Lutsen Resort Reviews

43 | Lutsen, MN
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for Lutsen Resort

Recommended by 96%

43
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

20 User photos

Lutsen Resort 1
Lutsen Resort 2
Lutsen Resort 3
Lutsen Resort 4
Lutsen Resort 5
Lutsen Resort 6
Lutsen Resort 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • M

    Megen · Married on 02/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceeded expectations!

    We absolutely loved having our wedding at Lutsen. The lodge was the perfect Scandinavian feel I was hoping for. The lobby and the fireplace was beautiful. The pub had wonderful food as well as the restaurant. All my guest said what a wonderful unique experience it was ! We also had a blast in the pool!!

    Sent on 03/02/2019
  • A

    Abby · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose to have our small "elopement style" wedding at Lutsen Resort. Because we had a small guest list, we were able to get married right on the beach. Our wedding coordinator, Kathy Ann, was great to work with, which made for low stress planning. We lucked out with great weather, and had a beautiful ceremony and great food, followed by a beachfront bonfire. We would definitely recommend!

    Sent on 09/21/2018
  • D

    David · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    KathyAnn was awesome! Lutsen Resort should be extremely grateful to have her as an employee!

    Sent on 08/15/2018
  • H

    Hugh · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding for our son and daughter-in-law could not have been more perfect. The excellent support of our coordinator, KathyAnn, made everything go so smoothly. Kathy'Ann knows just what you need, before you do. Her experience really shows. From our BBQ on the beach the night before the wedding, through the entire wedding day, reception, dinner and dance, there was not a detail that was missed. The wedding dinner was delicious, and promptly served. All our guests said that it was the best wedding they had ever attended. That would not have been the case without the expert help of KathyAnn and the whole Lutsen team.

    Sent on 08/01/2018
  • M

    Molly · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our wedding day! There are no words for how amazing our day was and it was all thanks to the resort and their amazing staff. HIGHLY recommend!!

    Sent on 07/26/2018
    Lutsen Resort 8
    Lutsen Resort 9
    Lutsen Resort 10
    Lutsen Resort 11
    Lutsen Resort 12
    Lutsen Resort 13
    Lutsen Resort 14
    Lutsen Resort 15
    Lutsen Resort 16
    Lutsen Resort 17
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so lucky to have been able to work with Ana as our event coordinator for our wedding. She was spectacular -- I can't say enough good/nice things about her. She was very professional, always available, and worked hard and invested herself into our wedding day. It was so much more special for having someone who cared about us - as a couple - work on making our wedding beautiful and meaningful. Again, can't say enough good things about Ana!
    Lutsen as a resort is a wonderful place to have a wedding: it was the best choice for us because no one had to drive between ceremony/reception/dinner sites and that was a big deal for me. We had beautiful decorations and the ballroom looked so magical. The food was delicious and I never stopped hearing how much our guests enjoyed their dinner -- a couple people even said it was the best dinner they'd ever had at a wedding (yay!). The ceremony site on the lawn was beautiful. I cannot wait to see all the wedding photos! I am so happy we chose to have our wedding at Lutsen and look forward to visiting there again in the future!

    Sent on 05/29/2018
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding at Lutsen Resort!! The staff, venue, and food were all amazing!! KathyAnn was our coordinator and she went above and beyond for us! From scheduling calls around our schedules to providing guidance on how to handle different aspects of the day to last minute details, she was there supporting us through the whole process. We were so lucky to have had her as part of our day!! The entire staff is helpful and courteous, too. They offer several really tasty food options too! The family style service meant no one was hungry after dinner. Our guests with food allergies had a plated dinner option so we felt that we were able to truly host everyone. Throughout the weekend, the staff was flexible and supportive which allowed us to get a little rest after the flurry of activity. They even helped us track down a couple of items that we thought we lost over the weekend! If you haven't seen the views from the resort, you should. It is stunning!! You don't need to decorate much!! These people and this venue were amazing!!

    Sent on 06/14/2018
  • T

    TJ · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very accomading on everything

    Sent on 04/19/2018
  • J

    Joe · Married on 08/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alyssa, Mark, and the team at Lutsen Resort were amazing to work with.
    We couldn't be happier with how everything turned out!

    Sent on 09/13/2017
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough great things about our experience at Lutsen! From the first time we turned into the entrance and saw the resort, we were in love. Then, when we didn't think it could get any better, we had the pleasure of meeting KathyAnn, one of the resorts event coordinators. Because of the beauty of the resort, and the all-around awesomeness of KathyAnn, we booked Lutsen Resort as our venue before leaving on that first visit. This was the easiest and best decision we made! From day one, until we left after our wedding, KathyAnn was quick to answer all of our questions and was flexible when accommodating any changes or requests. All of the other staff we encountered, from the bartenders and waitstaff to the kayak guides, we're equally as kind, passionate and professional. Oh, and did I mention that the food was DELICIOUS?!
    I could go on and on about our great experience and about how many people remarked about how our wedding was the best they had ever been to, but, the true excellence of the Lutsen Resort experience can be summarized by a remark made by my not-easily-impressed grandfather who said- "This wedding is going to be hard for anyone to beat."

    Sent on 07/28/2017
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 07/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue and entire team at Lutsen were wonderful; every detail was attended to and our day went off exactly as we wanted! We would highly recommend Lutsen to anyone looking to plan a perfect North Shore wedding day.

    Sent on 07/26/2017
  • D

    Debby · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I really cannot say enough good things about Lutsen Resort. Our daughter was married there July 1, 2017 and the comments we received from our guests were things such as ... "We've never been to a wedding like this before" ... "This was the best wedding we've ever been to" ... "The food was so delicious and we loved the family style and the choices we had" ... "Your wedding coordinator was so fun and helpful" and many, many more. From the ceremony on the grass, to dinner in the Lakeside Dining Room, social and dessert on the Lakeview Patio, dancing in the Superior Ballroom and a bonfire and live music on the beach, the day was seamless. We didn't expect to have as many guests as we did because it was a destination wedding, but people love going to the North Shore for a get away! The Wedding Fair that we attended in the winter to pick out our beverage and food choices was another wonderful perk they offer. For the price of the weekend we were treated to a showcase of delicious food and beverages to help us make our meal choices for the wedding! This is a MUST attend if you're having your wedding at the resort. We all want to do it again...it was so very fun!

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • L

    Liana · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lutsen Resort was the best decision we could have made for our wedding (June 2017). Not only is the resort's location incredibly dreamy right there on the lake, but the STAFF was amazing -- hands down better than I EVER could have imagined. They were wonderfully trustworthy, charming, flexible and made the entire day and night feel flawless and effortless. Thank you for EVERYTHING, KathyAnn & Lutsen Resort! We cannot wait to return to celebrate many an anniversary with you in the future!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
    Lutsen Resort 18

    Lutsen Resort's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words, Liana! I hope autumn in Switzerland is treating you and David well. We look forward to seeing you during any future visits and anniversaries!
  • M

    Mackenzie · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was everything we dreamed it would be at Lutsen Resort. Kathy Ann was our event coordinator and she was so responsive, flexible, and above all, extremely helpful in every way possible to ensure our day went as planned. A couple things we really appreciated was her quick thinking/problem solving to set up another reserved table and also creating little tags to label our pies - both last minute items. She was present at the ceremony, dinner, and reception to ensure a smooth process and for general support and structuring. Lastly, her personality shines so bright - she was a real pleasure to work with. Besides our general location, the scenery was completely breathtaking with gentle waves on the beach, the unique arch at our ceremony site, and photogenic locations around the property. The dining and bar staff were amazing - we had so many comments from family and friends raving about the lemon chicken & baby reds at dinner, and of course, everyone appreciated drink services. There were several options for lodging that worked well for both ourselves and our guests; our condo was very comfortable and clean - the spa sized bathtub was a plus! I am extremely satisfied with our experience at Lutsen Resort; it was a once in a lifetime kind of opportunity! Thank you!

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • D

    Dustin · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue with great service and caring staff. Truly a wonderful expeirence.

    Sent on 06/15/2017
  • D

    Delaney · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lutsen Resort was amazing to work with! We had KathyAnn as our event coordinator, and she was so friendly and helpful. Our guests loved the different lodging options available onsite. The food was incredible and everything went so smoothly. We had our reception on the lakeside patio with a family style meal, and we got tons of compliments on the food and entire event. Following dinner and dessert, we had a beach bonfire on the shore of Lake Superior. Just an awesome venue and an unforgettable weekend!

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • User5593002 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is impossible to write in a small paragraph how incredibly happy we were to be so lucky to have our wedding ceremony and reception at Lutsen Resort. Everyone/everything at Lutsen was nothing short of amazing. The venue is spectacular and everyone who came to our wedding told us repeatedly that it was the most beautiful and fun wedding they have been too. They food was awesome, especially the salmon appetizer :)

    Sent on 11/06/2015
  • User3950338 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Lutsen was SO WONDERFUL. Not just during the planning, not just during the event, but throughout the entire weekend. They were there for us, and our guests. They accommodated every special request we had and carried out every detail perfectly. It was the most wonderful weekend we've had, and many of our guests commented that they felt the same way. They even held the pub open for us late when our guests were the only people in there. There are not enough adjectives to describe how amazing our experience with Lutsen was.

    Sent on 04/23/2015
  • Lacy

    Lacy · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lutsen Resort exceeded all expectations. The staff is phenomenal as is the food! The venue is so quaint and memorable. All the guests LOVED it! Lutsen Resort really made our entire wedding weekend amazing!

    Sent on 10/22/2014
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We started the wedding making process a year ago and each step of the way was easy (especially for non-planning people like us). We worked with Stephanie throughout the year and she was THE BEST. From our first meeting, to the awesome vendor show and all of our email correspondences and phone calls, we were checking things off our long, loooong list. Being we live 5 hours from this location, there was a lot more to think about and pack, she was helpful with all of that.

    Come wedding day, there wasn't one thing that we would have changed. The week prior and even the day after the weather was poor but the skies opened up with nothing but sunshine and high 60's for our day. It was beautiful. We were able to comfortably accommodate over 130 people for our wedding. The lakeside ceremony was amazing, the cocktail hour on the patio was a perfect area for us to mingle with our guests, dinner was perfect - the food amazing and our server Kevin was a rockstar! On to the reception we danced the night away with Rob as our bartender. My husband and I never came close to having an empty glass of champagne in our hands. We were so sad to see the night end, but after came the bonfire which we ended up not making it to because we were so exhausted from the day.

    I would highly recommend Lutsen Resort for your wedding venue and reception. We have been to this resort several times and plan on continuing this.

    Sent on 06/13/2013
  • User3042500 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved having our wedding here!! The wedding coordinator, Stephanie knows her stuff. She was organized attentive and professional!

    Sent on 02/04/2013
  • User2682685 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannot say enough good things about Lutsen. The staff was very professional and helpful throughout the entire process, the food and service was amazing, and you simply cannot beat the location for sheer beauty. We wanted a more laid-back wedding and this was the perfect venue for that - loved the fact that we could do a bonfire instead of a dance. It is the perfect location for people who want a destination wedding without going too far away. We loved it so much we cannot wait to got back for our anniversary!

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • User2617637 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough good things about this venue. The backdrop is absolutely gorgeous for a wedding. They provide you with a wedding coordinator who takes care of all the tasks you need completed on the wedding day. They schedule planning meetings with you throughout the process to help you think of things you are missing and making sure you covered everything. The resort it beautiful and has enough accommodations for all guests, there are many lodging options as well.

    Sent on 08/24/2012
  • S

    Cammie · Married on 05/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married at Lutsen on Memorial Day weekend, 2011. Lutsen made everything so easy, and on the big day we just had to focus on getting married and celebrating with our guests. (No worrying about food or beverage logistics, timing issues, or anything like that.) The food at dinner was fabulous (our guests are still talking about it), the service at dinner and at the reception was exceptionally friendly and very professional, and we felt like Lutsen had so much experience in the wedding arena that we were to ally in good hands. I highly, highly recommend a Lutsen Resort wedding... we were totally impressed and will be back to celebrate many anniversaries!

    Sent on 09/11/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review