothing but good things to say about Oliver and his photography.
  • C
    Cole Married on 10/23/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a late October wedding in Frankenmuth, MI, and Oliver was instrumental in setting up beautiful group shots that utilized the right lighting and setting to make it memorable. He also took some really wonderful candid shots all the way from the dress-up to the afterparty. He really captured the totality of our wedding, and we will be able to look back on these memories for years to come. I honestly, truly cannot recommend Oliver's services enough. It also helps that he is a very warm, friendly person who puts people at ease, and is a solid addition to any wedding situation.
  • S
    Samantha Married on 09/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't think of enough good things to say about Oliver. Not only is his work impeccable, but he was so pleasant and easy going to work with. The morning of our wedding day, he showed up on time and right away began taking pictures of all the girls getting ready. He kept things fun and casual. In between taking pictures he'd strike up conversations with my Grandma, Mom, Aunt, Bridesmaids, etc. He truly enjoyed being there and captured every perfect moment!

    Throughout the day, he continued to impress us with everything he did. Weddings can be stressful, particularly keeping everything on track and on time. Picture-taking can be a tedious task when you're anxious to get to the reception, but this was not the case with Oliver. The process was extremely organized and smooth. For each picture, he knew exactly who he wanted up there and exactly who would be on deck. If something didn't look right to him, he knew exactly what it was and how to correct it. He was clear and concise with his instructions and made it fun! We made it to our reception way earlier than we expected.

    Oliver never missed an opportunity to capture a beautiful moment. During the sunset, he pulled my husband and I out to take some pictures, which turned out to be my absolute favorite ones! Again, it was quick but very thoughtful and thorough. We never felt like we were missing out on other things. He stayed with us well into the evening and got some awesome pics all the way till the end!

    I absolutely love every picture he took! They're beautiful and make me so glad we chose Oliver to be our photographer. You can tell he spends a lot of time on them to make each and every one perfect. If you have a wedding or special event you want to remember forever, please call Oliver!!!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 06/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver is both fun and professional. From the engagement photos to our wedding day, he captured our happiness flawlessly. He helped make our wedding day run smoothly and was really flexible and attentive to our dreams for the perfect wedding day. We couldn't have asked for a better photographer or pictures. Thanks again Oliver!
  • J
    Jamie Married on 05/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I don't even know where to start in reviewing Oliver Howell Photography! I guess I should just start by saying that Oliver is INCREDIBLE! When we first met Oliver he was so easy to talk to and we could tell that he was genuine, trustworthy and just a really fun guy! My husband and I were both a little nervous for our engagement session because neither of us feel very comfortable in front of a camera but Oliver made it fun and easy and the photos turned out great! On our wedding day Oliver was punctual, flexible and very professional. His creativity was outstanding and he took an incredible number of photos throughout the day. He was there for everything! He was able to take pictures of us setting up the barn for the wedding, the groomsmen getting ready and the bridal party getting ready including me putting on my gown and my mother helping me with my shoes and jewelry. He took amazing photos of me having a first look with my dad and was able to create a very special moment as Ben and I had our own first look. The photos of the bridal party were wonderful and he chose so many different settings and poses that we have such a fantastic selection to print. The photos from the ceremony were fabulous and he was able to catch all of the incredible emotion and expressions of love. And at the reception he was able to catch all of the important moments and memories! Most of the time we didn't even realize he was there taking photos. Looking back at our photos makes me feel as though I am reliving our wedding day over and over again. As I look through the photos I can see the overwhelming joy and excitement that I felt on that day. And that is something that I will forever treasure! Oliver, thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts for everything that you did to create the perfect wedding day. We will be forever grateful to you! We hope to see you again sometime... maybe for a beer between friends and of course for all of our future photography needs!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/23/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oliver is an amazing photographer!!! From our initial meeting to our engagement session to our wedding day and every day in between, Oliver is available to chat and answer any questions. We knew instantly over coffee that we wanted him to be our wedding photographer. He made both of us feel very comfortable right from the start. Our engagement session was fun and comfortable and Oliver brought out the best of myself and my husband. He was wonderful on our wedding day and captured every moment that we had wished and beyond. He was flexible, punctual, and creative. He was efficient in capturing the family photos. We cannot thank Oliver enough for the photographs we have from the best day of our lives together!! We love looking through the endless photos and still choose a different favorite each time we look through them. Thank you thank you Oliver....thank you does not seem like enough!!! We received so many comments from our guests at our wedding how wonderful Oliver was in interacting with them and the love of our photos!! We are forever thankful and grateful that we chose Oliver to capture our engagement and wedding day photos!! Highly recommend him to each and every bride!!! Thank YOU!!