Oakes Ames Memorial Hall Reviews

5 | North Easton, MA
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for Oakes Ames Memorial Hall

Recommended by 87% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 3.7

Awards

5
Order by:
  • Brenna

    Brenna Campbell · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Decision We Made!

    We are so thrilled that we got married at Oakes Ames Memorial Hall. We held the ceremony in the downstairs hall and the reception in the great hall upstairs. It was wonderful to have everything in the same place. We loved the flexibility of being able to choose our own vendors and decorations. Joan and the building staff were outstandingly helpful. It is such a gorgeous space with unique details that made our wedding feel different and special.

    Sent on 11/23/2019
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 10/26/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oakes Ames memorial hall was an amazing place to have a reception. We felt like we had a venue that was an absolute steal, one where we got everything we wanted for our small wedding (50 people) and was absolutely gorgeous. The lovely woman we worked with (Norma) was great in helping us get things set up and my only complaint would be that it was not always easy to get a hold of her. Other than that, we loved Oakes Ames Memorial Hall and would highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/19/2013
  • User3867671 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely stunning Reception hall! The woman that runs the hall only uses her phone though, so communication was a little difficult, it would have been nice if she had an email however she was very friendly and informative. The price was perfect and the location was central for most of our family and friends!

    Sent on 02/03/2014
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/22/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Oakes Ames is a hidden gem. It is a beautiful historic hall. The photos on the website don't do it justice, you have to check it out in person: http://www.oakesameshall.org/

    Aside from just the beauty of the venue, we went with Oakes Ames because it was reasonable and we could basically have the hall from 11am to 11pm. I was really nervous about feeling that my wedding would be cut short. Most venues that we looked at had a 4 hour window and that was it. With some you could extend an hour but pay a hefty price.

    In addition to the timing, the pricing is dirt cheap. We rented out the entire building for $1100 ($1300 for non-Easton residents). You could just rent the upstairs (the bigger room) for $700 or the downstairs for $300. Other historic sites charge a lot more than this for less time and with more restrictions.

    As with most historic sites, you do have to bring in all of your vendors. An additional downside to Oak Ames is that the contact does not have an email account or a cell phone. We would basically call her at her home and schedule a time to visit. It's kind of ridiculous but she was very sweet and easy to deal with. The email on the website goes to a person (I believe an ancestor of Oakes Ames) and he basically just tells you to contact Norma. The website has probably not been updated in 5 years and there are parts of the building that feel a little tired. However, it's still beautiful and in some ways, you gotta wonder if more money was put into the building and services if the price would stay so reasonable. They really could be making a lot of money off of this place but it seems like they are just doing the minimum. For us, it was the perfect spot for our wedding. All of our guests loved the space. Next door at the library there is a beautiful garden where you can take photos.

    I would NOT recommend our caterer, Crazy Chefs. (See my review for details.) Whoever you choose, definitely go with a buffet.

    Sent on 11/13/2012
  • User3240637 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Oakes Ames Memorial Hall is a beautiful building. It was a little difficult to arrange to get in the hall to meet with vendors, but with plenty of notice it was not an issue. I would highly recommend this site if you are willing to do the work of bringing in your own vendors. We used Russell Morin Fine Caterers and had a plated meal and it was amazing!

    Sent on 10/17/2013