Justin Hankins Photography Reviews

29 | Virginia Beach, VA
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for Justin Hankins Photography

Recommended by 100%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

5 User photos

Justin Hankins Photography 1
Justin Hankins Photography 2
Justin Hankins Photography 3
Justin Hankins Photography 4
Justin Hankins Photography 5
Sort by:
  • Cait

    Cait · Getting married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great work

    Justin was so responsive and took the time to send long emails even before we hired him. He sent us a hand written note with one of our engagement pictures on it!

  • K

    Kent · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin Hankins is the Absolute Best says this Father of the Bride

    Where to begin with my thoughts on Justin Hankins ! As a Father of the Bride let me begin by saying there will never be enough stars in a review or adjectives I could use to capture both my personal feelings for Justin and our extended family’s feelings for Justin. Our relationship with Justin began in 2015 with the wedding of our youngest daughter. The photographs Justin produced, the memories he captured and the relationship our family forged with Justin made the decision of our oldest daughter to engage with Justin for her wedding in 2018 as an absolute must. To be very clear we called Justin first to ascertain his availability and only after we knew his calendar did we book the wedding venue and the date. If you spend five minutes researching Justin’s website, his Facebook page or his Instagram account you will see with your own eyes the talent he brings as a photographer, you will read comments on how beautiful his images are, and you will understand from others such as myself that we share a debt of gratitude to Justin for his incredible ability to capture forever the joy that was present in each of our daughter’s wedding days. I travel extensively and wherever I go as soon as I learn that someone is planning a wedding I suggest strongly to them that the single most important decision they will make is who will be their wedding photographer and then point them immediately to Justin. Quite candidly as time goes on you will forget the food, the music, and even the flowers…however it will all come flooding back to you as you return again and again to the incredible images and work that Justin delivers ! Thank you Justin for your personal passion, for your professional talents and for your effort and commitment in making sure that our daughters have such beautiful memories that will last a lifetime ! Justin Hankins is absolutely the best and he will absolutely be the best decision you can make for your wedding !

  • R

    Rebekah · Married on 07/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! I don’t even know where to begin with how amazing Justin is! We have had nothing but the BEST experience with him; Better than I could have ever imagined! Not only are his photos amazing his service is out of this world! Justin was super helpful throughout the whole planning process and was very patient with my many photo requests. He truly cares that you are getting the best of everything and more than what you ever wanted! He had amazing communication throughout the whole process and was willing to travel for our engagement photos! He sent us several beautiful handwritten cards throughout the process and even had a bouquet of flowers delivered to my house the week before the wedding as encouragement and congrats on the big day! He put my needs and wants 100% first the day of and leading up to my wedding! He’s fun and super personable as well, which makes the situation less awkward! His second shooter for the day, Liz, was also exceptional and really added to the wedding day experience for me! She was really fun to have around and did a great job as well! My husband and I really can’t say enough good things about working with Justin! He was one of the best decisions we made in the whole wedding planning process! He is amazing and we highly recommend him!

  • E

    Eden · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words truly can't convey how incredible Justin is. From our very first meeting with him (in which he traveled 3 hours just to meet us and didn't even MENTION it until we asked how his travels were), we knew he was not only an amazing photographer but a *truly* fantastic human being. He made every step of the process fun, exciting and easy. As for the actual wedding day, he honestly added an element of fun and joy that I've never seen a photographer bring to the table at an event before. We were SO excited to have him there. His calming presence and his sunny personality and sense of humor were a joy.
    He got the photos back to us within like, TEN days, which was incredible!! And the photos? Wow. Absolutely gorgeous. They were all beautiful and really captured the joy of the weekend. He managed to be nearly invisible during the ceremony and reception and somehow got all these incredible photos! Do yourself a huge favor and book Justin for your event. He will make your wedding experience extra special and memorable. I legitimately miss him already!!!!

    Justin Hankins Photography 6
  • S

    Sydney · Married on 10/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Justin Hankins as our engagement and wedding photographer was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! He was funny and so easy to work with. He made everyone feel so comfortable! He went the extra mile in client care and sent us thoughtful, personalized messages throughout the year and even sent us flowers before our wedding! Our family and friends told us repeatedly how much they enjoyed having him as the photographer. Since we posted the photos, everyone has complimented how beautiful they are and have asked us who our photographer was. He was worth every penny!

    Justin Hankins Photography 7
    Justin Hankins Photography 8
    Justin Hankins Photography 9
    Justin Hankins Photography 10
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There aren’t even words to describe how amazing Justin is! To this day, the BEST decision we made when it came to our wedding last fall, was choosing Justin as our photographer! Being the insanely picky and overwhelmed bride that I was, I can without a doubt say that his services and our experience with him was the ONLY a thing about my wedding that I couldn’t critique! In fact, he surpassed all of my expectations, then made new ones that I couldn’t even believe could exist! Hands down the BEST, most talented artist (I believe that all great photographers are truly amazing artists!), and such a thorough professional! From researching and visiting my venues weeks before (on his own without me knowing, mind you!), to checking in on me the week before the big day, to arriving early and staying late the day of! All of this was done without even receiving my wedding timeline until after 9 pm the night BEFORE my wedding (I was literally the WORST bride, and so overwhelmed!)! Justin made everything go off without a hitch, and captured the most amazing memories during the most important day of our lives! He will always hold a special place in our lives together, and no other photographer will ever be able to even compare to him!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Justin has been amazing. From the beginning, he has regularly kept in touch with us (even though we booked him two years in advance!), was always open to learning more about our expectations, and was a wonderfully upbeat component to our wedding planning. On the day of, Justin was amazing; he was always there if you needed him, but never stood out or interfered with any of the day's events. His positive energy was infectious, and the pictures!! Amazing!! He is everything his website claims him to be in terms of an artist and capturing the emotions of the day. We received our pictures extremely quickly. He was even willing to give us black and white options as well as color, which we loved! If you choose Justin for your wedding, you will not regret it! Working with him not only helped make the day of our wedding wonderful, but now has allowed us to revisit that day in stunning images forever. Thank you, Justin!!

  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    MVP of Wedding Vendors
    In one of our initial emails with Justin, he told us to select wedding vendors like we were picking players for a sports team. We used this advice as we built our team of vendors, and I must say Justin was clearly our MVP. From your initial inquiry, Justin will walk with you every step of the way. He takes the time to get to know you as a couple and understand the expectations of your loved ones. His attention to detail is endearing. To our bridal party's surprise, he learned all of their names prior to the wedding day, so he was not repeatedly shouting "hey you! step to the left." His photos will capture the feelings and emotions of the day. He truly lives up to his slogan of #MomentsNotMasonJars.

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin is unlike any photographer out there in the best possible way. He's incredibly talented at capturing the most special moments and evoking all of the emotion of the day in the shots he takes. But what makes Justin so special is the care, sincerity, and thought he puts into his clients. I found Justin's business when I was in college, years before I broke into working in the wedding industry and light years away from planning my own wedding day, but I knew then that he would be my wedding photographer one day and it was the best decision I made (aside from the man I married!). Justin became someone I confided in during the planning process and as a result is now a dear friend too. He is not someone you book and don't hear from until a month before the wedding. He does everything possible to make sure you know he is there for you during the planning. He provided humor to me during some stressful times.

    He also did our engagement session and we loved how comfortable he helped us feel in front of the camera. His delivery of the galleries is SO fast and the pictures I received were absolutely incredible! I have had many friends and family members say how impressed they are at how many pictures he took, but also seemed to not be there at all. He managed to catch moments that I didn't even realize were happening because the day goes so fast and you're pulled in many different directions. He is worth every penny and more!

  • J

    jacquie · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    **Update: All of our images just came in and Justin knocked it out of the park! Our photographs are beautiful. He captured our day in a the most beautiful way and managed to make lasting memories of the fun moments from the reception :)
    Justin was AMAZING! We interviewed several photographers before making the absolute right choice in asking Justin to be our wedding photographer. He was the perfect amount of attentive without even a touch of overbearing. Easily reachable when I had questions and even accommodated an "engagement" shoot of our dogs and I while my fiancé was deployed so he'd have pictures of us. Justin was early the day of, never stopped moving over 9+ hours but never felt like he was in our face or in the way and even had a sneak peek of photos for us before we woke the day after the wedding. His creativeness, thoughtfulness and talent were perfect for our southern inspired Bow Ties, BBQ and Bourbon themed wedding at The Hermitage Museum and Gardens in Norfolk. We highly recommend his services.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would hire Justin again in a heartbeat! He was extremely professional and courteous. His sense of humor and laid back demeanor was very much appreciated, especially on the wedding day. His pictures of our wedding turned out beautifully, and they were delivered in a very timely manner. I would recommend his services to anyone!

  • User7011522 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Justin for both an engagement party and a wedding one year later. From the moment we met, I knew he would be perfect. I interviewed some others, but I could tell they wanted to do things their way. Justin's way will work with your way because he is flexible and open, and, at the end of the day, a super person.
    His talent is truly top notch, from candids to still lifes, group and family photos and more. He is refreshingly creative and cares so much about the final product.
    My daughter and her husband as well as my husband, family and friends were also so pleased with everything he did. His final product-- the leave behinds, books and other goodies--are so classy and elegant.
    If you are looking for a stress free, superior quality photographic experience, look no further. You will trust him completely and be charmed by his personality and immense talents.

  • Brooke

    Brooke · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I feel that wedding pictures are one of the most important wedding purchases. I wanted top notch pictures that we would fall in love with every time we looked at them. Justin gave us that and more!! Every time someone asks to look at our wedding photos and I pull them up the first thing they say is "you had the best photographer. Your pictures are beautiful, amazing, etc". They are right! We are in love with our pictures. Justin is not just a fabulous photographer, he's conscientious and thoughtful! I promise you, you won't regret choosing Justin Hankins Photography for your wedding (or whatever your photography needs are).

  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 06/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marrying a wedding photographer made it very difficult to hire a wedding photographer... until we found Justin. Both my husband and I were very pleased with Justin's portfolio, professionalism, and responsiveness.

    If you're looking for an experience, professional, and trustworthy wedding photographer, Justin is your guy!
    What starting as a beautiful June morning ended with a tornado warning and torrential downpours during our outdoor reception. Our day of timeline had major last minute changes due to the weather. Justin handled all of the changes with ease. He was quick to send us highlights of our wedding and the rest of our photos soon followed. Jesse and I so appreciate your work, Justin! Thanks again!

  • M

    Brittany · Married on 12/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin and his assistant were absolutely AMAZING! I had met Justin at two other weddings and already knew that his pictures are incredible. But I was still amazed and had my mind totally blown when I saw the pictures from my own wedding. He captured everything! He's like a ninja. No one remembers him being around, but he sure got the shot! On both a personal and professional level, Justin is brilliantly amazingly fantastically awesome. Don't waste your time on anyone else. Justin is worth every penny.

  • G

    Gina · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words cannot describe how amazing Justin's photos turned out! The details and thought into each photo will help me tell the story of our wedding forever. Justin was great through the entire process. Paying attention to every detail and trying to make my life easier on such a stressful day. I had an outside ceremony and reception, it started to rain 20 minutes before, Justin and Charlie (additional photographer) helped the groomsmen move furniture inside our rental house to move the wedding inside. For our wedding, Justin was not only a photographer, he was part of our family. We will forever grateful. You will not be disappointed, that I can promise!

    Gina & Chuck

  • J

    joel · Married on 05/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin is unbelievably helpful and kind. It was great working with him. I met him twice, seven months apart, but it was almost like working with a friend.

  • C

    C · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin was absolutely amazing!! He took the time to get to know us as a couple and traveled to New Orleans to make sure he could be the one to take pictures of our wedding. Our pictures turned out beautiful!! I don't think we could have had a better photographer! :)

  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin was GREAT! He was extremely responsive and flexible and the pictures turned out beautiful! He did an amazing job capturing all aspects of our wedding day.

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin is the best out there. He is absolutely amazing! The pictures are gorgeous!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin provided not only amazing pictures but working with him was an absolute pleasure. Justin understands that this is your wedding and not his photoshoot. Getting the pictures quickly after the wedding, the rights to them, and simply his openness and willingness to do anything and everything he can to make you happy makes Justin one of the best decisions you can make for your wedding. Jess and I considered the pictures extremely important; the wedding day itself was incredible and being able to re-live moments through the photos is almost as exciting and the quality of Justin’s pictures will keep you smiling long after the honeymoon. All of the meetings during the planning process are smooth and informative; Justin is there to educate you about options and listen to all suggestions…it couldn’t have easier. The planning process was simply the cherry on top to the stellar photographs he took.

  • M

    Marci · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin was amazing. He abandoned his family and home in Virginia to drive up to New York during Hurricane Irene to photograph our wedding (on the day of the hurricane!). We have wonderful photos and great memories. Justin is easy to work with and professional. I would recommend him to anyone getting married.

  • Whitney

    Whitney · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin is so thoughtful, professional, and talented! I was incredibly pleased. We had a really leisurely get to know you and discuss the deets meeting beforehand which really put my mind at ease for how he would handle things on the big day. He and his second shooter were so professional and discreet that after the initial hello and some discussions about our first glance session, I forgot they were there! They did an incredible job of documenting all the DIY and unique details that I (and my friends and family) slaved over. I really liked the online picture service that he uses, but he also is giving us a disc so that we own all our pictures (I noticed not all photographers do this). He offered us an iPad with the images preloaded but we already owned two so three seemed excessive. I have used my iPad to show my pictures off and it's so easy. Justin has been fabulous to work with - I can't recommend him enough!

  • K

    Kristy · Married on 06/27/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Justin was so professional, accommodating, and we never even knew he was there. He took the most perfect photographs and was super speedy in getting everything back to us! We felt like we were the most important people in the world during the entire process!

  • J

    Jean · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely cannot speak higher of Justin, he was the most amazing photographer we could have asked for. He completely exceeded our expectations, our guests are still oogling at our pictures! He was so thoughtful and made everything very personal. He even plans little surprises and goes the extra mile, which is so nice when you feel that you've planned everything to a T. He's really easy to work with, great personality and sense of humor, but he's also unobtrusive. If it wasn't for the fact that I love hanging out with the guy, I wouldn't have known he was there which is great when you're dealing with so many other distractions. He captured all these great little moments at our wedding that we missed, it really made our special day complete. I checked everyone out in the area, and he is truly the only one I would recommend to friends and family based on my experience.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review