Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism Reviews

78 | Carmel by the Sea, CA
See photos, pricing and details

78 Reviews for Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism

Recommended by 99%

78
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

13 User photos

Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 1
Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 2
Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 3
Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 4
Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 5
Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 6
Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 7
+ 7
Sort by:
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding went by so fast, I barely had time to take it all in. Ian was able to capture the moments I missed and the beauty of the entire event! I wanted my pictures to tell a story and Ian was able to do just that! He was so easy to work with!

    Sent on 06/07/2013
  • L

    Leigh Ann & Wayne · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian's pictures were amazing! We could not of been happier with his work. He was such a pleasure to work with during our special day. He has given us a lifetime of wonderful memories! We would highly recommend his work!

    Sent on 02/18/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is a delight to work with. He has an easy personality and upbeat demeanor that put everyone at ease. But it's his sense of composition and his understanding of light that work in combination to produce extraordinary wedding photographs. I cannot recommend Ian more highly. (While beautiful, his website doesn't do him justice...)

    Sent on 01/03/2013
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 07/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There just simply are not enough words to appropriately describe the wonderfulness that Ian Martin is behind a camera. Even before he got behind a camera, I was completely in awe of his professionalism and experience. I "signed" our contract on our first phone call, and then when we met Ian in person for our engagement shoot - my husband and I were completely WOW-ed!! He put us at such ease taking our photos (which is kinda hard to do with the pressure of engagement shoots, right?) Ian went out of his way to make our wedding day extra special; he arrived to the venue early, and rode in the limo with us, he completely put our happiness and our photojournalism first and the pictures are absolutely stunning to prove it. My husband has already said, "maybe he can do our baby pictures?" Ian gets 10 stars out of 5 if you ask me!!

    Sent on 12/11/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was amazing!!! He captured every moment of our wedding so perfectly. He managed to be everywhere, with out being noticed. He is a very talented photo journalist. We will forever be grateful to Ian for helping us cherish and remember one of the best days/ times of our life.

    He was wonderful in every way, professional, creative, flexible, and passionate.
    You can tell from his work he really loves what he does.

    Our wedding was a long day for Ian, full of love, fun and laughter. Ian went above and beyond. He was hired to be there from 11am to 9pm. He got there at 10 am and started getting a feel for the place and snapping shots. When 9 o'clock rolled around he came to say good bye my husband and I , but the wedding was still in full swing so he kept taking pictures past his contracted time. He just could not pass on capturing the moment.

    Ian also made the extra effort to come to our Venue ( Stillwater Overlook in Pebble beach) the day before and get a better feeling for the place since he had never been there before. We ran over plans for the next day.

    To make him even more amazing, the day before the wedding when he came to the Venue he took some wonderful photos of my Grandfather (who has Alzheimer's and was having a " good day") with the family, since we had no idea what the next day would be like. He took advantage of the moment. We will cherish those photos forever.

    We were so fortunate to have found Ian to capture our big day. Thanks to Ian we will have fantastic photos to remember our unforgettable wedding day!!

    Contracting Ian Martin was one of the best things we could have done for our wedding!

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was fantastic. He's relaxed and laid back, and took a lot of great pictures without getting in everyone's face.

    Plus, he's a great resource, since he's worked at so many weddings. During the reception, every time we weren't sure what we were supposed to be doing, we'd just ask him. He knew about all the traditions but wasn't pushy about anything.

    Plus you get the electronic files for the photos, so you don't have to spend a lot of extra money on prints.

    Sent on 07/05/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were delighted with Ian as our wedding photographer. He was really easy to work with and immediately put us at ease, and made posing for the photos fun. The end result was fantastic - exactly what we hoped for and really captured the essence of the day. I can't recommend him highly enough!

    Sent on 06/06/2012
  • S

    Barbara and Mike · Married on 04/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was the best! His skills as a photojournalist were appreciated greatly. All our photos were taken in a casual professional way that enabled the bride, groom and guests to enjoy this special day. The finished photo product turned out to be unbelievable making the outside/inside settings spectacular. We want to return to our wedding site soon, the photography is such a pleasure to see. The actual photos make your heart skip a beat, beautiful to the max. We have never seen wedding photos that are as perfect as ours catching each smile and action to perfection.
    Ian is a fantastic photographer. We highly recommend Ian to capture your special wedding today, he knows what he is doing!

    Sent on 05/21/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 02/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding pictures turned out beautiful! Ian did an awesome job of really capturing the day!

    Sent on 03/27/2012
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 09/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian was the photographer for our wedding. In addition to being an absolute sweetheart and a pleasure - blessing - to work with, he is a true artist. Ian captured the purest essence of our love - no easy task with a 38+1/2 year age difference! And he captured the spirit of the day and celebration, as well. Not enough superlatives in the English language to describe Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism!

    Sent on 05/10/2018
    Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 8
    Ian Martin Wedding Photojournalism 9
  • Shara

    Shara · Married on 09/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so impressed with the service that Ian Martin provided for us. When we first met Ian, he was immediately down to earth, funny and friendly with us. It is easy to communicate with him, to ask questions and have them answered and to collaborate towards a shared vision for capturing your special wedding day. His photojournalism artwork is provocative and expertly executed; his wedding photography is personal, vibrant and creative. Ian really honored the "in the moment" style of photography we had asked for. He was flexible, on time and our guests were charmed by his wit and playfulness and said they felt very comfortable with Ian. Ian was also patient and timely with my million bride emails asking for help with different details along the way!
    The photos are stunning. We had such an eclectic, fun and loving wedding and celebration and Ian undoubtedly captured that feeling.

    Sent on 10/29/2011
  • R

    David · Married on 12/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Brazilian Room in Tilden Park and found Ian's name on the the vendor list provided during a wedding fair.

    After talking with a couple of photographers, we knew Ian was the perfect match. He is very personable, professional, and had great photos! We also LOVED the fact he provided us with our photos on a disc automatically, rather than charging for this as many other photographers do. We also appreciated the fact he did not include the price of an album in his fees. While he offered this as a service, it was not mandatory, like many of the other people we looked at. (We just created a book using iPhoto on the Mac and they came out great with the photos we got from Ian! There are also programs to do this on a Windows machine.)

    We highly recommend Ian's services and also loved the fact he was the one who recommended our florist who also turned out to be simply amazing (Chestnut and Vine in Berkeley).

    Sent on 01/29/2011
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian is fantastic to work with. He also takes fantastic photos. He captured some great night shots as well as all the important moments of the day. He sent our photo DVD to us very quickly (within 5 weeks) and had our online gallery up and running at about the same time.

    He is very professional yet laid back. He has a great vibe about him.

    Sent on 01/28/2011
  • P

    Udi · Married on 08/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Ian for our wedding, which took place at the Brazil Room in Tilden Park on August 2010. Ian was simply great and we cannot recommend him enough. He was pleasant, patient, and professional, he brought tons of good vibes to the event, and his photos really captured the atmosphere of our wedding. Flipping through the album, we were very happy with the results, and felt like we were re-living the entire thing.

    Sent on 10/24/2010
  • N

    Niloo · Married on 05/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian Martin was referred to us by a friend of my husbands. She said that when Ian is photographing a wedding, he has a way of making everyone feel comfortable. We met Ian for a drink to look at his beautiful photography portfolios and knew right away that he would the perfect choice for us, especially since we were interested in a journalistic and creative approach to wedding photography.

    Our wedding ceremony was at SF City Hall, and our reception was at Foreign Cinema Restaurant. Ian was able to capture the grandeur and elegance of City Hall and the fun, chic and cinematic atmosphere of Foreign Cinema. Our photographs are beautiful, unique, fun, and very touching; a truly great memory of a very important event in our life.

    Friends and family who have seen our pictures are full of compliments which include "He made some really original choices", and "I am sad I missed it all and happy to have your album, it made me feel like I was there, a part of your lovely day. The happiness you radiate in every photo is just so palpable. Whoever took these photos did a marvelous job of capturing the joy and style of this day".

    I would wholeheartedly recommend Ian Martin's services to anyone looking for a wedding photographer. He is passionate about his work, full of spirit, charming, and he is sure to capture great memories of your special day with his individual style and approach.

    Sent on 07/08/2010
  • M

    Nicole · Married on 05/01/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian both documented and captured the mood of our outdoor daytime Bay Area wedding without resorting to posed snapshots.

    Ian was great with my husband, who pretty much has zero tolerance for posing for photos. Our couples shots are very natural and beautiful.

    Ian was great with my guests, capturing the moments and yet not getting in the way.

    The photos themselves (digital and hard copy) were high quality.

    Regarding the style of the final prints -- Ian's style is to soften the edges of the final photos with a subtle but perceptible dark filter of perhaps 2-5% on just the borders of the total frame. I love the sort-of mid-century modern quality that the final images have as a result. You just have to be OK with that look.

    I saw a lot of other (talented) wedding photographers with different styles, including bright and super-saturated colors (like candy colors); sepia/yellow-y 70s-style with rounded edges; highly posed "now all 16 bridesmaids hold these matching pink parasols, jump in the air and say cheese!" look. Ian's style is altogether different than any of those. For us, it was perfect.

    I highly recommend Ian and his work.

    Sent on 02/03/2012
  • M

    L · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In selecting a photographer for our wedding, it was important that the story be told photographically as the day really occurred. Ian accomplished exactly that, his talent as a photojournalist is evident in the photos of the day. He has a knack for artistically capturing the details of a story and communicating the overall event as well as interesting nuances. We highly recommend him, and could not be more pleased with our wedding photos.

    Sent on 09/02/2010
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 10/13/2002

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is nothing more important to a wedding than the photography. We
    couldn't be happier about, not only the photos, but the way Ian
    treated us on our special day. He was so much fun to work with he felt like a part of the family! I will never understand how he managed to always be in the right place at the right time without ever intruding on our intimate moments. He told our story so beautifully! Every time I look at our photos I am transported back to that day! The moments he captured will stay with us for the rest of our lives as if they happened only yesterday. He is truly gifted!

    Sent on 06/29/2011
  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/17/2002

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian took incredible pictures of our wedding. He took the time to get to know us, and the photographs really reflect our style--they aren't just some standard wedding pictures. He was terrific at handling our two very large families for the family portrait, including elderly relatives who couldn't walk well or stand for long--and squirmy kids. He was so easygoing and kind to everyone--but really got the job done efficiently. My husband hates photographs, but somehow Ian got him to look relaxed and happy in almost every shot. He took so many great pics during the ceremony, and we never saw him during it. I'm still not sure how he managed to be so unobtrusive and still take such great pics.
    You can't go wrong hiring Ian--you will get incredibly creative and beautiful pictures and get to work with a genuinely nice guy.

    Sent on 04/04/2011
  • H

    Hanako · Married on 09/17/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better wedding photographer! Not only was he a lot of fun to work with, he certainly captured many of the natural interactions that were happening between people. There were many times that we didn't even notice that he was there/taking a photo, and sure enough, he single-handedly captured many happy moments. He was very accommodating with the photo shoots before and after the ceremony. And, because we needed to put together a photo slideshow for our second wedding reception abroad several weeks later, he gave us the link to the photos within the provided timeline. I haven't been able to stop looking through his beautiful documentation of our wedding day and reliving every moment of it!

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/04/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was great working with Ian for our wedding photography! He was professional, charismatic and delivered fabulous photos, while somehow being unobtrusive throughout the event. We wanted someone who could capture the little moments that made our day special, and Ian did so flawlessly. We are so thrilled with how our photos turned out and we would recommend Ian to anyone in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 10/22/2016
  • B

    Bob · Married on 09/29/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian came highly recommended and this turned out to be an accurate comment. All of our pre planning, all of the details we worked out, a lot of them at his suggestion, were met with a much better outcome than we assumed. A good photographer grabs those moments through their lens that do not call for posing, but for that natural instinct to capture that moment without staging....Ian certainly showed his professionalism by shooting our wedding with a lot of those moments that will last not only in print but also in our memories. The results of his expertise with his camera, lenses and lighting while moving throughout our wedding resulted in pictures that we are very, very happy with.

    Sent on 10/01/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/09/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We love how beautifully Ian Martin captured the joy and special candid moments throughout our wedding day, especially the reception! We love looking back through our album and love that we have the disc to print the photos ourselves. He was very friendly, helpful and responsive during our conversations in the planning period. He was also very organized, understanding and thorough regarding what we wanted, what he needed and what we should keep in mind, etc., for a smooth and successful day. He respected our wishes to keep the formal photo shoot down to about 30 minutes or so, which was wonderful!... he had a down-to-business group management style, but ultimately it was necessary to get everyone in and out and to the party like we wanted. We are very happy we chose Ian to capture our wedding!

    Sent on 12/18/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 03/28/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Ian 3 weeks after I was engaged and just knew from his website and my continuous online searching that he was the guy for us!!! Man, was I right on!! Ian's pictures of our wedding really captured the moments and the love that filled the air that day. I have family and clients that I show my wedding pictures to and they ALL love them, saying it's like we were straight from a bridal magazine!! He's not cheap, but you do get a whole package of a reAlly cool guy and a FABULOUS photographer!

    Sent on 05/31/2011
  • T

    Tonya · Married on 06/13/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Ian truly captured the moment! We loved his journalistic style instead of all the "posed" photos..

    Sent on 07/17/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review