Joelle Charming Reviews

27 | Santa Barbara, CA
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Joelle Charming

Recommended by 92%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • B

    Bridget · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it came to planning my wedding, my Type A personality took over and I knew I wanted to spearhead the entire thing. Although that was a slightly crazy decision on my part, thankfully my venue (Santa Barbara's Belmond El Encanto) required I have an event coordinator for the wedding weekend. I asked the hotel's on-site catering manager, my main hotel contact for the wedding, for recommendations and I chose Joelle after spending a few minutes on her website. Two of her favorite things are burgers and champagne--a girl after my own heart. I sent her an e-mail at 9pm, she responded immediately, and after a few exchanges I hired her before I turned out the light and went to sleep. Best decision ever.

    The agreement for hiring her for month of coordination meant that she was available as a consultant during the planning stages, then was my go-to person in the last few weeks of prep, and was a constant during the big event. While there were times I wished I had hired her full-time because, let's face it, wedding planning is overwhelming and a full time job on it's own, I couldn't have been happier with the services Joelle provided. She knows the Santa Barbara wedding scene inside and out, so when I asked for recommendations on florists, hair/make-up, DJ, vendors, etc etc, she always steered me in the right direction. Her return e-mails were prompt and when I got really neurotic about things, she patiently sat on the phone while I talked through the tiniest details for entirely too long. She stayed in touch with all of my vendors to make sure deliveries and pick-ups were on time, and she even saved me money when our furniture vendor tried to charge me for damage to a coffee table. She luckily saw the damage when the table was delivered the morning of the wedding and took a picture of it to show the vendor.

    My wedding went of without a hitch thanks to our partnership. I will forever be grateful to her and her team for helping making my dream wedding come true!

  • C

    Cristina · Married on 07/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle was an amazing wedding coordinator.
    We hired her for the month of coordination, but she was very helpful since that first phone call we had. When my now husband told me: "hire her now!" and we did. It was definitely the best decision. I felt very relived after our conversation, she really put me at ease. After that, her guidance made this wedding as beautiful as it was.
    Once we reached the month before the wedding she took care of everything. All I had to do was share my vision for the wedding with her, and she made sure all the details were in place.

    The day of the wedding, I was more nervous than I thought I would be, but Joelle and her team made everything happen so smoothly, it was amazing! I had a lot of fun in my own wedding, which I kept hearing it's very rare, because you are so worried about all the details. Well, with Joelle's team taking care of everything, it was easy for us to enjoy our special day.
    They even decorated our room at the end of the night! It was the best welcome and a complete surprise! The flowers, gifts, personal items...everything was in the room, and the rest was packed for us to take at the reception desk, again, everything under control :-)

    We got many compliments on how much fun people had at our wedding, and on how everything was so beautiful. Joelle was a huge part of making this day the best of our lives: from putting me in contact with the best vendors, to organizing everything a month prior and on the big day.

    If you want somebody to guide you through the process while keeping your wedding the way you imagined it, Joelle is your girl!

  • C

    Corinne · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is absolutely nothing bad I can say about Joelle and her team. We hired Joelle as our day of Wedding Planner, but from the start she was like our wedding planner for the entire time. She was there for any questions, concerns, my freak outs, for everything. I probably contacted her a million times, and without hesitation she answered every question and kept me at ease.
    The day of went perfectly (and a lot of brides can't say that). I owe this to Joelle and her team. They saw my vision and made the wedding of my dreams come true. My husband and I couldn't have been happier with our choice in wedding planner.
    I would highly recommend Joelle Charming to anyone planning a wedding.

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I both agree that hiring Joelle was the best investment we made for the wedding. While many people would not consider a coordinator to be essential, Joelle was invaluable, help ease a ton of stress and was truly a pleasure to work with. The day of the wedding, all I had to do was enjoy myself – and that is priceless.

    We spent a lot of time meeting with several different wedding coordinators. Through our search we found everything from the overbearing to the extremely aloof and were left very discouraged. Then we met Joelle, and we knew instantly that we wanted to hire her as our day/month-of coordinator. First off, Joelle is an amazing person; she is also very organized, professional and friendly. She quietly and effectively takes care of business behind the scenes and makes sure everything goes seamlessly. We also really appreciated Joelle's availability for questions, vendor recommendations, and general guidance. Bottom line, we highly recommend Joelle!

  • M

    Mallory · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Joelle for month-of coordination. Planning an out-of-state wedding, I was unable to meet most vendors in person prior to the wedding and I was nervous about things running smoothly day-of.

    Joelle was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. When we were in the area from out of town, Joelle made time to meet with us and learn more about us and our vision (even though we had already spent a significant amount of time on the phone!). Joelle also provided many wedding "templates" that assisted me in my planning and I used them throughout the process!

    Though Joelle was providing only month-of services, she was available to me throughout the planning process. When we hit the one-month mark, Joelle took the reins and my final month of planning was a breeze! She confirmed all of my vendors, made a timeline, and was in constant communication with vendors, as needed. The day of the wedding, she coordinated everything PERFECTLY. Not a single complaint from me (the bride), the groom, wedding party, or a single guest. The day was seamless!

    Joelle is amazingly organized, professional, and personable! We highly recommend Joelle and A Charming Occasion!

  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle, Kristen, and Emily at A Charming Occasion were AWESOME! I really valued all of their hard work with my wedding. They were so key into the whole event coming together and happening as well as it did! They are amazing people who are super nice, easy to work with, fun to talk to, and great at what they do. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for event coordination or wedding planning. They were knowledgable in the industry and had a ton of props and decor that I was able to use in my wedding. It was a total joy having the opportunity to work with these awesome girls!

  • User3224411 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used A Charming Occasion for month-of services and we had the absolute BEST experience with Joelle and her team! From the very beginning, Joelle made us feel heard, special and a priority-and these feelings lasted throughout our entire planning process. Our actual wedding day was completely flawless and we owe Joelle for that. Leading up to the wedding day, she kept reassuring me that I wouldn't be bothered with any day of details or stressors and sure enough, she was right! Our day ran so smoothly, we were on schedule the entire day, and wherever I turned, she was there to assist us with whatever we needed. I can only imagine how hard they worked on our wedding day, but you would have never know as every time we saw them, they were calm, smiling and happy to be part of our day. Joelle and her team are all extremely professional and Joelle has the assertiveness and grace to get the job done effectively and with class. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding and are so thankful to have had a coordinator who not only met our expectations, but far exceeded them! Joelle is a master of her craft and will be taking the wedding planning industry by storm…and soon!

  • User3641404 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle was our wedding coordinator at Saddlerock Ranch Winery in Malibu, CA. She is simply AWESOME! Honestly, I didn't know what a wedding coordinator did, but this was a destination wedding so I felt it was important to have someone on the ground. Also, our venue was a complete blank slate. We had to hire multiple vendors that she coordinated and helped set-up the decor that day. It came out spectacular. She went above and beyond what I expected. She was there from start to finish. She kept her cool the entire time. My family and friends commented on her professionalism and how friendly she was with everyone. I received nothing but praises about her the entire night. She kept us on schedule. The event had a wonderful flow the entire night, which allowed me to focus on relaxing and I actually had a good time at my own wedding. It was wonderful. Joelle is worth every penny hands down. I honestly could not have pulled off this event without her.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You know the wedding planner was good when the husband is still raving about her. My husband tells everyone that hiring A Charming Occasion was the smartest thing we ever did for our wedding.

    Joelle is a breath of fresh air. I completed trusted her to make sure my wedding was amazing. She delivered and then some. Her whole team was so friendly and made me feel calm on my wedding day.

    I loved knowing while I was getting ready on my wedding day, that Joelle and her team were working hard behind the scenes to set up a gorgeous wedding. I was able to relax, knowing everything was being handled!!

    Looking back at the pictures, Joelle put so much love into the wedding. The details were everything. From the wooden box she put the grooms's flowers in to the gold birdcage she painted for cards....it was more than I could ever imagine.

    I only wish I could get married again so Joelle could plan my wedding all over again!

  • User3304984 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle is the best wedding planner anyone could ask for! My wedding was breathtaking and everything stayed pretty close to budget. She was always available and did an incredible job making my fairytale into a wedding reality.

  • T

    Tamara · Married on 07/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle was a joy and a pleasure to work with. She is warm, professional, calming and extremely organized... exactly what you want/need in a wedding coordinator. Her prices were also very reasonable compared to most other planners!

  • C

    Christopher · Married on 07/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we met Joelle, We were confident our wedding would be the day we always wanted. She was attentive, detail oriented and accommodating. She made sure all of our needs were met and our wants were considered and found a way to make sure they came to life. She always made herself available to us and we never had a problem communicating. I couldn't have asked for anything more.
    THANKS A MILLION JOELLE!!!

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle from A Charming Occasion provided day-of coordination for my wedding in Santa Barbara in May. Everything from our initial meeting through the wedding day went super smoothly. Joelle was very professional, responsive, and helpful through the whole process. In the months before the wedding, she checked in periodically and provided some vendor recommendations. A month out, she conducted a thorough walk-through of our venue and helped to secure the day-of timeline with us and our vendors. We had a few issues come up with coordinating all of the vendors with the venue, but Joelle handled everything behind-the-scenes to ensure that everything went well. She completely set up our ceremony and reception space with the decorations and supplies we provided and helped bring the whole look together -- it looked awesome and exceeded my expectations. The whole wedding day I was able to relax and focus on the experience instead of worrying about setting up or getting vendors arranged. Joelle and her intern Emily made everything appear seamless! I would highly recommend Joelle and her wedding planning services to anyone!

  • D

    dani · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle was my most reliable person, which is what you want in a wedding planner. She responds to your emails immediately. She addresses any concerns you have with suggestions and solutions. I was a very nervous bride. She had tissues in her pocket for me just before I walked down the isle. She had a diet coke waiting for me after the ceremony. She set up my entire wedding beautifully with all the favors and flowers and table numbers. She let me, my husband, and my guests have a night that evolved naturally, only coming to get me for the license signing and cake cutting. She wore an understated outfit not to take attention away from the bride. I truly felt taken care of by her and that I could trust her. She took care of the clean up at the end of the night with the venue so that I could leave the wedding with peace of mind. I hired Joelle as a day planner but really she does more than this. She has her own information and contact numbers and reviews things with your vendors herself, to make your day as easy as possible. Sometimes when vendors don't come through or something goes wrong, you do need that person that can give you helpful advice. If you've never been married you need someone to tell you what most people do and don't do while still giving you the opportunity to let you be you, and interject yourself into your own wedding. Joelle did just that. If I asked her what she thought she would tell me the ups and downs of doing it my way to relieve some of the pressure on the couple getting married. She's young and that means everything to a couple that needs things done quickly, affordable, and in a classical yet modern way. If we asked for something to be done she would not question it. Her outline and contract are detailed. She was the one who did up my bustle because it was so complicated. She called me several times before the wedding to make sure I was doing alright with my own planning. We couldn't have done it without her support and organization.

  • User2978499 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Future and currently engaged couples, take note, Jolle Duff is fabulous! My husband and I dated for 8 years and decided to plan a wedding in a little less than three months. Right away I knew Joelle would be able to help me pull off the perfect day in a short amount of time. Joelle quickly helped me organize and prioritize each and every detail. She sent me a list of vendors that fit my style perfectly. Her long list of connections in the LA/Santa Barbara/Ventura area are top notch, and she was able to help me get vendors whose work is featured on Style Me Pretty and Wedding Chicks. This was all with an extremely quick turn around time! Joelle did all of the calligraphy for our invites, and her handwriting is stunning. Everything was done beautifully. Joelle was able to help us make our day unique and special. She and her staff made a beautiful ribbon wall as a backdrop for our ceremony, designed our programs, small canvas quote decorations, and designed a stunning layout for our wine cellar reception. Joelle was always quick to answer emails and phone calls. We had many conversation about my vision and our special day was more beautiful than I could have dreamed of! If you are planning a wedding in 60 days or have over a year, I would strongly recommend Joelle. She will help make your big day more beautiful than you've ever imagined!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My now husband and I hired Joelle (A Charming Occasion) and her crew for our Jewish wedding on June 21 and besides getting married this was one of the smartest moves we made.

    We were a bit hesitant about hiring any wedding coordinator as it was hard for us to find someone that we felt we could trust to make our big day as special as we wanted it to be, but thankfully we did - because Joelle and her crew exceeded our expectations in every way.

    She was an absolute professional, organized, and a great communicator. She was extremely attentive - available when I needed her and responded quickly to every question that I had. From our very first conversation she made me feel that our wedding was just as important to her as it was to us.

    Plus, being her first traditional Jewish wedding and not wanting to disappoint, she eagerly jumped right in doing research on her own, discussing every detail with our Rabbi, making sure she understand all the new customs such as the Tish and Bedeken thoroughly.

    Joelle's staff was just as amazing as she was, they were kind, helpful, and courteous. They made all the guests feel welcomed and taken care of and they really made the wedding feel like an important and special occasion.

    There was also a TON of setting up and decorating that needed to be done and Joelle and her staff set everything perfectly. Their creativity and good aesthetics made everything look more beautiful than we had imagined.

    We cannot say enough good things about A Charming Occasion - Joelle and her crew. So, again thank you so much to all of them. And, trust us hiring her would be one of your best moves too!

    Amanda & Hillel

  • P

    paula · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Joelle to be our month of and day of coordinator.   Joelle was wonderful from our very first meeting we knew we were in good hands.  She was organized ,responsive to all our questions and thought of all the things we hadn't. On the day of the wedding Joelle and her assistant did a terrific job.  I gave her a rough idea of what I wanted the tables and decorations to look like and when I arrived at our venue I could not have been happier. Everything was beautiful.   I know that our wedding day would not have been as stress free and wonderful without her and all her hard work!!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our reception in my aunt and uncle's backyard, which could have been a logistical nightmare. However, with Joelle's help as our day-of coordinator, our vision became a reality. Her assistance with the wedding day timeline and wrangling our vendors was exquisite. She also helped my husband understand that a bartender was necessary after my unsuccessful attempts to convince him. She put us in touch with trusted vendors when we needed guidance and we were thrilled with all of her recommendations.

    The one word to describe Joelle is genuine. She genuinely cares about her clients and serves with poise and professionalism. When everything else in a bride's life seems chaotic leading up to the wedding, Joelle is a calming and steady force. I highly recommend wedding coordination services of Joelle Duff from A Charming Occassion.

  • L

    Liz · Married on 04/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were very happy that we chose Joelle for our day of coordinator. We thought in the beginning of planning our wedding that we would be able to handle the whole thing on our own without a coordinator. Once we were a few months closer to the big day we knew it was not going to happen, especially that we were not in the same city where we were getting married and she was! We researched coordinators within our budget and thought Joelle was the right for us. Joelle was on time and on top of her game and made us feel less worried. Anytime time we called, emailed, texted, she responded immediately. Not only was she very responsive and reliable she helped me with a couple of my unfortunate moments. For instance, I accidentally got lipliner on my dress and the button for the bustle on my dress came off and there she was to the rescue. She was always there and knew what to do on the spot. On the day of the wedding, I found myself thinking, Wow, I didn't have to do a thing but to enjoy my husband, and our wedding. My husband and I had such a great time! We highly recommend Joelle to anyone who is looking to have a wedding of a life time! Thank You Joelle, I don't' think we said it enough!

  • S

    Linda · Married on 02/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle's passion for event planning is only surpassed by her professionalism. She is reliable, detail-oriented and quick on her feet. We had Joelle coordinate our wedding at the Four Seasons and she managed it masterfully. She communicated precisely with vendors, kept track of schedule, resolved any issues on the spot and made sure that our guests were well taken care of. Thanks to her, our wedding flowed particularly well. She is also an amazing calligrapher; she made our escort cards and they were a big hit. If the goal is to have a fabulous event and be in good hands, you want Joelle.

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I can’t say enough amazing things about Joelle Duff.
    Her warmth and kindness is enviable, but best of all she is
    professional. She was absolutely a pleasure to work with, and was
    always responsive and comforting whenever we were in a panic. Joelle's
    customer service far exceeded my expectations. A great quality I
    admired in Joelle is she listened intently and could
    envision what I had in mind. She understood my personality, my taste
    and my expectations. She kept track of even the most minor of details,
    so I didn't have to worry about them. And with her charm, she did it
    with that bright and shiny smile! Under Joelle’s watchful eye, the rehearsal and wedding day went off without a problem. She organized the wedding party during the rehearsal, and gave gentle instructions to everyone on what to do and where to go. On our wedding day, she was also at the reception site to oversee and coordinate the vendor’s set-up, and to ensure that the room was set to perfection. Most importantly, Joelle was a friend during the whole wedding planning process. She kept calm, focused, centered, and most of all she kept us on schedule. I would highly recommend Joelle to any bride who is looking for “The Perfect Day.” Anyone and everyone with a Southern California wedding should hire Joelle!

  • M

    Amber · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so lucky to have Joelle help us on our wedding day. We thought we had it all under control, but when the day finally came, she was able to help with things we never anticipated. Even with rain and missing appetizers, she was able to keep calm and do what needed to be done so that we could enjoy our day. It really was the most amazing day in our lives, and we both know it wouldn’t have been that way without her.

  • L

    Lori · event on: 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joelle planned a wonderful party celebrating my fiftieth birthday last month. She exceeded all expectations. Her professionalism was evident throughout all of our dealings as well as comments I have received from the people attending my party. She was able to execute an incredible evening incorporating all of the points that I had expressed were important.
    I would definitely recommend her services as an event planner.
    Sincerely, Lori Nakanishi

  • J

    Jennica · Married on 03/11/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I recently got married and Joelle was with me from the very beginning. I have long admired her exceptional design skills, patience, thoughtfulness, and reassurance. At every major planning milestone, I felt totally understood and she beautifully brought my dream wedding to life. I could write an entire book singing her praises and still don't think it would cover everything. She's a true artist.

  • L

    Liz · Married on 09/06/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We hired Joelle as our wedding planner early on in our engagement so she was with us the whole year and a half of the wedding planning process. Joelle has a beautiful vision for design and was able to create a magical day that I would not be able to do without her help. She has an immense attention to detail and truly listens to what her customers want to make that vision come to life. Joelle is extremely responsive and was good about scheduling regular check-ins to ensure the wedding planning process was going smoothly. She also had many great recommendations for other wedding vendors that we used in our wedding and were very pleased with. On the day of the weding day there was a slip up, where the rental company provided tables that were too small, so we would not have enough seating for all our guests! Joelle handled it professionally and smoothly and got more tables right on the spot and I had no idea there was even an issue! And to top it off when my husband and I got back to our hotel room, it was decorated with leftover wedding desserts and flowers and decor from the wedding, which was such a nice, thoughtful touch to end the wedding night. We had so many compliments about our wedding and we would not have been able to do it without Joelle.