Hulbert Outdoor Center Reviews

8 | Fairlee, VT
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Hulbert Outdoor Center

Recommended by 99%

8

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

35 User photos

Hulbert Outdoor Center 1
Hulbert Outdoor Center 2
Hulbert Outdoor Center 3
Hulbert Outdoor Center 4
Hulbert Outdoor Center 5
Hulbert Outdoor Center 6
Hulbert Outdoor Center 7
+ 29
Sort by:
  • A

    Audrey Kaplan · Married on 08/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Labor Day Wedding Weekend 2019

    What a blast we all had this Labor Day for my daughter’s wedding weekend!
    Ross, you and your staff, specifically Helen and John (in the kitchen), were so very helpful, kind, patient, professional and generous. And happy! It was all smiles, all the time!
    All of the other staff were great as well, I just didn’t get all the names.
    Everyone had fun in the water, the ropes course, the fields. Whatever they chose to do, all had a fabulous (and safe) time.
    I continue to get compliments, with so many people saying it was the very best wedding they’ve ever been to: Relaxed, fun, magical and delicious!
    The breakfast and lunches were tasty and plentiful – just fabulous!
    While I didn’t have anything to do with the planning, and as the mother of the bride, I was certainly a nudge (I couldn’t help myself) . Yet you made me feel welcome, heard and important. Any anxiety's I had (there were many) were all squelched,
    I work four hours south of you at an elegant venue that hosts many events, including weddings, which has set the bar very high for me for attention to detail and excellence. You have surpassed the standards I’m used to!
    Truthfully, I am not a camper. My personal version of camping involves room service and a hotel, so I had no idea what to expect from “A Camp.” Well, my advance fears of bugs and heat and super-rustic everything were so unfounded. It was absolutely wonderful.
    Many, many thanks for making our daughter’s wedding a most memorable day, night, weekend.
    I have heard from many of our guests who all agree. There’s talk of a possible family reunion at the camp!

    Sent on 09/06/2019
  • K

    kelly · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Our Camp Wedding weekend!

    Wow wow wow!!! We had the most amazing wedding weekend at Hulbert!! Everything was just perfect!! Being at Hulbert all weekend was so great and everyone could not stop raving about the beautiful venue and setting!

    The kitchen and staff did an amazing job seeing to our every need! The food was amazing all weekend and everyone was so attentive!

    We could not have picked a more perfect place to celebrate our wedding and are so excited we chose Hulbert! The scenery was unreal and there were fun activities for everyone to enjoy! Our guests loved staying in the cabins all weekend, and we loved having our Camp wedding weekend with everyone! .

    Jason and Ross were so helpful every step of the way and they executed the best weekend!!

    We had the most amazing wedding weekend!!!

    Sent on 01/22/2019
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 8
  • J

    Jenn Wheeler · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Weekend For All

    My husband and I have a strong connection to The Aloha Foundation so for us picking this spot was a no brainer from the get go, however after my experience I do not think I can even articulate how wonderful it was and how anyone wanting a camp wedding should definitely have it at The Hulbert Outdoor Center. IT WAS SO MUCH FUN!!!!!
    Ross Cannon (Events Director & our coordinator) was absolutely unbelievable. So on point with everything. I was my own planner so I spent a lot of time going back and forth with Ross securing my crazy ideas (of which he was always down to accommodate) and settling on timelines. I was very detailed oriented and every single thing that I had decided and communicated to Ross happened with quality and care. I was a little worried that since I had done all the planning that I wouldn't be able to stop focusing on details the weekend of, but I felt so confident with Ross there that I didn't for a moment step out of the moment and concern myself with any of the logistics or behind the scenes stuff. He is a true professional and just the most calm and effective coordinator any bride could wish for.
    The campus is amazing and we used just about every piece of it. Our wedding was over a three day weekend so we had time to play and chill with our guests at the waterfront, swimming and boating. We had opened archery, tennis, basketball... and many other fun camp activities I can't even remember right now.
    The first night my husband and I hosted an intimate dinner with our immediate families on the top of the castle (another crazy idea Ross got behind without flinching), we had a welcome party with smores, firepits and beverages at a unit clubhouse. Most of our guests stayed on campus in the open air tents/cabins or the winterized cabins. We had a huge rehearsal dinner with all 200+ guests at the waterfront. I had brought in a company to add an additional tent to the field adjacent to the main house for the rest of our meals since we were such a large group. The Ceremony was in the most gorgeous clearing in the woods just over a little wooden bridge. The old barn was lit up with fairy lights for our cocktail hour and dance party. Every firepit, refreshment stand, lounge chair and cocktail table was shuffled around just as Ross and I had planned and there was zero drama when it came to any of it. The guests were blown away by the helpfulness and overwhelming joyfulness of the staff. The lunches and breakfasts (the meals we had Hulbert host) were delicious and set up so nicely. Ross and I had discussed the menu in advance and we could not be more pleased with how our assigned chef, Dan, beautifully and deliciously put it all together.
    The only small thing that wasn't a dream when it came to this process with Hulbert was that their registration system for guests to sign up for housing and meals was quite clunky. I am sure it is a system that works great for school groups and such, but it did not integrate well with our wedding website and required a decent amount of back and forth between us, the registrar and our guests to get everything right. I'm sure if it hasn't already, as their wedding business grows this small detail will be updated to be more inline with the very tech-friendly wedding scene.
    All in all the whole weekend was magical for us and our guests. Do yourself the favor and choose this warm and happy community to help you create the camp wedding of your dreams :)

    Sent on 08/20/2019
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 9
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 10
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 11
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 12
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 13
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 14
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 15
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 16
  • Jeanne

    Jeanne · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Like Something Out of a Movie!

    We were floored by the level of service we received from the HOC staff, especially given that they are not primarily a wedding venue but first & foremost a children's summer camp! We felt we received great value being able to rent the entire grounds from Friday - Sunday and have all of our guests stay on-site. We were given dedicated staff to assist with little odds and ends. The food was great and everyone had a wonderful time! My favorite memory (and something straight out of a movie) was when during our reception, a glass broke on the dance floor. A server came out with a mop and after the job was done started dancing with the mop in the center of the floor. Our guests loved it - we thought it was the coolest thing! It was just so down to earth, relaxed and exactly what we were looking for for SUCH an important weekend in our lives. We can't thank the HOC staff enough for all they did for us!

    Sent on 01/23/2019
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 17
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 18
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 19
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 20
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 21
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 22
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 23
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 24
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 25
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 26
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 27
  • Matt

    Matt · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful memorial day wedding

    Hulbert was the best find we could have imagined for our weekend wedding. Jason and Ross were incredible, the cabins were warm and comfortable, the staff kind and flexible, the food good, the barn gorgeous, and the grove (where we held the ceremony) was stunning. What more could you ask for?

    Really, Hulbert for us was the perfect level of DIY. We decorated, installed some outdoor lights and nice wooden signs, and built a chuppah in the grove. But it didn't take much to make it beautiful, because the canvas we were working with was already so great. Ross and Jason were with us every step of the way, making recommendations, sharing advice and lessons from past couples, and figuring out ways they could help us. We'd pick Hulbert again in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 02/04/2019
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 28
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 29
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 30
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 31
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 32
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 33
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 34
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 35
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 36
  • Maria

    Maria · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience. Perfect rustic venue

    I can not say enough about Ross and Jason at Hulbert Outdoor Center! From beginning to end they were professional, flexible and really willing to work with us to help our vision become a reality! The other staff were awesome and always willing to help make our weekend amazing! The venue itself is a stunning setting with either lakeside (where we had our ceremony) or in the woods ceremony sites the scenery is amazing. The barn was perfect for our reception. They allowed all the decorations we wanted and even helped our family set up- I wasn’t there for the set up and it was better than I imagined! The food was exceptional we had our rehearsal dinner, breakfast, lunch, wedding meal and brunch the next day! They had great variety and were willing to work with food preferences and restrictions. They cut and served our cake and even put some leftovers out for brunch :) We loved the huge bonfire after the reception- it was a great way to wind now the night. They had plenty of activities for our guests to use prior to the ceremony and during the reception. There is hiking, kayaking, swimming, basketball, tennis, lawn games, and much more! My nephews really liked the castle! The cabins were perfect for our guests to stay in overnight so we could rest easy knowing people could enjoy themselves and be safe. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are clean and spacious. There was also lodging options close by and the hulbert staff ran a shuttle to and from our other lodging options for a very reasonable fee. I could go on and on but there was not one thing I didn’t like! It was amazing what we got for what we paid! There was so much included and no hidden costs! I recommend highly!
    As a side note they did not have a liquor license so we had to hire a bar service- they have a list of recommendations :)

    Sent on 01/22/2019
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 37
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 38
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 39
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 40
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 41
    Hulbert Outdoor Center 42
  • Alex

    Alex Stern · Married on 09/14/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great Venue & Great Team

    I have been working with Ross, and he is phenomenal! The number 1 thing I love about him, is when I have a crazy idea he doest look at me and say "no" he says "lets see how we can figure that out"

    Sent on 08/05/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review