Weddings

Lussier Family Heritage Center Reviews

Lussier Family Heritage Center

Lussier Family Heritage Center

Madison, WI
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 14 Reviews
View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 14
Sort by:
  • R
    Raeanna B. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great wedding venue

    My husband and I got married here in June of this year, and it was everything I wanted in a venue! The indoor and outdoor spaces were both totally great! We had our cocktail hour on the back patio, used the room upstairs for the reception, and the entrance area made a great space for the bar/buffet tables. The groomsmen also used the unoccupied area downstairs for getting ready, and the wedding party was able to hang out in that space while waiting for the ceremony, etc.

    We were looking for affordability, so we did the 1 day rental. Unfortunately, we weren't able to get in for decorating until the late morning, and we only had about an hour for cleanup after the reception. We had a ton of friends and family who helped us with decorating and cleanup, but without all that help it would not be possible to prepare the space/cleanup with the one day rental.

    Overall, it's a beautiful space and is relatively affordable, you just have to make plans to do decoration/cleanup yourselves.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We searched through so many venues in Madison before finding Lussier, on the recommendation of some friends. I'm so glad we found it! The two event coordinators (Linda who is retiring and Michelle who is taking over) were both great to work with, very responsive and helpful. Most importantly for us, the venue was affordable and a beautiful setting, between the rustic red barn, the giant oak tree, and the flower-filled prairie. Since we're both nature lovers and wanted an outdoor ceremony with an indoor reception, this place was perfect. We were also able to bring in our own alcohol, could use any caterer we wanted, and could do a lot with decorations. The building is pretty simple/plain without decorations, but I liked it because it gave us a neutral background to work with when setting up for the reception. I highly recommend renting the space for the entire weekend, because you get all day Friday and part of Sunday to put up and take down decorations! My only complaint was that it was $200 just to use the TV for a slideshow - since we didn't want to use the AV (microphone/speakers) equipment that came with it, they wouldn't cut us a deal for using only the TV. We ended up bringing our own computer for the picture slideshow, since it wasn't worth $200 just to use their TV. But other than, we were very happy with Lussier!
  • K
    Kara Married on 11/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not be more happy with our Lussier Heritage Center rental. We opted to rent the Center for Friday through Sunday which gave us plenty of time to set-up on Friday and pack-up on Sunday.

    Linda was great to work with in planning and during our set-up on Friday. She answered all of our questions throughout the months up to the event.

    We set the room up with the 8 foot rectangle tables and strung globe lights from the ceiling using magnet hooks. The facility is newly remodeled and there is a new sound-system which worked really well.

    We set up a photo booth and the dance floor downstairs and rented a sound/light system. It worked really well to give guests the option to go downstairs before or after dinner for the photo booth and most of the party moved downstairs after dinner for dancing.

    While we rented the space in late November, which happened to fall on the first snow fall of the year, and did not use the outside, it was still a beautiful setting and many guests were impressed with the view.
  • User2304965 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We rented Lussier for the weekend (Friday morning until noon on Sunday). The Center and grounds are beautiful. I recommend reserving it for the entire weekend unless you have a wedding planner - it was so much less stressful to be able to decorate on Friday, and clean up on Sunday, rather than trying to do it all (or having family do it all) on Saturday. Linda is wonderful to work with and very responsive and flexible. We had our ceremony outside by the barn, cocktail hour down on the patio, yard games on the grass, dinner upstairs, and dancing/games back downstairs. We had SUCH a fantastic weekend there.
  • Brenda
    Brenda Married on 08/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Linda was very helpful and responsive. She was also easy to work with. The Lussier center is great because you can have your own caterer and beverages (my fiance wanted a pig roast). However, it can be a lot of work to "do it yourself". The grounds of the center are absolutely beautiful. There is a campground right across the way from the center which some of my guests with campers used. The overall cost of the center was very reasonable as well.
  • Natalie
    Natalie Married on 08/10/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I worked with Linda throughout the months leading up to our wedding. She was very prompt with emails and handled all my questions as top priority. The Lussier was accommodating to us setting items in the building early. This saved us a lot of time the morning of the wedding. This little gem in Madison is an amazing spot for ceremony and receptions. We did both there and were very satisfied with the natural beauty that allowed for amazing pictures.
  • A
    Andrew Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely loved having our wedding at the Lussier Family Heritage Center. We had the ceremony outside and even though it was a little cold, it was so beautiful. The inside is so nice and cozy, they had everything set up for us the night before so when we arrived in the morning all we had to do was set up the stuff we were bringing. Linda was super responsive, typically being able to meet with us at whatever short notice we requested. We had everything set out for us so we knew exactly what we could get and what our options were. I'd highly recommend the Lussier Family Heritage Center for your wedding.
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 06/09/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Lussier Family Heritage Center in Madison, WI provided a beautiful venue for our ceremony and reception. Linda, the director, was very helpful, friendly and flexible to our needs. Since my husband and I were coming in from out-of-state, she came in to meet with us the week of Thanksgiving and on the weekends. The LFHC is close enough to hotels and downtown but far enough away to provide for an outdoor, country feeling. Another bonus of having our wedding here was the benefit of being able to cater whoever we wanted to and bring in alchohol from vendors of our choosing.

    We were very happy with the Lussier Center!
  • ThatCountryCoupleWi
    Lon Married on 05/14/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Linda at Lussier was wonderful to work with. She is very prompt and ready to assist in any way she can. The venue has a quiet and beautiful setting just outside of Madison and we had a ton of amazing photo opportunities on the grounds. We were able to rent tablecloths and tables so it was one less thing for us to worry about. You can also purchase a personalized brick that you can memorialize your day!
  • J
    Jessie Married on 06/07/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Lussier Family Heritage Center was a wonderful and beautiful venue for our wedding. It is surrounded by prairie, with an outdoor ceremony space and an indoor reception hall. There are also an old barn and a large, beautiful oak tree on site, which provided a great background for photos. We had a very good experience, both in planning (we booked the space a year out, which I would recommend if you have a particular date in mind), and with the actual event. We particularly liked it because you are allowed to bring in any caterer you want, unlike most places which provide a list you have to choose from. You also have more control over the set-up of the space. For the most part, the director is very easy to work with, though we found that we had to be extremely thorough in asking questions. There were several things we found out at the last minute that would have been useful to know ahead of time.
  • T
    Tasha Married on 04/25/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Beautiful, private reception site located on praire walking trails. Firepit outside if you would like to cook smores during your event. The benefits of this location is that you can pick whatever caterer you want, you can bring your own alcohol or even snacks that will save you a lot of money.
  • User1191661 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue was perfect for our small-ish group and Linda was kind and easy to work with. The location is great and we were happy to have our wedding in such a beautiful setting.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 09/08/2012
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    We really enjoyed having our reception at Lussier Family Heritage Center. Our contact there, Linda Mittnacht, was helpful and professional while planning our event. There are several restrictions for the venue, and she explained them clearly. The Heritage Center has tables and chairs available to rent, along with a dance floor, bar, and other amenities. We rented the upper level for dinner/dancing and the patio/lawn for cocktail hour. If there would have been bad weather, we could have used the lower level for an additional fee, but thankfully the weather was great.
    During cocktail hour, we had appetizers set up under the deck. The kitchen is in the lower level, and our caterer was able to easily access the buffet. We had lawn games and cocktail tables (that we rented) set up on the large patio. Everyone commented on how scenic and beautiful the area was. The lawn was large enough for kids to run around – there is even a small playground.
    We set up a gift table, bar, and kid play area in the lobby. We had the DJ and dance floor in the main room and the cake and favors set up on the counters. I thought the flow of the room was really good. The room was full – we had just under 100 guests – but everyone was able to move around easily. Dinner was served family style, so we didn’t have to make room for a buffet. The dance floor takes up quite a bit of room, and tables cannot be set up on it. This actually worked out though, because it gave the kiddos a place to run around and be fairly contained while they waited for dinner. There are doors off of the main room to the outside balcony, so guests step out there if they wanted to smoke or escape the music/dancing. We also made use of the fire pit outside and set up a s’mores station.
    A downside is that you can only start decorating on the day of your event. We hired a wedding coordinator and could not have done it without her. She took care of the logistics and decorating and made it all work. From what I remember, ther
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/27/2016
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Great location! Beautiful views and plenty of outdoor space but with really workable indoor space as well even for weddings of up to 200 people. Linda, who is in charge of event rentals, was great to work with. She did a great job at following up with us at each step to really make sure she was clear on what we wanted to do with the space. A lot of flexible and a great bargain for the price! A lot of great options for outdoor photos as well. Even if you are just looking for a photo location consider stopping by the park.