MS Events Reviews

152 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

152 Reviews for MS Events

Recommended by 96%

152
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

17 User photos

MS Events 1
MS Events 2
MS Events 3
MS Events 4
MS Events 5
MS Events 6
MS Events 7
+ 11
Sort by:
  • L

    Leah · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MS Events provided really great accents for our wedding reception, including lighting, decor, lounge furniture, and a photobooth. Everything looked amazing, and the lounge areas were a HUGE hit!! Great work!!

    Sent on 03/10/2013
  • User2686111 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MS Events was fabulous to work with, and had the best prices to top it off. I rented white chairs for our wedding ceremony, and cocktail tables with linens for the reception. All was delivered on time, and picked up the next day on time. They were very accommodating of my changing needs as the RSVPs came in, and were willing to update my order numerous times. Their showroom is also a plus, as you can see exactly what you're getting before the big day. The entire staff was great!

    Sent on 09/30/2012
  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was speechless when I walked into my reception space and saw it for the first time. MS Events (Steve and his team) did an exceptional job and transforming the space into my dream. They created a perfect backdrop in lighting and draping the venue.

    They also provided a photobooth which was a huge and fun hit for our guests. I still have numerous people raving about how neat they thought the photobooth was. The staff that worked the photobooth was so professional and polite. They even helped my 4 year ring bearer take a picture by himself.

    I couldn't have asked for a more special day and that was in part attributed to MS Events. They really went above and beyond with any requests I had throughout the planning process. I really appreciated all their hard work and would recommend them to anyone needing rentals, a photobooth, or lighting for your special event!

    Thanks,
    Megan Beasley

    Sent on 09/05/2012
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MS Events was incredible! They were so responsive, had amazing prices and made the process so incredibly easy. The did our lighting package and the room was stunning. I am so thrilled that we were able to work with them and highly recommend them as your lighting, tables, chairs, decorations, anything vendor. They have an incredible selection and are such a pleasure to work with. Thanks, MS Events, for being part of our special day!

    Sent on 11/25/2012
  • S

    Sandra · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were extremely happy with the quality of service provided.
    Yes, it was very costly, but Steve went above and beyond to make the wedding beautiful for us. He suggested great ideas and it was very easy to work with him. Very creative!

    Sent on 08/30/2012
  • H

    Linda · Married on 05/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve @ MS Events turned a lovely venue @ Oak Ridge Estates into a magical, ethereal vision. He draped white curtains, tied them softly back and uplit them w/ blue marble lighting. Benches for geusts to sit on were also provided. He took our vision and somehow exactly produced the effect my daughter had dreamed of. Great to work with and very reasonable!! Thanks to Ken @ Couture designs, who suggested him, and Steve's efforts the curtains perfectly complimented the gorgeous floral creations. Their combined efforts created a fairy tale wdding every girl dreams of!!

    Sent on 05/14/2012
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was wonderful to work with and has the best prices! He is very organized, responsive and provided great recommendations for inexpensive lighting. He provided our reception chairs, dance floor and all the inside lighting (cafe string lights, up lights and dance floor splash) and some outside lighting. The venue was perfectly lighted and he was WAY UNDER the other quotes that we received - over 70% less than another lighting quote - and was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Steve and MS Events!

    Sent on 08/01/2012
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are a nonprofit group in Charlottesville whose volunteers construct buildings for communities in need. MS Events kindly donated their photo booth to our Battle of the Bands Volunteer Celebration. Set-up was professional and quick. Folks loved hamming it up, mugging for their photos. They popped in the booth with anticipation and spilled out grinning ear-to-ear. The photo strips are evidence of their fun and a sweet souvenir of the night. We highly recommend MS Events and the photo booth! Thanks, Doug, for your donation!

    Sent on 10/27/2011
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Doug and MS Events was a wonderful experience. MS Events provided uplighting for trees all around our venue, Edison Bulbs in some trees to light pathways, pin lighting for our tables along with wash lighting for our dance floor, bar and food stations, warm uplighting in the tent and last but not least four sofas and two tables to create a lounge areas in our tent. Everything looked amazing, we could not have been happier. Doug was great to work with, super flexible when it came to meeting on location, great prices and great product. Thank you for everything!!!

    Cheers,
    Kristen

    Sent on 10/26/2011
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug handled all the lighting for a wedding at CHC in the large barn and loft. He is so very capable, very professional and listens well to his clients. In addition to being prepared he stayed at the venue for the entire event should he be needed. There was very good interaction between Doug, the floral decor vendors and caterers to have have everyones work perfectly lit. He is very detail oriented and made sure everything was taken care of properly. Nothing was left to chance.

    Sent on 10/24/2011
  • J

    Jen · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend MS Events to help you with lighting for your wedding or special event. We used MS Events for uplighting in our reception ballroom and they did an outstanding job. We worked with Doug who was extremely responsive and flexible with times when meeting with us. Once he got an idea of the colors we were thinking, he took it upon himself to order samples of every shade in those colors to show us. He made sure we got a chance to see the lights at night to make sure they were what we wanted. Doug also showed up the day of to check in that everything was to our liking. On top of all of this, the pricing was good as well. Doug/MS Events was a pleasure to work with and I guarantee they will do a phehominal job on your event!

    Sent on 09/29/2011
  • S

    Sherry · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We received loads of compliments because of the gorgeous atmosphere that Doug of MS Events created with uplighting of the columns of our venue and uplighting and weaving of Edison lights through the branches of the trees in the garden. The lights created a beautiful ambiance and completely set the mood for the night. MS Events' prices beat out the competition and he really made an effort to stay within our budget while maximizing our lighting options. We want to mention that you even made an extra trip back to our venue in the middle of the reception because our best man disconnected some of the lights to plug in the TV! Thanks Doug for delivering superb service, artistic lighting design, expert guidance and a great vendor experience!

    Sent on 09/12/2011
  • S

    Somer · Married on 04/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photobooth was a BIG hit with EVERYONE at the wedding! MS events did an amazing job, & made sure that I had a unique way to remember my special day!

    Sent on 04/17/2011
  • S

    Sue · Married on 04/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was very easy to work with. The wedding guests really enjoyed the props and the photos came out great! I would highly recommed MS Events for any wedding need!

    Sent on 04/18/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/20/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photobooth was AWESOME!!!!!! Our guests love this... THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!

    Sent on 11/30/2010
  • B

    Barry · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    MS Events was great to work with. Linda Wrinkler , in particular, made everything work so smoothly. As the "Father of the Bride" , I greatly appreciated all of their assistance. Barry Schehr

    Sent on 11/25/2016
  • R

    Rosanne · Married on 11/09/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Linda Winkler at MS Events is an amazing person to work with! She did the decorations for our ceremony and reception (which mostly included uplighting and pipe and drapes). The canopy of lights they did over our dance floor was so subtle and so classy looking! I didn't really have a clear vision until the very last minute, and bless her, Linda put up with my various e-mails and confusing barrage of photos until she creating something truly unique and special for our wedding day decorations. MS Events will go all out or as minimal as you want, and the best thing is that you can change the amount or types of items on your contract up until a few weeks before! If you're very indecisive like me and trying to stick to a budget, this is a huge benefit! Together she and her team created a pipe and drape style altar that looked so fantastic, MS Events is now going to add it to their catalog of rental items! I highly recommend them for your wedding lighting and decor needs.

    Sent on 11/12/2014
  • C

    Carol · Married on 07/19/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Can't say enough good about MS Events as all of the above--with staff who obviously embrace their company's customer service values and word of mouth marketing game plan. From top to bottom, we were well served and felt heard and understood about the little things that were important to us. I appreciated the suggestions made early to order more than we would probably need/want of certain items to make sure they were reserved for our date. To that end, work with this vendor early in your planning agenda. They will give you peace of mind when you need it most--last minute rush of details is overwhelming when you're planning a country side wedding where nothing is cookie cutter. :-)

    Sent on 08/04/2014
  • Abbey

    Abbey Mrochinski · Married on 07/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our lights!!

    Our caterer did a lot of the coordinating with the people at MS Events for our lighting, table, and utensils/dishes/glasses/linens needs, but despite the minimal interactions we had it was so obvious this company knew what they were doing. Everything was high quality and looked beautiful together. They had things done in a timely manner, and were clear with the rental instructions and agreements and the type of quality service we should expect from them. The pricing for the lighting was more than we had been hoping, but it truly turned out to be worth it... plus they did all the set up and take down! Thank goodness they're local to us, because no doubt we will be using MS Events for any rental needs in the future!! Thanks for everything!!

    Sent on 09/17/2019
  • M

    Mary Flood · Married on 06/22/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seamless Process

    I can definitely say that working with MS Events was such a stress-free part of our wedding planning process. Viewing and picking from the selection in their showroom was a fun and easy process. Everything was seamlessly coordinated with our venue (Restoration Hall), so once we selected our rentals, MS Events and Restoration handled everything behind the scenes.

    Sent on 07/19/2019
  • R

    Robert · Married on 06/08/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Lighting!

    We used MS Events for the lighting at our wedding and they were great! Very professional and easy to work with - and the lights on the day of looked great!

    Sent on 07/07/2019
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 09/14/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very positive experience overall, helpful and responsive staff. They have a great selection of rental items.

    Sent on 09/18/2018
  • Abigail

    Abigail Stone · Married on 08/11/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great wedding rentals

    MS Events was responsive to our rental needs and were reliable on our wedding weekend! All rented items arrived on time and were as described. Delivery was coordinated between our venue and MS events directly which was very convenient for us. They have a nice showroom which allowed us to get a good look at the chairs and tables we ended up needing!

    Sent on 12/27/2018
    MS Events 8
    MS Events 9
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 05/29/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MS Events is great! They have a huge variety of rentals to choose from. It was easy to find things that matched our style and vision for our wedding. We were introduced to MS Events through our caterer, The Local, who worked directly with them and us to make sure everything went smoothly on the wedding day. We rented plates, glasses, tablecloths, napkins, mercury glass candle holders, lanterns, a cake stand, big beverage containers, signs, and more. It's a one-stop shop!

    Sent on 08/16/2016
  • D

    Dana · Married on 04/23/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lisa, Krista, and Linda were all wonderful to work with during the wedding planning process. I initially reached out early in the wedding process about lighting for our venue. At the time, we weren't sure whether it was going to fit in our budget or not. Our caterer went through MS events for linens and the process was incredibly smooth. Both the caterer and Krista kept in touch throughout the entire process about linens for the day, including special linens for the sweetheart and cake tables. I am so glad I ended up going with the special petal linens for both as they truly made the tables standout. We ended up deciding to do lighting somewhat last minute (within a month of the wedding) and Lisa was great about honoring the price. I am so glad we decided to do lighting as it really added to the venue; my mom and the groom also agreed! Rentals can add up, but everyone at MS events was really wonderful to work and they do an awesome job!

    Sent on 05/08/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review