Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Reviews

48 | Whitefield, NH
See photos, pricing and details

48 Reviews for Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Recommended by 92%

48
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

3 User photos

Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 1
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 2
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 3
Sort by:
  • A

    Amy · Married on 12/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was like a dream come true. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful day. We felt so blessed to have our wedding in such an amazing venue. Staff was wonderful, hotel is beautiful and food is delicious...

    Sent on 04/16/2010
  • S

    laurie · Married on 07/26/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything that I wanted I was given. We had amazing flowers, beautiful decor, great views and awesome food

    Sent on 08/24/2008
  • E

    Erica · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was wonderful. The director of catering at the MVG is absolutly wonderful, she is there for you the whole process of planning and on the day itself. My wedding day went off without any problems. The entire weekend was fantastic!

    Sent on 09/29/2008
  • M

    Mary · Married on 08/06/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held a "rehearsal dinner" in the Presidential Ballroom, the wedding in the garden, the reception in the Crystal ballroom, and a brunch in the Crystal ballroom. The food was well presented, delicious and generous. The service was excellent. The staff was, without exception, professional and exceptionally curtious. From the initial planning, through the bumps that happen when planning a large event, to a return trip after the wedding to gather forgotten items, the staff was accommodating and supportive. Our guests are still raving about this wonderful resort.

    Sent on 09/18/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/16/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing time at our wedding and the service was above and beyond excellent!!!!!!!!!! The bartender even went to the store on her lunch break to get one of our guest a heating pad. The food was awesome and the cake was beautiful! also the wedding coordinators were with us every step of the way which was a very very big help.

    Sent on 05/26/2015
  • User2963109 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely awesome venue at Mountain View Grand - you simply cannot beat the view! the staff is super helpful, accommodating and flexible! The food was incredible and the MVG also provided our delicious and beautifully decorated cake. Our wedding day was PERFECT!

    Sent on 07/24/2013
  • S

    Suzanne and Joseph · Married on 10/19/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Mountain View Grand was a perfect venue for our daughter's recent wedding. The resort has been beautifully and carefully restored. All the amenities are clean and modern, and the physical setting is spectacular. We found all of the staff that we worked with extremely courteous, friendly and professional.

    The wedding ceremony took place in a private courtyard adjacent to the Crystal Ballroom which was used for the reception. The Ballroom is beautiful and elegant, and comfortably accommodated our 140 guests. The entire resort grounds provide ample opportunities for memorable wedding photographs.

    Our wedding coordinator Susannah was an incredible resource providing expert advice throughout the entire planning process. She was attentive to our needs, and promptly returned telephone calls as well as emails. She also showed great patience with our many questions, and was invariably kind and professional at all times.

    Many of our guests commented to us that this was the most beautiful wedding that they had ever attended. We were overall extremely satisfied with every aspect of the service provided at the Mountain View Grand Resort. We would highly recommend this venue to any couple looking for an unforgettable experience in a
    wonderful setting.

    Sent on 12/29/2013
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 02/13/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a private wedding at the Mountain View Grand, which at most big hotels is not possible!! (you must have a minimum amount of guests). Lisa Tetreult was my coordinator and she was so wonderful, she gave us a little room with a great view that isn't even typically used for weddings, and made sure throughout the day that everything was going smoothly. The view was beautiful (I got married in the winter) and all my guests loved their stay!!

    Sent on 04/22/2010
  • K

    kimber · Married on 02/14/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My husband and I got married on valentine's- 02/14/18 which was also MVG first valentine's wedding! Even though we are an untraditional couple (Wednesday wedding), MVG was so accommodating and made us feel very special. Chastity whom was our wedding planner following up to the wedding, was very dedicated to making us feel less stressed and spoiled to say the least. The chef made my mother in law vegan foods, and the pastry chef made her vegan cupcakes! The only complaint I would have is about the bartender working the night of my wedding- we had brought back a late night snack from the building over and she had given us a difficult time transporting and eating from one building to the other because of 'cross contamination'. But Chastity took care of it!! My husband and I will definitely be back for our one year anniversary!!

    Sent on 04/04/2018
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 08/02/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Right from the moment we drove up Mountain View Road, we knew that we were going to get married here. The staff are friendly and accommodating, and made distributing the guest welcome bags super easy. Only a few months before the wedding, the resort informed us that the wedding coordinator had left. This was devastating, as we felt that we made a good connection with her – but luckily, Allison stepped up and did an excellent job. She made an extra effort to make sure the transition went smoothly, and none of the details were lost. We came a few days early to get things ready, and Allison was with us the moment we arrived. The day before, she helped ensure that Rehearsal and Rehearsal Dinner went smoothly. The morning of the wedding, Allison tied together all the individual wedding details – from the ceremony programs to the escort cards. The ceremony space was absolutely gorgeous, overlooking the mountains. The Crystal Ballroom is stunning, with a large chandelier and vaulted ceiling over the dancefloor – it had plenty of space for our 160 guests. Although we would consider the day to be nearly perfect, there were a few things that could’ve been improved slightly. As our wedding was in August, the Ballroom quickly became very hot, and the air conditioning could not handle it. We asked the staff several times to open the windows, but they were unwilling – the groom ended up doing it himself. Another issue was the bartending staff. We had chosen to offer our guests a beer and wine open bar, and the bartenders could not keep up. We were even told that it was one of the bartender’s first weekends working. We were disappointed that they had used our wedding as a training opportunity, and we felt bad for the one experienced bartender who was clearly overworked. Some of our guests even opted to go downstairs to the hotel bar to purchase their beer and wine instead.Overall, the resort was the perfect location for our wedding, and we cannot thank Allison and the MVG enough.

    Sent on 10/13/2014
  • User4198856 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at the Mountain View Grand. We could not have been happier with the beautiful location and service. Our wedding coordinator, Rachel, was great and helped us through the whole wedding process. All of our guests loved the venue. We all had an amazing time and we will be back to visit soon!

    Sent on 06/24/2014
  • Tricia

    Tricia · Married on 10/07/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our wedding at the Mountain View Grand was absolutely amazing! All our friends and family spent the weekend and loved everthing they had to offer. The staff was incredibly friendly and accomodating and somehow everyone of them knew that we were the bride and groom and went out of thier way to say hi and see how we were doing. The day of the wedding was so smooth and they took care of all the details and worked well with our other vendors. During the receiving line they brought drinks and food to the line to make sure they were happy. The food was delicious, the ballroom was stunning and it was our dream wedding!

    Sent on 10/23/2012
  • ecasey

    Eileen · Married on 05/09/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had a perfect wedding at a perfect place! It is such a beautiful location, it's hard to not want to get married here! We booked the venue two years in advance, so the wedding planners did change throughout the planning process, which wasn't great, but our planner we had the last year (Rachel!) was FANTASTIC! She was so sweet and worked so hard to make everything just the way we wanted. The downfall for guests is that it has a two night minimum in the summer months, so it was hard for people to afford to come for the whole weekend. A number of guests stayed at other accommodations and just came to the wedding. We did have a number of one night rooms for the wedding party, but it would be helpful if they did not have the 2 night minimum. The rooms are pricey anyways, and it is an old hotel so they are not anything fancy, but clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful, especially the kitchen staff during the reception and cocktail hour, they were so nice, very friendly! The reservations desk was a little disorganized, we were told a few different things from different people, so it made it confusing when it came to the end when we had to check out. But they were polite and tried their best to help us out. The staff at the clubhouse were fantastic as well, they kept it open wayyy past the normal hours on the night of our rehearsal dinner for all of our guests and we had a great time! One thing I did not like was that we never even got to experience the spa because the other bride getting married that weekend booked all of the spa appointments, so we had to go elsewhere for mani/pedis and bring in an outside vendor for hair. I am not sure why if they have two brides getting married the same weekend, they cannot accommodate two brides in the spa. All in all, great weekend, great venue, great staff made our wedding perfect!

    Review for DJ service: We had our DJ through the Mountain View Grand, Joey Bertin. He is a great musician, plays acoustic guitar and has an impressive resume including Berkley School of Music. They gave us a great deal to have the in-house DJ, so we couldn't pass it up. He played the acoustic guitar for our rehearsal dinner which was a great touch. We were a little disappointed in the actual DJ service he provided for the reception, however. We gave him a list of songs we wanted played for both dinner and dancing, and he said he would play a few of the songs at dinner on the guitar, which we agreed would be nice during dinner to switch it up a bit. But he ended up played during the whole dinner on the guitar, so we didn't get to hear any of the songs we wanted to hear actually played. Also during the dancing he played a "game" where all the couples dance and get eliminated by anniversary, and the last couple standing gives us advice on a good marriage. I guess this could be a cute idea, but we had not discussed doing this at all and it was something we really did not want to do. It was boring and took way too long (two whole songs!) and was just really not our style. Really wish they had asked us if we wanted to do anything like that before just doing it. Otherwise, he did a good job with the announcements and playing requests from the guests. So I guess for DJ service I would rate a 2.5 or 3 out of 5, and if I could do it again I would probably have picked a bigger DJ company like Main Event or Peak DJ.

    Sent on 09/08/2011
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 02/14/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our winter wedding at the Mountain View Grand. The location is beautiful and the service was great. Our wedding coordinator, Valerie, told us the day we arrived that she would not be with us on our wedding day, but we would have Taylor. That was kind of disappointing as we were working with Valerie up until a couple days before the wedding. Taylor had mostly everything down but a few things slipped through the cracks and we were not able to get the top of our wedding cake to take home :( All of our guests loved the venue and I'm sure they will visit again. The Presidential Hall is gorgeous. The food was A+. The bartender, David, we had in the tavern practically every night throughout our stay was awesome! We will be back again soon for a visit and our annual winter snowmobile trip.

    Sent on 02/24/2015
  • User2693063 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue is breathtaking, and unique. The amenities are there. Having your wedding here will be a fairytale. You will need to ask for what you want and speak up when you are unhappy.

    We were able to take our wedding from one day to 5 days of events for our guests, who enjoyed: axe throwing, hiking, golf, a private campfire night with s'mores, wine tasting, farm animals, a movie night, and a private yoga class.

    The Crystal Ballroom is breathtaking and allows for dancing and partying with amazing views. We chose this venue over the Mountain Washington based on the ballroom. Our rehearsal was in the Clubhouse which was wonderful, private and close to the campfire for our s'mores welcome party.

    Planning got better as we got closer to our event. You will need to stay on top of your details if you're looking to plan in advance as I did.

    Our wedding was PERFECT but one frustration we had was we paid a large tip with the bar package and bartenders put tip jars out. We asked them to be removed at cocktail hour and they were but they appeared again at another point and when mentioned were removed. This is beyond obnoxious and should not be an option to even be out. It should be made clear the tip has been taken care of it is insulting to the people who have paid thousands of dollars to have this issue to deal with.

    Last piece of advice is to ask for what you want and speak up when you are unhappy or you will be unhappy. Speak up, ask and your wedding here will be PERFECTION!

    Sent on 10/05/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/08/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is absolutely stunning. We had our wedding on the overlook lawn and the reception in the presidential ballroom. My only real complaint was the turn over in staff they appear to have. We booked our wedding about 11 months out and went through 3 different venue coordinators (catering managers). This presented its own obstacles in agreed details falling through the cracks. Keeping every email and doing detailed outlines of conversations saved me a lot of time and money. The turnover included the events chef after we had already done the food tasting. They kept our menu, however, the food tasted nothing like the taste testing and left much to be desired. That was actually one area I was pretty disappointed. All that being said though, all of the staff was exceptionally helpful and nice. Our guests loved being there. The leaves were about at their peak and all the daily activities offered made our guests very happy. I will definitely return and would recommend this place to anyone.

    Sent on 10/25/2015

    Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa's reply:

    Dear Laura,
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team takes great pride in their service and your input is highly valued.

    I want to personally thank you for your comments regarding our helpful and nice staff and our daily activities. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff.

    I apologize that you had to communicate with different Catering Managers during the course of your planning. I can understand this must have been frustrating for you and your wedding planner. Staff changes are challenging. We were sad to lose such great employees however, we understood their circumstances as Valerie accepted a great opportunity for her and Taylor moved to be closer to family and friends. I wish that was something we could have controlled as I know this would be much more convenient.

    Thank you for choosing Mountain View Resort & Spa for your wedding. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    All the best,

    Rachel Manners
    Director of Sales
  • E

    Elissa · Married on 09/15/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Struggle in the beginning, but worth it

    I will start by saying.. this venue is absolutely stunning. When my husband and I first toured it, we instantly fell in love. It has old charm but is beautifully updated to include anything you'd need for a luxury getaway.

    At the start of our planning we were assigned a woman to work with who at first meeting everything was great, but very quickly we began to run into issues. Communication was less than good, we had to go back and forth with contracts several times (due to incorrect dates, numbers, etc). I could go on and on. At one point my husband and I were unsure if it would all be worth it knowing this is what we may be up against. We ended up signing the contract roughly 10 months before our wedding. The next few months went by with the same treatment, poor communication, limited direction. It got to the point where I started CC'ing the woman's direct supervisor on our emails, thinking maybe this would help keep things on track, it didn't help. I recently found out she no longer works at Mountain View Grand. I will admit, I never blatantly raised this concern to anyone there while it was happening, that is my fault.

    Thankfully about halfway through the process we were introduced to Alexis Packard who took over our event. She was excellent!!! She was prompt with answering all of my questions and gave me her honest opinion when I asked for it. If she didn't have the answer for me then, she'd tell me she would get back to me ASAP, which she ALWAYS did. It was a godsend. It turned my experience right around (for the better). At the time that Alexis came into our planning I was honestly fearful of how everything would turn out and very stressed. Our wedding day ended up being amazing. Alexis followed through on everything we had discussed, remembering all the details I had wanted, and was even accommodating a few last minute requests I had on the day of our wedding. Our guests LOVED the venue and many of them said they would definitely be returning for a weekend getaway. I know my husband and I would love to return for our anniversary.

    All in all, we LOVED our venue. I'll admit, I was nervous at first, but all of it was worth it. One suggestion I would have.. For higher management to check in with the couples at least once during the process. I see that the managing director has been responding to reviews, your name was on our contracts but I don't ever remember meeting you or ever speaking to you. Getting a chance to speak briefly may have remedied the situation a lot sooner in the process.

    I know you will be in good hands with Alexis and the venue space, well, it's gorgeous.

    Sent on 01/17/2019
  • Beth

    Beth · Married on 07/23/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My husband and I chose Mountain View Grand for our wedding because the location is unbelievable. The hotel is so romantic and the views are incredible. We had our ceremony on the overlook lawn and it was spectacular. Then we had the reception in the presidential ballroom which was also very nice. The foyer area is a very large space and the guests can have their cocktail hour on the deck outside. They also opened the doors after the sun went down (our wedding was in July) and many of the men enjoyed cigars out there.
    Overall, we had a great wedding; however, it was not easy to work with our wedding coordinator. We had Angela, and she had a snooty personality and was very rigid and at times unprofessional. Her answer to every question we asked her was "for an extra charge." And the extra charges didn't seem reasonable to us...if they were, we would have gladly accepted them. For example, in order to rent out the club house for our rehearsal dinner, she wanted to charge us a room fee of $1500. We asked her to waive this fee several times but she refused. Our view was that we had a budget that we knew we were going to spend, but we didn't want to spend it on a room fee, we wanted to spend it on food and alcohol. If Angela was a little more flexible on the room fee, they would have received our business. Instead, we ended up taking our money to a restaurant (Bailiwicks) in Littleton because they didn't charge us at all to rent out their place and Mountain View didn't get any money from us that night.
    It got to the point where Angela's inflexibility was the only part of the wedding that was stressing us out (it's supposed to be the complete opposite!) So we decided to talk to Angela's boss and ask for a new wedding coordinator. She was very nice and listened to us explain that we felt like we were constantly being nickel-and-dimed. Her boss assured us that that is not how they run a business and Angela should be clearly explaining why each fee is the amount that it is (and the work involved) so that we are clear on the value we are getting from that fee. However, she did admit that Angela should have waived the clubhouse fee as soon as we became persistent about it. She said that if we stuck it out with Angela, this behavior would not continue.
    After that, Angela seemed a little more flexible about working out the details and was better about explaining the fees. But she regularly answered private calls on her cell phone during meetings which I'm pretty sure is completely unprofessional to everyone in America. Then she told me a story about one couple she previously worked with that somehow had their entree numbers completely switched (the number of beef entrees and fish entrees was reversed) but insisted that it wasn't her fault and the groom messed up. Why she was telling a future bride that story I cannot say but it definitely didn't ease my mind about how well she could handle her job...and to blame it on the groom is also unprofessional. (Mind you, these two happened AFTER our conversation with her boss).
    The good news is that we were one of the last weddings that Angela coordinated, and she has since left Mountain View. Her replacements were at my wedding (two ladies who I'd say were probably in their mid-20s) and seemed excited to share in my wedding and eager to take on their new job. When Angela mentioned an hour before our rehearsal that our seating cards had to be arranged in alphabetical order and that she wouldn't do it, my bridesmaids and I began to panic because we didn't have time to do that and get ready. However, when my sister went back to the ballroom, Angela's replacements had already done it for her. To me, that is exactly what a wedding coordinator should do: take care of those little details so that the bride is NOT stressed. And from what I saw, future brides will not have to worry if they have these two replacements.
    Finally, I must say that despite Angela's lack of professionalism, it did not get to us on the day of the wedding. We had an amazing day and our guests are still talking about how amazing this resort is and what a wonderful time they had. Also, I would have to say that going through the stress with Angela was actually worth it because the resort is just that amazing. I hoped this helped and let me know if you have any questions.

    Sent on 08/09/2011
  • D

    Deanna · Married on 06/01/2019

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Lovely venue

    Not entirely thrilled with the wedding planning process. Had many challenges with communication, however the overall experience was good. Beautiful venue, we loved that everything was in one location it made for a great weekend of activities. Many fun things for the guests to partake in. The staff is very friendly as well.

    Sent on 06/08/2019

    Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa's reply:

    Dear Deanna,

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a guest survey. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, but please accept my apologies for your communication experience. I have met with Courtney Stillings, Director of Sales in regards to your comments.

    Please trust that your concerns have been taken to heart and I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. If you have any additional questions or feedback I am at your service.

    Warmest regards,

    Christopher Diego
    Managing Director
  • M

    Mary · Married on 07/08/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    We hosted out daughter's wedding on 7/8/17 with the ceremony at the gazebo and reception in the Presidential Ballroom. The views are spectacular and the hotel is beautiful. We dealt with 3 wedding planners over the course of 15 months. All were friendly and they did try to resolve our issues prior to the wedding. They accommodated a 20 min. rain delay for ceremony because of heavy rain. This allowed for the outdoor ceremony our daughter wanted-again, getting married at this location allows for spectacular views of the Presidential Mt. Range. The ballroom is beautiful. My 3 star rating is due to the lack of one person coordinating both the ceremony and more importantly, the reception. To me, the most important piece was the reception. I believe that the Mt. View relies on the scenic vista views and beauty of the hotel and grounds, and therefore, thinks that they can offer 2nd hand service regarding the ceremony/reception. The reception was extremely disorganized. No one seemed to be in charge of the flow and coordination of the event. Someone was in charge of the waitstaff. What they need is a personal maitre d' to oversee the whole event. The bride/groom had to get their own drinks or rely on a guest. Same is true for our table. As hosts of the wedding, someone, other than the waitress, should have been communicating with us throughout the evening. The food was ok, Beef portion smaller than presented at the tasting, but certainly fine Although our guests said everything was lovely, I was so sad to hear from immediate family afterwards that some of the dinners were cold; no butter at 1 table even though server was made aware. We paid 4/piece for maple candy favors only to learn waitstaff had cleared many of them off tables while people were up dancing, leaving us to find them the next morning. They don't host a 5 star event; they do offer a 5 star view. I believe a full time personal coordinator for the whole event would solve these issues.

    Sent on 08/20/2017

    Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa's reply:

    Dear Mary,
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I also appreciate your time discussing your experience in greater depth over phone, and understand now that you felt compelled to write this review because of feedback you received afterwards.
    While we are grateful to have such a beautiful hotel and amazing views, our team does take great pride in the service they provide. We do not offer white glove service nor do we provide tableside cocktail beverage service at our events. I do agree that there is always room for improvement and we will strive to provide further training to encourage more attentiveness during an event, be it ensuring butter is at every table, to having a manager rather than a server communicate more with the event hosts.
    I apologize that you felt there was a disconnect with the ceremony and reception. We do work as a team in order to ensure our events are successful. Our wedding coordinator and banquet manager or captain work together throughout the event, and each provides a lead role for particular portions. This can be a delicate balance. We will continue to work with our staff to further hone their skills and help them to anticipate guest needs.
    I did speak with our Executive Chef, Nate Varney, to let him know that you felt the beef portion was smaller than was at your tasting. It is also possible that some guests meals may have been room temperature as we were holding food for longer than expected in order to accommodate the rain delay.
    Thank you for letting us know that your daughter felt this was the best day of her life and that you would still highly recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
    Sincerely,
    Rachel Huddleston, Director of Sales
  • Yulie

    Yulie Peterson · Married on 09/29/2018

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Totally Unhappy

    We got married this September 29th, 2018 at The Mountain View Grand it’s a stunning venue for wedding.
    Our wedding coordinator Alexis Packard she didn’t help at all with our planning process. She wasn’t attentive to our needs, and hardly returned telephone calls or emails. If you planning to get married at Mountain View grand for your own save ask for another coordinator. She’s never there.
    Ceremony was at overlook lawn which is public road, and they can’t stop traffic for too long. So as a bride I was on hurry on my wedding day.

    They still have part of my wedding decor, after 2 months I’m still waiting for they to send it back. ( my wedding charger plates and others..)

    Sent on 11/26/2018

    Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa's reply:

    Dear Mrs. Peterson,

    Thank you for your review here on Wedding Wire. I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the number of issues that you experienced before, during and after your wedding day. We are in the business of providing an exceptional wedding experience, and based on your feedback, we did not meet these expectations. For that I am truly sorry.

    Yesterday I spoke with Courtney Stillings, our Director of Sales, and Alexis Packard, the Catering Manager that serviced your wedding. I have reviewed all of their correspondence with you as well as the additional notes regarding the event. It is my understanding that your wedding decor was shipped out last week. I know that this delay has been frustrating and I have reiterated our policies on returning guest property in a timely manner. Furthermore, prompt and effective communication with clients is a cornerstone of the Catering Manager position. Courtney will be working with Alexis this week to review our wedding procedures and provide additional training as needed. Alexis is a valued member of our staff and we are committed to ensuring all our team members are confident, courteous and competent in their positions.

    I would also like to apologize that you felt rushed during your wedding ceremony. Given that the Overlook Lawn is situated next to a public road, traffic can be a factor. That said, our team needs to ensure clients are properly informed and we have adequate team members on-hand to help direct traffic as needed. In an effort to ensure that you and your wedding party safely crossed the road, the procession moved more quickly than planned. This caused the guitarist to not complete your wedding song by the time you reached the front, which I know was a very important component of the ceremony. I have asked Courtney and Alexis to develop new procedures for better addressing the logistics of the venue. We will ensure this does not happen again.

    Finally, I have addressed your emailed comments regarding the cake with our Pastry Chef and the room block issues with our Reservations Department. If you have any additional questions or concerns, I am at your service. I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.

    Warmest regards,

    Christopher Diego
    Managing Director
  • User3550658 · 2+ years ago

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We had our wedding here at Mountain View Grand... The views are phenomenal, the food is amazing, and the activities are plentiful! The guests will not be bored. Guests are still raving about it, however, I'm here to inform you of the background work and service provided... which all brides and grooms will want to know. In short, there was a significant lack of communication between our coordinator and the rest of the staff (They did not fulfill their side of the contract which was in WRITING - all should have been checking that and requests should have been communicated to the correct people). No one is asking how to help or if they can help and if you seek them out.. they YES you to death but then do NOT complete it. We were informed the reception room would be set up early for us to review everything was out.. but it was not set up until Saturday at 4 (as we are walking down the aisle and did not have time to review). We had asked several times for things to be in place and they never got done nor did they tell us so that we could have done it ourselves or asked another guest. At the end of the night clean up, they threw items away after being asked not to. Outdoors, they cleaned up their own items (table) but then threw our items onto the grass and left it outside in the rain. Guest services do not tell you if another guest provides a nice gesture, leaving you to guess who delivered something to your room. The details of the bar was set up in a written contract but they neglected to offer an open bar during cocktail hour as agreed upon in the contract and instead did beer and wine only. They were frequently charging the wrong credit cards or charging double on multiple cards for the same charge. A few of the guests had this issue and even members of the other wedding party that weekend were saying the same thing regarding the service and the wrong charges. Overall, the venue itself is great but the service is terrible!!!

    Sent on 09/20/2014

    Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa's reply:

    Thank you for your review of your wedding reception held in July. I appreciate you taking time to post your comments and corresponding with me over the past two months regarding your feedback.As I expressed to you, I am sorry that you feel there was a lack of communication amongst our staff during your event. I agree that keeping all staff members properly informed is a priority, especially when several last minute changes are requested. Specific to your reception, the contract and wedding event order were executed as you approved. The beverage service you mentioned was for hosted beer and wine only and liquor service available by cash purchase. As requested, this applied to both the cocktail hour and the reception. As you are aware, the contract stated, “the reception space may be available up to 2 hours prior to the start of the event”. The space was available to you. You are correct the staff was doing a final inspection and finishing touches during that time. As I have conveyed to you in our correspondence, we apologize and take responsibility for accidentally discarding some table numbers and unintentionally not removing a chalkboard sign from the outdoor ceremony space. I also had explained the customary credit cards authorizations, not charges, you mentioned. In response to the other wedding party's comments regarding their event, this is the email from the bride entitled “Many thanks!”. “…I wanted to let management know how pleased my family and I are with the wonderful wedding experience we had at the resort this past weekend! From day 1, Susannah and Allison were extremely helpful and efficient. Upon arrival Diane (who was also our JP) was very welcoming and ensured all of our needs were met. Allison continued to be an invaluable asset throughout the weekend and the staff which served us during the reception in the Club House were also wonderful! "Please again accept my sincere apology for the way you feel. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to us.
  • J

    Justyne · Married on 10/07/2018

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Don’t do it.

    I have stayed at least 6 or so times at the Mountain View when we booked our wedding here. We absolutely loved it. The views were great, activities were fun! The hotel has such a beautiful charm in its age The staff was great!

    Until the night of our wedding.

    I write this in hopes that it prevents other brides from being as poorly treated on the night of their special day as I was.


    It’s a beautiful hotel but not worth the large amounts of money you’ll spend on this wedding to be treated the way they’ll treat you.

    The Spa was also awful for makeup. They charged each bridesmaid and myself $220 for hair that fell out at the ceremony and makeup that was so caked on we all looked milk white in pictures.

    We enjoyed every stay so much ...
    But this experience made me feel so bad, and still does to this day that I still don’t want to go back. Members of their higher staff were so degrading and rude to us. It saddens me, I loved it so much.

    There’s places with views just as good that will treat you the way you should be treated during your stay! ❤️ This day should be your happiest! Not end in tears.

    Sent on 12/18/2018

    Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa's reply:

    Dear Justyne,

    Thank you for your feedback here on WeddingWire as well as your additional comments on The Knot, Google and Yelp. We are deeply sorry that you feel you were not treated well. Peter Melvin, our Resort Manager, left you a number of voicemail messages last week and, as of today, has not heard back from you.

    As you know, late in the evening after your wedding reception, our Front Desk staff received a number of noise complaints from guests being woken up. Consequently, our night security person asked you and others to be mindful of guests sleeping in the hotel.

    At about midnight, I was requested by the Front Desk to return to the resort to help bring peace to the situation and address your concerns. When I got to the hotel, you and I had a conversation where I sought to better understand your feelings. It was clear that you felt that our security person did not approach you or the situation appropriately. I apologized and explained that I would address his actions, which I have. I also explained the need to protect the peace and comfort of all guests. Unfortunately, as the evening progressed, the situation in the hotel lobby did not improve and I had to again address raucous behavior.

    The next morning, I asked Peter to meet with you in the hopes ameliorating the situation. He listened to your concerns and offered to amend your disappointment, which you accepted.

    Given your recent feedback, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly and hopefully improve your feelings towards the resort. If you are willing, please contact Peter Melvin or feel free to reach out to me directly.

    Sincerely,

    Christopher Diego
    Managing Director

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review