Lake Eden Events Reviews

12 | Black Mountain, NC
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Lake Eden Events

Recommended by 87% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

12
Order by:
  • Marianne

    Marianne R. · Married on 01/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous site, fantastic staff

    Leigh at Lake Eden Events has been a joy to work with. I love his personal attention to everything at this gorgeous venue. We worked closely with him to design and conceptualize our huge family event. And then to redesign it for a few intimates as required. Leigh and his staff have gone above and beyond our expectations - We cannot recommend them enough!

    Sent on 07/03/2020

    Lake Eden Events's reply:

    Thank you Marianne! I am so glad you were able to have your ceremony here at Lake Eden on your desired date even if the celebration was limited to just a few. Your flexibility and understanding during these difficult times was so greatly appreciated. We look forward to the future when we can host ALL of your friends and family for the reception of your dreams.
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lake Eden was the most amazing venue!! The 360 mountain views were stunning. We opted for a tented wedding by the water and with a bonfire (that they will set up for you). They provided a golf cart attendant for our guests that had some trouble getting around and allowed us to use the whole guest house to get ready in. Leigh and his staff were beyond accommodating. I would 100% recommend this venue to everyone getting married or having any special event.

    Sent on 05/21/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are so glad we found Lake Eden as our wedding venue. By the time we found it, we were getting frustrated because we looked at several venues, but none of them fit our vision. The moment we arrived at Lake Eden, we knew we found the place! Leigh and Jessica are great to work with and made sure that not only that we were happy, but our family members and guests were as well. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no back up plan for rain. We were ok with that because we knew we wanted an outdoor wedding. Well, we definitely got one, with hurricane storms raging around us. Regardless, everything was PERFECT! Lake Eden has a great team and made sure our parade couldn't be rained on. We were told by our photographer that these were definitely the toughest circumstances she ever shot in, but with the team prepared to do anything that was needed, it all went great. Regardless of the weather, our day went off without a hitch and we have the Lake Eden team to thank for that. The setting was still beautiful and we are so glad we booked this venue. Our guests all had a great time and we love that so many of them partied on in rain boots! We were able to fit our family and wedding party in the cabins that are on site, which worked out really well! It was great to have everyone so close and within walking distance to the ceremony and reception fields. We definitely recommend Lake Eden for your wedding. Thank you Jessica and Leigh for all of your help! Your venue made our big day so special!

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Lake Eden are simply remarkable and the property is absolutely breathtaking! We searched almost every wedding venue in and around Asheville, NC and chose Lake Eden because it was by far the best fit! We loved that we could have the rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception all in one place and our out of town guests were able to fit comfortably in the on-site cabin rentals. It made for a magical and perfect wedding weekend without ever having to leave Black Mountain. We highly recommend taking advantage of Jessica Wharton (onsite event/wedding coordinator)- she made planning so easy! If you're looking for a relaxed, picture-perfect, mountain setting for your wedding then you should definitely check out Lake Eden!

    Sent on 09/09/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lake Eden was the most magical place to get married! I can't imagine having tied the knot anywhere else. There really is something special about it. The grounds and views are breathtaking and I love the history of the place. The owners are awesome and so friendly and accommodating to work with. They definitely felt like friends :) I highly recommend getting married at Lake Eden!

    Sent on 12/31/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/22/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My indoor/outdoor Spring wedding at Lake Eden was absolutely beautiful and so much of that was simply due to the surrounding Western North Carolina mountains and the landscape of the valley. Leigh and his event staff are highly seasoned professionals and able to meet the needs of any size wedding, considering they host LEAF (a beloved and popular music & arts festival) biannually, which hosts thousands of people over a 3-day period. There are numerous photography options on-site as well as traditional and alternative ceremony locations. The Barn was an excellent selection for our indoor reception and required minimal decorations as it is already a beautiful, rustic and well-maintained building with charm & character. Staff provided golf carts for our guests who were unable to cover the land by foot. As requested, they gave special attention to my grandmother who has difficulty walking far distances and using stairs. I highly recommend Lake Eden for weddings!

    Sent on 05/22/2017
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 08/17/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as I saw Lake Eden online I knew I had to go view the property in person and the moment I set foot on it I was blown away. It is absolutely gorgeous and exactly what I had in mind for my wedding. We were able to have an outdoor ceremony, barn reception, and plenty of lodging for our wedding party all onsite. We also decided to use them for our coordination services. The owner, Leigh, was really great and responsive and a pleasure to deal with. Property/Venue: The property is breathtaking. It has scenic mountain views, lush greenery, and several lakes. It also has a fantastic 2 story barn and 6 houses that can be rented by guests. Its truly picture perfect. The barn turned out to be a perfect reception site and because of weather we had to switch the ceremony there as well and it turned out beautiful. Lodging: Each lodging is unique and offers something special. My husband and I stayed in the Studio which was cozy, yet modern on the inside. Overall we loved it but there were a few things that could be tweaked. TV could be upgraded to one with a DVD player, dryer needs to be fixed, and toilet flap doesn't attach correctly so toilet runs constantly unless you push the flap down. Also, all the houses were tidy but could use a better cleaning before guests arrive. We found a bandaid right under our futon couch which was off putting. Coordination: Overall, Jessica did a good job the day of the event. She was far less expensive than others I got quotes from and at the end of the day got the job done and she knows the property and rules inside and out. Design really isn't her thing so I would stick with the basic wedding day package and hire a designer unless you are comfy doing it yourself. I was also a little disappointed that all our items were not brought back to our house like our contract stated and instead we had to go back to the barn to load everything up.

    Sent on 08/28/2013

    Lake Eden Events's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful comments. We have changed over our housekeeping staff to provide better guest experience in the lodging as we take comments from our guests very seriously.
  • User3299753 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We really wanted a venue where our families could stay on site and that wasn't too formal. In addition to being an incredibly beautiful place to get married, the whole process was a breeze. Leigh and Jessica handled the logistics beautifully - and when you've got 100 people coming in from all over the country for the weekend that's important. I cannot recommend Lake Eden highly enough - they really did everything.

    Sent on 01/11/2014
  • A

    Alycia · Married on 07/07/2007

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Interactions were very personal, and everything I needed was taken care of.

    Sent on 06/05/2008
  • Folly Bride

    Becky · Married on 10/01/2011

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Lake Eden was absolutely beautiful and the staff was extremely helpful. We rented all of the lodging on site and used the barn for the rehearsal dinner. Everyone raved about how beautiful it was.

    Sent on 10/24/2011
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 10/06/2007

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This is a great site for outdoor weddings, but there is no back up for if it rains (no indoor space for large parties). It was absolutely beautiful, with a lot of space to set up (so they can handle lots of people). I highly recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 04/13/2008
  • R

    Review · Married on 01/04/2020

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    COVID-19 Impact = Owner Lacks Compassion

    COVID-19 was something that no one could have predicted. It caused us to cancel our wedding at Lake Eden. Leigh (owner) did offer for us to reschedule, but that was not possible with our situation due to legal and job implications for us. He did not refund our deposits AT ALL and still made our family who rented the cabins pay for half of their deposits. He profited off of COVID-19 which should be illegal. His response included a pity plea that he needed our money to cover his overhead during the non-wedding season, even though he was certainly able to apply for the small business loan program due to COVID-19. It is not our responsibility to cover the operating expenses of his business. There was a complete lack of compassion and understanding from the owner during a pandemic. We only heard from him after threatening legal action after 3 attempts to contact him during the pandemic.

    Sent on 06/18/2020

    Lake Eden Events's reply:

    As the reviewer stated, this current situation is not one any of us could have predicted. One of the unfortunate realities to running a seasonal business is that during the winter months our operations are all but shut down. As we head into each Spring excited and energized to host that season's events, we also look forward to conducting meaningful business again. During early Spring each year, the deposits from the prior year very much support our ability to prepare the facilities and grounds for the upcoming events.
    When it became clear in mid March that our Spring season was not going to be able to move forward, much of that preparation had already taken place. All of our non event lodging reservations were forced to cancel as well, putting our business and many others like us in a significant hole. However we were also put into the painful position of working with all our clients to come up with the best possible plan going forward. With over 30 events scheduled for 2020, it did take us some time to communicate with each one. However out of all of those events, only one group notified me they were "unwilling to consider another date or option". This event was scheduled for mid April and therefor was actually within the range of time when the balance would normally be coming in. Lake Eden's initial deposit is considered very low in our industry and we do not require additional payments until 2-4 weeks prior to actual event. An offer of credit towards future stays or activities was also rejected. I, (Leigh the owner mentioned above) took money from my personal retirement savings to at least refund their lodgings guests what I was able. I also told each of them that the amount I was unable to refund could be used on a future stay in our cabins if desired. Unfortunately, with the volume of cancellations we were looking at for lodgings, this was the best I was able to offer at the time. I have no record or memory of any threat of legal action and I reviewed all of our correspondence of which we keep a record.
    Lake Eden has now opened for limited lodging just a few short weeks ago. And we are working on providing the best service we can under the circumstances. We are not sure at this time if we will be able to host any events at all for 2020. The idea of "profiting" from anything this year seems foreign to me and I am sorry that this group perceived it that way. Another unfortunate circumstance for us was as a seasonal business hiring primarily contract workers we were ineligible for most of the aid presented.
    We here at Lake Eden will continue to work diligently to provide the best possible experience for our guests and are appreciative of how many return to stay with us after their events are over.
    We like so many in our event industry are committed to carrying through and looking forward to wonderful seasons ahead. Be safe and take care.