InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza Reviews

6 | Kansas City, MO
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for InterContinental Kansas City At The Plaza

Recommended by 70% of couples

3.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.6
  • Professionalism 3.7
  • Flexibility 3.3
  • Value 3.4
  • Average response time 3.5

Awards

6
Order by:
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/21/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding at the rooftop ballroom and the ceremony in the Oak bar. It was an excelent venu as the room was provided for both the wedding and reception with purchase of at least $25,000 in catering. Overall i would recommend it for a night to remember. A hotel room was provided free of charge for myself and my husband. Sara was flexiable with her schedual and able to provide excelent guidence in preparing for our big day.

    Sent on 08/04/2008
  • User5422052 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Vanessa was absolutely wonderful to work with. I loved the newly renovated ball room so much that I canceled all my other appointments to look at venues.

    Sent on 09/27/2015
  • K

    karen · Married on 09/18/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our September wedding at the rooftop ballroom. Dustin Logan was our point person (catering director). The venue was nice ballroom with beautiful chandeliers. We had such an amazing view of the Plaza for our guests to enjoy while they were at our reception. Dustin was AWESOME. The service at the hotel was exceptional.

    Sent on 07/14/2011
  • Marcella

    Marcella · Married on 06/29/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, excellent food, magical night

    My husband and I went on numerous dates here, and decided it would be the perfect place to hold our wedding reception. The intercontinental hotel has a timeless elegance, with a beautiful view of the plaza in the rooftop ballroom. Nothing else says 'Kansas City' like the plaza. The ballroom and bar area has beautiful wood, columns, and impressive ceilings. The floor to ceiling windows offer a spectacular view! Everyone we worked with throughout the process was great.

    The food was awesome, but we had to push them a little. Our first tasting was terrible, and we ended up picking only two entrees because the other choices were so poor. However, we spoke with the manager and came back for a second tasting. At that time, the food was amazing. It was also very good on our wedding night, and everyone was pleased. We were able to offer four meal options for our guests.

    Pricing is a little confusing if you work with their florist, Larry Wheeler, so make sure you understand that his arrangements are not included in what you are already paying the intercontinental. He did a wonderful job on the flowers and tables. He is very energetic, passionate, and fun to work with.

    The space was able to accommodate our ten piece band, with a large enough dance floor. The only negative was it got so hot with all the lighting and equipment from the band. We were all very warm. We asked them to turn the air down, but it did not make a difference. We love the venue and would choose them again, but just be aware that there were some negatives along the way (poor first tasting, confusing prices for floral arrangements, and not enough A/C). Positives are it is a beautiful venue, offers great service, and has supreme organization from the coordinators.

    Sent on 07/11/2019
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/17/2009

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I would not recommend this venue to ANYBODY!

    Sent on 11/02/2009
  • A

    Anh · Married on 09/05/2010

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    This place was full of false promises. You definitely don't get what you pay for and you end up paying A LOT. Food was cold and definitely did not meet our expectations. We could have gone to a low class venue and the food would have tasted better. Definitely would not recommend this place!

    Sent on 02/03/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review