Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe Reviews

139 | Buffalo, NY
See photos, pricing and details

139 Reviews for Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe

Recommended by 99%

139
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

15 User photos

Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 1
Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 2
Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 3
Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 4
Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 5
Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 6
Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 7
+ 9
Sort by:
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Straightforward consultation appointment with a couple of tasting options. Delicious cake and good value. With the option we selected, we supposedly get a free one year anniversary cake, which is great :) The cake looked just as discussed and tasted amazing.

    Sent on 10/08/2017
    Ohlson's Bakery & Cafe 8
  • B

    Brenda · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had their cake for our wedding, it was delicious!!! Had so many compliments on it! Lisa was very helpful with any questions we asked. You won't be disappointed!!

    Sent on 09/26/2017
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was absolutely delicious! When we met to discuss what we wanted they were very accommodating and made it happen! We've gotten so many complements on the cakes taste as well as the look of it. This is our new bakery of choice and we couldn't have been happier with our selection.

    Sent on 08/02/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake for our wedding was absolutely wonderful! It was beautiful, exactly what we wanted, and it was DELICIOUS! I am so happy that we worked with Ohlson's. They were very helpful, professional, and just wonderful to work with. We had a smaller 2 tier cake, and even though it was smaller, it made a huge impact!

    Sent on 06/28/2017
  • P

    Paulette · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first started shopping for wedding cakes, we first went to another bakery that had great reviews yet we were horribly disappointed. Ohlson's was next on our lisa. We were so glad the first place turned out to be a waste if time because it led us to Ohlson's. This place was amazing! Even the deserts in the case looked so polished and tasted even better. We sat with Lisa and she was wonderful!! We showed her pictures and discussed our ideas and she helped us come up with the most beautiful and best tasting wedding cake!! Our guests RAVED about the cake. My sister, who works weddings and banquets in another state, said it was the best cake she has ever had! They make their cakes fresh and you can tell by the taste. It was absolutely wonderful all the way around!!

    Sent on 06/24/2017
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lisa has done so many weddings and really knows how to help you find what you are looking for in terms of cake size and style. We had a somewhat small wedding with 90 guests, so she recommended her "300 series" right off the bat and it looked absolutely gorgeous. You can show her your dress or other decorations and she will help match your style! We got 2 layers of chocolate marble and one layer of almond, and got tons of compliments. Plus they send a complimentary anniversary cake, too!

    Sent on 05/30/2017
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy with our wedding cake from Ohlson's! Our cake not only looked amazing, but tasted great too!! Lisa was very patient with us as we built and designed together our perfect cake. She gave us make options for making everything cost effective. The cake came out better than we could have imagined and we will be going back to Ohlson's for many years to come!

    Sent on 03/18/2017
  • J

    Joanne · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake was one of the biggest happy surprises of the wedding. It was so much better than I could have imagined and much more reasonable than I expected. I had my own cake topper and they were happy to incorporate it, even though it was a little quirky. The cake tasted wonderful and everyone was happy with it.

    Sent on 02/12/2017
  • Rachel946

    Rachel · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience working with Ohlson's for our wedding cake! The value can't be beat and they were so accommodating and easy to work with! Our cake was absolutely stunning and just as delicious!

    Sent on 10/19/2016
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We tried multiple bakeries and this by far was the most delicious! We were delighted with the cake and the small desserts that we requested for our wedding. All of our guests gushed over how wonderful the cake was, it was decorated perfectly to my vision and Lisa Ohlson was a delight to work with. She was professional, friendly and accommodating.

    Sent on 01/16/2017
  • T

    teresa · Married on 09/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    beautiful beautiful cake! and cookies

    Sent on 09/29/2016
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We bought a cake in the "300 Series" and it did not disappoint! Not only was it cost effective, several of our guests stated that it was the best wedding cake they had ever had! We had a mix of white almond and raspberry. They were also able to provide a small gluten free cake on the side! I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • J

    Jesse · Married on 08/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding cake looked great. They are very affordable.

    Sent on 08/31/2016
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was amazing!! SO many of our guests told us how great it was and wanted the name of the bakery!! I would absolutely recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding cake and the prices were extremely reasonable as well!

    Sent on 08/25/2016
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ohlson's Bakery was a wonderful option for a gluten-free bride. They matched the color of my cake to my dress and created a lace-like icing pattern to match it as well. There were so many options to choose from for the regular cake, and they offered either vanilla or chocolate gluten free cake with any kind of filling. We chose to do a chocolate gluten free cutting cake with raspberry filling and a regular marble cake with raspberry filling for the rest of the guests. Everyone thought that the cakes were beautiful and delicious.

    Sent on 09/11/2016
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cake from Ohlson's was beautiful and delicious. Lisa allowed us to choose three different flavors for our cake and created a the most gorgeous rustic design for our cake that fit our venue perfectly. She communicated directly with our florist to make sure that fresh flowers were included!

    Sent on 02/23/2017
  • Eileen

    Eileen · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We initially had booked with another bakery, but could not be happier that "deal" fell through! While our first bakery showed subpar customer service and responsiveness, Ohlson's FAR exceeded our expectation. As we live out of town, scheduling meetings for visits home can be a bit difficult; this was not so for Ohlson's. Lisa was incredibly responsive and accommodating in meeting with us, and we fell in love with Ohlson's upon our first visit. Most important to note, the cake was SUPERB. Our families and guests have given us endless compliments about our wedding cake, all of which we owe to Ohlson's. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Sent on 06/30/2016
  • Erica

    Erica · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Ohlson's! We first were introduced at a bridal show in Buffalo, and were sold immediately with the delicious almond flavored cake/frosting. We set up a consultation with Lisa, who was absolutely great and completely understood our vision. Everything turned out perfect and delicious. We would recommend this bakery to anyone inquiring!

    Sent on 07/22/2016
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everybody LOVED our cake, especially my husband and I!! They did an amazing job making the cake exactly as we wanted and I am excited for our one year anniversary for our anniversary cake that was included in the cost of the cake for the big day!! I would DEFINITELY recommend Ohlson's for any event that needs a gorgeous and yummy cake!!!

    Sent on 06/04/2016
  • S

    Silverman · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING!!! Our cake was beautiful and was so moist and tasty!! Delivered on time and loved the tasting before!! We had so many compliments on our cake!!

    Sent on 03/21/2016
  • User5234401 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    That cake just melts in your mouth! It's absolutely delicious with the buttercream frosting, looks amazing and we loved it! It's soft and light. The prices are very reasonable and the fresh anniversary cake is much better than freezing your cake! The best wedding cake I've ever had (and I am a wedding cake snob as I love baking myself!)

    Sent on 12/05/2015
  • User4573747 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning cake with incredibly friendly staff. While we had rude responses from another popular bakery that deemed our cake "too small" to call for a consultation, ohlsons was not only happy to sit down and do a tasting, but spend time planning our a design with us. Could not have asked for a more delicious cake either. Would recommend them over any bakery in the area. Thanks to the staff there for a wonderful cake!

    Sent on 11/02/2015
  • C

    Christopher · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Ohlson's for our wedding cake and it turned out absolutely perfect. Our guests commented on how beautiful it was and also how delicious it was. We chose one of their $300 cakes and has the top and bottom tiers done in their raspberry marble cake and the middle tier was almond cake. From the decorations to the cake itself, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect cake, moist and delicious.

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious cake!!!!! Everyone loved our almond and raspberry marble flavors. The buttercream was outstanding and the detail in the design was flawless!!! I would recommend anyone to Ohlson's Bakery. Lisa was so sweet and easy to work with! Her cakes are very resonably priced too!! You can't go wrong with one of her cakes! Thank you so much!!

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 10/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We tried their samples at a bridal expo, and they were delicious! The cake they provided for our wedding was beautiful. We received so many compliments about it. And it was just as tasty as when we sampled it.

    Sent on 12/10/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review