Luluphoto - Layera Photography Reviews

13 | West Hollywood, CA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Luluphoto - Layera Photography

Recommended by 100%

13

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • T

    Tamara · Married on 11/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and Marcelo photographed our wedding last November, at the Le Meridien Delfina in Santa Monica. Throughout the whole process, Laura was incredibly supportive, responsive, and just plain laid back. We chose them for their incredible photojournalistic style and their easygoing personalities. They really know how to capture those special moments without intruding on them. You won't even realize they're there and you'll wonder how they got most of their candid shots.

    A number of my friends have used Lulu Photo for their weddings and all of their photos have been beautiful and unique to those couples. They have just the right mixture of artistry and spontaneity. I would highly recommend Lulu Photo to anyone considering them. You won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 03/11/2014
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and Marcelo photographed our wedding in Southern California in November of 2013 as well as an engagement photo shoot a few months before the wedding. They were very easy to work with and were willing to be flexible when we asked for a couple of rolls of film to be shot along with the digital for the wedding. They are very calm people and clearly know what they are doing which is important for an event that has many other stress points and details to manage. We were very pleased with the photos they took - so great to have 2 capable photographers to get full coverage of the day. Additionally, they offered a "photo booth" (really Laura photographing us in front of a backdrop) as an alternative to "table shots" and the photos were fantastic! Our guests had so much fun with it.

    The value was great considering we had engagement photos, 2 photographers at the wedding, and photo booth and got the negatives of the film and high resolution digital files to make our own prints, etc. We also decided to purchase a printed photo book from them because we were impressed with the samples they showed us during our first meeting. After the wedding, it took quite some time to get the photo book because we had a hard time choosing which photos to include (there were over 1,000 and so many great ones!). There was a LOT of back and forth over email but Laura was always professional and made the changes we requested each time to make sure we were happy with it. She had the book delivered to her to verify it was correct which I thought showed her commitment to delivering a superior product. No complaints. We'd highly recommend Laura and Marcelo for your wedding or other photography needs.

    Sent on 01/27/2016
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are so happy that we chose Lulu photo as our wedding photographer. Laura and Marcelo are an awesome team and they take the most amazing pictures! They make sure to get the portrait photos that you want of your family and friends but also capture the most fun, touching, sweet and real moments from your wedding. We were thrilled with how the photos came out – they have such a great eye to catch the special moments and emotions, and they take beautiful, high quality, stunning photographs. We loved working with Laura and Marcelo – they are very professional but really fun and flexible, and they take the time to understand your personalities and what you want. They made us feel completely comfortable and they really take the time to make sure the pictures come out the best way possible. They were completely dedicated to us for the entire wedding night to make sure they didn’t miss anything (I’m not even sure if they ate!), and were so accommodating to everything we (and especially my mom) asked for. We had a wedding of 250 people and Laura and Marcelo got pictures of all of our guests and every part of the ceremony and reception. I also highly recommend doing an engagement session first because it lets them get to know you even better and you get to see what kind of pictures/poses you’ll want for the wedding. My husband and I loved our engagement photos and it just confirmed that we made the right choice in using Lulu photo. The pictures are the most important part of how you will remember your wedding, and Lulu photo will make sure that you have the most amazing pictures to look back on your day. I highly, highly recommend Lulu photo!

    Sent on 11/16/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and Marcelo did an amazing job!! We are SO happy with the photos we've seen so far, and can't wait to see the rest. They are so talented and chill, we were proud to have them there the day of the wedding-- non-intrusive, laid-back personalities who still got all the best shots. Couldn't be happier with their work.

    Sent on 06/22/2012
  • S

    Seth · Married on 05/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They say a picture is worth a thousand words and if you want that and even more you have to roll with luluphoto.  We used lulu for our engagement photos and our wedding. The husband and wife team of Laura and Marcelo brought out the best of the love and affection that my wife and I have for each other.  For our engagement photos, Laura, was a great floor general using her creative vision to really bring the photos to life.  We were able to take what it seemed like a million photos in a short amount of time.  They were on-time and flexible to move and groove to different locations to capture the moment in a variety of different scenes.  After we saw the engagement photos, we knew Lulu was going to rock it at our wedding and you know what…They Did. 

    We wanted very little posed imagery and more natural, docu style photography and Laura and Marcelo were perfect for this.  After we did our portraitures pre-wedding, I felt like I didnt see either one of them the rest of the night. Come to find out, they took over 1000 photos! and most of them were amazing.  IMO, we had a really fun wedding and lulu was able to capture the essence of the night and the memories that not only Michelle and I had but our guests as well.  Luluphoto provides a professional product for a very, very reasonable cost. Their images were crisp and clean, just the way I like it!  

    -Seth & Michelle Shapiro 

    Sent on 02/05/2013
  • K

    Kim · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and Marcello were an absolute dream to work with. My husband and I met with Laura beforehand to discuss our vision and the layout of our ceremony and reception. They listened to all of our requests and concerns and really came through the day of the event. They started photographing before I even knew they were there and we have stunning pre-ceremony pictures. I had expressed to Laura my concerns of holding long photoshoots as I am not one for holding poses and she kept this in mind, continually reminding me of certain tricks to show me in my best light. The results are AMAZING! We have upwards of 600 of the best wedding photos I have ever seen. Our photos are perfectly natural, catching real moments at our wedding. During the reception, guests kept coming up to me telling how wonderful our photographers were (natural, taking TONS of photos, and funny) and how we were going to have fantastic photos..... They were SOOOOO right!

    Sent on 07/18/2012
  • L

    G · Married on 02/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Luluphoto consists of Laura and her husband Marcelo. They are such a pleasure to work with; reliable, responsive, and very professional. Laura and Marcelo make an awesome team, they know what photos/ poses work best. They also take into account your style, making sure you're comfortable with how you're posing. They don't just "do the job," they want to do it well and it shows in their photos!

    Before our wedding day, we did a walkthrough with Laura and Marcelo where they advised us which places will have the best lighting/scenery. This was very helpful because on the actual day, we were all on the same page on where to go and we didn't waste any precious time. They also take the key wedding photos that you want, the portraits, family photos, ceremony/reception details, our guests, etc. Our relatives were impressed with how Laura got everyone together to photograph the group photos. Laura is also efficient because after our engagement shoot and wedding day, we received our photos very quickly! We also got our albums done with Laura and she made the process so easy. She was thorough and reviewed each photo before submitting for printing and she reviewed the photos after received the album to ensure everything was perfect.

    We love our photos and album, she captured everything about our big day. As a matter of fact, one of my now engaged bridesmaids was so impressed by our photos and Laura's great work ethic that she hired her for their wedding!

    Sent on 03/12/2013
  • J

    Julia · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Amazing!"
    "Best wedding photos I have ever seen!"
    "Your photographer was so talented, she just ingrained herself in the DNA of the event!"

    This is just a sample of some of the comments I got about Laura and Marcelo after my wedding. They were repeated numerous times by various people. Not only are they great photographers, they are up for anything, and there is no set list of ways you have to take your pics. My husband and I had a lot of crazy ideas, and they just rolled with everything. But they also took shots that I never would have thought to put together, that I treasure more than I thought I would. Amazing. You can't go wrong with these guys!! The best!!

    Sent on 06/19/2012
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just used Laura Layera and her husband for my wedding and they were AMAZING. I researched so many photographers - speaking to almost 30 in the LA area before finally finding Laura and it was the best decision I made. Honestly I cannot recommend them enough - they were incredibly nice, incredibly organized, so easy to communicate and work with and just incredible photographers. They made us, the bridal party and all our guests feels so comfortable all day long and we had so much fun working with them - they are honestly brilliant. They must have taken over 2,000 photos because they were always snapping away, from the second they arrived until past their contracted time - they didn't miss a moment. I had to tell Laura to leave, she was so sweet and didn't want to miss anything so stayed late which was incredibly thoughtful and generous of her.

    The pictures are AMAZING, so beautiful and completely bring back every emotion I felt on the day which is exactly why we hired a photojournalistic style photographer. Laura was kind enough to send me and my husband a preview slideshow of photos from the wedding while we were on our honeymoon and we both got very emotional looking at them. Everyone has already commented on just the few photos we've seen so far how beautiful and incredible they all are - we cannot wait to see the full set! Honestly, do not even think twice about hiring Laura - she is a true professional, so cool and a pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 06/01/2011
  • T

    Catty · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laura and her husband were the perfect team! We were running out of time, trying to find great photographers fro our wedding, and they really pulled through last minute. They even went beyond their contracted hours to take some getting ready shots. And the pictures are wonderful!

    Sent on 12/27/2010
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met Laura and her husband Marcelo when they photographed my best friend's wedding two years ago. They were fun to be around, professional but sweet, and the photos were gorgeous. They shot our wedding, as well as did an engagement shoot, and I'm so impressed with Laura's great eye and ability to compose shots, as well how good they are at working with people (being photographed takes some getting used to, but they somehow make it significantly less awkward). Our photos are beautiful, and we've received so many compliments on them :)

    Sent on 10/28/2010
  • User3257510 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Luluphoto is beyond the best. The entire process of working with Laura and Marcel could not be easier--they are very accommodating and responsive. And the photos comes out so personal and fun and beautiful--they truly capture the spirit of our wedding. They have more of a photojournalistic and less formal style than many photographers--which was exactly what we wanted, so we were thrilled. They are also wonderfully calm and easy going--a key and important personality trait to have for people who will be following you around on your wedding day! Their prices are generally in line with what we heard from other photographers, which is still a lot of money, but in the end we feel was definitely worth it. We are big fans.

    Sent on 05/14/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review