Katherine Legge Memorial Lodge Reviews

13 | Hinsdale, IL
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Katherine Legge Memorial Lodge

Recommended by 91%

13

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5
13 Katherine Legge Memorial Lodge Reviews
Sort by:
  • T

    Tony · Married on 07/22/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love working with Katherine Legge Memorial Lodge they have always delivered great service and has always accommodated our needs. Looking forward in working in many events to come!

    Thank you again Bob and Elsa and the entire staff for helping coordinate each event.

    Thanks,
    Extreme Sounds Entertainment & Lighting
    extremesoundsent.com

    Sent on 07/31/2017

    Katherine Legge Memorial Lodge's reply:

    Thank you!
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 09/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We took pictures here after our wedding. They turned out beautiful. So thankful that we stopped here to take pictures. AND it was free to take the pictures.

  • T

    Trease · Married on 10/23/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was on 10/23/15. I absolutely love this venue! I didn't want my wedding held at a hotel or banquet hall. I wanted something unique. The lodge is beautiful and required minimal decorating. Our original plan was to have the ceremony outside but the weather didn't cooperate. We had the ceremony upstairs, went downstairs for cocktail hour and dinner, then back up for dancing. I had many guests tell me how lovely the venue was. I thought Jennifer was very helpful and responded to my questions quickly. Elsa was working the night of my wedding and she was fantastic.

  • E

    ERIK · Married on 10/03/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with a truly helpful, gracious staff. Our wedding was on October 3rd. Like many others, we had a very fall themed wedding- and it fit the venue perfectly! Warm candle light, wheat, gold, brown and burnt orange... along with the semi-rustic vibe of the venue was gorgeous. The venue is very helpful in giving advice, and the preferred vendors are amazing. (Prestige Liquors/ Uncle Bubs) They can be a tad bit forgetful at times- so, just make sure everything is written down well and you keep good tabs on your ideas. I would absolutely recommend Katherine Legge for a wedding. We had ours upstairs in front of the fireplace, then the dinner back downstairs- dancing back upstairs at the end. Seamless transitions, thanks to Uncle Bubs. So many compliments from our guests. Worth the money for sure- and a lot more affordable than similar venues.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/30/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine Legge was such a beautiful location, and I'm so glad my husband and I got married there. We had planned (and hoped for) an outdoor wedding ceremony, but due to rain and cold winds we had our ceremony upstairs in the ballroom. Everyone was so impressed that this was our plan B - they said it would be a fantastic plan A! The ballroom looked beautiful, fit our 140 guests, and then was the location of our reception. We dined downstairs, and had our dancing and the photobooth upstairs. Everything was beautiful, comfortable, and easy! They even put the Blackhawks playoff game on the big screen in their office so our guests wouldn't miss that action! They were easy to work with, and our caterer (Marie's) really seemed to make everything happen and flow so easily!

  • S

    Stacy · Married on 08/24/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jennifer was great! They do a lot of weddings and they really know what they're doing. Our wedding ran so smoothly. We were really able to just enjoy ourselves. And this venue is beautiful. We wanted to have it in the suburbs so it would be cheaper on our guests than in than in the city, but I didn't want to have it in some cookie-cutter hotel room or banquet hall. This venue was perfect. We had the ceremony in the beautiful park, then the dinner and dancing were inside. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • User3358830 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic to work with, very flexible and accommodating! The new staff is great!

  • T

    Tracy · Married on 09/15/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved our reception site. Very good deal for the the $$. It was so beautiful and the grounds looked great for pictures.

    They even let us set up the day before, thank goodness they did or we would have never been able to set it all up ourselves.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/27/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a great venue. We had our wedding outside and reception inside. This place is great is you expect 100 or fewer people. The building is very classic--beautiful but simple. Upstairs is a small ballroom. We skipped the dancing and set up games for our guests to play (a big hit!). The room may be a bit tight for a DJ and dancing though. The staff is super friendly and professional. I highly recommend this place. Oh and they are super affordable--I think we pad $1300 for 6 hours. We should have just rented it the whole day for that price.

  • J

    Jovan · Married on 08/20/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend referred us to this location because we wanted an intimate space with access to the outdoors for our ceremony at a resonable price which is exactly what we recieved here.
    They were helpful & quite flexible, my only problem which is a small one, is that I could not get a hold of them via phone any time I called and left a voicemail I never heard back but via email response was quick.
    The ceremony and reception were beautiful.

  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 10/24/2015

    4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I would not recommend this venue unless you have a smaller number of guests (under 100, and even less if you want a buffet set-up, cake in the dining room, dance floor). Our stepdaughter's wedding had around 150 guests, and it did not work well. The tables in the dining room were way too close together. Some guest tables were outside of the dining room in the living room and outside on the patio under a tent. The cake table was also in the living room, so guests couldn't really see the cake cutting. There were no sound system speakers outdoors, so those sitting out on the patio could not hear the speeches. When I asked about that, I was told that due to noise complaints by neighbors, they could not have amplified speakers outside. There was no space for dancing on the main floor, so everyone had to go upstairs for the first dance and other dancing. It was not ideal. There is no elevator, so those with mobility issues or very uncomfortable shoes had to go up. There also was not much room for tables and chairs for people to sit down upstairs with the music and dancing. The other negative was that there is no restroom upstairs, so people had to go back down to use one. A number of guests left because they did not want to go upstairs, and if they did, they could not sit down. It definitely broke up the flow of the party.

  • A

    Annie · Married on 08/04/2018

    4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I want to leave an honest review so others know what they're getting into. There are positives and negatives to working with KLML, so I will lay them out for you. In retrospect, for our event we probably should have picked a different venue. We were hosting a small, 50 guest party to celebrate our marriage that already happened. It was not a full blown reception and we were on a budget. Overall, you could pay the same amount and get more out of a different venue.

    Positives:
    -The space is BEAUTIFUL! This is what drew us in. KLML interior is old, dark wood that did not need extra decoration. All I had to do was create center pieces (we were on a budget, so I did a lot of things myself).
    -They were flexible with letting us have the DJ and dancing on the back patio, as opposed to upstairs. Again, the outdoor setting is beautiful.
    -The staff is so friendly and sweet!

    Negatives:
    -We paid over 3,000 dollars to use the space for 8 hours and to use their tables and chairs. All other needs we would either provide ourselves or from the catering company. KLML does not provide linens, tableware, food, etc.- you'll have to use a catering company.
    -There was a list of approved catering companies that we could use. If we wanted to use an outside caterer, it was an extra $500-1000 dollars. This was difficult for what we needed because we just needed food dropped off buffet style, and all of the companies except one did not agree to this and quoted us $4,000 (way out of our budget).
    -Since the catering company we found was only dropping off, we had to clean up ourselves at the end of the night or hire a cleaning crew.
    -It really felt like we were on our own. I can't imagine working with them with a bigger, more traditional reception. If I had a question I could contact them and expect a response within a day, but I don't think I was ever checked up on, except for when we needed to pay.

  • User4984600 · 2+ years ago

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Honestly, I loved the atmosphere and how charming this place is. It’s almost secluded and the interior gives you such a warm and cozy feeling. Initially, the staff was just as awesome as the venue; however, after everything was said and done (AKA paid for & party was over) they were unresponsive and somewhat nonchalant about my concerns. My biggest pet peeve is the lack of follow-up/follow through. The customer experience doesn’t end after you have purchased something, it continues on so that you may get repeat business as well as positive word of mouth (FREE) marketing. I called Jennifer the Monday (March 16th) after my party and I expressed how happy I was with the event, but voiced one concern. I was promised a call back for that Friday (March 20th), but after 2 weeks of waiting I never heard back so I called her again and left a message....It's been over 4 weeks and I never received a response regarding my concern. I simply asked for a partial refund for 30mins as the staff wasn’t able to get the PA system to work at the end of my event and after 25-30mins my guest began to leave. Even if they didn’t agree to grant me a partial refund, it would have been nice to hear back from someone since I was promised a call.

    Overall, this was a lovely place, but based on the last encounter I wouldn’t recommend nor have another event here as the lack of follow up showed me how much they valued me as a customer.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review