32 Reviews for MKD Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
High-Res Images (2)
Digital Files (2)
Prints (2)
Second Shooter (1)
Additional Hours (1)
Engagement Shoot (1)
One Event/Day (1)
Slideshow (1)
Albums (1)
Sort by:

5.0

Mike and Kate are amazing photographers and even better people. We loved every aspect of working with them. They are very professional but relaxed, making the day of the wedding as non-stressful as possible. They hardly needed any direction at all, yet captured every important shot throughout the day and night. They are pretty hands off, and will capture the moments as they naturally happen. We didn't want a lot of staged cheesy photos so this was perfect for us. They dealt with some logistical curve balls we threw at them with grace, we appreciated them being so easy going and understanding amongst the stress of wedding planning. Towards the end of our reception they had pictures of the day running on a small screen near the bar - the guests loved it! We got our first set of highlights (100+ photos) posted online within a week and just got the full set less than 2 months after the big day. Can't recommend them enough, every single one of their photos is high quality and beautiful.

Profile Picture Lauren, 8/27/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Additional Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res Images, Slideshow, Albums, Digital Files, Prints
5.0

On top of all the good reviews we have read about MKD Photography, we want to add another stellar review about this husband-wife duo photography team. They have all features that we wanted for of our dream wedding photographers: they are (1) able to capture candid and key moments, (2) adept at both indoor and outdoor photography settings, (3) flexible in service packages, and (4) attentive to details but at the same time unobtrusive to the wedding guests. Kate is such a delightful person to talk with, and Mike always keeps his ears on the ground; both of them make sure every photograph is perfect. They also lend us an extra tripod to mount our own camera to video-record the wedding ceremony - and for that, we were very grateful to them. We liked their online booking system very much as we were planning our wedding remotely from out of town. We received our photo gallery in just about 2 weeks, highlighting how efficient Mike and Kate are. The photos are stunning, fabulous, warm and fun. Many folks advised us that photography is one of the most important things to pay extra attention to for our wedding, and we were absolutely thrilled to have Mike and Kate with us!

Profile Picture User6023587, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: High-Res Images, One Event/Day, Digital Files, Prints
5.0

My husband and I hired MKD for our wedding on New Years Eve 2014 in Jackson, NH. I have been familiar with MKD's work for years now, as I am an event planner for a catering company in MA, and have worked with them on multiple weddings including my best friends wedding. I new before I ever got engaged that if I ever got married I would use MKD. As a vendor I found them extremely polite, caring and professional….they are a dynamic Husband and Wife team and they work amazingly well together. All of the pictures I have seen of MKD's work I have absolutely loved. When I got engaged I showed my Husband their work and it was totally his style. They have an amazing ability of capturing the mood, atmosphere and small details of each event. There photos are not just your standard photos they are like art work. It was a no brainer on who to hire for our wedding. That being said, as much as I loved this team and the pictures I had seen in the past, we were completely blown away at our own pictures (no bias :)! We got married at the base of a mountain in the winter outside at night….certainly giving them a challenging situation to work with. Oh did I mention it was 15 degrees? The pictures were outstanding, the breath, the lighting, the mood….they didn't miss a beat. Inside they captured every detail of the venue (I couldn't wait to show the owner of the venue), my family and friends and with all the pictures, you get the feel of the whole evening. Our family and friends have been so impressed. Numerous people have said that these pictures were the best wedding pictures they had ever seen. Without a doubt hiring MKD was some of the best money we spent on our wedding. The only thing I regret was not hiring them for longer….so if you are struggling with the amount of time to hire them go with the longest amount…you won't regret it! We would recommend anyone to MKD, that wants amazing photos and timeless pictures.

Profile Picture Alison, 12/31/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.3

MKD Photography does amazing work! This husband and wife duo work extremely well together, and I've referred to them as photo ninjas. They were so unobtrusive on our wedding day. Aside from our formal pictures of course, we barely noticed they were there. Also, they caught some key candid moments. For example, my father and I did a surprise dance. I did share with MKD photography that we would be doing that so that they could anticipate my father and I doing some silly moves. However, they weren't aware as to exactly what point from our slow song we'd break into the fun dance moves, but they still caught the expressions on my mom's face, and it was priceless! Those little things mean a lot. Additionally, I loved how they displayed a slide show of our photos on a lap top at our reception. I was too busy on the dance floor to actually look at them myself, but it's a neat feature for guests. The 3.5 rating on responsiveness is in reference only to emails. Sometimes they are a little slow to respond. On the wedding day however, responsiveness is spot on.

Profile Picture User4373016, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Mike and Kate are wonderful photgraphers. I've had the pleasure seeing them in action at friends weddings and now my own. They really know how to capture moments in your wedding. My husband and I choose them b/c we saw how our friends pictures were coming out. Also each friends pictures weren't the same. It had its own unique feel for there special day. They make you feel comfortable around the camera, even telling us jokes at our engagment shoot. I love corny jokes :) Also you never really notice them taking your pictures during the ceremony/reception. It's like your playing hide and go seek. They know all the good places to hide.

Profile Picture Aileen, 9/8/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We would definitely recommend Mike & Kate (MKD Photography) for any event! We worked with them for our wedding and they were absolutely fantastic. We initially met with them to discuss our vision for the wedding, which is important when you're working with people that are trying to capture such personal moments. They were super flexible and very accommodating when we wanted do our save the date pictures before we actually took our engagement pictures. Their wedding pictures captured our entire day from the abstract/small details to the formal family pictures to the fun party shots. They were both so easy to work with, so professional, and so quick to respond to our zillion questions along the way. If you're looking for great photographers who do amazing work, are great people, and easy to work with, MKD is your solution!!

Profile Picture Kristina, 8/30/13, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

From the first step to the last, Mike and Kate were fabulous! They welcomed us into their home to get to know us, and clearly listened to everything we had to say about what we wanted. They had already done their homework about the venue and where the sun would be at the time of our ceremony which completely impressed my husband. We instantly felt they were part of our family.

During the engagement shoot, Mike put us both at ease (neither my husband or I enjoy having our pictures taken), and we were thrilled with the results. On the day of the wedding, Mike and Kate were incredibly professional, capturing the essence of our day perfectly, and yet, were completely unobtrusive. Many of our guests reported, they had no idea they were there for most of the day. The photos were fabulous, they caught moments that many others missed and we will cherish the pictures forever.

I have passed MKD's name to many of my friends/colleagues, and highly recommend them as your wedding photographers. You will not be disappointed!!!

Profile Picture Melissa, 8/17/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I wholeheartedly recommend MKD Photography to anyone who is looking for the greatest wedding photographers there are!

From the moment we met Mike and Kate Duval, we knew we were in good hands. They are true professionals, yet they will treat you as if you are longtime friends and make you feel instantly comfortable working with them and their cameras. They will respond to any and all questions with promptness and professionalism, are incredibly flexible, and very accommodating to requests.

MKD Photography will without a doubt showcase the most gorgeous moments of your engagement session and wedding day in their photographs—but the best part is, they are so unobtrusive in capturing these images that you will hardly even notice they are there!

We were so sad to bid Mike and Kate goodbye at the end of our wedding reception because we felt as if we were parting ways with members of our family. If you are looking for a kindhearted, down-to-earth couple with eyes for the most beautiful moments of your wedding (and a fantastic sense of humor to boot), MKD Photography are the ones for you! We can’t wait to get in touch with them when we have our fist baby someday – we don’t trust anyone else to photograph the most precious milestones of our lives! Choosing Mike and Kate Duval was the best decision we made—besides saying “I do”!!!

Profile Picture Meaghan , 8/11/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Wow, I really can't say enough nice things about Mike & Kate. They really were wonderful to have around all day! They take amazing photos, and were able to capture all the little details without being in your face. I never even noticed them at the ceremony, yet we got amazing photos! They are easy to work with, flexible, fun, and always responsive to the 1,000 questions I had before the big day. They had a slideshow of images set up at the reception and all my guests raved at how amazing the photos are - and they truly are!

I will definitely hire Mike & Kate again .... They are AMAZING!!!

Profile Picture Marianne, 6/23/12, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

MKD was the perfect choice for us for photographers. They are fun, easy going and have an amazing talent of taking pictures that truly capture the moment.

My husband and I wanted to go with less traditional portraits of the wedding party and not have hours and hours of picture taking...and MKD not only listened but they made it happen. It was so wonderful working with them and I could not imagine having had anyone other than them with us on our wedding day.
We will 100% use MKD again for future photo shoots!

Profile Picture Mandy, 10/8/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I cannot say enough amazing things about MKD. MKD shot my wedding this past Saturday in Boston and on Sunday we already had a sneak peek slideshow set to our first dance song. I'm not sure if I cried more on my wedding day or being able to re-live the day. They caught the most incredible details from vantage points I would have never seen. They went above and beyond taking "good pictures" - As my sister said, they were able to capture our true personalities in the shots. MKD was fantastic to work with from our first meeting. My husband and I were immediately comfortable with Mike and Kate - such sweet, genuine, flexible personalities.

Perhaps the best compliment I could give MKD is from my brother. My brother is an award-winning professional photographer in NYC/LA who is well known in the fashion/still life area who's work can be seen in the top magazines and ad campaigns in the states and UK. I showed him several photographers I was considering and several he expressed concern with their skills/techniques. When it came to MKD he immediately said they were a fantastic find and wholly endorsed their work and encouraged me to make the investment. He has since seen the sneak peek slideshow and is even more thrilled with their professionalism and quality of work. He's tough to impress so his approval of MKD is priceless.

MKD will not let you down and is worth every penny!

Profile Picture Kelly, 9/10/11, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We spent a long time deciding on photographers for our wedding, and I don't think there is any way we could have picked any better.

Mike and Kate took beautiful photographs at our wedding in Connecticut, as well as an engagement shoot they did with us in New York City. They were able to capture the entire wedding day through lots of wonderful candid shots. They put together a slide show before the wedding was even over and all of our guests ooohd and ahhhd at the photos.

As a side note, Kate was actually 7 1/2 months pregnant at the time of our wedding, they brought along an assistant at no extra charge just to make sure everything they promised came to fruition, and Kate was still jumping on beds to hang wedding dresses, and moving all over the place to get the wonderful photographs she and Mike took.

We were able to see all of our photos online in less than a month and really could not have asked for anything more from our wedding photographers.

Profile Picture Scott, 5/28/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Mike and Kate are down-to-earth people who truly love what they do, and it shows. We found them through a friend of a friend and fell in love when we first met them! They're so composed and relaxed and manage to disappear into the crowd while capturing the best moments. Having the slideshow at the reception was a great feature-- nearly everyone crowded around the monitor to see what they'd gotten earlier in the day, and everyone who saw the photos were blown away, myself included! They were really great with dealing with our tense family situation and were gracious with all parties involved. We are so glad we went with MKD for our photos and have recommended them to EVERYONE! Highly, highly recommended.

Profile Picture Leah, 10/22/10, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

MKD Photography was amazing! Kate & Mike shot our wedding this past June 12th and every last one of the sample of pictures we've seen so far was absolutely amazing! Kate put together a beautiful slideshow of all the getting ready photos etc at the reception and our guests loved it! It was like they got to be there with us while we were preparing for the big day! What a wonderful touch. My mom cries every time she watches the final slide show Kate sent us just before we left for our honeymoon. I can't wait to see the rest!

I will reitterate what others have said where you hardly know they are there. They captured some pictures I didn't even think they were present for. Oh and the detail shots, they captured everything! Kate and Mike have both been wonderful to work with throughout everything (Kate even gave me some vendor advice when I was having a hard time deciding on some things). Our engagement photos were wonderful as well. Again, can't wait to see the final product. MKD comes with my highest recommendation to any bride out there looking for some seriously awesome photographers! One of the best decisions I made when planning my wedding was booking Kate & Mike.

Profile Picture Caitlin, 6/12/10, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Mike and Kate are truly the BEST! They capture all the beautiful moments of the day. This is one area of your wedding that you can keep for the rest of your life, and you will not regret a single penny spent on MKD. They are very discrete. I hardly knew they were around. They are also very respectful of what ever you want. They really make it all about you. Not only did they take amazing pictures, but they helped out by keeping everyone calm, happy, organized, and even provided Tylenol when needed! I highly recommend them!

Profile Picture Jamie, 5/30/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

WOW. I'm not a patient person and thanks to MKD, I didn't have to be! They put up a slideshow of our ceremony and reception pictures up halfway through the reception so all of our guests could see them! Everyone was SO impressed! They also emailed me the url so I could send it to my friends and coworkers! My father in law was so happy with the slideshow - he said that because Mike and Kate look so young, he was thinking that they were just starting out and was curious to see how the pictures would come out. When he saw the slideshow he was absolutely BLOWN AWAY! My mom and I have watched the slideshow about 150 times so far and cannot get enough of it. Every single picture is magazine quality perfect and the colors look better than they did in real life. If the handful of pictures in the slideshow are so amazing, I cannot wait to see the rest! I am recommending them to all of my friends!!! THANK YOU MIKE AND KATE!!!

Profile Picture Danielle, 5/15/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

MKD was, hands down, my favorite vendor for our wedding. Kate and Mike were so easy to work with, and were quick to respond to all of my nagging emails. We had to reschedule our engagement session a few times because of bad weather, but they were extremely flexible and understanding. On the wedding day itself, they arrived exactly on time - smiling and ready to get down to business. I felt like I had two extra friends sharing in the day, instead of just vendors. They were ready to shoot any point of the day, and some of the images they captured were simply breathtaking. They would (quite literally) bend over backwards to get the best shots. At one point in the morning my hairdresser spun me around and there was Mike, squished in between a tiny space between a dresser and the wall - just to get a cool shot of my hair! It was also quite warm on my wedding day, and Kate stopped me a couple of times before taking some pictures to fix my hair that had wilted a bit in the heat. I am so grateful for their incredible attention to detail.

I can not say enough good things about MKD Photography. My mother was so pleased with their service and images that day that she asked them to stay for an extra hour at the reception! The slideshow they put together was amazing. I've sent it to friends and colleagues, and so many of them said they cried just watching it and said, "I feel like I was there with you". I have no idea how I will be able to pick out my favorite pictures, there are just so many of them. We also ordered our thank you notes through MKD, and their high level of professionalism and customer service continued even beyond our wedding day. I am so happy I chose MKD Photography, and am planning on hiring them again in the next few years to shoot some family shots! Mike and Kate are worth every penny, and I 100% recommend MKD as wedding photographers.

Profile Picture Kathryn, 8/15/09, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Mike and Kate are awesome photographers who know how to think outside the box when it comes to taking wedding photos. I just got married on August 14, 09. They captured moments during my wedding that I had no idea occurred! They sent me a sneak peek slide show via email during my honeymoon and it was beautiful! I sent it to all my friends and family and the feedback I received just about the slide show was nothing but awesome! A lot of people said they cried when they saw it. I think that most people are not used to wedding photos that are so romantic and different and many people were taken by surprise. Mike and Kate are also professional and reliable.
If you want wedding photos that you and everyone else are going to love and that are both candid and professional go with MKD photography. By the way, they also include an engagement photo session in their package. The only things you have after a year of planning your wedding are the photos and a dirty dress. :) Make sure you invest in professional photos. I am so glad I did!

Profile Picture Noelle, 8/14/09, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Without a doubt, MKD Photography was the BEST choice we could have made. We are so grateful that we saw their website and booked them in time! Mike and Kate have easy going personalities, are willing to listen to whatever ideas you have, and, most importantly, deliver such an indescribably amazing finished product. The photographs they took so truly captured the "feeling" of the day. We have heard from relatives and friends who were not present that they could really feel what the day must have been like just from MKD's photographs. I don't have enough good things to say about them. I recommend them to all the brides I know! :) Excellent in every way - from engagement photos to wedding day to getting our disk and photos to us in a timely manner. Amazing.

Profile Picture Heather, 7/11/09, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Hiring Kate and Mike Duval of MKD Photography was the overall best wedding decision that we made!!! From the first soft click of the camera, to the many genuine smiles looking at us from behind the lense, to the PHENOMENAL photography and slideshow, they far surpassed even our greatest expectations. Hiring a 'team' of photographers is so important to getting shots from several great perspectives. Your wedding is one of the most important days of your life and the investment of the 'BEST' photographers is a decision you will never regret. Check out their unbelievable website. We are so blessed to have crossed their paths. Thank you MKD from the bottom of our hearts!!! Cathy and Charlie Marshall, Bristol, RI

Profile Picture Cathy, 7/5/09, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

This review will not give the proper credit to Mike and Kate. Our save-the-dates, wedding invitation and wedding album were better than we ever imagined. The variety of shots, the fact that they captured everything we wanted and things we didn't think of, their relaxed and professional nature, all of that and more were perfect. We've looked through our wedding album countless times and are still in awe of their work. We've recommended Mike and Kate to EVERYONE that is searching for a photographer (for any event) and we will definitely continue to do so!

Profile Picture Jon, 6/27/09, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

What can I say about Mike and Kate? It was a pleasure working with them from the first night we met up. We knew as soon as we left their home, this was the right photography team for our wedding. And with the pictorial evidence, our instincts were confirmed.

These are the type of people you want around you on your wedding day! They're constantly professional, funny, such a relaxing influence and jump right to work as soon as they get there. I love that as a husband/wife team, they each have things they're used to doing, and they have a great rhythm throughout the day, which was a huge help to us, not knowing what to do/where to go.

Any time we had a question before the big day, Kate was readily accessible by email (I hate phones, so I don't know about that route). We did engagement pics a few weeks before the wedding, which was great practice for us getting used to being photographed, but not necessary to get used to being around Mike and Kate- their personalities set you at ease right away.

A couple quick blurbs from other people about our wedding photos "I felt like I was there" (from a parent's coworker) and "it's so us, they made me cry" (an aunt). I thought for sure I would bawl at our pictures, everything prior to the wedding made me cry like a baby. Much to my surprise, I didn't. I've looked at them a million times, and all I can do is smile. It was such a happy day and I relive it every time I look at what Mike and Kate captured for us. We could not have asked for anything more, from their presence on the day-of to the work they produced... 100% satisfied. I recommend them to anyone who mentions photography, and I know we'll be seeing them again for us too. Do yourself a favor, go meet and book them now- you won't regret it.

Profile Picture Amanda, 6/20/09, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Mike and Kate are exceptional! There are no other words to describe them and their work. From the time we met them, to the time we had our engagement session, to our wedding day, we were certain that we had chosen the absolute best there is for photographers. You can be sure you will receive the upmost professionalism, courtesy, creativeness, and comfort with Mike and Kate!

Profile Picture bethany, 11/22/08, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Kate and Mike were absolutely amazing! We loved having them be a part of our wedding day-it was so much fun taking pictures together! They did a great job and definitely captured all of the best moments of our day. I can't thank them enough! I highly recommend MKD photography to anyone looking for wedding photographers.

Profile Picture Samantha, 11/8/08, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Mike and Kate were very flexible and were able to work with my non-standard needs and budget. The photos I've seen thus far are amazing- everyone I've shown them to has been very impressed!

Profile Picture Lindsay, 10/4/08, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography