McMenamins Anderson School Reviews

37 | Bothell, WA
See photos, pricing and details

37 Reviews for McMenamins Anderson School

Recommended by 94%

37
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

4 User photos

McMenamins Anderson School 1
McMenamins Anderson School 2
McMenamins Anderson School 3
McMenamins Anderson School 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Amy · event on 09/28/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner in the Patty Murray room at McMenamin's. Everything was fabulous - the food, the beverages, and the service! I would highly recommend it to others.

    Sent on 10/08/2017
  • L

    Lenwit · event on 10/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food and drinks were amazing as well as the grounds and service!!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • K

    Kylene · event on 10/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great to work with for planning our event. Easy to customize to meet our needs and provide the information necessary to have a successful event. They provided all the services, supplies, and staff for our event making it really easy on us.

    Sent on 12/21/2015
  • A

    Anne · event on 03/10/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We threw a surprise birthday dance party for about 35 people in the Andy and Patty Murray rooms and we has a PERFECT time. SO much fun. Every staff person we interacted with was responsive, helpful and worked hard.

    Sent on 03/13/2018
  • B

    Bethany · event on 06/21/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service! Very communicative and flexible the night of. Lot's of extra help and checking in throughout the event!

    Sent on 06/25/2018
  • E

    Emiy · Married on 07/29/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely phenomenal!! We can't say enough good things about McMenamins Anderson School. The event coordinator, event staff, and hotel staff were all wonderful. The venue was a fantastic setting for our July wedding. The restaurants, bars, and pool are top notch. Beautiful grounds. Thank you for working so hard to make our day special. Highly recommend

    Sent on 11/07/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/07/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at McMenamins Anderson School, Haynes Hall. Its unique character, the beautiful courtyard, the complete package (food, drink, room for both events), and hospitality for guests wanting another bar to visit, or wanting to stay are huge strengths! Although we worried a bit about having no tasting meal, we and our guests were impressed with the food, and the sales coordinator was swiftly responsive all throughout.

    We did struggle with a couple of things:
    - Parking is definitely difficult, especially with a game next door. If at all possible, it would be good to check the schedule for games before planning a large event, and also consider any guests with limited mobility.
    - We opted for a plated dinner, which comes with coffee and tea, and we asked if wine could be offered to guests during dinner service (rather than having them all go to the bar). Unfortunately, tea and coffee was not offered, nor was wine at the table.
    - We brought in wedding cake, and ordered enough based on the bakery recommendation (2" square per guest, based on having a double-tall cake, and a plated meal--we actually well in excess of what we needed). Unfortunately, the day of, we were told that was an insufficient amount of cake, causing a guest to run out to QFC for a cake. Later, we realized that McMenamins had cut the cake quite large, which likely drove the need for this. Most unfortunately, the day-of person and the catering manager had left by the time cake was being served, so there was no way to adjust the serving, and perhaps offer our guests the nicer wedding cake we had ordered instead of the QFC cake.
    - We misunderstood how much autonomy we had on table layout, and the week of the wedding needed to change how guests were seated.

    We enjoyed our wedding, got many compliments from guests. Overall, we are happy, but recommend some caution if you're for a seated, plated meal, and guests assigned to tables.

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • User7742851 · event on 01/21/2017

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    A fun time was had by all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 02/03/2017
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 08/26/2017

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Julia McCoy was our event coordinator and she was amazing! She's such a sweetheart and got everything done.

    Sent on 09/03/2017
  • User6665935 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our reception is 7/30/16 so this review is based on the experience we have had so far. When I first contacted Anderson school to book I was quoted one price, and then when they found out that it was a wedding reception the price doubled. I went to the open house before they opened and was told my first choice of date was open but I had to call the next day. After calling and putting a deposit for that day, we were called back an hour later and told that the date is not available. We chose another date and the same thing happened. We finally settled on the 3rd choice. There was lots of communication issues paying the deposit, and getting responses to our emails. Since then we met in person with the event planner and things seem to be a little better. I chalk it up to growing pains. I will update my review once the event happens.

    Sent on 05/04/2016

    McMenamins Anderson School's reply:

    Thank you for your review! The reason the minimums are different for weddings is we only hold one wedding or reception per event space per day, therefore it is blocked for one guest all day and evening. We've found this allows us to give the best service to our guests and to insure they don't feel rushed with decorating, getting hair and make up done, etc. on such a special day. I sincerely apologize for the confusion on booking your date. It was a hectic time with just opening, but that is certainly no excuse! Thank you for your patience with getting the final date booked. We look forward to your event. Cheers!
  • K

    Kim · event on 11/21/2015

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The room we had was adequate for our gathering, although, initially, we were happy that the outside enclosed area was ours to use, but then realized that it was virtually unusable due to the fact that the outside temperature was about 40 degrees and there were no heaters or lights in the area. The bar was set up out there also which was inconvenient. The bar was lacking in actual beer and wine. The bartenders had to keep leaving to get additional beer in a pitcher, which they only kept 2 on hand for the 25 people who were attending. At any given time there was only 1 or 2 bottles of wine available also. Some people went outside to smoke cigars by the fire pits but were told they had to put them out and actually threatened to have the people removed if they didn't comply.State law states that smoking is allowed outside as long as it is 25 feet from the nearest doorway, which of course the firepits are. There are no signs stating that cigar smoking is not allowed. In fact, at other McMenamins locations, it is actually encouraged by the fact that they sell them onsite. All in all, it was a disappointing event.

    Sent on 12/09/2015
  • T

    tony · event on 01/31/2016

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The event space was small, we were assigned 2 servers yet one of them only popped her head in 3 times during the 3 + hour event. Elise(?) was a great server, just needed more frequency in trips for drink orders. Food ran out half way through and was never replenished. The food was substandard frozen snack fare that was completely over priced. Lack of consistency in drink choices available throughout different areas of the property. One bar had one thing, another bar did not have the same items.

    Sent on 02/03/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review