Mayflour Confections Reviews

26 | Rockport, MA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Mayflour Confections

Recommended by 100%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

Mayflour Confections 1
Sort by:
  • J

    Jacob · Married on 07/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning and delicious cake; highly recommend

    Jocelyn created a stunning cake for our summer wedding. We came to Rockport to meet with her and discuss our favorite flavor combinations. She went out of her way to incorporate the aesthetic of the wedding into the cake design, taking inspiration from one of the architectural features of the chapel for the cake itself. When we couldn't decide on a single flavor she was happy to include both, one for each tier of the cake. She also was able to deliver the cake to Cambridge, and provided a cake stand for the venue as well. Most importantly, the cake tasted delicious!

    Sent on 09/14/2019
    Mayflour Confections 2

    Mayflour Confections's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Jacob! It was a pleasure to work with you and Anna, and create a cake special to your celebration. Thank you so much for including me in your wedding day!
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful gluten-free cake!

    I have celiac and I really wanted a small gluten free cake at my wedding. We found Jocelyn and Mayflour and knew it was the perfect cake for us! Jocelyn's cake designs are so beautiful and elegant. we were so pleased with how our cake turned out. Thank you for the gorgeous, unique and gluten-free cake!!

    Sent on 01/01/2019
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 09/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best wedding cake(s)!

    My fiance and I took a less traditional route for our wedding and had several small cakes, and Jocelyn truly did an amazing job. The cakes themselves were delicious--carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and a caramel drizzle--I had several guests say that it was the best carrot cake they'd ever had! We chose the semi-naked cake style, and she was able to beautifully incorporate some of our wedding florals to add that extra touch that completed the whole vision we were going for. Aside from the cake, Jocelyn was super friendly, professional, responsive, and easy to work with--we'd recommend her to anyone looking for delicious, fresh, and elegant cakes with quality (and often local!) ingredients!

    Sent on 10/30/2018

    Mayflour Confections's reply:

    Thank you so much for including us in your celebration and working with us to do something different and fun- I loved incorporating a cake into each table design and I'm so glad you and your guests enjoyed them!! - jocelyn + the mayflour team
  • L

    Leah · Married on 11/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding cupcakes were FANTASTIC, absolutely perfect!!

    Jocelyn was a true professional, she gave us exactly what we wanted and exceeded our expectations.

    Leah 11.19.2017

    Sent on 01/08/2018
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Jocelyn and her cakes early on in our planning process but somehow convinced myself she was out of my reach. In the meantime, I tested some truly horrible cake. So much frozen cake, tasteless cake, overly decorated cake, too sweetly frosted cake. Honestly, I had no idea there was so much bad cake in the world until I was trying to order a wedding cake! If I could do it all over again I would have just started and ended with Jocelyn’s cake, which is perfect. (She also can do naked and semi-naked better than anyone else out there.) We ended up ordering one-tier cakes of three flavors - vanilla, chocolate, and carrot - to use with my personal collection of cake stands. I’m so grateful for the sweet trip I took to her bake shop in Rockport, for her calm and caring way, and that I was able to have a Mayflour-graced wedding.

    Sent on 08/25/2017
  • G

    Gabriella · Married on 11/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have asked for anything more. It was what we wanted and it tasted amazing - Spice cake with fig filling and a caramel butter cream to die for!

    Sent on 03/10/2017
  • User6112037 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Jocelyn for our October 15th wedding, the cake was sooo picture perfect and absolutely delicious. We bought a piece for every guest attending and at the end of the night there were only a few pieces left, I have never seen so many guests eat the cake. People are still telling me how delicious it was, Jocelyn was very attentive to our ideas at the same time very professional with what she knew worked for our venue and our needs. Thanks J you are at the top of the game!!

    Sent on 10/26/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jocelyn made our wedding cake (10/1/16) and was an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish. She was so accommodating during the tasting -- it was too hard to decide on just one flavor so we ended up with three! The design was gorgeous as well; I wanted something that was simple and elegant, using fresh flowers that complemented the rest of the floral arrangements. She worked with our florist and created a beautiful cake that was better than I could have imagined! We got rave reviews from all of our guests too -- many of whom went back to try all three flavors. Thank you, Jocelyn! We'll be back for a first anniversary cake :-)

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • A

    Amy · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I crave our wedding cake on a daily basis. Also it so pretty! Working with Jocelyn was a delight. Highly, highly recommend her professionalism, skill, and kindness.

    Sent on 11/27/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are no strangers to Mayflour Confections and Jocelyn Pierce. We love and eat all of her sweet, baked goods. We wouldn't have anyone else bake our favorite wedding cake of all time!! We had a lemon cake with with blueberry filling and vanilla buttercream frosting. It was extraordinary. Many would think the lemon cake would be too powerful in flavor, but Jocelyn baked our cake with a subtle, light lemon flavor and the naturally tart/sweet blueberries created a "slice" of heaven for your taste buds.

    Jocelyn takes her wedding cakes and desserts to a whole new essence of sweetness and design. Her artistic touch emanates elegance, delicacy, and beauty. She is a joy to collaborate with and communicates easily and promptly, which is a huge help for a bride-to-be planning like crazy. Jocelyn understands what her customers wants and wishes are and delivers on point. She is adept, skilled, professional, and accomplished. We love her dearly and look forward to watching her delectable trade spread happiness to all the admirers of confections.

    Sent on 09/28/2016
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE. That basically sums up how I feel about the wonder woman behind Mayflour Confections. Everyone raved about our cake, and I may be biased, but it was the best cake I've had at a wedding. Not only that, but Jocelyn makes the best carrot cake I have had ever, period (which is saying a lot because I get carrot cake everywhere I go). And that cream cheese frosting! Drool. We also had her macaroons, cookies and cupcakes for a dessert table. Literally everything got eaten, including the cake. When is the last time you've seen the entire cake eaten at a wedding?! That, in and of itself, speaks volumes and we had this huge 4 layer masterpiece. So much love goes into making everything that Jocelyn does, and she's such a lovely human being taboot. Working with her was one of our favorite parts of the wedding, and we can't recommend Mayflour Confections enough.

    Sent on 08/01/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jocelyn made a gorgeous, Champagne buttercream, coconut, semi-naked, layer cake with fresh whole raspberries for our barefoot wedding in Ashland, Massachusetts this past Labor Day weekend (commuting all the way from Rockport).

    It was perfection.

    The cake was bright, light, and so delicious that not a slice was left by the end of the evening.

    Part of me wants an excuse to order another one.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • M

    Maura · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jocelyn was wonderful to work with for our recent August wedding. Our simple, semi-naked coconut cake was not only adorable-looking but it tasted amazing!! Exactly what we were hoping for. Thank you, Jocelyn!

    Sent on 09/22/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first email, Jocelyn was very responsive, and we set up a tasting with the flavors we were most interested in. The cakes at the tasting were very flavorful, and we settled on 3 1-tier cakes of chocolate hazelnut, honey lavendar (my favorite of the 3), and almond with apricot filling. Mayflour was exactly what we were looking for - excellent taste, seasonal/local ingredients, and simple but elegant designs.

    On the day of the wedding, Jocelyn set up the cakes with the flowers and topper we had provided, and they looked beautiful. They tasted even better. Guests are still raving about how good the cake was. I'm hoping that we can return to Mayflour to get anniversary and other occasion cakes in the future - they were that good. Thank you, Mayflour!

    Sent on 08/30/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OK, first -- the cake and cupcakes were out of this world delicious. We received SO many compliments during and after the wedding about how amazing they were. Jocelyn is a miracle worker and made us the most beautiful two tier Blueberry Lemon cake and 3 different kinds of cupcakes; Honey Lavender (my personal favorite!), Lemon Rosemary, and Chocolate Chocolate. Yum!

    Jocelyn was so lovely to work with and all of her confections are unique and artisanal, using quality local products, which we loved... During the tasting, we hard a hard time choosing flavors, even though we were choosing FOUR! She has serious talent!

    The following day after recapping the wedding with my best friend, she said the only regret she had that night was not eating more of the cupcakes...

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Sent on 09/01/2015
  • User3778425 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to Jocelyn from Mayflour Confections for providing us with such a yummy array of tasty treats on our wedding day! From our lovely two-tiered cake to our delicious variety of cupcakes, guests were able to sample a wide range of sweets! We especially appreciate Jocelyn's flexibility in regards to creating signature flavors and recipes that fit our autumn theme such as pumpkin spice and apple cupcakes. The pumpkin flavored cupcakes were a hit! You also don't have to feel too guilty after indulging since she uses high quality, natural ingredients. Added bonus! Guests also walked away with some delicious spiced pecans favors, hand packaged by Jocelyn. Jocelyn was a pleasure to work with from start to finish and was always prompt in her responses to any questions we had. A true professional! We highly recommend Mayflour Confections!

    Sent on 11/20/2014
  • K

    Kate · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jocelyn (at Mayflour Confections) was outstanding! My husband and I had the most fun working with her, and the end result was the most delicious - and beautiful - cake. We wanted a fall feel to fit our early October wedding without being too inside the box or predictably fall. Jocelyn came up with a pumpkin cake with a cinnamon buttercream frosting that was out of this world! (We also would have happily had any of the cakes we tried during our tasting - they were all amazing.) Our guests raved about our cake and we can't wait to commission her to reproduce an anniversary cake in the future :) She was wonderful in every way and we would recommend her highly!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 09/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot describe how amazing our experience was with Jocelyn at Mayflour. My now husband and I knew exactly what we wanted for our wedding cake, and after meeting with other companies were a little disheartened that our dream cake wasn't going to happen.

    Enter Jocelyn, who researched what we wanted to do (a naked Victoria sponge cake with buttercream and raspberry) and made us the most beautiful and scrumptious sample for our tasting. We knew instantly she was our lady, and we booked immediately.

    Day of, the cake was absolutely Pinterest-perfect stunning -- exactly as we had hoped it would be, and tasted amazing. Unfortunately, like most brides and grooms, we barely got to eat any on our wedding day, so she agreed to make me a miniature version to surprise my guy with for our two month anniversary! Can't wait!

    Sent on 11/06/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jocelyn managed to accomplish the difficult task of making our wedding cake both beautiful and tasty. Our “naked” cake was stunning and was absolutely delicious. I hope to have more reasons to order delicious goods from Mayflour in the very near future.

    Sent on 09/21/2014
  • M

    Molly · Married on 05/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough positive statements about Jocelyn and her business. Jocelyn made the entire process of choosing and creating our wedding cake so incredibly easy from start to finish. We live about 45minutes/1 hour from her location on the North Shore and with traffic during the week the trip can be brutal, but Jocelyn was sweet enough to prepare a few flavors as cupcakes and drive them all the way to our house for the tasting. From every moment she went way beyond our expectations and was incredibly helpful and flexible. She helped us decide which combinations would work well and what flavors would meld with our entire feel of our wedding. The day of she went above and beyond anything we could of imagined, the cake was indescribably delicious and almost 2 weeks later I am still hearing rave reviews of the cake...multiple people even said it was the best cake they've EVER had! She worked seamlessly with all other vendors so everything went smoothly day of!

    Sent on 05/14/2014
  • M

    Maura · event on 09/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There's cake, and then there's cake from from Mayflour, a class of their own.
    Mayflour provided two cakes for my baby shower, both were simply and elegantly adorned. But the standout is in that first bite- where the flavors and quality of ingredients shine. We had a lavender cake with honey buttercream frosting, and my guests raved about how unique and delicious it was.
    Her chocolate cake is just the right amount of richness without being overly sweet or sugary.

    Jocelyn was incredibly responsive to emails, thoughtful about what flavors to serve and quantity for the event. She is a talented and warm baker, who clearly loves what she does- bringing high quality and delicious sweets to special events. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 12/16/2013
  • T

    Terri · event on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best cake I have ever had. I consider myself a carrot cake aficionado and this one was IT. Moist, flavorful and absolutely beautiful.

    Sent on 12/17/2013
  • J

    Jamie · event on 05/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down the best carrot cake that has ever tickled my taste buds. All the other cupcake flavors (lavender and coconut) at my baby shower were unique and equally delicious. Mayflour is all about quality ingredients, creativity, and simple elegance. Jocelyn, the talent behind Mayflour, is kind, professional, and reliable- she delivers an amazing product every event I've been lucky enough to be apart of, without fail. She will be my go-to confectioner whenever there is an event to plan!

    Sent on 12/16/2013
  • K

    Katie · event on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mayflour provided the lavender and carrot cake cupcakes and they were DIVINE!!!

    Sent on 12/16/2013
  • M

    Monica · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jocelyn at Mayfour was an absolute delight, and our wedding cake is still talked about to this day. In a world of mediocre wedding cakes, she absolutely blew competition out of the water. We wanted a classic carrot with a not-too-sweet cream cheese frosting that fit our Vermont barn wedding and it was amazing. We opted to cut and serve the top versus saving it for our anniversary because people were coming back for seconds and thirds. She made us a fresh little cake for our anniversary instead. I've since hired her for multiple other events and she never disappoints.

    Sent on 12/16/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review