Middleburg Community Center Reviews

24 | Middleburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Middleburg Community Center

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

24

7 User photos

Order by:
  • D

    Deb · Married on 11/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    Beautiful venue and don’t need to do a lot to customize the place. The staff was a breeze to work with and flexible to answer all our questions.

    Sent on 11/12/2018

    Middleburg Community Center's reply:

    Thank you for the speedy review Deb, I hope you had the wedding of your dreams! We are happy to hear it was a pleasant experience.
    -MCC Staff
  • C

    carlton · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Middleburg Community Center, namely Olivia Rogers, made our wedding planning process seamless. Our issues were met with ease and grace, and Olivia made it very clear that she would help make our wedding venue work for our special day. Many of our stumbling blocks were met with flexibility, and we were left with an affordable, extraordinarily beautiful wedding venue, and calmed spirits based on our peaceful and helpful interactions with Middleburg Community Center. I cannot say enough great things about this venue and the people from it that helped to make our wedding day everything we could hope for.

    Sent on 06/28/2018
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was absolutely PERFECT! We are in our early 20s, coming out of college, with not much money to spend on a wedding. The Middleburg Community Center is budget friendly and allowed us to make our dream wedding a reality. Many venues in the Northern Virginia/Southern Maryland area charge an arm and a leg and have very limited available dates, even when booking a year in advance. The community center provides an indoor and outdoor venue (without the excessive cost of tent rental) and includes a playground and indoor tables/chairs (saving hundreds of $$). The stage was a wonderful setup for out DJ, who was able to keep the dance party going throughout the night. Our approximately 130 guests arrived at 3PM, and the wedding wrapped up around 11PM. There is plenty of parking across the road in the gravel lot. The patio was a great setting for the cocktail hour and the sunroom was the perfect staging area for the bbq buffet. Olivia (wedding planner at the community center) had ample suggestions for caterers, lodging, and party rentals, but none of it was pushed on us or required. Many venues have a limited list of approved caterers and require a bar tender for the bar, but the Community Center provides complete freedom when choosing all aspects of your wedding. There are multiple Airbnbs in the area to choose from, at a fraction of the price that a hotel would cost. My bridesmaids and I were able to stay at a cute Airbnb 5mi down the road, and were able to have a relaxing morning getting ready the day of the wedding. There is also a small bridal suite at the community center, that offered the perfect backdrop for pre-ceremony pictures and champagne. The are ample bathrooms and one handicap accessible restroom. This was the first venue we looked at, and after looking online and visiting 3 other venues, we are so happy that we went with our original selection.

    Sent on 05/28/2018
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved having my reception at the Middleburg Community Center. The environment is beautiful, Olivia was amazing to work with, and the price was really great for everything that was offered. I am so thankful that I found this hidden gem!

    Sent on 05/26/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted a church "Sweet 16" Birthday party at the Middleburg Community Center in September 2015. Not only is the building amazingly beautiful but you can tell that everything is very well taken care of! The staff was so responsive and helpful during our planning. The event went amazingly well and we would love to host a future event there! Thank you for a fantastic event venue!!!

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The community center was the perfect setting for my wedding reception. Gorgeous building inside and out, even with minimal decoration the place looked elegant. It was very spacious for my 100 person wedding. Many guests commented on how nice the venue was. Middleburg is such a cute town, it gives you the feel of a destination wedding without traveling too far.

    Working with Olivia (the event coordinator there) was a pleasant experience. She was sometimes slow in getting back to me but otherwise very helpful (she had her own wedding there a couple years ago).

    Sent on 08/01/2015
  • H

    Heydi · event on: 01/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The guests gave us lots of compliments on the venue and Juanita was a pleasure to work with!!

    Sent on 01/17/2014
  • P

    P. · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Middleburg Community Center was the perfect setting for our daughter's wedding reception. She and her new husband were looking for a site with character, history and charm. The beautiful ballroom with its high ceiling and dramatic draperies was just the place. We were able to have great atmosphere at a much lower cost than other venues we looked at. We had the room from morning to midnight, we could bring in our own alcohol and they set up the tables and chairs to our specifications. So many other venues charge extra for anything more than 4 hours rental and charge extra to set up and take down tables and chairs.

    We cannot express enough appreciation for Juanita. She was so helpful, flexible, pleasant, professional, and took a personal interest in our daughter's wedding. She had great suggestions for how to use the space to the best advantage. We had special health requirements for family members which they accommodated in every way. The Terrace room was perfect for the food buffet tables. The grounds offer some lovely spots for photos and the town of Middleburg was a great backdrop.
    The only slight negative is that the main parking area for guests is a gravel and grass lot about a half block behind the building. If you have elderly guests or the weather is bad, guests would need to be dropped off at the door.
    Our caterer and photographer loved working at this venue! They both expressed great surprise that, despite being in the wedding business for years in this area, they had never worked this venue before. It is a hidden gem that they both will recommend to their future clients. We were very happy using Middleburg Community Center for our daughter's reception.

    Sent on 06/19/2013
  • P

    P. · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Middleburg Community Center was the perfect setting for our daughter's wedding reception. She and her new husband were looking for a site with character, history and charm. The beautiful ballroom with its high ceiling and dramatic draperies was just the place. We were able to have great atmosphere at a much lower cost than other venues we looked at. We had the room from morning to midnight, we could bring in our own alcohol and they set up the tables and chairs to our specifications. So many other venues charge extra for anything more than 4 hours rental and charge extra to set up and take down tables and chairs.
    We cannot express enough appreciation for Juanita. She was so helpful, flexible, pleasant, professional, and took a personal interest in our daughter's wedding. She had great suggestions for how to use the space to the best advantage. We had special health requirements for family members which they accommodated in every way. The Terrace room was perfect for the food buffet tables. The grounds offer some lovely spots for photos and the town of Middleburg was a great backdrop.
    The only slight negative is that the main parking area for guests is a gravel and grass lot about a half block behind the building. If you have elderly guests or the weather is bad, guests would need to be dropped off at the door.
    Our caterer and photographer loved working at this venue! They both expressed great surprise that, despite being in the wedding business for years in this area, they had never worked this venue before. It is a hidden gem that they both will recommend to their future clients. We were very happy using Middleburg Community Center for our daughter's reception.

    Sent on 06/22/2013
  • P

    Slayde · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Middleburg Community Center! Because we were having a November wedding, the terrace wasn't really an option for the ceremony - so we just had it in the ballroom, and it worked out beautifully!! Juanita was incredibly nice, not to mention the help she gave us in figuring out how to do a 130pp wedding and reception in the same space, and the building itself was perfect. As others have said, being able to bring your own food and alcohol is an added perk! The only tiny thing that could be better is if there were at least one larger hotel nearby to accommodate guests - the B&Bs in the area can be pricey, fill up quickly, and are (understandably) inflexible in terms of booking large blocks. Otherwise, an ideal venue!

    Sent on 11/09/2011
  • A

    Amy · Married on 01/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Middleburg Community Center could not have been a more gorgeous and accommodating site for our wedding reception. (they are even a non-profit organization). Juanita provided top-notch customer service and allowed us to hold our event there on New Year's Day. In addition to its entirely reasonable cost (which includes tables and chairs - although we chose to use chiavari), the venue is yours until midnight for a flat rate and you can bring in your own alcohol without a corking fee. We loved having the freedom and support to be able to fully customize our entire reception from food to decor. I cannot recommend Middleburg Community Center highly enough!

    Sent on 01/18/2011
  • L

    lara · Married on 11/27/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Middleburg Community Center could not have been a more gorgeous and accommodating site for our wedding reception. The historical building is just stunning and our guests are still oohing and ahhing over Middleburg's charm. Juanita provided top-notch customer service and allowed us to hold our event there over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. In addition to its entirely reasonable cost (which includes tables and chairs - although we chose to use chiavari), the venue is yours until midnight for a flat rate and you can bring in your own alcohol without a corking fee. We loved having the freedom and support to be able to fully customize our entire reception from food to decor. I cannot recommend Middleburg Community Center highly enough!

    Sent on 12/15/2010
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 08/05/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't let the fact that this a community center fool you. It's an old building with so much character and a huge ballroom! There is a garden room that is excellent for food so you have more room to seat guests. We also had our cocktail hour outside in the gardens. It was very beautiful! The lights dim in the ballroom to give an evening ball effect, and the entrance is stunning. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/24/2007
  • K

    Kim · Married on 06/21/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance & I love everything about this place! Katy & Olivia manage the place beautifully with the helpful hands of Tim to do setup. Everybody is quite professional & the place is not expensive at all in comparison to other local options, especially for the lovely town of Middleburg! This place is equipped to handle 200 people, budget-friendly & simply beautiful! The herb garden is tranquil & well-kept, the terrace room is well-lit & perfect for a smaller soiree or an in-between room (we're using it as a kids room for our wedding), & the ballroom is beautiful & well-lit. Everybody was great about answering questions & helping, too! There was a TINY hiccup in communications, but overall responses were prompt & very helpful. When we were doing a walk-through with our pastor, Tim was around & was happy to offer suggestions & helpful hints for setup & kitchen use. They were even flexible to us dropping off items (like beverages) a few hours early to help alleviate the wedding day stress! Truly, truly love this hidden gem!

    Sent on 05/28/2016
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 06/21/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This vendor is great! Of no fault to them, the weather was INSANE on my wedding day & there was a power outage in the town, so be prepared for the unexpected. That being said, the team did EVERYTHING they could to make my wedding day the best...and, regardless of the weather, it still was! The site is stunning, the team is amazing, and everybody was super flexible in working with us, making the planning as easy as possible.

    Sent on 09/29/2016
  • K

    Karen · Married on 04/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the venue for a classical orchestral concert and fundraising gala. There were ample tables of various sizes and nice chairs. Kitchen is large and professional. The ladies bathroom is lovely. The only challenge is that the parking behind the center is limited so if you need plenty of parking for the elderly/handicapped this might be challenging. Although, there is a gravel lot about 100 yards from the center which works for those who can walk.

    Sent on 04/26/2016
  • T

    Tarah · Married on 09/19/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love having our wedding here. We used the terrace outside for our ceremony and had our reception in the ballroom. Juanita was great to work with. I thought it was a little pricey, but they offered to use their tables and chairs. I liked that we could bring our own food and alcohol which saved a ton!

    Sent on 10/12/2009
  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted to find a venue that would allow us to bring in the food we wanted and not limit us to a preferred caterer. I am Pilipino and my now husband is Colombian/Puerto Rican. It was important to us to have the food reflect our cultural backgrounds. We didn't want normal wedding food and we were lucky enough to find the Middleburg Community Center. It's a beautiful historic venue that has everything you need from the outdoor garden space, to the terrace for cocktail hour, a commercial size kitchen and the ballroom area! We were able to order from our favorite restaurant and serve our guests the food that was reflective of us! Also, they were very professional and flexible in how we decorated the venue. But you really didn't need to do much because the space was so charming already. We were able to design and produce the wedding of our dreams. If you want a venue that isn't cookie-cutter and a space that you can create to look like your vision, then book your wedding/event here. Did I also mention that it's very affordable! Yes, we saved a lot of money booking here plus it's in the heart of Middleburg. Our friends loved roaming around the town before the start of the wedding. The staff were all very kind and very professional. They were able to help us with any question or need. We didn't have any problems. It was a dream wedding for us and we're not in debt! That's the cherry on top!

    Sent on 09/29/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/23/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This is a gorgeous venue, everyone loved it. We did our ceremony on the patio and reception inside - and it was perfect! You can't find another like it for the price...

    Sent on 10/09/2007
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/14/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Middleburg Community Center was perfect for our midsized wedding. We got married on the terrace outside and had our reception in the ballroom. They were quick to respond when I had questions and were always willing to work with me. I thought they were wonderful and was the best place for us to get married. I did give them less stars on "Flexibility" mainly because they are a historical property and have some rules that we had to work around. Other than that, it was a beautiful location and will leave us with a lot of memories.

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • WeLoveJesus

    Sarena · Married on 08/09/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This venue was a dream to work with. The other review is right, dont let the fact that its a community center bring you down. This venue has so much character and personality. And the fact thats its located in such a romantic little town is great. They were very flexible and accommodating to all of our requests. I recommend this venue to all!

    Sent on 12/19/2008
  • User5628324 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Middleburg community center was a great location for my mother inlaw's suprise birthday party. The gardens, parlor room was perfect for our event, the price was also great too!!
    The one complaint I have would be that we never saw anyone associated with the venue the entire day!! We let ourselves in and let ourselves out, I was quite surprised. Luckily we found an unlocked door in the back.

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/07/2016

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    I would definitely say to go for it. We loved the way everything came together with the decorations in the space.

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 11/12/2016

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    The community center is beautiful and was perfect for our wedding. We set up on Friday (additional cost) and worked with one of their staff members who helped us redesign our layout, which worked out perfectly. They were very helpful with how to utilize uplighting to transform the venue and was just a short distance away from where we had our ceremony. Only downside was not having the ability for our buses to park in the back lot.

    Sent on 11/16/2016