Jove Meyer Events Reviews

92 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

92 Reviews for Jove Meyer Events

Recommended by 99%

92
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

2 User photos

Jove Meyer Events 1
Jove Meyer Events 2
Sort by:
  • F

    fleet · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When you get married, if it’s not Jove Meyer that you’re saying ‘I do’ to, then you’re going to want to make sure he’s somewhere in the building. This guy is amazing. We recently tied the knot at a beautiful B&B in upstate New York, the site of one of our first getaways as a couple.

    While the Inn is perfectly outfitted to house its overnight guests, our’s was the largest event it has hosted. We needed to rent and bring in all essentials - forks, knives, glasses, plates, extra furniture, all food, and of course typical items such as flowers, candles etc. Working with Jove made this entire experience a pleasure, we just focused on finding things we liked and he took care of the rest. I don’t know what kind of organizational wizardry he was doing behind the scenes, but his management made my wedding week one of the most relaxed and full of joy I can remember. The vendors he helped us find all delivered beyond our expectations and on budget, and he was consistently checking in with them to make sure everything was on track. Jove even coached the inn management through any issues they were dealing with while hosting the big event.

    As wedding day approached I couldn’t believe how relaxed both me and my spouse were, we spent our entire wedding catching up with loved ones and just enjoying the party.

    If I could give this guy 10 stars I would. As our wedding wrapped I heard repeatedly from friends and family that ours was the among the most unique, memorable and enjoyable they’ve attended. If you want a wedding that fits you and want to enjoy the entire process, you should start by getting in touch with Jove.

    Sent on 05/16/2018
  • A

    Allison · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express enough how much I loved working with Jove!! When I decided to get married in New York City (instead of Cali where I'm from), I knew I wanted someone special to work with and Jove was the perfect choice. I wanted a Cali-
    style wedding in Manhattan and Jove made that all happen for me. We hired Jove about a year before the wedding day and he was there for every step of the way. In our initial meeting, he REALLY took the time to get a sense of us as a couple and what was important to us on our wedding day (music, food, decor, etc.) ! Jove works with some of the best vendors in the business and he surrounded us with a phenomenal team (florist, stationary, photographer, videographer, etc.). Working with Jove day to day is awesome and a real joy! He's fun to be around, funny, super-organized, professional and has impeccable TASTE! I could not recommend Jove enough!!

    Sent on 05/16/2018
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove was an absolute pleasure to work with. He has a strong creative vision and his professional connections gave us the opportunity to work with the best vendors in NYC. His mastery of wedding and events planning really shone on the wedding day. His assistant Sloan was also a delight and kept us feeling happy and calm leading up to the ceremony. Everything flowed smoothly, and we didn’t worry about a single thing. We couldn’t be happier with the final results!

    Sent on 02/03/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding this year, and we could not have pulled it off it without Jove Meyer. We found out about him through interviews and glowing online reviews (like this one!). It turned out he had worked with our very close friends on their wedding - which was one of the most fun we’ve ever attended and perfectly suited to them. Jove worked closely with us from the very beginning, guiding us through the process, keeping us on schedule, and making sure everything came together perfectly. Even when we didn’t see the big picture clearly, he always steered us in the right direction with intelligence and patience, and helped us to find the perfect vendors for our wedding. Then on our wedding weekend, he handled everything we threw at him with charm and grace. Jove is a truly talented, kind, smart, professional, funny, and wise wedding planner, and we are so lucky to have worked with him, and we highly recommend him to any couple getting married.

    Sent on 12/11/2017
    Jove Meyer Events 3
    Jove Meyer Events 4
  • P

    Patrick · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every detail - from the round setting and the design, to the flowers and food and other vendors, was spectacular. I'll single out Yen to say she absolutely, completely, knocked it out of the park with all of the food, especially the Scottish touches that she promised and delivered on spectacularly.

    You and Lauren were right in all of the choices, and although we could have gotten married in a parking lot and I would have been happy, what we got was magical beyond words.

    Although I can't say I hope you plan my next wedding, I certainly hope I get the chance to be a guest at another Jove Meyer production.

    Sent on 10/15/2017
  • R

    Regina and Randy · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To a nervous mother from Louisville, Kentucky helping a busy artist daughter with Brooklyn and Manhattan wedding events, JOVE IS AN ABSOLUTE GEM. He is my hero. Not only does he deserve a 100.0/5.0 star rating for the above listed categories— in Jove, I got an reassuring listener who understood and customized details to our needs/wants, who offered valuable insight borne of real experience in the specialty, and dream team of vendors and assistants. I still get compliments for the wedding from guests. I believe Jove’s work is imprinted in the memories of our family and friends who felt lucky and honored to have been invited to attend our happy event.

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • S

    Sylvia · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove is simply the best! You will not find another planner with his level of class and skill. My husband and I are grateful for his time and energy with our May wedding. No detail was left undone. He gave wonderful recommendations for vendors in NYC and was always there to help us. No email was left unanswered and he was always quick and efficient with his responses. Book Jove now! You will NOT be disappointed! He is a wonderful wonderful human and artist!

    Sent on 08/09/2017
  • T

    T · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove is the best - he crafted a very complicated and wonderfully personal weekend for us. Couldn't have imagined it without him. He is smart, organized, kind and just generally a terrific person. Really, he became a friend through the process. I would highly recommend Jove to anyone!

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I will start by saying, my husband and I could not have executed our wedding without Jove (and his team). He was extremely valuable in all aspects of the process, from sourcing vendors to having him and his team ensure that the actual wedding day proceeded smoothly. Jove's professionalism and attention to detail is unmatched, and honestly, he just gets stuff done. On top of that, he is a very nice guy, easy to work with, and responsive. I would definitely recommend him to anybody who is either looking for a wedding planner or is on the fence about using a wedding planner.

    Sent on 04/24/2017
  • User7512865 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove was a joy to work with, always responding with good humor and equanimity to whatever issues arose as we planned our wedding. In truth, these "issues" were always minor, due in no small part to the professionalism of the excellent vendors suggested by Jove. On the actual day, we had to do nothing more than show up. Jove coordinated every element of the wedding, one that was characterized by more than one of our guests as "magical." (They seemed to really mean it!) We couldn't have done it without Jove--or we could have, but really, really badly--and we'll be forever grateful for his services.

    Sent on 12/23/2016
  • R

    Rob · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove was the best wedding planner we could have imagined. He was focused and professional every step of the way. He was as present when we were selecting vendors months ahead as he was while coordinating speech timing during the wedding reception. It was through him that we discovered our band, caterer, and florist, each of which were unforgettable parts of the best day of our lives. He is obviously also kind and incredibly knowledgable, and clearly passionate about what he does. The venue was a big, DIY-style room, and Jove had a well of insight at virtually every turn to help us pick the right vendors for our wedding, from tablecloths to dessert.

    Moreover, he cares about the people he works with, shown by his relationships to many of the vendors he collaborates with. He went the extra mile to cater to our wants and needs on multiple occasions. We had a lot of family and friends coming from out of town, staying in the middle of New York City for the first time. Luckily, we had Jove to help ensure smooth sailing, allowing us to enjoy celebrating with our guests over the weekend.

    We can't recommend working with Jove enough, and will always be grateful for all the hard work he put into our wedding day.

    Sent on 12/17/2016
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Jove for roughly two years (long planning period to minimize anxiety). That is quite a bit time to spend with an ostensible stranger. Let alone someone you're trusting to plan one of the most personal milestones of your life; you need them to give you accurate advice, use your time effectively, exhibit compassion for the emotional bits, trust that they understand your tastes even when you can't fully articulate it and most importantly have your best interests at heart. I couldn't really ask all those things of my own mother. Further, neither of us had ever planned or been involved with the planning of a wedding, so we were pretty green. Our experience with Jove was less like having someone in our employ, but more like having a very knowledgeable friend at our side for the big decisions.
    There are a LOT of moments I could write about that caused me and my husband to turn and say "THANK THE LORD WE HIRED JOVE," but to spare you a novel I will say the two biggest examples are:
    -EVERY time we met a new vendor that Jove recommended we always instantly liked them. And their work always spoke for itself. There was none of this "they're a jerk, but a GENIUS" nonsense that we often experience in NY. They all produced top tier quality and were so wonderful to be around. Jove is great, but the team he surrounds himself with makes him worth his weight in gold.
    -Day of the wedding. I'll say it again. Day. Of. The. Wedding. I've have never seen someone so on his game before. We literally didn't have think about anything other than just enjoying the day. And enjoy the day we did. During the event itself he was like the wind. He helped me plan some special moments, made sure my husband, my in-laws, my parents and I always had drinks. Accommodated an un-RSVPd guest with a full dinner seconds before people were sat. And also was just a general good presence to have around.
    Hire him and trust that you made the best decision of the whole process.

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • J

    Jeremy · Married on 09/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove is the best. Period. From the day we began planning until the moment we left the wedding, Jove was on top of everything, and I never for a moment felt like anything went unaddressed. He made what could have been the most stressful day of my life run flawlessly, and even watched my 5 year old so my wife and I could dance!

    You're amazing Jove. Thanks for everything.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • J

    Jena · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Jove for our "day-of" planner and couldn't have been happier. I knew after our three hour prep meeting (when we made the most glorious and detailed schedule I have ever seen) that we made the right choice in Jove. Jove and his assistant made sure everything ran smoothly on the Big Day — wrangled our roaming friends and family, tended to specific decorative elements, etc. — with class and charm to boot. Our wedding was magic and we couldn't have done it without Jove + his team. Hire him!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a wedding planner who's going to make the process easy and fun, you can't do better than Jove. We had such a blast planning our wedding with him, from the initial meeting over cocktails to our final session over wine. We came to him with a really half-baked vision and he brought it to life, recommending vendors that were exactly in line with our style. It was just so much less stressful choosing vendors when I knew that Jove had worked with them all before and could guarantee that we would love them. I completely trusted his opinion the entire time and it paid off in the most perfect wedding imaginable. We had a somewhat difficult situation (a venue with a coordinator who wasn't happy we hired another planner) but Jove handled the situation with grace, diffusing tension and making sure there were no hard feelings on the wedding day. During the reception, he was amazing at making sure we had water, food etc. and keeping guests away from us when we wanted a little time for ourselves. I can't thank him enough for all his help and would whole heartedly recommend him to others!!

    Sent on 08/30/2016
  • B

    Blythe · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Jove and signed on for his Partial Planning package for our wedding this June, and we couldn't have been happier with the decision. Getting married in a raw space in Brooklyn, my husband and I were really concerned about all of the moving pieces for the day, and how the wedding would come together in the end. At every step, having Jove's help and counsel assuaged our anxieties. He helped us choose and manage four of our most important vendors and Jove's impeccable taste and wedding expertise was clear throughout the process! He was patient with many an annoying e-mail and answered all of my questions no matter how minor. Jove's team was also stellar on the day of - everything went off without a hitch and the space looked beautiful. We are still getting compliments from our family and friends about everything! Would highly recommend Jove and his team!

    Sent on 07/13/2016
  • A

    Ali · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having never been married before, I didn’t know what to expect. I had heard from friends that it was very stressful, but totally worth it.

    From the moment I met Jove on the phone, I knew it didn’t have to be stressful. We started working together almost a year and half before the wedding, and he timed everything perfectly.

    Jove has an excellent arsenal of wedding vendors. It can be overwhelming to choose the perfect photographer, florist or DJ. Jove really read my husband and I well, and curated the most talented team.

    My husband and I tend to shy away from the camera. With this in mind, Jove recommended a photographer that suited us perfectly, aesthetically and emotionally. The flowers were out of this world. They literally took my breath away. And, the DJ created an epic dance party. We have not stopped smiling since the wedding.

    Jove has an incredible ability to tell you exactly what you need to know. Nothing more or nothing less. I am sure there were many stressful scenarios, from coordinating vendors to managing strong and conflicting opinions. We never caught wind of any of it. Particularly, the weekend of the wedding.

    We also had the pleasure of working with Jove’s intern, Sloan. The two of them really made the weekend flawless. Starting with the welcome dinner, they anticipated what we needed before we knew what we needed. We wanted the weekend to be filled with warmth and love, and Jove and Sloan made sure every single person felt that way.

    We are a pretty colorful couple, and this was definitely the happiest and most colorful weekend of our lives.

    Sent on 05/30/2016
  • J

    Joan · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove Meyer is the most amazing event planner I have ever encountered. From our first intro meeting 15 months ago, Jove set the tone for warmth, fun, beauty and incredible organization...without any of us feeling the stress or pressure. I honestly have never worked with someone who is both extremely professional and also inclusive and calm.

    Jove never misses a beat. He masters the major framework and every little, insignificant detail from initial planning until the last guest leaves the wedding.

    The best part about Jove and his intern, Sloan, is that they made my daughter, her fiance and me feel comfortable, supported and truly pampered at all times. I don't know how they did it, but the entire wedding process was joyful for all of us.

    Jove also has impeccable taste and takes his lead from the bride. He knows how to step in and step back (he never steps back, but no one realizes he's executing every move flawlessly).

    Work with Jove. It's as far from "work" as you'll ever experience.

    Sent on 06/05/2016
  • D

    Don · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Weddings can be stressful, especially the planning. However, we minimized our stress by hiring Jove. Not only did he touch base with us prior to the wedding often to make sure that we were on track but he gave us so many ideas on things that we would never have thought of. And, on the day of the wedding and reception, Jove and his assistant essentially made it so we didn't have to think or worry about anything. Everything went so smoothly and it's in no small part to Jove's help. You can't go wrong with choosing Jove if you are considering a wedding planner!

    Sent on 05/20/2016
  • User6641052 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When the bride says her wedding was the best day of her life you know you hired a phenomenal wedding planner. Jove was able to provide fabulous vendors for every request and was terrific at adding his creativity to the ideas of the bride and groom. He was also very sensitive and successful at staying within the initial budget. We knew that we made the right decision time and time again when our venues and vendors kept raving about him.
    When the big day arrived everything was right on time and according to plan. The out of towners, not used to a Brooklyn wedding were blown away by the venues, the food, the flowers and every detail.
    The bride and groom developed a wonderful trust for Jove and as a result they spent almost a year planning an amazing wedding virtually stress free.

    Sent on 04/26/2016
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am obsessed with Jove. He came highly recommended by our photographer. We first met him at a bar near our apartment so he could get to know us. After that, every single vendor recommendation he sent us was spot on. Jove has immaculate taste and the most unique ideas. He compiled a serious dream team of Brooklyn vendors who were all beyond talented and so much fun to work with.

    The day of the wedding, Jove was a machine. Everything went off perfectly. Literally nothing went wrong (at least that I knew of....). Jove made sure every detail was perfectly executed. It was the best night of our lives and we have Jove to thank for that.

    We're strongly considering a very elaborate 1st anniversary party just so we can have another excuse to work with Jove Meyer Events again....

    Sent on 05/10/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove and his assistant were amazing! Professional, organized, relaxed, with a solution to everything. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 04/14/2016
  • A

    Allison · Married on 02/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove Meyer Events was highly recommended by all of our vendors and we are so pleased we used their Day-Of Coordination services for our recent Valentine's Day wedding at 501 Union. The two most concrete ways Marilys set us up for success were:
    1) Providing a template to track each detail of the wedding (timeline, supplies, vendor contact information, payment status, and other important information). We knew that she had pre-thought every detail and question we would have to answer, so we never worried about overlooking any aspect of the planning process since her template was so thorough and allowed us to work as a team.
    2) Setting up all of our decorations and supplies which completely transformed the venue from the moment we walked into to take pictures on the wedding day. We had some clear directives and some grayer areas regarding set up; Marilys took all of our directions perfectly and executed her own vision for certain details, too. The result was absolutely beautiful and beyond what we could have imagined. We felt so confident about set up on the morning of the wedding since we knew it was in Marilys' capable hands.

    These are concrete ways Marilys contributed to our success; there are multiple other ways she helped out that are less tangible but equally meaningful. She was constantly available via phone, email, or text; she kept us laughing throughout the planning process and during the day itself; she managed family and vendor politics with aplomb; and most importantly, she never let us get caught up in the chaos and made sure we took time for ourselves on the most important day of our lives.

    We are grateful to Jove and Marilys for their thorough approach to planning and detail-oriented execution.

    Sent on 03/14/2016
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jove is amazing. Highly responsive, creative, funny, and incredibly attentive to detail. He is a pleasure to work with and completely dependable. Couldn't recommend him more highly.

    Sent on 11/05/2015
  • R

    Renee · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very nervous about the wedding process, and as a project manager myself, I knew that I would only feel my best if I knew that everything was in its place and taken care of.

    Jove made sure that every detail was accounted for from beginning to end, and he made me feel relaxed the entire time...even when hail, rain and snow threatened to derail my outdoor ceremony. I spent my entire day grinning from ear to ear, and Jove was a major part of that. Jove is fun, professional, kind and extremely organized. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/17/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review