9 Reviews for Janice Martin Custom

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Bride (3)
Appts. Only (2)
Bridal Gowns (2)
Customization (1)
Customary (1)
Veils (1)
Sort by:

5.0

6/24/2016 = My dream wedding dress was a family heirloom. It first belonged to my grandma (married in 1954), and was next worn by my mom (married in 1978). I loved this dress, and remarkably, it was in mint condition. But it didn’t fit, and it wasn’t flattering. Janice Martin Couture had gotten rave reviews, especially when it came to heirloom dresses, and it’s clear why. Her expertise is outstanding. She easily assessed my dress and my figure, listened to what I wanted, and arrived at the perfect redesign so that would get to wear the dress of my dreams. Beyond her expertise in design and alterations, Janice is a wonderfully warm human being, and the atmosphere she creates in her shop is so comfortable. We were a team in this project, discussing ideas and comparing looks. My headpiece, from my mother-in-law, was also redesigned by Janice. The original long veil was replaced with a birdcage veil, a perfect style match for my 1950’s dress. Everything looked AMAZING for my wedding day. Throughout the entire process, Janice was well organized and communication was on point. There were no hidden costs – everything was discussed and determined at the start (including the bag and steaming), so I could easily plan my budget. A dress designed or redesigned by Janice Martin is worth every penny.

Profile Picture Jessica, 6/24/16, 8 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Bridal Gowns, Customary, Veils, Appts. Only, Customization, Bride
5.0

Where do I start!! Janice is a gem in disguise and worth every single penny. She work magic to my Pronovias dress that needed a lot of work. I brought my dress to her with less than a month left before I walk down the aisle to marry my prince charming and I got it back on time. My dress needed to be resized, sleeves needed to be added, the hem was to long. She was always open to my ideas, suggestions, likes & dislikes. Though she is a bit pricey but you truly get what you paid for! She is worth every penny!! I highly recommend her!

Profile Picture Ingrid, 5/26/16, 8 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Bridal Gowns, Bride, Appts. Only
5.0

Janice Martin is a wonderful designer and made my daughter's wedding dress look absolutely beautiful!! It was an Allure wedding gown bought at a bridal shop in Ellicott City, Maryland. We never thought to look at the reviews on the alterations before purchasing, so my daughter was horrified when she read the horrible reviews regarding the alterations at this shop. When we finally found another shop that agreed to do the alterations, my daughter missed the appointment due to a job interview in Philadelphia, PA that she couldn't pass up. She relocated to PA shortly thereafter. We knew we were running out of time to have the alterations done, so my daughter began checking into bridal shops and places that do wedding gown alterations in Philadelphia. That is when we found Janice Martin Couture's reviews on Wedding Wire and other wedding sites. Little did we know how wonderful her dress would turn out! My daughter had an initial consultation with her and knew right away that she knew her stuff! I thought the dress was beautiful before she started the alterations, but it was even more gorgeous after she was finished. My daughter has a very tiny waist and is a size 0, so the gown needed to be taken in at the waist by 3 inches. Janice sewed an elastic waist band inside the gown, fixed the bust line, took in the dress at the top and did the hem just perfectly!! The dress fit my daughter like a glove and everyone said that it is the most beautiful wedding gown they had ever seen!

I highly recommend this designer to either make your wedding gown, remake it to suit your style or just do your alterations. She is amazing and extremely talented. Janice even picked out the perfect jewelry to go with my daughter's gown and baked that into the cost of the alterations. Thank you so much Janice for making our daughter's wedding gown one of the most beautiful gowns I've ever seen!! She looked absolutely stunning in her gown and we are so grateful we found you!!

Profile Picture User5580427, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Bride
5.0

Thank you Janice for a one-of-a-kind dress! Janice reworked my mom's 1987 gown into something modern, chic and timeless. Her shop is wonderful and private, you feel like you are the only bride on her mind! She was great at responding to emails and scheduling through my packed schedule.

My only qualm would be to ask what a final price would be including a bag (if you are having Janice make you one, which I recommend!) and pressing of the dress, or at least discuss/ think about these items beforehand since I felt a little stressed making these decisions the week of my wedding.

There is no one the area who can do what Janice does to her standards. My dress was absolutely flawless down to every single bead.

Profile Picture Maria, 9/12/14, 9 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

The dress that Janice made for me was the most fantastic thing I have ever worn. Janice is terrific to work with and every fitting was a great experience. Having a dress custom made was so special. She was able to work with my vision of a sculptural dress, and there was no way I would have ever found what I wanted shopping around. Cut out the nonsense of looking and go to the best dress maker in town and get exactly what you want. It is absolutely worth every penny.

Profile Picture lavinia, 6/15/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

Janice Martin is a couture dressmaker extraordinaire! Her shop Janice Martin Couture is located in Ardmore, PA and easily accessible from the greater Philadelphia area. I found Janice and knew she could create the wedding gown of my dreams. I wanted a vintage-inspired, sexy gown that was anything but traditional! Janice first created a "sloper" for my body out of cotton muslin. From that she was able to create a pattern for my body EXACTLY. I am full-figured and the gowns I found "off the rack" in bridal stores were just not created for my body type. Janice helped me pick fabrics and we finalized on a hot pink bustier bodice with a silk organza skirt that had pieces of fabric or "floofs" as we called them all over the bottom. It was a barbie doll look inspired by Rosemary Clooney's black gown in "White Christmas." I was and still am IN LOVE with my dress! It fit like a dream and it was so full of my personality!! You can see pictures of my gown on my blog: http://blog.bethblineburydesign.com/2012/06/dreaming-of-a-grown-up-wedding-gown/

Profile Picture Beth, 11/5/11, 2 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

After I decided that I was going to use my maternal grandmother's dress for my wedding gown, my bridal consultant recommended I work with Janice Martin. This was going to be my first exposure to a couture shop, so I didn't know what to expect. And, my husband was quite skeptical about the notion of using my grandmother's very conservatively designed 1945 wedding dress. After meeting Janice and Freddie in her shop and learning that the fabric of my grandmother's dress was in great condition for re-designing, we started planning. Although not every bride wants to take a lot of time to plan and design her dress, I did. It was so much fun! Janice graciously took in all my ideas and massaged them with her years of professional expertise. We spent hours "noodling" different designs, draping the fabric to see what could be done and how it looked, and "blue-skying" what would come next. In the end, my dress came out TRULY unique and stunning. My husband was speechless when he saw me in the gown. He couldn't stop telling me how gorgeous the gown was and how amazing I looked in it. Everyone who has seen the dress marvels at Janice's talent for transforming what was once a very conservatively designed gown into a modern, sexy and sophisticated one. Beyond the outstanding look, it functioned perfectly. I danced the night away without pulling up the strapless top ONCE. She truly is an amazingly talented dressmaker. I expect to build a collection of Janice Martin attire over the years, but will always have a special place in my heart for my wedding gown.

Profile Picture Jennifer, 8/17/11, 1 Review
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

Janice did a beautiful job with the dress. She really honored the tradition of the dress, and still made something unique--both classic and modern all at once. She was great to work with. We would recommend her very highly.

Profile Picture Jeffrey, 8/14/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

I don't even know where to begin in recommending Janice Martin Couture for your wedding gown (or bridesmaids, or mother of the bride or groom!). Having my dress made for me is an experience I will never forget and I am just so thrilled with the results. Janice isn't an off the rack or made to measure experience. There is nothing to try on upon your first visit. Do not be put off by this. You will sit down with Janice and discuss any ideas you have (I tried on some dresses at other places earlier to get some ideas, this helped me with this initial stage). Janice will work with you to develop those ideas and your budget. I'd advise listening to her advice - she really understands women's bodies and knows what is going to make you look fabulous (and what might not!).

Once this initial stage of sketching and discussion is done, then the fun begins. She'll make a muslin version of the dress first, which involves standing and having muslin fitted to you. This takes a few sessions, but is the basis of the pattern that will eventually become your dress. Then slowly and surely your dress will come into being. This is a really great process as it's kind of a gradual evolution - if there is something that isn't working, then it is tinkered with until it does, which is the great part of having a dress made for you. It is so rewarding and exciting when the dress finally starts looking like a wedding dress.

Janice and her assistant Irene are both very patient and talented women who were an absolute pleasure to work with. I used to look forward to going to have a fitting as they are just so nice. Janice is flexible and really will work with you to get the dress of your dreams.

My dress was absolutely stunning - I wasn't sure when I started exactly what I was going to get, so it is a bit of a leap faith, but my goodness it was worth it. My dress fitted PERFECTLY and I didn't have to pull it up once all day (unlike nearly all the other brides I've seen wearing strapless dresses)! It is a one of a kind and it truly reflected my personality.

Thank you so much Janice for all your hard work - I loved my dress!

Profile Picture Faye, 5/23/10, 9 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire