Mike Blaufeld Boutique DJ Services & Uplighting Reviews

156 | Rockville, MD
See photos, pricing and details

156 Reviews for Mike Blaufeld Boutique DJ Services & Uplighting

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

156
Order by:
  • C

    Christine · Married on 12/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike did an excellent job at our wedding. He read the crowd well and everyone had a great time. He was hugely helpful when planning, we met to discuss the reception timeline, he gave great suggestions when I needed ideas and made sure everything we wanted in the reception was incorporated smoothly. We also felt the Mike really cared about our wedding, we would highly recommend him!

    Sent on 01/28/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to begin reviewing our fantastic DJ Mike... He did an amazing job, and went above and beyond our expectations. We knew that a great DJ makes or breaks a reception, and we initially contacted Mike because of his great reviews on Wedding Wire. As soon as we met with him we knew he was the one for us. He is extremely professional, experienced, and knowledgeable about weddings and music. He truly cared about what we wanted and what we didn't want. He also helped us create the timeline for our wedding, and executed it all perfectly and smoothly on our wedding day. He is also excellent at reading the crowd and knowing exactly what type of music to play. He knew we wanted a high energy reception with all different types of music to please a variety of ages, and the combination of what he played flowed and transitioned well from one song to the next. There was never a dull moment! Everyone was complimenting him all night and even after the wedding was over. Best of all, Mike came through for us at the last minute when it was too cold for our string trio to play outside for our ceremony. Even though he wasn't originally going to do our ceremony, he arrived early and did it out of the kindness of his heart when we realized the strings couldn't play. He saved the day and we love him for that! I would recommend him to any couple in the DC area who is looking for a professional DJ that provides quality and personalized services!

    Sent on 12/10/2011
  • L

    Lynne · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On my dream day, besides my husband, Mike was a dream-come-true! There aren’t enough adjectives to describe how outstanding his contribution to our wedding was, but here goes: Mike is a class act from start to finish. He is extremely thorough and easy to work with, making the music element of our wedding reception seem effortless. We gained the advantage of Mike’s experience, but he also listened to our preferences and desires. This great chemistry led to an overall outstanding night that resulted in compliments from literally everyone – and these compliments continue today as people continue to tell us how much fun our wedding was! We can’t imagine anyone else doing a more perfect job!

    Sent on 01/16/2012
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 10/15/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was the DJ at our wedding and he was the perfect choice! We were at ease with him from the moment we met him and liked what he brought to the table so much we recommended him to the groom's sister for her wedding before he even did our wedding. He was accessible and accommodating throughout the process, and worked with our unique music tastes. He was very attentive to every last detail in our meetings with him, and confirmed everything multiple times. The night of the wedding, everything went without a hitch. People wouldn't get off the dance floor and even danced through dinner! When the official dancing began, Mike filled the dance floor with one song, and it was a huge dance floor. At the end of the night, he left people chanting for one more song, which he obliged! We can't wait to hear Mike again at my sister-in-law's wedding in June!

    Sent on 10/21/2011
  • L

    Sarah · Married on 10/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow. There is so much to say about Mike. 5 stars just doesn't do him justice. We had considered one other company before deciding to hire Mike. The other company was content with having a quick phone conversation with us...while Mike not only wanted to meet us both in person, but was also willing to go out of his way to meet us at a location that was convenient for us. Music is extremely important to my husband and I and after meeting with Mike, we could tell it was just as important to him...if not more so. We knew after meeting with him that he was definitely the better choice. Mike is so passionate about music and his job and I know that you will not find a more professional DJ out there. We have gotten so many compliments on our chioce of DJ including (but most certainly not limited to) 'Best DJ' and 'Most fun we've ever had at a wedding'. Mike had told us at our meetings (there were 2 and at least 2 phone conversations) that he would read the crowd...and boy did he! When he moved on from oldies and noticed that people were vacating the dance floor...he brought the oldies right back and had us dancing until the night was over...at which point our guests actually started chanting 'One more song!'...he gladly obliged! I could be biased, but I think it was the most fun I've ever had at a wedding! ;) But the compliments from friends and family (even 3 months later) let us know that we weren't the only ones!

    To make a long story short (too late!), I can guarantee you, that if you go with Mike, you will not, cannot be disappointed! Mike misses nothing! If it's important to you, then it's important to him. His years of experience make him the best man for the job...without a doubt. Thanks Mike! :)

    Sent on 01/06/2012
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We felt comfortable with Mike from our first meeting and confident knowing we would not need to worry about the music or the schedule on our big day. He took care of everything for us. We were so impressed with his professionalism, organization and demeanor. He's extremely personable and charismatic and has excellent taste in music. DJ Mike also helped guide us in our special song selections. He had fantastic suggestions and ideas.

    DJ Mike promised us that he'd keep the dance floor packed all night long and he sure did. Now, months later, people are still talking about how fun they had at our wedding - and we have the photos to prove it!

    Hands-down, we would recommend DJ Mike to anyone.

    Sent on 01/10/2012
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was the one vendor at our wedding that absolutely went above and beyond all of our expectations. We met with him three times before the wedding and spoke to him over the phone the week of the wedding to make sure all of the details were perfect. He even made a separate appointment to walk through the space with us to discuss the setup, since he had not been to it in a few years. Mike is extremely detail-oriented, which was obvious upon meeting him. It was also clear that he understood the kind of wedding we wanted and the kind of music we like. What was a surprise was how much fun he made the wedding - we literally had several people separately complement us on the music played during cocktail hour and dinner. They assumed WE had chosen it, but we left that part completely up to Mike. He made a seamless transition from dinner music to really great dance music, with a mix of both classic dance songs and current music, so that guests of all ages were comfortable. We were worried that people might not want to dance, but the dance floor was full the entire night! Working with Mike before the wedding was very easy. He was responsive and attentive throughout the process - absolutely a pleasure to work with. He went through the event schedule with us in 5 to 10 minute increments to make sure he know exactly when and what was happening throughout the night. He was also able to suggest good music to us when we had trouble choosing, but respected our choices when we DID know what we wanted. Last but not least, Mike was not at all cheesy during the wedding. That was important to us. I would not hesitate to recommend Mike to anyone planning a wedding. He helped make our wedding fantastic!

    Sent on 11/03/2011
  • K

    Kyra · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike really went above and beyond for us--he had my whole wedding party on the dance floor, from my 3-year-old niece to all my aunts and uncles in their 50s and 60s. This required his excellent taste at mixing my husband's and my favorite songs along with songs he knows work well. He beat-matched seamlessly so we all stayed on the dance floor. Throughout the planning, he went above and beyond by responding immediately to e-mails and phone calls, and even meeting with us at the wedding venue one month before to talk about the set-up (which was very out of his way). He played the music for our ceremony flawlessly, and helped keep on schedule by announcing each piece. I highly recommend Mike to anyone who wants a professional DJ who can independently give you a song list to keep all your guests grooving.

    Sent on 10/04/2011
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike is the best! He read our guests masterfully which resulted in a party that lasted from the moment he introduced the wedding party to the last dance the moment before the party had to end. Everyone from our young nieces and nephews to our grandparents got up and danced. Mike is just the best at what he does and we look forward to working with him again some day.

    Sent on 11/03/2011
  • A

    Angela · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was absolutely amazing!! From the first day of meeting him/working with him I felt completely comfortable and trusted his expertise. He helped us plan every last detail of the evening, which helped everything run extremely smooth! He was extremely quick with his replies via email as well as phone. He made sure that we covered all the details multiple times via email as well as phone conversations. When we got to the reception, he was there waiting on us and was ready to get the night started - with the cocktail music already going great. Once we opened the dance floor up, he really set the tone for the evening. The entire time, from the very first song, the dance floor was never empty!!! No cheesy comments or unneccesary talking - all great music all night long!

    We received so many compliments as far as how fun everything was, how much everyone danced, and how great the music was! I could not have asked for anything more! The music at the reception sets the whole tone for the evening, and thanks to Mike, ours was perfect!

    He was 100% professional and just great to work with. I would absolutely work with him again as well as recommend him to anyone in the area!

    Sent on 08/31/2011
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was more than you can hope for in a DJ. He made a great effort to get to know us and our style before the wedding, meeting with us twice before the big event. He was extremely responsive via email and made a flawless and detailed itinerary to ensure the day's events and cues went smoothly. He really acted as our wedding coordinator during the reception and kept in sync with the caterer so that the movement from event to event during the evening went smoothly and when the time was right. I was completely able to enjoy myself and never had to worry what was next because he was on top of it. So many friends and family told me how awesome DJ Mike Blaufeld was that night and for weeks after. We danced the entire night, non stop. The dance floor was always packed and we just had a blast. WHile we originally hired him for 5 1/2 hours, we had so much fun we extended the night an additional hour, and no one even noticed the time flying by. Worth every penny to go with Mike. He's a bit more than a DJ company (but not much), but you get personalized service. And he's willing to go to Annapolis, Baltimore, and the greater DC area. I can't say enough good things about him.

    Sent on 09/25/2011
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike did a great job at our wedding. He met with us twice and called before the wedding to help with the timeline and song choices. He kept the dance floor packed all night. He started with older songs to get the older guests dancing and then played a good mix of 80's music and current songs. When he slowed things down during the cake cutting, he read the crowd and knew to pump things back up again because we definitely wanted to dance! I highly recommend him for your wedding.

    Sent on 08/09/2011
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I didn't think a DJ could be this good. But Mike lives up to his 5-star reputation. He was easy to work with and responsive to our every need and email. Our guests raved about the music -- he kept them dancing all night long despite the huge venue and beautiful weather. Our wireless mics, complex venue sound arrangement, and handpicked music was executed seamlessly. Mike is the man and you are lucky if you can get him for your wedding.
    thanks Mike!

    Sent on 10/26/2011
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was wonderful to work with. He is extremely professional and takes a lot of pride in his work. He is a full time DJ who really strives to deliver quality and tailor everything to your wedding day. After the first time we met Mike we knew he was the DJ for us. He takes the time to not only get to know you, but to get a sense of your tastes and explain in detail what he’ll deliver on the wedding day.

    Leading up to the wedding on June 25, 2011, Mike setup a time to meet with us and walk through the timeline, the song choices for the first dances, introductions, etc. and discuss the transitions to/from different moments in the night. He’ll also review all of your family’s names to make sure no one is mispronounced. His equipment is state of the art and minimalistic. We had our wedding reception on the rooftop of The Hay-Adams hotel and Mike’s setup was very classy (ie. no large banner, colored lights, disco balls, etc.). Mike sets the tone for the evening and has the natural ability to read the room to feel out what songs to play next. A lot of DJs will simply cue up a playlist and go. Mike also will not play some of the goofier commonly played songs that are popular (ie. YMCA, Macarena, etc.) unless you specifically request it.

    Mike was great with our wedding party as we arrived at the hotel and were about to be announced. He came out to greet us as we stepped off the elevator on the rooftop and walked everyone through what the plan was for each pairing to enter the room announced. The last thing on our minds on the wedding day was any concern about Mike and how he would handle MCing/DJing the evening. He was not only professional but very calm and reassuring which keeps you at ease with so many things going on.

    Our friends and family have been raving about the music since the reception! Mike kept the dance floor packed all night and really read the room. We never had to worry about what song was next. We even had family who don’t usually dance out on the floor having a ton of fun. His music selections are awesome and though we gave him a few song suggestions, we let him know that we wanted him to read the room and make selections he thought fit the moment. Another thing that really stood out was the way Mike transitions songs. He doesn’t just stop a song and cue up the next tone. He takes one song and has a smooth way of transitioning to the next while keeping the beat going. It keeps the dance floor packed all night!

    We HIGHLY recommend Mike for weddings. He could easily be charging a higher fee (as many DJs in the area do). We’re very picky when it comes to quality and service, and Mike exceeded our expectations from our first meeting to the end of the wedding reception! Thank You, Mike!

    Sent on 07/17/2011
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike Blaufeld was recommended by our wedding planner, and what a great choice! Dancing and great music were high on our priority list, and DJ Mike exceeded our expectations! His selection of music during various parts of the reception was great, and the sound system and volume were perfect. When the dancing started, the floor was never empty! We highly recommend DJ Mike - he helped to make our reception everything we could have hoped it would be!

    Sent on 06/23/2011
  • Jamie

    Jamie · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy to have DJ Mike for our June 4th wedding. When we were visualizing our wedding, something that was very important to us was that the dance floor was always full and that guests felt like they were at a "party". Therefore, selecting the appropriate DJ was critical. DJ Mike did a fantastic job. He created the party atmosphere I wanted on the dance floor. In addition, he was a great MC for the entire reception. He did all of our bridal party announcements etc and helped to keep the event on schedule. Another important point, was that he accomplished all this while being otherwise "invisible" to the guests. There was no unnecessary "chatter" on the microphone, etc.
    I would highly recommend DJ Mike to any bride who wants to be sure their guests are having a great time all night!

    Sent on 06/15/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After preparing for my wedding for a year, I felt like Mike was a good friend, he was that great to work with. When the day finally came, he was able to accommodate last minute changes and requests from my husband's family with ease. Our wedding was such a success that the hotel staff continues to talk about the event...the dance floor was packed and at one point every single attendee was on the dance floor. It would definitely not been so successful or memorable without the expertise and professionalism of Mike. By far the best DJ you could choose for your wedding!

    Sent on 05/31/2011
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 04/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so happy that we picked Mike to be our DJ. He was easily able to accommodate our request for music in 3 different areas of our hotel wedding. He was very responsive to email and helped to create a time line for my wedding day that kept things moving without feeling too rushed or too slow. He was very respectful of my bridal party and learned some pretty difficult names for the introductions to pronounce them perfectly!

    Sent on 06/01/2011
  • K

    Kari · Married on 02/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for a better DJ then Mike for our wedding! He understood exactly the type of music we wanted to hear for our wedding and played the perfect mix from the cocktail hour, through dinner, and till the end of the reception. One of the best services that Mike did for us was to put together the timeline of events. If it weren't for him, I would have been struggling for hours upon hours trying to figure out the order of events and the 'right' way to do things. He was a constant professional and I highly recommend him to anyone looking for the best DJ!

    Sent on 03/08/2011
  • B

    Ben · Married on 12/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was a pleasure to work with. His quick response time and pre-wedding planning exceeded our expectations. He took the time to sit down and plan our entire reception with us and even called us the week before the wedding to rehearse the names of the bridal party so he would pronounce them correctly.

    At the reception we received a lot of compliments about his choice of music during our cocktail hour and during dinner. The best part about Mike, no cheesy stadium style announcements. He runs the night on a tight schedule and we always felt like he had everything under control so we didn't have to worry about it. Once the dancing portion of the evening started, our dance floor was full until the reception was over. His mix of music was great, no dead air with his beat mixing, and our 9 year old cousin and 90 year old grandfather even danced most of the night.

    Bottom Line: Mike is low maintenance so you can worry about other things. He runs the show so you don't have to worry about it. He tailored the music selection to fit our crowd perfectly. Compared to other DJ's we looked at, he is a great value in terms of what you get for the price.

    Sent on 12/17/2010
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 10/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I remember not too long ago, reading the comments on here, wondering if it were possible for a vendor to have such good reviews and really deliver! Some seemed too good to be true-but they were definitely accurate. My husband and I both (along with our families) wish we could give Mike more than 5/5! Not only did he provide the music for our wedding reception, but the ceremony as well. He did this in two separate locations, and you would never suspect he did this all alone, as a one man operation. 100% Professional. All I have been hearing about the reception is how great the music was and how the dance floor was always packed. I am not sure about other bride/grooms, but what we were most concerned with, is our guests enjoying themselves. They absolutely did and I know it was a result of an excellent DJ, playing great music from start to finish. I was never once concerned with what was playing, becuase I knew Mike had it under control. From the first meeting that we had with him, we knew he was perfect for the job. Us, being very unorganized and wishy-washy- we needed someone to go above and beyond DJ services, but to help keep the flow of the schedule through the night. Mike told us from the initial meeting that he would take care of the "when to do this and announce that and start this" etc. He followed through wonderfully. He was so helpful that it's almost unfair to only call him a DJ as he was practically our coordinator! I read in other reviews about how he read the crowd so well and paid attention to detail (making sure he had everyone's names correct and so on) and they are completely dead on. I can promise that you will not be dissapointed if you select Mike as your DJ. I know we feel it was our BEST choice of all our vendors (and they were all pretty perfect). Thank you so much Mike, for making our night unforgettable! We owe it all to you!!! :)

    Sent on 11/08/2010
  • M

    Marianne · Married on 10/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply outstanding. Mike played the perfect music for our wedding and made it a wonderful night. All our guests commented that he was the best dj they had at a wedding. Thank you mike!

    Sent on 11/16/2010
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was outstanding! All we wanted was a great party and he delivered! Our guests never stopped dancing and they were telling us during and after the reception how great our DJ was. Mike is professional and experienced. He knows how to listen to what you want and make it happen. We met with Mike a few times, spoke on the phone, and corresponded over email. He was always enthusiastic, helpful, and responsive. He gave us suggestions for entrance songs and parent dances. He emailed us the version of our first dance song to confirm that it was correct. He checked and doubled checked the names and pronunciations of the bridal party so that everything was perfect. He made sure we knew how the flow and progression of the music would go the night of the wedding and that we were happy with it. He's really able to read the crowd and follow their lead. We also had Mike do the the cocktail hour and he was able to provide the equipment and music for that. Toward the end of the night, we weren't ready for the party to end, and he was happy to keep us happy and keep playing! Mike was an integral part of making out wedding the best day of our lives and the talk of our friends and family for a long time to come. We definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 10/29/2010
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike was amazing, from the first phone call I could tell that he "gets it" and was on board with my needs. He was eager to help me and offered advice on many aspects of our reception. He was higly reliable and I felt like I had a "friend" being my DJ. There were a lot of positive comments after our wedding and many of those had to do with Mike and the "great music" and "friendliness" he displayed. I would reccommed Mike HIGHLY and will miss dealing with him.

    Sent on 10/17/2010
  • C

    Christina · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew we wanted a good DJ who knew how to keep the dance floor packed and who wasn’t cheesy. I did a lot of research on DJs, reading reviews and interviewing quite a few. I am so glad we found DJ Mike! From the first time I emailed him up until the wedding, Mike always got back to us within a couple hours. He really listened to us and got a sense of our style and what we wanted out of our reception. He has a great collection of music and read the crowd really well. We were a bit worried that our guests wouldn’t get on the dance floor, and that it would be just our friends, but we really shouldn’t have been concerned. Mike got people out there dancing without saying anything over the mic or using gimmicks. Even our older relatives who we thought would probably just sit around and talk made it out to the dance floor. Everyone had a great time and we’ve gotten many compliments from our friends and family about how wonderful our DJ was.

    Sent on 12/06/2010