Skip to main content
Weddings

Kay Salera Photography Reviews

Kay Salera Photography View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
42 Reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

42
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • BrandonMich
    Brandonmich M. Sent on 10/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    She'll make your dreams come true

    We're honestly speechless. Our wedding pictures should be enough to show how incredible and amazing Kay is.
    She's so professional, understanding and talented!! If there's a photographer everyone should hire at any of their events, it's Kay Salera.
    She an international photographer and she has so much experience.
    Everyone is shocked by how beautiful the pictures came out !
    100000/10
  • E
    Evan S. Sent on 09/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Paris Engagement

    To put it simply Kay was a God-send and absolutely the best. I'll begin, by saying I had been preparing to propose to my now fiance (she said yes) for several months and had planned our trip to Paris, but as life and procrastination emerged, I lacked on securing a photographer before our Paris journey from Washington, DC. We stumbled upon Kay while on a picnic in Parc des Buttes-Chaumont while she was actually completing another photo-shoot for a newly engaged couple. We overheard her directing the couple during the shots and I became interested in her services. So after she finished I asked to connect with her for a photoshoot THE NEXT DAY. I didn't have the highest hopes as I figured she would be busy but she was able to put together some time the very next morning to complete our shoot. Lastly I had no way to communicate with her besides when i was on Wi-fi at my hotel, but everything worked out amazing. I was able to surprise my fiance with the ring and capture the moment forever because of the flexibility Kay gave us. We went on to about 3 more locations around the Eiffel Tower and even our hotel room balcony to take shots. The result are amazing! It has been 1 month since I proposed I brought home the printed out photos from Kay to my fiance as a gift, we relived our moments in Paris and will always have a wonderful story to tell. Thank you Kay. -Evan S.
  • Tristan
    Tristan C. Sent on 06/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May 2023 Wedding

    Kay is an absolutely incredible photographer & one of the most genuine souls I have had the pleasure of getting to know. We met Kay in Hawaii, her home base, when she helped my husband (then boyfriend) surprise me with a proposal and engagement photoshoot, all wrapped into one! We adored all of the photographs that she captured so we knew there would be no one better than Kay to document our wedding! Kay loves to travel so she was willing to make her way out to Amelia Island, Florida to document our special day. Kay is so creative and unique in her approach to photography! I highly recommend Kay for any and all photography needs. She will be my forever go to for all future photography!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Lylybell
    Lylybell C. Sent on 12/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kay is THE best! Hands down!

    Her work speaks for itself! Kay took our engagement photos last minute in Hawaii when we got engaged back in 2019, and it was the best last minute decision we could’ve made! Our photos came out beautifully and still remain our favorites! She was so kind, friendly, professional and made us feel so comfortable. Still one of our favorite memories during our vacation in Hawaii! We would recommend her to anybody, look no further! Thank you Kay!
  • Leah
    Leah F. Sent on 08/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best ever

    Kay has helped us tremendously with being flexible for our engagement shoot to shooting our wedding!! We are absolutely in love with the outcome and the quickness of the turnaround for the preview photos. We cannot wait to see the full album of our wedding. She seriously captured everything to make us relive the day and all the little details we never got to fully see at the wedding. She is down to earth, special, and her team is the best! We cannot wait to hire her for more future photoshoots in the future.
  • Hannah
    Hannah L. Sent on 12/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing. 100% recommend.

    Kay is awesome. We wanted pictures that were natural and completely unique and she delivered. My fiancé was so pleased with the experience and the photos. We both felt very comfortable during the shoot and it showed in the completed album. The photos came out even better than our expectations and I recommend Kay to anybody considering a photographer.
  • L
    Lisa R. Sent on 11/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Photographer Ever!

    Kay was absolutely amazing! After searching many photographers for our destination wedding I came across her work and knew she was the one. From our first conversation to communication on Instagram she was always there for me. Everyone loved her energy and makes you feel so comfortable! She sent over highlight photos the day after our wedding and they were amazing! We cannot wait to see the rest of them! You will not regret hiring this wonderfully talented woman!
  • J
    Johnathan J. Sent on 08/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful experience that will bring tears to my eyes for years to come.

    Kay is the best photographer I have ever had the pleasure of working with. She made my elopement so enjoyable and fun. It’s the best experience I’ve had in my life. We told her that we would be open to any suggestions and she let her creativeness fly! She really made us feel like kids in love. Playing in the water and just being ourselves. She is professional yet her personality is so calming and friendly that it all came together in a way that I could not have even dreamed up. She made the day flow so smoothly and had everything ready to go. We found a friend in Kay and if you are on the fence with what photographer to go with, CHOOSE KAY. This is your sign.
  • Nadia
    Nadia A. Sent on 11/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you, Kay!

    My husband and I had the absolute pleasure of working with Kay for our wedding day on 7/31/21. I’ve known Kay for many years and always dreamed that one day she’d photograph my wedding, so I was over the moon when we finally made that happen. :)

    Kay took the time to get to know our story and our friends & family, and made everyone feel so comfortable throughout the day with her incredibly fun and sweet personality. Our group wasn’t used to photoshoots, but through her own choreography and unique photography style, she captured so many amazing portraits and action shots - everyone looks so relaxed and in their element.

    This was her first time in Chicago, so we worked together to map out the area around the wedding venue to find great spots for our first look and wedding party shots. She took time to get to know Chicago, so by the time she arrived, she basically became our local tour guide! Because Kay has a lot of experience shooting in diverse places from Hawaiian beaches to the streets of Europe, she can adapt her photography style to any location. For that reason, she was able to perfectly capture the contemporary, chic, big city atmosphere of our wedding. We also appreciate how Kay took photos of our guests, as well as other smaller details (i.e. rings, invites, florals, guestbook, dancing etc.) so we can keep those memories forever.

    Altogether, our photos came together beautifully and effectively tells story of our wedding day. We love Kay and can’t recommend her enough, and hope one day to work together again - thank you, Kay!


    - Nadia & Jordan
  • J
    Jenn Sent on 05/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kay is the absolute BEST!

    We originally found Kay's Instagram as we were searching for a photographer for our destination wedding in Hawaii, and fell in love at first sight with the style of her photos. Getting in touch with her was easy even though she's incredibly busy travelling around the world with photo shoots.
    Our engagement photo session was an amazing experience - she took us to the most breathtaking places on the island that were hidden gems, which we otherwise would not find on any travel guides. The wedding day was amazing as well - and we had lots of fun throughout the process. Kay gave us a lot of guidance and ideas when we needed guidance, but also accommodated our requests as well.
    The quality of the shots and editing is amazing - our friends and family are also incredibly happy when we had our photos back.
    We're so happy that we have these wonderful pictures to commemorate our wedding day and adventures in Hawaii in the years to come.
    Kay is truly talented, professional, and an amazing person to work with. We will (and already have!) recommend her to our friends and family.
  • S
    Sonita Y. Sent on 05/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly amazing!

    Kay was the best photographer we have ever hired. On time and top of everything. There just aren’t enough words to possibly describe how amazing each and every photo that Kay snaps. She has a magical experience of way of finding the perfect angle, lighting and of course expressions.
    We definitely and highly recommended Kay to families and friends.
  • J
    John M. Sent on 03/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional and personable!

    Kay and her assistant (Bodie) were just really fun to work with. They were easy going, had great ideas for shots, and were always present for the moments we wanted to remember during our wedding. They were non-intrusive (we didn't even realize they were there most of the time), and took some amazing pictures!

    Kay was very personable and wanted to know our story (which we loved sharing). She wasn't just a stranger, but was actually invested in the both of us, and what made us happy. She was also very flexible in our requests for shots, editing, and time extension. Also as important to note, Kay's prices are very competitive and reasonable. You can tell photography is not just a hobby or profession for Kay, but was something she truly loved and enjoy doing. We also enjoyed that she wanted to try new ideas for shots, and we were happy to experiment!

    At the end, our pictures turned out very well and we have now great memories to keep in our photo album. We highly recommend Kay and her assistant to everyone!
  • Gerald
    Gerald J. Sent on 02/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Memorable Wedding Day Made Easy

    Kay was wonderful to work with. She slowed down our crazy, hectic and frantic day to make things easy, enjoyable and relaxing for us. Her and her team accommodated all of our needs, acted very professionally, and was the least bit intrusive. They did not put us into situations we'd be uncomfortable with but pushed us enough to get us the perfect memories of the day. Most importantly the photos were just the best we could ever have hoped for.
  • ERICA
    Erica Sent on 05/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing talent with a wonderful personality!

    We were so lucky to be able to shoot with Kay during our honeymoon in Hawaii. She had wonderful suggestions for locations. She took her time asking us what we wanted in our pictures and made us feel incredibly comfortable. She was seamless with her ability to go from shooting with her handheld to drone. Her editing skills are also way above many other photographers we've worked with. You can not go wrong with hiring such a talented photographer for your special day/occasion.
  • M
    Meliza Sent on 08/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So easy to work with

    Our wedding planner had us look at her instagram account and from there we were set of working with her... my fiancé and I are not photogenic, but Kay made the whole experience so fun and easy. Our engagement photos were ready within a timely manner. We can't wait for the wedding!
  • J
    Jessica U. Sent on 04/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Truly amazing!

    Kay is beyond outstanding! My fiancee and I were looking for a photographer for our engagement photoshoot in Japan. Kay was referred and highly recommended to us, and after seeing her amazing work on her instagram, we knew we found the right person for our shoot.
    She was very easy to talk to and very responsive to our emails and inquiries. As we wanted to shoot with cherry blossoms as our background, Kay flew from Honolulu to Tokyo day before the shoot to find the perfect place for us. We loved the location she chose as it showed both the traditional and modern aspects of Japan, and most importantly there cherry blossom trees were in bloom! Kay took the time to get to know us and listen to our love story prior to our shoot.
    Working with Kay was easy and comfortable. My fiancee and I initially didn't know how to act in front of the camera but Kay kept us going and guided us the whole time. And the turnout was amazing. When we received our pictures, I was so amazed! She captured the scenery and our emotions so naturally. The pictures were everything we hoped them to be and more!
  • J
    Jeff Sent on 02/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kay Salera Photography met and exceeded all our expectations

    We booked Kay Salera Photography for our wedding in Okinawa, Japan in October 2019, and this was undoubtedly one of the best decisions we made. First and foremost, communication was quick and thorough. Being unfamiliar with wedding photography ourselves, Kay was friendly and always willing to clarify any uncertainties we had. Further, when we mentioned that we were also considering hiring a videographer, Kay went the extra step to provide us with numerous recommendations, all tailored to the style and budget we were looking for.

    On the day of the wedding, Kay’s presence proved invaluable for countless reasons. Her experience in the field became blatantly clear as she provided clear instructions not only to ourselves, but also to the wedding planner, videographers, make-up artist, florist, hotel staff, etc. in order to produce the ideal photographs according to our vision, all within a relatively tight schedule. Additionally, Kay helped push us beyond our comfort zones during our location shoot, and the direct result of her guidance throughout the day are timeless photos that we will forever treasure and look back on fondly.

    After the dust has settled and the wedding photographs delivered, we can still say without hesitation that we would choose Kay Salera Photography again in a heartbeat. Kay is a true professional dedicated to her craft, and we are forever grateful to Kay for helping make our wedding day a genuinely unforgettable life event. Thank you.

    Yu + Jeff
  • Z
    Zakieh Sent on 11/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best decision we made!!!



    Having Kay as our elopement photographer was the best decision ever! We’ve have received so many great compliments on our wedding photos. She really does have an eye for detail and is a master in capturing the moment. With great skills and a creative mind, there is no question that you will be very pleased with your photos.

    Kay was always prompt and on time. Communicating with her was quick and easy. She is sweet, kind and very patient to ensure you are getting the best quality photos. She is very professional and we highly recommend her as a photographer. You wont be disappointed!
  • L
    Lily S. Sent on 07/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kay’s photos are amazing!!!

    Kay’s wedding day photo session was absolutely amazing! She is so easy to work with. We don’t know how to pose and Smile but Kay made us feel so comfortable. She had many recommendations on how and where to stand. We would look like zombies without her great direction! I especially like that she could also speak Japanese which made me feel extra comfortable because English is not my first language. She is the best! Highly recommend
  • B
    Blake L. Sent on 03/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photographer

    We wanted to have our engagement photo shoot with ocean backdrop and sunset views. Kay recommended electric beach and Maile beach park on west side of Oahu. The views and sunset was a perfect choice. We absolutely loved how the pics came out. We are pretty shy and have no idea how to pose in front of the camera, but Kay was able to coach us through so many different poses that made us look so natural and romantic. Her drone camera work is also amazing. The sunset colors was absolutely beautiful. We can’t believe that was the natural colors that evening.
  • A
    Alohalani Sent on 06/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Photographer

    Kay Salera is super awesome! If you’re looking for someone who is professional, fun, sweet, and willing to be adventurous with you and your photos, I highly recommend her! Her work is superb and she is very sweet and fun to work with!
  • Louis
    Louis M. Sent on 07/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most helpful, professional experience we could have hoped for

    Kay was the photographer on our wedding in Shizuoka, Japan. We found her through her Instagram page, and communication was quick and clear.

    We couldn't have hoped for a better photographer. Kay is not only highly professional, and very skilled in her field, but she's also incredibly nice and helpful. She translated instructions from Japanese to English for those of us who didn't understand Japanese. The photos are amazing and beautiful!

    Kay's camerawork is outstanding. She is equipped with the most professional gear, and made stunning photos in sometimes challenging lighting. She took detail photos of our kimono, and captured our day perfectly! We're no experienced models, but she guided us through the poses which made us look great.

    All in all, we are very happy with the experience and the service that Kay provides, and we will highly recommend her!
  • L
    Lillian Sent on 02/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am SO happy we worked with Kay for our engagement photos. She was super personable and made us feel really comfortable feeling lovey dovey in front of the camera. We did an adventure shoot--one location that required a short hike and then one near the ocean. All of the pictures came out to be really nice and moody, which is what we wanted. She also took some drone footage which turned out to make some beautiful, artsy photos as well. We are super excited to work with her for our upcoming wedding! Highly recommended.
  • G
    Geraldine A. Sent on 11/14/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Picture-perfect memories!

    Our experience with Kay was outstanding. Her warm and bubbly personality will make you feel more comfortable even though it is such a whirlwind, hectic day. Even though the weather was not in our favor that day, she went the extra mile for us to capture amazing photos and memories. She was continually making sure we were OK during our photo shoot, giving us a quick break, a drink, etc when we needed one. We only spoke to her one time leading up to that day, but that was all it took. Every request we made of her was addressed, and she made the vision we had come true. She was accommodating of not only us, but our guests and our other vendors. During the reception everyone was able to be themselves and have a great time and she was able to capture it all, but you almost forgot she was even there because she wasn't obtrusive. We're so glad that we chose her to photograph our wedding - just looking at the highlight photos is like reliving that day all over again. If you're thinking of using Kay, do it - you won't be disappointed.
  • J
    Jasmine Sent on 10/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kay was outstanding! She traveled to Paris to take my engagement photos and they turned out better than expected! She worked so hard to make us feel and look comfortable (even though I couldn't walk in my new shoes and it was raining). She also sent us a sneak peek of the photos only a couple of days after the shoot!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message