Old Brick Reviews

10 | Iowa City, IA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Old Brick

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.4

Awards

10
Order by:
  • R

    rebecca · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best of both worlds!

    This church is the perfect site for a small wedding.

    Sent on 04/25/2019
  • Paul

    Paul · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Brick was fantastic at every point. Not only is it a beautiful venue but the staff there were extremely helpful. Best thing about it was that we could pretty much bring in any vendor we wanted allowing us to build our day exactly the way we wanted it.

    Sent on 07/08/2017
  • K

    Kate · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Brick was the perfect venue for our wedding. We were really glad to be in downtown Iowa City, and loved the chance of having the place for the whole weekend. We had our rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception all in Old Brick, and enjoyed the flexibility of set-up and that we felt distinction between all the events without having to move to a new place. We were particularly amazed with the staff. Everything went very smoothly and everyone was really helpful whenever we had questions.

    Sent on 07/29/2014
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we had our reception at Old Brick, it was amazing. The flexibility to bring in our own catering and alcohol saved so much money but was still classy. Highly recommend renting both Friday and Saturday to allow enough time to set up.

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • K

    Kensington · Married on 01/28/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Brick was a beautiful venue to host our wedding. Tony and Mackenzie were great to work with.

    Sent on 02/05/2017
  • User2634237 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used this church for my rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception, so I certainly got my money's worth, and for all of that, the price was very reasonable. The building is beautiful, and we just loved the character of it. If you want this venue, you will have to love it for its age and not be blindsided if things aren't up to modern standards. There was a transfer of directorship before my wedding, but everyone was very accommodating. Special shout out to the guys on the event team; you were lifesavers! I recommend this venue for the couple looking for something a little different than a banquet hall, but not afraid of a lot of DIY.

    Sent on 12/27/2014
  • N

    Naomi · Married on 04/15/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We really enjoyed having our wedding at Old Brick. It is such a unique and historic venue, and everyone remarked on what a beautiful location it was. Since you rent only the venue you then have the freedom to select your own caterer, cake, etc, and can customize every aspect of your wedding as you like it. The only drawback is that the rental price can be high after you add in everything else you will need, but if you are looking to have your wedding somewhere that is not another hotel ballroom, this is the spot I would recommend! And if you rent it for both Friday and Saturday you can do all your set-up and rehearsal worry free the day before.

    Sent on 06/10/2012
  • Saramarie

    Sara · Married on 05/29/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Old Brick was the perfect location for our wedding. We really wanted a place where we could hold the ceremony and reception all in one location to simplify things for our many out of town guests. I received several compliments on the beautiful building. And its natural architectural grace helped us keep our decoration to a minimum.

    The new event coordinator was great to work with and, I'm told, was very hands-on behind the scenes to make sure everything ran smoothly on our big day. It is a more costly venue than several others in the area, but the ability to bring in our own food and alcohol really helped us stick to our budget.

    As for flexibility, be advised that it is a historical landmark and there are certain things you can't do, like nail anything in the walls or have a keg on the wood floor in the main auditorium. But the staff is really good about finding solutions and working around these limitations.

    Sent on 06/11/2010
  • N

    Natasha · Married on 07/21/2007

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The Old Brick is a fantastic venue and we loved having our wedding there. We had both our ceremony and reception there, and had round tables set up for the ceremony so our guests could start at their tables and didn't have to wait for us to flip the place. This worked really well, and many people commented that they loved the venue and loved staying in one place. The church is beautiful and in a great location. The events coordinator is really nice but a little spacey; he didn't seem to remember anything that we told him and would tell us different things on different days. This became a big problem with our rehearsal; Old Brick is used for lots of different events, so when we booked our wedding a year in advance, we told the coordinator we wanted Friday night too for our rehearsal and set-up. He offered to pencil us in and let us reserve it for free unless someone else tried to book for that night; if that happened, he promised to call and give us a chance to reserve it for a cost before booking with anyone else. Well, he forgot to call and booked another event just a week or two before our wedding, so we found out with just a week to spare that the space was booked Friday night until 10:30! We were upset not only because we had to bump our rehearsal up to mid-afternoon that day, but also because we needed to set-up everything: tables, chairs, place settings, kitchen, decorations, etc; and we had to wait until almost 11 pm the night before our wedding to even get started. He was not apologetic and claimed he had no memory of promising us the space. This caused us a lot of stress, but in the end, the wedding was gorgeous and we still loved the venue. I would definitely recommend this venue--just be sure to book far in advance and get everything solidly booked so you don't have any last minute surprises!

    Sent on 08/15/2008
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 03/15/2014

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We had our wedding reception at Old Brick in March 2014. Though the space is beautiful, and the ability to bring in our own drinks and caterer helped us have a very nice wedding customized to our tastes.

    However, I need to share a story from our wedding day - that (had I known this would have happened), we likely would have selected another venue.

    The coordinator was supposed to open the building for us at 8am (there was an event the day before, so we needed to set up the morning of the wedding). Our rental company was going to set up the tables, chairs, set the linens and dinner settings, etc. at 8:30. My fiancé and his father went to Old Brick around 8 to get in, make sure all the doors were opened for the rental company on time, and just be there in case anything was needed. The coordinator was not there. She also did not answer her cell phone, and nobody was in the office.

    She did not arrive until about 10:45 that morning - almost 3 hours later than she told us we would have access to the building. We had called the coordinator's cell phone, sent emails, and called the office a few times with no response.

    Luckily (I don't know how our reception would have happened without this) someone who works in one of the offices at Old Brick came in around 9 to get some work done and reluctantly let my fiance and his father in. They were able to open the doors to the auditorium and let the rental company in. Our reception went off without any further problems, but we were very lucky that we got in the building when we did. I don't even want to think about what would have happened if the rental company left - we wouldn't have had linens, dishes, or glasses for 200 guests.

    Overall, the building is a great size and very charming, but I'm not sure how much good that does if the building is locked and the coordinator is absent and not responsive.

    Sent on 03/27/2014

    Old Brick's reply:

    Old Brick sincerely apologizes for the inconvenience.
    We have offered this party a $200 reimbursement, and are striving to ensure that this situation never occurs again.

    As a small non-profit, we truly appreciate your business.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review