Ogontz Camp Reviews

7 | Lisbon, NH
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Ogontz Camp

Recommended by 91%

7

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.1

10 User photos

Ogontz Camp 1
Ogontz Camp 2
Ogontz Camp 3
Ogontz Camp 4
Ogontz Camp 5
Ogontz Camp 6
Ogontz Camp 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • M

    Michaela · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to even begin with how wonderful Ogontz was for our wedding weekend? I truly cannot say enough positive things and would sing their praises to anyone considering a wedding there. My husband and I were planning our wedding from California, and booked Ogontz before visiting the place in person, which was a huge leap of faith. Our decision to do so was based on our communication with Sarah at the camp, the other fantastic reviews we read about them (and the food!), and the photos we saw of other people's weddings there. Not being planners ourselves, my husband and I were never quite sure leading up to the wedding that we had covered all of the wedding details we needed to. However, our planning calls with Sarah and Michelle helped us put those fears to rest, as they cover every single detail not just of the wedding day but of the entire weekend. During the actual weekend, Ogontz staff anticipated our every need and was always three steps ahead of us. The camp is an extremely well-oiled machine when it comes to hosting weddings, and neither my husband nor I nor a single guest had to lift a finger the entire weekend. The staff were incredibly gracious and thoughtful, and Michelle and Dave made sure that everything was working like clockwork and everyone was happy and having a wonderful time. The food was delicious and plentiful, the cabins are all unique and lovely and clean, and the decorations (!!!) - the decorations are incredible! I cannot recommend having Ogontz do the decorations for you enough. They truly transformed the dining hall into an enchanted forest. There were also tons of activities for all of our guests, from young children to older adults. Swimming? Yes. Boating? Yes? Tennis, volleyball, soccer, cornhole, etc.? Yes. Bounce house?! Yes! My husband and I had a better wedding than we ever could have imagined thanks to Ogonz. We cried when we left, and can't wait to go back!

    Sent on 06/19/2018
  • B

    Beth · Married on 05/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can’t say enough about Ogontz, the magic of the place, the staff, and our wedding.
    My husband and I always wanted a camp wedding, where everyone could come together for a holiday weekend. We previously attended a wedding at Ogontz and didn’t look any further. When was the last wedding you went to a wedding that you vividly remember the food and felt like you were on vacation? That’s Ogontz.
    We had an easy and thorough planning process with Ogontz and the staff is relaxed and confident because they do what they do so well. You should be relaxed too. The hardest part about planning a wedding at Ogontz was the RSVPs from our guests and all the questions about housing. Rest assured- we had several guests stay at a hotel down the road who still hung out at camp.
    During our time at camp, we planned a yoga class, hiking, trivia night, manicure/pedicure stations, and Zumba. People went swimming, took out canoes, or just sat and visited in the Adirondack chairs. We stocked the fridge with beer/wine and everyone helped themselves. As many guests said over the weekend- “it’s like we are on vacation at your wedding.”
    We had 7 glorious meals at Ogontz. From fresh bread to homemade jams, bbq, and ice cream sandwiches, you will not get a better product at your wedding. The cheese plate alone is enough to cry over. Again, a wedding at Ogontz allows for you to really share meals with your guests and for quality time together. We went from 35 people the first night to 90 the second, and 115 for the wedding. It was a perfect mix of a small intimate wedding and larger event.
    The staff at Ogontz is what makes the experience. They truly care about you, your family, and your guests. From knowing the guests with dietary restrictions by name, to impeccable groundskeeping, to setting up the bonfire, spraying for mosquitos, to food presentation, or setting off fireworks with enthusiasm, they set the tone for what will be one of the best weekends of your life.







    Sent on 07/16/2018
    Ogontz Camp 8
    Ogontz Camp 9
    Ogontz Camp 10
    Ogontz Camp 11
    Ogontz Camp 12
    Ogontz Camp 13
    Ogontz Camp 14
    Ogontz Camp 15
    Ogontz Camp 16
    Ogontz Camp 17
  • User5645672 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we selected Ogontz. We got married Aug 2014, a couple in mid thirties. Worked with Sarah and Andrew who were great. We chose ogontz partly because of rave reviews we heard about the food, decorations, and area, and that they could do the cooking right there so we didn't have to find caterers, and the food would be fresh prepared, local, organic. It didn't disappoint! When Andrew started describing to us how he'd make the food our mouths started watering, and on the day of, they came through: just wow, we can't imagine better food. You want really good food for your wedding, and they just nailed it. Same thing for decor - we shared our photos pinterest, and again it was awesome, thank goodness one less thing to worry about, I don't know if we would have done it any different. All was perfectly organized, no big hiccups, so we could just enjoy the special day, these guys are pros.

    We were originally concerned that the accommodation for ~250 people would be too much (too many empty spaces), but it turned out we wanted to really only have about 2 people per cabin instead of the maximum four, so with our 100-person wedding we basically filled the place up. We didn't need/use the new big concert hall they recently built.

    Sent on 11/27/2015
  • M

    Meera · Married on 09/10/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we started planning our wedding for Sep 2016, we wanted to bring together 300 family and friends in a nature-filled, relaxed, and personal environment for a whole weekend, we thought we'd never find a venue. And then we found Ogontz! We described our ambitious wedding vision to Sarah and Andrew in our first meeting, and they delivered on every detail. Ogontz took care of all catering except alcohol, decorating/flowers, and prepping venues throughout the weekend. We took care of DJ, bartending, and a lifeguard and Sarah connected us to local vendors. We did not want to get bogged down in details (like choosing place settings or flowers). Sarah and Andrew took a little inspiration and worked their magic for us; the colors and theme were based on the picture of the bride’s wedding dress (colorful Indian garb). Our wedding was the biggest they had hosted and they did a great job transforming the dining area to comfortably seat that crowd efficiently getting people through the line. They even thought of little details we forgot, like having high chairs for babies. If we ever needed anything (such as when our family member got his car stuck in a nearby ditch), we just had to ask and someone took care of it right away. We wanted Indian food, and Andrew took the time to learn our family dishes. Andrew’s food and Sarah’s baking were a hit. We still dream about the lemon tart, roast pig, chicken sandwiches, fresh bread, and homemade chutneys. Many of the vegetables and meats were homegrown at Ogontz. The scenery is breathtaking. Everyone enjoyed the lake (boating and swimming), the grounds (sports fields, hiking, waterfalls, and even a wood-fired hot tub), and the many different buildings for late night board games, family time, and just hanging out. We had bonfires at night and Andrew prepared a s'mores kit with home-made marshmallows! We had the ceremony and dance in the main hall. The majority of our guests stayed onsite in cabins.

    Sent on 03/27/2017
  • User2964831 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at Camp Ogontz was memorable and wonderful. Andrew and Sarah,our main contacts, were very interested and involved in fleshing out ideas for our wedding weekend. They put on the following for us: rehearsal dinner, wedding day brunch, ceremony location decor and setup, cocktail hour, wedding dinner, post reception bonfire, and morning after brunch. All were very well executed and tailored to what we requested.
    The highlights were the food and decor. They put on a lobster bake for our rehearsal dinner, complete with clam chowder, corn on the cob, and steamers. The time leading up to the food was also festive, they set up a huge bonfire and cooked the lobsters and steamers in 6 aluminum trash cans. We had an unseasonably cold weekend, so it acted as a gathering place to keep everyone warm outside. Our wedding dinner food was also delicious- I highly recommend the prime rib and garlic mashed potatoes.
    The also handled the décor throughout the weekend. Our wedding ceremony décor was rustic, lush, and lovely. They gathered flowers of our wedding colors and provided a beautiful wedding arch. We also received many, many compliments on the wedding reception décor. The room was an indoor paradise of young saplings, lanterns, and candles.
    Other plusses for the venue are that the venue can accommodate many guests both for the party and to stay on site all weekend, you can bring your own alcohol that saves a lot of money, and you can bring fireworks (that staff sets off for you).
    Some things to consider when choosing this venue- the overnight accommodations are rustic, so prepare your guests. Since much of the appeal of the venue is the outdoor beauty, it is harder to appreciate if it is cold and rainy. It rained our weekend- we were cold, but still had an amazing time.

    Sent on 04/22/2015
  • User4101466 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVE Camp Ogontz!! My sister had gotten married there 4 years ago; we had a wonderful weekend. We were a little nervous about going back to the same venue since we wanted our wedding to be a unique experience. IT TOTALLY WAS! Sarah and Andrew worked to make our wedding weekend truly magical. The best part is that everyone can stay onsite and you have the whole weekend to enjoy time with your family and friends. We used the rehearsal hall space to have a casino theme night using an outside vendor to set up. Sarah meet with the vendor and helped organize the set up.
    Since we were not in NH during the planning part we did most of the planning over the phone and email. It would take a little bite for them to get back to us months before the wedding just as an FYI but they always answered all our questions thoroughly and the 2 months before the wedding they were super fast at getting back to us. Andrew followed me on Pintrest and saw what I liked and created some of the items I had liked as a surprise- it was amazing.
    The mix of housing on camp makes it so everyone can stay. We charged people depending on what type of housing they were in which helped off the set the cost and was way cheaper for them than staying at a hotel. There are hotels 15-20 mins away. We did not get transportation but there are some school bus rentals in the area. The fact it is BYOB we saved a ton of money on alcohol. The staff at camp can't give out alcohol so we used our family friend to help us serve.
    You will love your wedding weekend! Our family loved both of ours!! People are still talking about my sister and my wedding!!!

    Sent on 12/18/2014
  • User3280742 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Amazing location, food and decorations! Only complaint was staff was not as responsive etc as one would expect for event and money spent.

    Sent on 10/29/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review