John & Max Mills Photography Reviews

89 | Los Angeles, CA
See photos, pricing and details

89 Reviews for John & Max Mills Photography

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

89
Order by:
  • M

    Marisa · Married on 09/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max were a delight to work with. My husband and I are very pleased with how our pictures turned out. We could not be happier! We received multiple compliments from our family and friends as to how pleasant it was to work with our photographers. John and Max guided our group pictures with ease. We will definitely refer The Mill's to our family and friends. We will look to John and Max for all of our photgraphy needs in future!!

    Sent on 11/10/2008
  • A

    ALEX · Married on 09/06/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JOHN & MAX, WHAT A PAIR. SHOULD CHANGE THEIR NAME TO TEAM MILLS. THE BEST VALUE WE FOUND NOT ONLY IN PHOTOGRAPHY, BUT AS PEOPLE WHO OPENED THE DOOR TO THEIR HOME TO TWO LOVE BIRDS LOOKING FOR A GOOD PICTURE TAKER. JOHN GAVE US LOTS OF IDEAS WHILE MAX KEPT HIM IN LINE. LOL!! J/K MAX DID A WONDERFUL JOB WITH THE ALBUM. THEY ARE THE BEST.

    Sent on 03/22/2009
  • J

    jarrett · Married on 05/18/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills are a great choice to do photography for any event. They are so easy to work with, very professional, and very good at what they do. They work very well as a team, and they are very organized. I highly recommend them to anyone that needs a skilled and excellent photography team!

    Sent on 09/09/2008
  • C

    Charles · Married on 05/10/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    At our wedding venue, we noticed several photographs by John and Max Mills and they were beautiful. We met the Mills and they were very friendly and professional. It was great to actually meet the photographers for our wedding versus having a company select one for us. The Mills were so flexible and accommodating with our package. During our engagement photo session at the beach, they spent a substantial amount of time with us and the pictures turned out beautiful. Our guests raved about our the sign-in book. At the wedding, we hardly noticed the Mills but they were able to capture all the great moments. They knew our family member's names and were so polite to our guests. Our wedding pictures were wonderful. We had a difficult time narrowing our selections for our album because there were so many great pictures. Thanks John and Max!

    Sent on 08/11/2008
  • M

    Mike · Married on 03/28/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Within three minutes of meeting John and Max Mills, you begin to wonder if you'd rather just invite them to your wedding as guests, because they are extremely friendly, down to earth, real, and for lack of a fancier word, cool. Then you remember you went to see them about photography and if you do, then you have made an excellent choice. John and Max are professional, creative, not-intrusive, and an absolute pleasure to work with. Make sure to ask about their "Getting to know you" session which you will do before the wedding, which helps what is an already easy bond and gives you an example of what a joy they are to work with. We barely even noticed them at the wedding yet all of the most important moments were captured. Their prices were significantly less than others we had talked to and they are easily worth 10 times what you will pay. This is a no brainer. All you need to do is meet with them once. We were so happy with our wedding photographs and album that we are already talking to them about taking baby pictures for us. Wedding planning can be hard, so make one part of it easy - go see John and Max!

    Sent on 07/20/2008
  • N

    Christen · Married on 03/01/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max were fantastic!! From the moment we met them, they were so honest and kind. They did everything they could to make our wedding day perfect. Our photos are amazing and they are very easy to work with. On our wedding day, they did not overwhelm us at all with the cameras and being too close. We can not say enough about how professional they are and how great our proofs and photo book turned out!

    Sent on 06/02/2008
  • M

    Cindy · Married on 07/21/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It has been two years since our daughter's wedding at Palos Verdes Country Club in July of 2007. Every time I look at the stunningly beautiful wedding album by John and Max Mills, I still get chills! I am so glad they were the photographers! Every wedding has a very special moment that hopefully is captured by the photographers! We had many of those moments and John and Max captured all of them . . . the solemn, the whimsy, the breathtaking, the funny - everything! They were professional and yet down to earth . They went above and beyond and it shows in the the photographs! I would highly recommend them!!

    Sent on 10/17/2009
  • K

    Karen · Married on 06/10/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a treat it is to work with John and Max! I would highly recommend having them take black and white engagement photos and create their signature book. We used this for our guest book, and it's one of our favorite wedding momentos.
    John and Max are wonderful to work with...extremely professional, yet funny and caring. They will treat your wedding day with as their number one priority, and put you at ease so you don't have to think the photo details, but rather just enjoy the day. We were so happy with our photos, it took forever to select our favorites for our wedding album. Max is truly talented with designing wedding albums, and i know we'll enjoy ours for our lifetimes!

    Sent on 10/13/2008
  • T

    Tracey · Married on 06/09/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills did an amazing job photographing our wedding. From the first meeting we knew they were the people for the job and they exceeded our expectations. They got to know everyone during the pre-wedding shoot, which helped keep us all relaxed and happy.

    John and Max worked so well together and were fantastic about handling special requests and accommodating us. We also appreciate all the personal touches they provided throughout the day. They were professional and polite, not to mention fun! Our friends and family have commented on how wonderful our album is and we agree. It's a beautiful portrait of our wedding day.

    We couldn't be happier with our choice of Mill's Photography for our special day!

    Sent on 06/10/2008
  • E

    Sara · Married on 01/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max came highly recommended and after our initial consultation I knew that we had found the right wedding photographers. I knew that our wedding location was tricky, but they took care of everything with ease - including the unexpected rain (which lasted ALL day long!!!). Putting together our album and choosing "the one" for large framing was difficult because there were so many GREAT photos to choose from. Highly recommended :)

    Sent on 03/15/2010
  • C

    Candice · Married on 08/05/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was the most memorable time of our lives. John & Max were able to capture that in all of our photos. They were non-intrusive and blended very well with our wedding party. We would highly recommend them to anyone for any occasion!

    Sent on 07/16/2008
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/21/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills did a great job at our wedding. My husband and I did a "destination" wedding in Manhattan Beach and John and Max made it easy to handle the details, especially from Texas. We felt very much at ease going into our big day (well, as much as anyone feels at ease :) ). I can't say they blended into the background, because that is not what we wanted. My husband is very picture happy, so we wanted every shot there was, and that is what we got, but the Mills did it in a way that also gave us time to enjoy ourselves and our family and friends...John and Max took some fabulous photos, including a special trip to the beach between the church and the reception site. We had a hard time deciding which shots to include in our package because there were so many that we wanted. We ended up with an album that is a beautiful peice of art and memories that we know we will treasure forever, but John and Max were also a part of our celebration as individuals and helped to make it an extra special day.

    Sent on 08/08/2008
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 05/21/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max photographed our special day and captured many cherished moments. Every interaction we had with them and their staff made us even more confident that we have chosen the best possible photographer. We highly recommend them to everyone who wants to photograph any event.

    Sent on 04/01/2010
  • S

    John · Married on 05/21/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say???? The pictures were fabulous! My husband and I were married at St. Margaret Mary Parish and held our reception at the Cheesecake Factory for almost 5 years now. We look at our album every year and every time we look at it, it felt like we are there and getting married again. John and Max Mills creativity and expertise made our special day more memorable. We LOVE the pictures and album and they are just wonderful! They really capture the spirit of the day.

    Sent on 04/10/2010
  • J

    Jamila · Married on 05/07/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John & Max are the best! Not only extremely talented with great service, but just very thoughtful and kind people. They really listened to what was important to us and made sure to capture every special moment. As a team they photographed in black and white and in color so we had lots and lots of images to choose from. We constantly get compliments on the album they put together for us. It's beautiful, professional and classic. And they were great to work with for our family and friends who ordered prints of many photos from them after our wedding.

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • W

    Erin · Married on 08/07/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills are THE best wedding photographers out there! My hubby and I got married in 2004 and truly loved having the Mills as a part of our wedding day! We checked out a few different photographers before we met John and Max, and we immediately felt at ease with their kindness and professionalism. After seeing examples of their amazing work, we couldn�t wait for them to shoot our engagement and wedding photos. They did not disappoint!

    On the day of the wedding, the Mills gently guided us when taking posed pictures and then quietly melted away into the background while still capturing fabulous candid shots. They were fun to be around and even our guests commented on how sweet our photographers were! John and Max also have a great eye for detail and were quick to hone in on all those little special touches we had put so much thought and effort into planning. When we viewed our pictures shortly after our wedding, we couldn�t believe how perfectly they had captured every aspect of our most special day! It was so hard to narrow down which pictures to actually put in our album since they were all so good.

    We keep our beautiful wedding album out on our coffee table and guests are always drawn to its unique style and layout. (I have to admit, I absolutely adore still getting compliments on how beautiful our wedding was�5 years later and by people who weren�t even there!)

    Do yourself a favor and reduce your stress by not looking any further than Mills Photography. You will love them � now AND in the future!

    Sent on 08/19/2009
  • B

    Carolyn · Married on 07/24/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were more than happy with our beautiful wedding photos taken by John and Max. They were a dream to work with before, during and after our wedding. During a day filled with so much excitement they not only captured our special moments but knew precisely what to capture. We often look through our album and it brings us right back to our special day.

    I highly recommend John and Max to provide you with both professional and artistic quality photos that will be family heirlooms for years to come.

    Sent on 03/21/2009
  • T

    teri · Married on 06/19/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills were the perfect photographers for our wedding. The professionalism of their photos speaks for itself, but it was their positive and accodomating personalities that mattered the most to us on our "big day." No request was too big or deemed too small; they made sure to catch every special aspect of the ceremony and reception, both planned and in the moment. I would wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone.

    Sent on 04/28/2009
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/30/2001

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills are the best photographers a bride and groom could ask for. They are easy going yet professional at the same time. They did our wedding 8 1/2 years ago and I still remember them to this day. We were so thrilled with our wedding pictures that we hope to do a family portrait with them once our kids are a little older. They feel like long time friends rather than just a photographer. I would recommend them to anyone and not just for weddings! - Stephanie

    Sent on 01/20/2010
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 08/08/2000

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills photographed our wedding and we could not have been happier with their service, expertise, and keen eyes. We met prior to the wedding to go over timing of the day, what special photos to take, and get a general feel for working together, etc. (I would have never thought of these things).

    One of them took color photos while the other captured special moments in black and white. The amazing thing to me was that we really never knew they were at our wedding, but we ended up with some of the most beautiful portraits, candid shots, group panoramas and captivating photographic art which we proudly display as such. They very discreetly went about their work, while we enjoyed every moment of the ceremony and reception.

    Max has a special talent and gave great advice as to what makes a good album, a great wall-hanging, or an artistic statement. She was exceptionally patient with me as I made our selections and I appreciated her professional advice. I am grateful that Mills Photography captured my wedding so beautifully.

    Sent on 07/09/2008
  • K

    Karin · Married on 07/28/2000

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Max Mills captured our engagement and wedding with the loveliest photos. Their work was outstanding. Working with them was a wonderful experience. They were kind, courteous, fun, and engaging. They were professional, yet personable. They knew how to pose us so that the pictures would be flattering, and they also knew how to capture a variety of emotions. If I could go back to my wedding day and do everything over, I would not change a thing! John and Max captured a fantastic experience for me and my husband, and for our entire family, for that matter. Now, eight years later, my husband and I still look back upon the photos from our engagement and our wedding with joy! If you are looking for a photographer who will enhance your wedding experience, you should go with John and Max!

    Sent on 01/08/2009
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 04/01/1977

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married 34 years ago. At that time we had a photographer that really did a terrible job on the pictures. Max and John were able to take those photographs and improve the quality dramatically through their expertise. We are delighted with the results. As we turn the pages of the beautiful new album that Max designed and so creatively put together for us, we can now truly enjoy the memories of that day. They are experienced and professional and use their knowledge to capture one of the most important days in a couples life. The photos captured of your wedding become more precious as the years go by. We certainly wish we would have had John and Max at our wedding. Our advise is to choose wisely who will take those photos.
    Thanks John and Max for saving our wedding day memories.
    Mike and Kris M.

    Sent on 02/12/2011
  • User4616745 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Max and Jon shot our wedding ceremony last weekend and they were great to work with! We had a specific schedule before our ceremony and after and they were very relaxed and accommodating and of course enjoyable to work with.

    When I first met Max I knew they would be a great compliment to our wedding day. Their experience in shooting photography in direct sun with an ocean background as well as on the beach was important to me and I knew they would do a great job!

    Having 2 photographers on the day is great as you will get multiple shots as well as different perspectives.

    I would highly recommend Max and Jon for your oceanside/beach wedding!

    Sent on 04/02/2015
  • User3306893 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really like how John and Max worked together. Very professional. They are just really nice people to work with. And they know how to put a smile on everyone's faces.

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • C

    Casey · Married on 11/25/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I made my fiancé choose our photographer. Because he's an armature photographer I figured he would make a more logical and less emotional choice and that’s exactly what he did.

    I would not have chosen Mills Photography. Nothing jumped off their portfolio and grabbed my heart. Sure it’s nice, but it didn’t speak to me personally.

    However - now that I have MY pictures - I could NOT BE HAPPIER with Mills Photography. Here’s why.

    1.) I showed them the style of pictures I wanted on my wedding, and that’s what they gave me.
    2.) Their price is fantastic especially because our package included albums. Two albums!
    3.) My family (who all hate having their pictures taken) enjoyed working with them and Max and John got striking pictures of uncooperative people.
    4.) Most importantly for a bride - they understood me, and encouraged my eccentricity. When I started sticking my tongue out and crossing my eyes, they didn’t get offended, they made everybody else do it too - and so my pictures have this sense of fun and play about them! They aren’t all stiff and posed. They feel real and alive and unique.
    5.) I’m not photogenic probably because I don’t like having my picture taken. I told them I was worried, and asked them to help me because I wanted nice pictures. They made it easy. The pictures they took are definitely the best pictures of me anywhere period. And that can’t be just because it was my wedding. I’ve been as happy before, I’ve been in better lighting, I’ve worked with professionals, I’ve wanted nice pictures just as bad. I really feel they captured ME, and that’s awesome because no one else has done that before.

    I said it before - I’ll say it again. I COULD NOT BE HAPPIER! :)

    Sent on 01/04/2013