21 Reviews for Love Boat Bridal

4.2
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Bride (1)
Hair Accessories (1)
Veils (1)
Sort by:

5.0

I ordered my wedding dress from Irene and couldn't be happier with her service! What I liked is that she is not pushy at all. She will let you try on the dresses, and will pull styles based off what you tell her. She will give you her honest opinion when asked and will offer suggestions as well! I appreciated that she let us take pictures because she agrees that the dress can look different in photos. Their prices are reasonable considering it includes alterations and a veil. She will work with your budget and doesn't try to up sell you. She is super sweet and I can't wait for my dress to come in a couple months! She's so great that I already recommended her to my friend to check out their selection of bridesmaid dresses for her wedding in July. (She also decided to order them from Irene!)

Profile Picture Alice, 9/30/17, 1 Review
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

excellent service!!!!! and very creative!!

Profile Picture User7520660, 1+ year ago, 12 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.8

I loved working with Love Boat on my wedding dress. After finding my dress at a "fancy" boutique, I was able to get a much better deal on my dress at Love Boat. They were friendly and accommodating. Most importantly, they did an amazing job on the alterations for my wedding dress. They were even able to create a stunning, custom veil that was so unique and exact to my needs. I would definitely recommend Love Boat to anyone who wants to save money, while still ensuring quality alterations work. I am so happy with my decision to not give in to those fancy boutiques that would charge way more for the same quality of service. Thanks, Love Boat!

Profile Picture Sarah, 4/2/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Hair Accessories, Veils, Bride
5.0

got two of my wedding dresses here. Irene was very helpful

Profile Picture Lana, 9/29/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

I went to Love Boat because my friend bought her wedding dress there. I checked out other places in Korea town but to no avail (a sales girl at Bella Bridal in K-town said to me as she was helping me into a gown... "Wow, you look a lot smaller with your clothes on"... Yeah. I'm 5'7 and was a size 6/8 at the time).

Anyway, Irene and Karen at Love Boat were great! This is not a place with fancy couches or free champagne. However, you will find similar dresses and designers as those fancy-pants store but at a much more reasonable price. I ended up purchasing a Mori Lee By Madeline Gardner Style 2608 for $1,000 (includes all alterations + bustle). I had the option to rent for cheaper but decided to buy instead. Note that I did buy the dress that was in-store instead of ordering a new one which would have been a little bit more. Irene, Karen and their seamstress worked with me to figure out the perfect alterations so that the dress hugged my body but was not restricting. They even removed the appliqué at my request and sewed on a crystal belt for me instead (I bought the crystal trim in DTLA for $30. Love Boat charged me $60 for the sewing).

They also have a good selection of gowns in the store - perfect for bridesmaids, mothers, wedding guests or...if you're like me, a costume change. I bought a gown there for $250 which also included all the alterations.

I definitely recommend putting them on your shopping list at the very least. Note that you should make an appointment beforehand. And... no pictures in store (they let me take a pic after I made the purchase though).

Profile Picture Cheryl, 8/22/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
3.4

Very Helpful, in-house alternation makes it quick and affordable place. Very understanding to bride's need and even offer to rush order my dress for free.

Profile Picture User4808475, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.6

despite the negative yelp review, I gave this place a chance! they helped me find the perfect dress in a reasonable price. very accommodating with my requests!

Profile Picture Alice, 8/31/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

If you want a place that will wine and dine you while you look at dresses, then this is not the place for you. If you a place that will give you a great deal, then come to Love Boat! You are pretty much off on your own to look through the dresses and try them on, so bring people with you.

I bought my Casablanca 1914 wedding dress and 5 Bill Levkoff bridesmaid dress from Love Boat. ALL FOR A GREAT PRICE, especially my wedding dress! My sales representative was Karen and was very easy to work with. She helped me schedule appointments with the stemstress and called me each time when things were ready.

OMG, the stemstress at Love Boat, Danni, is amazing!!!!!! SO AMAZING! Danni is very talented when it comes to alteration. My wedding dress was full of lace, beads, and tons of details (google Casablanca 1914 and you'll see what I mean). Let me tell you how amazing she is... one of my bridesmaid convinced me to buy the size 12 dress off the rack to save money and guarantee Danni would do a great job. She was one of my bridesmaids so of course I trusted her. Danni altered and fix my dress to my size (chest: 30", waist: 24", hips: 32") and it came out SOOO GREAT!!!! Once it was dry cleaned, it look like a brand new dress! I was extremely happy with their service.

Profile Picture Trudy, 9/29/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.5

This is the place to go if you are on a budget AND looking for a designer dress. I got 6 Bill Levkoff bridesmaids dresses for an outrageous price! They are definitely open to negotiations (esp if you speak chinese). I found the same dress at "American" stores, for $60 more a piece. They also carry designer wedding gowns, veils, jewelry, accessories. Customer service is just ok, but for the price/value, I'm not complaining!

Profile Picture mina, 6/2/12, 18 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.4

Irene was great to work with! Great prices and service.

Profile Picture Michelle, 12/17/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.1

I was very happy to find out that Love Boat was a vendor for my Mori Lee dress. Karen at Love Boat was a doll and very easy to work with. It helped that I knew exactly what dress I wanted so when I got there, she gave me a quote I couldn't refuse and ordered my dress. It came on time and was exactly how I pictured it. I ordered the dress a size bigger than what I should have and had to take it in. (I didn't know if I was really going to lose all that weight before the wedding!) If you order a dress it usually comes with a free veil or bustle. I opted for the bustle as I didn't like the veil that was given.

Their boutique offers a lot of newer gowns unlike the other shops down on Las Tunas. They carry a lot of designers so if you know what you want and they carry the brand, they can always order it from you! I have recommended other brides to go there and they were pleased as well!

Profile Picture User2210715, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.4

If you need a wedding gown or bridesmaid dress... see Irene at Love Boat. She's really great (patient and NOT pushy). I found the perfect dress on my first day looking. It was extremely reasonably priced and I loved it. I got so many compliments on my wedding day.

Profile Picture Teri, 7/16/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

I originally found my dress at a store in WV but was going back and forth between 2 styles and left without making a purchase. I found my dress at love boat for half the price of the store in WV and took it as a sign. They ordered it in my size and color and had it shipped to my home in VA. They said it would likely take a month but I had it 12 days! Most stores do not want to ship a dress to you but they had no problem with it and the price was amazing - I see people selling my dress online used for more than I paid for mine new and special ordered for me. I would definitely recommend them!

Profile Picture Shontea', 7/2/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
1.7

I purchased my wedding gown here. The gowns displayed were nice, but they also had a lot of outdated designed dresses. Perhaps some people may like them, but they were too ghetto fab for my taste. Don't come here if you're looking for great service. They are more of a get-in get-out type of customer service.

Profile Picture Joyce, 5/7/11, 2 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.6

I bought 2 Maggie Sottero dresses here for $400 each. I thing that price is just unbeatable. I actually wanted to rent them, but they said it's $400 each to rent, so I just took them home! I loved my dresses...but they both needed to be altered. They do cheap alterations, but I don't know if they do the best job. One of the dresses was taken in too much, where my back fat was hanging over the top of the dress. They didn't do anything to fix it, but luckily I lost weight during the last week before my wedding. Irene was the main person who helped me...She was always super friendly and helpful. They steam your dress for you before the wedding, but when it came time to doing that, there was a little misunderstanding and it wasn't done in time for me to pick up. I wanted to pick it up 2 days before the wedding, but it wasn't done until the day before. I tried to get my bridesmaids dresses here too, but they were not as cheap as the wedding gowns. Don't know why. They were not able to give much of a discount on bridemaids dresses. out of all the stores on las tunas, this store had the best selection and they were one of the more prensentable stores (using american store standards). there are a few dress places that have nicer studios, but those are the ones that specialize in photography more and all their dresses are used and dingy. i would recommend this place to get your dress...just cuz it's cheap. if you want, you can even find your dress somewhere else and come here and see if they have it, or even have them order it. =)

Profile Picture jaime, 5/22/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

I can't believe I found this gorgeous dress off the rack at this store. I loved my Casa Blanca dress. This delicately lace overlay A-line dress has a V-neckline at front and plunging deep “V” shaped back neckline. The gown is trimmed with scalloped Chantilly lace appliqués and the bodice features a silk and beaded flower appliqué.

Profile Picture Eva, 5/8/10, 8 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
3.8

I got a really good deal on my Casablanca gown. Helen was very nice and very helpful. I was very disappointed in my alterations for my wedding gown and also my bridesmaids dresses. The seamstress measured everyone too tight and the bridesmaids gowns worked out but if they were measure in the correct size it would have been much easier. She then brought in all of our dresses way too much and everything was so tight we could barely sit. When we asked the seamstress to let them back out she was very rude and burdened by our request which had been her mistake. I wouldn't discourage anyone from buying a dress there but I would recommend getting a fitting elsewhere so you can have an idea what your size really is. I would also recommend being persistant and making sure they alter your dress the way you want it to be.

Profile Picture Tina, 10/3/09, 3 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
3.2

I came in to rent but realized I could buy my dress for about the same price because it was the sample size. Irene was nice and helpful but couldn't really offer any advice. You have to do the digging by yourself. It took a few alterations for the length to be the right and I found it hilarious that instead of shorten it to fit my needs they actually suggested that I buy taller shoes. But you can't beat the bargain I got for the dress, it was more than 50% off.

Profile Picture Maria, 4/11/09, 4 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
4.5

Irene was the girl who helped me. She is sweet and tries her best. This is a great store they really have beautiful dresses and fair prices In fact, my dress was $800 dollars less then in another store in Beverly Hills. My dress came in perfect and the alterations were fair at only $150 and I had 4 fittings. I was really pleased.

I also had my Bridesmaids dresses custom designed there. This is where we had some issues. First I asked for 2 swatch colors so I can make a final decision on the fabric color so they asked for a big swatch from the company and somehow this took 2 months. Only for them to tell me that the other fabric is no longer available and she never placed my order. There was a lot of mis communications like that through out my order. Then when we received the dresses they were way too long and they put tulle inside the balloon bottom skirt which made the dresses stiff and made all the girls look offal. But after they removed the tulle and shortened the dresses they were beautiful and the girls were all happy.

The other issue I had was wit my flower girl dresses. I also, wanted them custom made. First, I have to say this store is owned and run by Chinese women so the language barrier causes all of these mis communications. So they were confused and instead of calling and asking me they sat on this until it was too late then they at the last minute told me they couldn't make the dresses in such a short time and tried to sell me some other dress. This was not ok and I ended up having to find another dress maker only 3 weeks prior to the wedding.

This is a nice store and it's cheap but just be very clear with what you want and make sure they understand.

Profile Picture dina, 9/13/08, 9 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
0.0

Love boat was very unprofessional. I ordered my dress 1 month in advance and they charge us the rush fee to gurantee the dress will be here on time for our wedding. 1 week before our wedding, they didn't even order my dress.

Also, Until the day of my wedding, they still didn't have all the tux rentals ready. We ordered all siliver ties for all 6 groomsman, but we received some of them with a red bow tie and no pants. We had to have our wedding planner rush from W. Hollywood back to Temple city to pick up the pants.

After the wedding we return all the rentals. They not only didn't apologize for what they did, and wanted to charge us addtioanl $80 for dry clean the clothe. (this is not even listed on the contract)

I will not recommend to use thier service ever!!!

Profile Picture Peggy, 6/5/07, 2 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

THey did my make up and my alterations. My makeup was absolutely flawless. I had so many great compliments on my makeup and hair!

Profile Picture Diana, 7/10/05, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health