Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe Reviews

119 | Charlotte, NC
See photos, pricing and details

119 Reviews for Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe

Recommended by 98%

119
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

4 User photos

Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 1
Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 2
Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 3
Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 4
Sort by:
  • Tabetha

    Tabetha Shelly · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Service!

    Nona's did my wedding cake and it was beautiful and delicious! I saved the top layer for my anniversary and I already can't wait to eat it. It was reasonably priced and superb quality. Thank you Nona's for making my wedding day complete!

    Sent on 10/24/2018

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Tabetha, Thank you for your excellent review! I am so glad you did save the top, chocolate with almond buttercream - Yummo! Come in to the bakery and get a cupcake so you don't have to wait a year :) Vanessa with Bridal Affairs did an amazing job too. thanks again, Dominica
  • M

    Marie · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dominica rocks!! Staff too! Amazing!!!

    Cake & cookies Great! #1 staff

    Sent on 10/24/2018
    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 5
    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 6

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much Marie for your wonderful review! You and your family are so dear, and I was so happy to be the sweet part of this very special anniversary :) looking forward to seeing you again soon and thank you again, Dominica
  • Tameeka

    Tameeka · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Nona's for my wedding cake. My cake was absolutely perfect (design & taste). I had several guest ask where did I order my cake. Dominica is the best to work with and deliveries great results.

    Sent on 04/04/2018
    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 7

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Thank you Tameeka, for your excellent review! It was my pleasure to make your vision a delicious centerpiece. Appreciate your referrals very much. Hope to see you soon, Dominica
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The owner and staff were SUPERB, and the cake was GORGEOUS and DELICIOUS!!!! Highly recommended!!!

    Sent on 10/02/2017
    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe 8

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Sharon, thank you for your excellent review and it was a pleasure to serve you and your guests! appreciate your kind words very much :) hope to see you soon, Dominica
  • K

    Kassie · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were recommended to this bakery by a friend that used them for their wedding - she suggested the almond on almond cake. We could not agree more! Cake tasting was a blast. Dominica was great to work with. She did an awesome job designing our sweetheart cake and cupcakes. Needless to say, we'll be going back to this bakery for their wonderful cakes.

    Sent on 04/15/2017

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Kassie, thank you for your excellent review and for your very kind words. so enjoyed working with you all and look forward to seeing you again soon! have a sweet day, Dominica
  • L

    Lillie · Married on 01/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I absolutely loved our wedding cake. Nona's Sweets did an exceptional job with our cake! Our wedding was nearly a month ago and we still have wedding guests asking who made our cake! We will continue to use Nona's Sweets for future events as well as if we are having a sweets craving. I would highly recommend Nona's Sweets to anyone for weddings and/or various events. The staff is amazing and very creative!

    Sent on 02/11/2017

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Lillie, thank you so much for your excellent review. so happy everyone enjoyed and the guests were happy. thank you again for choosing us to be the sweet part of your day. hope to see you very soon, Dominica
  • E

    Erica · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona's was fantastic, we are so happy with the cake we got!! It was delicious, and everyone loved it!

    Sent on 12/02/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Erica, Thank you for the wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. So thrilled everyone enjoyed it! hope to see you again soon best always Dominica
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I will forever compare any wedding cake to ours from Nona's! We received several compliments on the flavor and texture of our cake - there wasn't even a single crumb left! Nona's also provided a cake and cupcakes for our rehearsal dinner, which were delicious (just as we expected). Go by the bakery (friendly and helpful staff) and try a slice of cake or other treat - you will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 11/16/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    hello, Thank you for your excellent review! So happy everyone enjoyed, and all the cake was gone :) We truly appreciate your referrals, and look forward to seeing you in the future. best always, Dominica
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 09/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona's Sweets was a great choice for our wedding. There are so many choices it can be hard to choose. However, with the help of Dominica, we were able to narrow down our choices for the cake very quickly. We also trusted Dominica to come up with a great design for the cake. Overall, the cake was a hit with all and we cannot wait to have the top layer in a year.

    Sent on 09/09/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Michelle, thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate you taking the time! glad the cake was a big hit and all enjoyed :) thanks again, Dominica
  • User5473524 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona's is the absolute best!! The best cake you have ever had.

    Sent on 09/27/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Thank you so much for your excellent review, we appreciate your 5 star rating and taking the time to let us know. Hope to serve you again very soon!
  • J

    jesse · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona's Sweets was our baker for our wedding. We had a variety of cupcake flavors and a small cake for my husband and I to cut. Everything was amazing!! We took some of our extra cupcakes on our honeymoon with us so we could try all the different flavors and every one of them was delicious! We are counting down the days until our one year anniversary so we can take our cake out of the freezer and eat it!!

    Sent on 11/03/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Jesse, thank you so much for your excellent review! I am thrilled you enjoyed and had enough for your honeymoon too. YAY, cake for breakfast! it was a pleasure serving you and hope to see you at the bakery soon. best always, Dominica
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow!!! Is the only word that quickly comes to when everyone kept telling us how awesome the cake was. There wasn't a piece left for me and my husband to even eat later. So, that's just how good it was. Thank you Nona!!

    Sent on 07/05/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Debbie, Thank you for your excellent review, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your cake. wish you and your hubby could have gotten a piece for later :) Thrilled everyone enjoyed and thank you again for any referrals! best always, Dominica
  • A

    Alayna · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone loved the cake! Nona's Sweets made a beautiful and delicious cake for our wedding that was exactly what we envisioned. I liked that we were sat in our own room to taste cake and then got to discuss in detail exactly what we wanted without feeling rushed. You can tell that they truly want to make you the best cake possible. It also stuck with me that they sent me home with a pack of cupcakes free of charge so that my fiancé who was sad he couldn't make it to the tasting could try them.

    Sent on 05/10/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Thank you Alayna for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your kind words and taking the time! Thrilled to have been a part of your wedding day, congrats! best always, Dominica
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with how our cake and cupcakes turned out for our wedding last year!! Nona and team were lovely to work with, and they made our cake exactly how I pictured it from the inspiration photos I provided. But most importantly, the cake was delicious!! We did a small tiered cake with lots of cupcakes in different flavors because we couldn't choose just one. THANK YOU!!!

  • User6174049 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was fantastic. We had a funfetti wedding cake and lemon cupcakes. Dominica was absolutely amazing with coordination and working with us though we were long distance. I recommend Nona's Sweets for absolutely delicious cakes and customer service. Thank you!

    Sent on 01/08/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Amy, Thank you for your excellent review, I really appreciate you taking the time to do so. So thrilled you and your guests enjoyed. Congrats again to you and Luke! Best wishes, Dominica
  • User6299078 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Instead of getting a cake, for our wedding, we decided to go with cupcakes. Everyone was talking about the cupcakes that they weren't too sweet and were arranged perfectly. Amazing service and great tasting cake!!! We asked for extra cupcakes, it wasn't super expensive. Nonas bakery came before the wedding and arranged the cupcakes.

    Sent on 01/31/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi, Thank you for your kind words and excellent review! We really appreciate you. Cupcakes are so fun and offer your guest some options, great choice! We hope to see you again sometime soon. Best always, Dominica
  • S

    Sara · Married on 01/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SOOOO happy the hotel I had, booked thru Nona's Sweets!!

    I wanted my wedding cake to be a little different and so we got cupcakes, instead of the traditional 3 tier cake!! THE CUPCAKES WERE AMAZING!! They were perfect, they werent too sweet or to small!! Each bite was favorable! Sadly, my top tier cake is gone too.. It was too good to leave for a year, soo on our 1 year anniversary, we will defiantly be ordering with Nona!!

    AMAZING customer service!!

    Sent on 06/27/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Sara, thank you for your excellent review, we really appreciate all your kind words! I am so excited everyone enjoyed the cake and cupcakes, that makes us all happy. Come see us for your one year anniversary cake, or don't wait and stop in anytime for a cupcake :) Best always, Dominica
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 11/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona was as sweet as the things she bakes. She was wonderful with capturing the details of our theme and the presentation was breath taking. The cake was full of flavor and moist. She is spot on with the ingredients of what makes a delicious and visually pleasing reception cake. You want a really great baked good then Nona is the woman to talk to.

    Sent on 11/23/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Kathleen, Thank you so much for your excellent review. Your kind words really make what we do so special to us. I will share it with our team! We really appreciate you, your referrals, and look forward to seeing you again!
  • J

    JODI · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dominica is wonderful!!!! She made and delivered the cake for our wedding on November 7, 2015. The marble cake and chocolate buttercream icing we chose was the perfect combination......the cake was delicious!!!! I would highly recommend Nona's Sweets & Bakery Cafe to anyone and for any occasion. I was very pleased and happy with how my cake turned out!!!!!! Thank you Dominica-

    Sent on 02/10/2016

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Jodi, Thank you for your kind words and excellent review! You really make us all happy, I will share it with our team! I hope to see you again very soon. Best always, Dominica :)
  • User5628360 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona's Bakery has the very best almond cake with almond icing. The guest loved it so much they were coming back for seconds! They do deliver and since my venue was on a road that was very bumpy, they assembled the cake at the place of my reception. The cake was exactly like I had pictured it and this venue is very flexible to work with. I go to this bakery at least 3 times a month just to get a treat (would go more if I didn't live so far away! haha). They have much more to offer than just cake. I would recommend this bakery to everyone!

    Sent on 11/20/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi, I am so glad everyone enjoyed the cake and got to have seconds! Thank you for choosing us for your special wedding day. I really appreciate your kind words and referrals. I am glad you come back and treat yourself :) We all deserve a lil sweet hug! Best always, Dominica
  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nonas made my daughters wedding cake. It was absolutely delicious. The designed was exactly what my daughter wanted and Dominica was great to work with. They did such a wonderful job we have used them again. We would highly recommend them!!

    Sent on 11/04/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Julie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this excellent review. I loved working with you and Lauren! I am so glad we met and look forward to seeing you again soon. Fondly, Dominica
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nona's is our favorite place to get cakes for all occasions! We couldn't be more honored then to have them provide us with our Wedding cake!

    Sent on 02/09/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi, so glad you use us for your celebrations, and appreciate the excellent review. It is OUR honor to serve you on the most important celebration yet! Thanks for choosing us! best always, Dominica
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dominica was very friendly and professional. My husband and I met with her, shared our vision, and she was able to create exactly what we were looking for. We wanted to have the Charlotte skyline incorporated into the bottom layer of our cake in a 3D fashion. We could not have been happier with the result! Not only did the cake turn out better than we could have hoped for, but the taste was amazing as well. We got a lot of compliments on how moist the cake was, and especially how nice the almond flavor was. We went with Almond Cake, Almond Buttercream icing, and an Amaretto mouse filling. It was fabulous!

    Sent on 11/02/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Rachael, Thank you for your wonderful review! It was so much fun getting our creative juices flowing for yours and Sam's special wedding cake. We loved making it for you and being a part of your wedding day! Looking forward to seeing you at the bakery again very soon. hugs, Dominica
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved absolutely everything about my Wedding Cake!! Thank you so much Nona's Sweets for taking my vision and making it so much better than I could have ever dreamed! Such professionalism and delicious cake!! Win-WIn :-)

    Sent on 09/14/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Dawn, Congrats to you and Jeffery! Thank you for the excellent review, it was our pleasure to serve you and your family. Appreciate your referrals and look forward to seeing you again soon! my best, Dominica
  • L

    lisa · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Nona's Sweets through a Charlotte Bridal show. I sampled their cake and knew I had to have them as my cake decorator. The cake was so fresh, and I could tell the icing was real buttercream. (I was primarily focused on getting a great tasting cake, not just one that was pretty to look at. Sampling other cakes at the same bridal show showed me that a lot of bakeries in the area are more concerned with looks than taste.)

    I worked primarily with Dominica. She is so sweet and was very helpful in her suggestions. My fiance and I went to the bakery for our tasting, and we chose almond cake with cream cheese buttercream frosting. I showed Dominica a few cake designs I liked, which she assured me would be no problem to do.

    The week before the wedding, Dominica called me to make sure that everything about my order was still correct and to see if I needed to make any changes. She sounded genuinely excited to be working with us, and that was very refreshing.

    Our cake was gorgeous! We asked for an ombre color shift from peach to white and Nona's pulled it off flawlessly! It tasted fantastic as well, and several of our guests made a point to tell us how great the cake was. We were very happy with our decision to use Nona's Bakery and would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 10/05/2015

    Nona's Sweets Bakery Cafe's reply:

    Hi Lisa, Congrats to you and Alex! Thank you for your excellent review and your kind words! I am so glad you and your guests enjoyed the cake. The color palette for the wedding was beautiful and the "ombre" cake was a great choice. I really appreciate your referrals and hope to see you both again very soon. Best always, Dominica

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review