Lighting Professors Reviews

43 | Richmond, VA
See photos, pricing and details

43 Reviews for Lighting Professors

Recommended by 99%

43
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

9 User photos

Lighting Professors 1
Lighting Professors 2
Lighting Professors 3
Lighting Professors 4
Lighting Professors 5
Lighting Professors 6
Lighting Professors 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • C

    Corri · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake is wonderful! He is so thoughtful in what he does to make sure the feelings and emotions are captured in the lighting. He really took what we wanted and made it come to life. He is very easy to work with and is a true professional. Our wedding wouldn't have looked or felt the same without his professional expertise. I would reccommend him to anyone in the area.

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • User3534773 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They do a terrific job. The room looked fabulous. The atmosphere he created with lighting and draping was beyond description. He is extremely talented and a real pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • User3121853 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake made every one of my dreams come true with the lighting! He went above and beyond to make us happy and he was very reasonably priced! From start to finish he did an excellent job!

    Sent on 09/04/2013
  • R

    Richard · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lighting Professors provided the lighting for our wedding and did an AMAZING job. Their hard work, attention to detail, and professionalism made our wedding come to life. We would absolutely recommend Lighting Professors for any wedding or special event...they're top tier talent!

    Sent on 07/15/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake with Lighting Professors did an amazing job with the event lighting for our wedding ceremony and reception! I have had so many people, both who attended the event and those who saw photos, that were just blown away by how spectacular the lighting for the event was. He really knew how to bring life to the room. He was also easy to work with, very professional, and always seemed very eager to discuss his ideas and our options. We highly recommend him!

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • J

    James · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is that Jake is amazing! He turned my reception from a gym to an "out of this world" reception. You couldn't even tell it was gym! Everyone is still asking who did the lighting...so jake get ready for so more big events! You rock:) Johnny and Anna Melis

    Sent on 05/21/2013
  • C

    Callie · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having a good band is a key element but the lighting creates an illusion and sets the mood for the entire evening. They are equally important.

    Sent on 05/20/2013
  • User3437229 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake is fantastic! In so many ways he went above and beyond for us both at our wedding and during the many months of planning. Jake provided uplighting and a GOBO for our wedding and it really looked outstanding. He was professional, polite, and always available to answer any crazy questions we had about lighting. His set-up was extremely professional and we found him to be very reasonably priced. We could not have been happier!

    Sent on 08/02/2013
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake was wonderful - he is a great asset to have on your team and really knows his stuff in the lighitng world!

    Sent on 12/13/2012

    Lighting Professors's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback Caroline! Your wedding turned out looking beautiful and am so glad that I had the opportunity to provide the lighting for your reception.
  • R

    Robert · Married on 10/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very well done service for us. The lighting was perfect and the mechanics was not visible. He is easy and willing to work with you and provide just what you desire. I would recommend him without any reservations.

    Sent on 10/18/2012
  • User7533512 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lighting Professors did a fantastic job providing uplighting to our wedding reception as well as hanging bistro lights to an outside patio. It was amazing how well the uplighting tied the decor together and really gave the room the *wow* factor I was hoping for; the room would have been just too plain without it. And the bistro lights gave a very cool, inviting feel to the patio for anyone who needed a break from the dance floor! If you're unsure if you need uplighting, see if you can see pictures of the venue during a reception with the lighting and without it, you'll see what a great difference it can make!

    Sent on 12/27/2016
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lighting professors did an amazing job with our wedding, and we are so happy we decided to use them! We had our reception in the cavernous Marble Hall at the VMFA, so we knew we needed something to really set the atmosphere - and they did not disappoint! We worked with John and Patrick, who were not only understanding of the vision we had in mind, but they were a lot of fun to work with. The whole business is comprised Richmond natives too, so they had a lot of great vendor suggestions if you’re not super familiar with the area. While the pricing might seem a bit high, they provide a great service and we’re glad we went for it! We would definitely recommend them!

    Sent on 11/10/2016
  • S

    Susan · Married on 06/15/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake does a wonderful job and is one of the few wedding vendors who ALWAYS returns calls promptly and with enthusiasm.

    Sent on 06/19/2013
  • User3923901 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The folks at Lighting Professors were wonderful. We were able to talk through what we were hoping to have as far as lighting, but leave the logistics to the professionals and they knocked it out of the park! Jake at Lighting Professors was happy to work with us on price point, made things work with our venue (that wasn't entirely flexible on set up timing) and was able to understand our vision from the start. The lighting was wonderful and I'd absolutely recommend them!

    Sent on 11/10/2014
  • User4240969 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jake and his team were excellent for our backyard event. Jake was friendly and easy to work with. His initial fantastic plan was more than we wanted to spend on lighting, but he was easy to work with in editing the design to fit our projected budget. Jake's design reflected what I hoped the site would look like. He was very flexible in that he knew that our rain plan was an entirely different and indoor space, and he came to our walk-through and figured out a plan B if it rained. It didn't, but he was prepared to go the extra mile and come up with a new plan. I enjoyed working with him and the backyard design was just lovely.

    Sent on 07/11/2014
  • K

    Kaili · Married on 06/30/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our venue was at the Boathouse at Sunday Park, and they delivered as promised flawlessly - lots of subtle but impactful “wow” factor! I was obsessed with a chandelier that was a must have - and it was amazing! They also provided our pin lighting, up lighting and bistro lights in our outdoor tent. We trusted the communication between them and our planner. And, in the end we felt like the price was worth it.

    Sent on 03/24/2018
    Lighting Professors 8
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lighting Professors were one of the first vendors we booked for our wedding! They work made our venue look truly magical, and there were several times where I just had to stop, look up, and appreciate the effects of their work. Patrick was really helpful and friendly in every step of the planning, and was super flexible when I called with a last minute request days before the wedding. You can count on a really professional team that is experienced and make your vision come to life!

    Sent on 05/24/2018
  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 06/08/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful lighting

    The Lighting Professors did a great job lighting the large outdoor pavilion used for our reception - it looked lovely and matched our venue perfectly. While a bit pricey, they were very professional, created a beautiful lighting design, and had technicians stay on site through the wedding so were well worth the cost!

    Sent on 06/24/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review