Modern Trousseau Charleston Reviews

50 | Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

50 Reviews for Modern Trousseau Charleston

Recommended by 99%

50
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

3 User photos

Modern Trousseau Charleston 1
Modern Trousseau Charleston 2
Modern Trousseau Charleston 3
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved my dress! Every little detail just the way I wanted it. So much more fun than picking a pre-made dress. I got to choose the style, the fabric and all the little extras. My dress fit like a glove and was perfect for my day. They are so nice and made every fitting session so enjoyable. Beautiful dresses, made just for you.

    Sent on 05/22/2018
    Modern Trousseau Charleston 4
    Modern Trousseau Charleston 5
    Modern Trousseau Charleston 6
  • B

    Becky · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Trousseau in Charleston was a refreshing way to shop for a bridal gown for me. I had been to a few bridal boutiques but everything was crazy expensive, the samples were so far off size and length-wise that you couldn't tell if they were a good look or not, and most dresses just all looked the same.
    I found Modern Trousseau while looking for blue wedding dresses on Instagram and ended up trying on 4 dresses from their Spring 2018 collection in June 2017. Being a designer brand with flagship stores made the experience of finding "the one" a really good one - they could customize all the pieces of your dress to meet your tastes and they had the flexibility to work with me on price to stay within my budget. I would definitely recommend them to any bride who isn't looking for a run-of-the-mill dress finding experience.

    Sent on 06/10/2018
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By far the best experience I had wedding planning! They change anything on your dress- including up to the day before the wedding like I needed. They are the sweetest people and can't thank them enough for my one of a kind dress!

    Sent on 12/17/2017
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing service! Beautiful experience! I was able to have the women of my family help me select a dress in a beautiful, chic location with privacy and peace and quiet. We were the only ones there and it was a WONDERFUL experience! I will never forget the memory of finding the dress of my dreams with my mom! Thank you Modern Trousseau! Also, alterations, communication, all follow-up was easy, seamless, and they were so responsive and professional! GREAT overall!!!

    Sent on 06/29/2017

    Modern Trousseau Charleston's reply:

    Thank you for the lovely review, Tanya! It was such a pleasure working with you!

    -Lauren and the MT team
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After getting engaged, I knew I wanted to get my wedding gown from Modern Trousseau and found the perfect dress there. Lauren helped me find my dream dress. She was very professional as she was accommodating to my needs when making appointments, offered great suggestions, and made the entire process seamless. My mother also had her dress custom made by Modern Trousseau. She envisioned a specific look and it was achieved. Both of our gowns were beautiful. I would recommend Modern Trousseau to any future bride.

    Sent on 05/26/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren is such a pleasure to work with! My custom dress turned out just like my vision and the whole experience was just lovely! When a hole appeared in my veil after my bridal portraits, Lauren handled the situation with the seamstress effortlessly and had it looking even better than before! Your customer service is outstanding! I loved the 1-1 experience in the salon. Thank you for helping me find my dream dress!

    Sent on 07/29/2016
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren is AMAZING! She was a joy to work with and made the entire wedding dress experience so easy! She was very patient and helpful while I tried on almost every dress in the store. The great thing about Modern Trousseau is that you can customize every dress. Lauren was very flexible with my schedule. My Mom lives in Maryland I am in Charleston. Sometimes it was hard to find a day/time that we were both available to come in. Lauren went above and beyond to fit our schedules. I have nothing but amazing things to say about Lauren and Modern Trousseau.

    Sent on 06/27/2016
  • J

    Jesse · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a lovely experience! From start to finish Lauren was extremely helpful and provided myself and my "bridal posse" a day to remember! Upon arrival she made sure to lock the door behind us, providing us the ultimate private experience, she offered us champagne, and made everyone feel at home. Lauren gave us a brief history of the line, a tour of the store, and helped me pick the right dresses for me. While I ultimately decided on a different dress, Lauren was beyond helpful in what could have been a tremendously stressful experience. I would recommend Modern Trousseau to any bride seeking a unique dress that would make her stand out on her special day!

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • Ruth

    Ruth · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My dress buying experience was the highlight of wedding planning, esp. with the help from Lauren! She was amazing, I went in with a few dresses I thought I wanted to get, but Lauren brought a dress to me which turned out to be the one! She was helpful and very nice through the whole process, I can not say enough nice things about her.

    Sent on 09/09/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After a horrible experience with a nearby boutique, I could not be happier working with Lauren at Modern Trousseau! They have unique and amazing gowns and I love how you're able to customize the dress. The accessories are also great. They also are able to get the dresses made a bit quicker than most places I checked with. If you're shopping for a dress in Charleston, this place is a must!

    Sent on 12/20/2014
  • User4249703 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First, let me say that I am absolutely in love with my gorgeous "Maison" dress from Modern Trousseau. My entire experience has been fantastic. I had looked at boutiques the previous day in a different city, but MT was my first appointment in Charleston. My mom, maid of honor, and I were greeted warmly and immediately when we entered the store. Lauren was very helpful in helping me to pick out and try on dresses. At no point did I ever feel anything other than welcome. The boutique is beautiful as well.

    Even though I knew I had found my dress, I had trouble committing so we went to our next appointment at a different boutique in Charleston. The service was night and day. At the second shop (which was admittedly more pricey), the girls working were snoody and the second I told the girls my budget (which was likely on their low end), I felt that the quality of our service declined. It was a breath of fresh air to leave that place and head back to MT to purchase my dress. Lauren is very personable and made the whole process very enjoyable.

    Once I said "yes", she brought us champagne to celebrate. Since the purchase, MT has been great about letting me know the status of the dress. I went for the first fitting last weekend and received the same great service. My dress fit perfectly (with a few exceptions, only having to spend $150 for minor alterations) due to the multiple measurements that they take when you order. I love that I was able to customize my gown (I added buttons down the back and train of the gown). It's perfect. I definitely recommend Modern Trousseau -- even if you don't find your dress there, the experience is fantastic and you won't regret it.

    Sent on 02/28/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Trousseau Charleston was such a breath of fresh air in my planning process! Lauren always went above and beyond for both my sister and my wedding gowns (2 weddings in 2 months!). Our gowns were everything we'd hoped for, and Modern Trousseau really made gown shopping, alterations, etc all a memorable experience we will always cherish with our Mama! If you want a custom, beautiful gown with no hiccups and excellent service... shop at MT!

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • User3899271 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were absolutely fantastic - in all aspects! Love my something blue sewed in the inside of my dress :)

    Sent on 01/29/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren was extremely knowledgeable and helpful thoughout what was such a whirlwind experience! She hosted about 10 of my family members and friends in the store and made sure everyone was happy and comfortable. After she helped me pick the dress of my dreams, I scheduled to come back about a month before my wedding. Even though there was a miscommunication on the date, she still found time to meet with me on the day of the Modern Trousseau fashion show during Charleston Fashion Week! I was very grateful, being an out of town customer. I would highly recommend Modern Trousseau and their custom gowns!

    Sent on 09/10/2015
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a wonderful experience at Modern Trousseau! Mary Claire found the perfect dress for me and the designer (Callie Tein) totally made my day when she called me a few days later to go over the details of my gown! She was incredibly sweet and wanted to make sure that they were going to get everything right (I made a few changes to the neckline of the dress). My dress was also a rush order and they finished it way before the deadline they gave themselves. The dress also came with a personalized silk monogrammed patch inside with my future name and the wedding date in addition to a hand drawn sketch done by Callie. The seamstress - Evelyn - was also lovely and not only did an amazing job with the alterations (It had to be taken in a little in several areas due to weight loss) but her prices were incredibly reasonable; I couldn't believe it. I absolutely love my dress, the quality is unbelievable and I also love the fact that it was made here in the US. I cannot wait to wear it on my wedding day in a few weeks.

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • User3936736 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ok just don't bother going anywhere else, I'll save you a LOT of wasted time. Go here first and talk to Mary Claire. I had gone to 3 David's Bridal shops (while traveling different cities), multiple individual boutiques that sell designer gowns, BHLDN in NYC, a few used dress and consignment shops, and one of the best vintage wedding dress shops in the country as well as scoured etsy and even contemplated outsourcing to China. While in Charleston I went to ALL of the dress shops there and Modern Trousseau was last. I wish I had started there. I tried on so many dresses in the same price range as Modern Trousseau in other shops that were mass-produced, made in China low quality gowns. Pretty, but low quality and poorly constructed (especially a lot of those designer dresses!). For the same money at MT I was able to pick my lace, fabrics, seam styles, hems, color, shape....EVERYTHING was custom done for my preferences and body. Truly a bespoke couture gown!
    I made all the selections in Charleston with Mary Claire who was phenomenal at helping me navigate all the choices and gave EXPERT advice. I actually didn't love any of the designs on the floor so if it weren't for her, I wouldn't have known I could conjure my dream dress!
    I then went to CT (closer to my home) for the fittings WITH THE DESIGNER and her seamstresses. These gals know what they are doing! The dress fit like a glove and was exactly what I wanted. Everyone at the wedding raved about my dress! Originally I was going to resell it after the wedding but this is truly an heirloom and I will be keeping it in my family for a long time to come!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • User4156247 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so glad I got my dress from Modern Trousseau. Many of our guests said my dress looked like it was made just for me - little did they know that it was! I loved that I could customize every part of the dress to exactly what I wanted. Additionally, even though I bought it in Charleston where I was getting married, I live in NYC so I was able to get all of my fittings in New Haven, CT while the dress was still being constructed. It ended up being exactly the fit and shape that I wanted and I was so glad that I was able to decide all of the details. Also love that they sew in a special monogram and provide a sketch of the dress! Very cute!

    Sent on 06/06/2014
  • User3580699 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mary Claire and her team are phenomenal! From all the guest comments, my dress was one of the most talked-about aspects (in a good way!) of our wedding. MT knows wedding dresses and they know how to give brides that one-of-a-kind feel and fit. Don't waste your time in other shops. This is it.

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had purchased a dress by modern trousseau from another boutique, but I still needed accessories and I had no time to get them. My mother went into the modern trousseau in charleston, where the girls were so so helpful. They picked out some options for a veil and belt and then called me on facetime so I could be there virtually (thanks, lunch break!). I was able to see what the accessories would look like with my dress, since they had one in the store, and since they had several beautiful options for both, I was very satisfied with my choices. Not only were the pieces I purchased perfect, the girls in the store were so incredibly accommodating. Thank you!

    Sent on 07/01/2014
  • User3241097 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my experience at Modern Trousseau. After being to three store before this one, the second I walked in, I honestly knew I would find my dress there. I could have tried on any dress and been incredibly happy with it, they are all beautiful in their own way. I ended up with the Aidan dress and only had them lower the back a bit, as I really liked the look of a plunging back. Mary Claire was my person of contact and she was very responsive with all of my emails and phone calls regarding questions and fittings. Evelyn, the seamstress, did a beautiful job as well. When I got the dress it just needed to be taken in on the seam, and it was done perfectly. The bustle was also done stunningly. Mary Claire and Evelyn worked with my crazy schedule (being an our of town bride) which I appreciated very much. I received compliments all night long on the dress, I even wore it out to the Blind Tiger following the receptions, I did NOT want to take it off!

    Sent on 05/20/2014
  • A

    Ashlee · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an absolutely amazing experience shopping for the perfect dress at Modern Trousseau. Mary Clare made me feel like a princess. My dress was everything I dreamed it would be. The workmanship is inpeccable. The lace is also incredible.

    Sent on 03/21/2014
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about my experience with Jen at Modern Trousseau, like others...I went all over town to search for the right dress and starting out the day with Jen automatically put everyone else at a disadvantage. She is incredibly respectful, professional, easy to work with and makes you feel very special, we literally worked together to create my dream dress out of 3 different dresses. She listened to what I liked and worked her magic. I can't wait to work with her throughout the rest of the process. No other store in the area can hold a candle to the experience I had at Modern Trousseau, and of course the quality of their dresses is outstanding! Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 04/10/2013
  • User3650903 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Modern Trousseau was such a pleasure to work with while purchasing my wedding gown. From the moment we walked into the store we were welcomed. The gowns were beautiful and I was able to find my gown but personalize it to the exact dress I was looking for without any difficulty. The measurements taken assured that my dress fit perfectly when it came and only shortening had to be done. Everything was perfect!

    Sent on 11/03/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would HIGHLY recommend Mondern Trousseau to any bride! Jen helped me pick out the perfect dress in my budget and made me feel beautiful and comfortable on the most important day of my life.

    Sent on 01/08/2014
  • L

    Lori · Married on 06/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome!! They will take any of their dresses and make it how you want. It is really one of a kind and gives you something very special.

    Sent on 01/08/2014