John & Max Mills Photography Reviews

89 | Los Angeles, CA
See photos, pricing and details

89 Reviews for John & Max Mills Photography

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

89
Order by:
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 09/29/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with John and Max for our engagement photos and wedding photos. Max was very helpful throughout the whole process from start to finish.
    Our engagement session was shot in downtown LA at the Bradbury building and Union Station. the photos came out simply amazing with some very creative shots.
    Our wedding was at LaVenta and they were very familiar with the grounds. The sunset photos were timed perfectly to get just the shots.
    They were great to work with and pics came out great.

    Sent on 08/18/2013
  • J

    Jim · Married on 07/30/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max and John provided very personal and professional service to us. they were responsive to our needs and kept within our budget. the final product was absolutely terrific!

    Sent on 03/20/2012
  • S

    Sheryl · Married on 04/05/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John & Max are absolutely wonderful to work with. They truly captured the essence of our wedding day and created a story for us to cherish. Their photos are beautiful and they have that wonderful eye for knowing what will work. None of our photos felt forced, yet we had a nice blend of candid and posed shots. They are fun to work with and understand that the day is about you - and are as unobtrusive as possible. The biggest problem we had was trying to chose the photos for our album since there were so many wonderful pictures! Thank you John & Max!!

    Sent on 10/14/2008
  • A

    Adriene · Married on 05/17/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After meeting John & Max for the first time, we knew right off the bat that they were the perfect photographers for our wedding. They encouraged us to do an engagement session, where we could also get to know them better before the wedding and make things more comfortable. This was a fabulous idea which made our wedding day more relaxed. They were very fun to work with and had creative ideas to work with our ideas for the wedding pictures and so forth. I would love to use them again and I would recommend others to their services also.

    One trick they used on our wedding day, to not leave anyone out of pictures, was to have a list of family members in their pocket ( prior memorized ) of both sides of our families - this made it easier when they were talking to family members and trying to get everyone to line up for photos.

    They also brought their son in to help on our wedding day to shoot and help set up- the three of them were a great team and such a pleasure to work with.

    The QUALITY service we received with John and Max was excellent and we couldn't have been happier.

    Sent on 06/16/2014
  • User2613754 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VERY nice people to work with. EXTREMELY flexible and cooperative. VERY competent and professional. Provided all services as promised. Quality of photographs was excellant. Wish I had thought to ask John and Max to bring a backdrop for the posed pictures prior to the ceremony so the hotel ballroom background wouldn't show in the photographs. I highly recommend John and Max.

    Sent on 08/22/2012
  • J

    Joshua · Married on 02/02/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with the service John & Max provided for us. The pictures from our wedding came out stunningly beautiful. They arrived early and we were very happy we chose them to be our photographer for our wedding. I highly recommend them, they're skillful and overall outstanding.

    Sent on 02/16/2010
  • Y

    Yukiyo · Married on 08/16/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills are fantastic photographers! We met with four different photographers before making our decision. As soon as we met John and Max, we knew right away that we wanted to hire them. They are timely and very artistic. They both made us feel really comfortable and our family and guests also felt comfortable. They captured every moment. They are also very flexible with taking suggestions with what types of photos you want. They are well respected and worked with my vendors well!

    Sent on 01/29/2010
  • A

    Adrian · Married on 08/25/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max are a great team with a body of work behind them that will make you very comfortable that you are making the right choice. In choosing a vendor you want one that has great ideas and gives good advice but also one that listens to your needs. Striking the right balance between these two things is what they did well.

    The photo books are the best we've seen. The secret is in their creative eye (I think this is Max) in doing layout, picture framing, and background. It's hard to describe but when we saw our engagement photos we were wowed.

    Sent on 11/29/2012
  • User4251680 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max were very pleasant to work with, especially considering that we were planning a wedding from across the country.

    They definitely tried to capture all the images that we asked them to for the big day, but it is important to note that their approach is journalistic in style to capture the day as it happened, and they'll be the first to tell you that they don't want to heavily edit photos.

    We can't emphasize enough how positive and enthusiastic they were with the wedding party and guests, and we certainly appreciated that they knew all the relevant parties' (family, bridal party, etc.) names upon arrival. They even brought an additional shooter/lighting assistant free of charge.

    When talking with friends who recently got married they had horror stories about getting pictures from their photographer. It's easiest here to say exactly when we got ours from Max and John (all dates are weeks from wedding): two weeks - preview album posted, three weeks - photos on online portal, six weeks - high quality images in hand and wedding album designed. What's most important is they did exactly what they said they would.

    Finally, everyone's perception of what they are willing to spend on a photographer -- or any wedding vendor -- is going to be different. In the opinion of these bargain hunters, Max and John are experienced pros who are well worth it.

    Sent on 08/23/2014
  • C

    Cecelia · Married on 08/10/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My son and his bride contracted with Mills. They were both very happy with the results. The quality of the photography was excellent and the Mills were very nice to work with. I wasn't happy with some of the family photos but the Mills were very responsive and offered to work with me to fix them.

    Sent on 01/20/2013
  • J

    Jolyn · Married on 09/20/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max are true professionals and artists, yet they were able to make us feel like we were just hanging out with friends during our engagement photos so we appeared happy and relaxed (which is hard to get my husband to do!) When they photographed our wedding a few months later, they captured every moment with such elegance and creativity. I would recommend them to my friends and family and plan to call them for pregnancy photots in the future!

    Sent on 10/01/2009
  • T

    Tiffanie · Married on 06/24/2001

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max & John Mill's are a married couple who both have an extensive background in photography. They captured my wedding day perfectly. Visit their website for examples. Max is great, she is very creative and wonderful to work with. While her husband John captures many of the standard wedding photo pictures and poses, Max catches the poignant moments of the event. They are a great team.

    Sent on 12/08/2006
  • H

    Stacey · Married on 08/28/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On your wedding day you will depend on your vendors to be on time and to deliver the products and services they promised in a professional manner. John and Max arrived exactly on time and were ready to begin as promised on our wedding day. It is important to talk to John & Max at length before your wedding to let them know exactly what kinds of shots your want, and what your don't want. Don't expect them to read your mind or somehow just intuitively know. They can't & they won't. You need to be honest and direct with them ahead of time and give them a clear instruction of your vision. I can't stress enough how grateful we are that my husband & I chose to see eachother before the ceremony to take most of our of posed portraits before our guests arrived. John and Max were there to catch the moment when my groom came around the corner & saw me for the first time in my wedding dress. They photographed the excitement & joy in our faces and preserved the moment for a lifetime. Because we posed for most of our formal portraits before the guests ever arrived, we were able to relax & enjoy the reception with our family & friends. Our guests were not kept waiting & hungry while we posed for pictures after the ceremony. I would HIGHLY recommend other brides & grooms do the same. John & Max gave us a CD with every image they shot at our wedding. This was invaluable in preserving our memories. Some other photographers charge extra for this, but John & Max include it in the price of every photography package they offer. John & Max seemed more concerned with pleasing the parents of the bride than with pleasing the bride & groom. We tried to explain our vision to them ahead of time, but they didn't follow that vision. We ended up having to photoshop many of our pictures because someone was looking away or various things had to be edited out of the background. After the photoshopping was done, we ended up with a beautiful custom album & portraits.

    Sent on 12/04/2011
  • C

    Chi · Married on 10/09/2010

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    After further thought, I'm updating my review to reflect the entire experience.

    Our photos turned out fine and a lot was captured that my husband & I didn't get a chance to notice on our wedding day.

    However, we were disappointed when we were offered an "upgrade" to high resolution photos in exchange for 3 good reviews on different websites. We also learned during this same conversation that without the upgrade our photos wouldn't print well unless they were wallet-sized or smaller.

    Considering the price that we paid for our package, we shouldn't have to write a review to receive the full product, especially when the high resolutions photos were ready to send.

    To be honest, it is offenseive that they only cared about our opinion as a tool to further their business.

    Sent on 11/02/2010