House of Maya Reviews

350 | Suffolk, VA
See photos, pricing and details

350 Reviews for House of Maya

Recommended by 92%

350
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • Jalisa

    Jalisa · Married on 04/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To have it be my first time dress shopping it was a wonderful experience. The staff was welcoming and very professional. I will be visiting again soon!

  • C

    Challisa · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah Knapek was amazing!! She was just as, if not more, excited about helping me find the perfect wedding dress! I told her what style of dress I liked and she helped me pick a few dresses out. She helped me put on the dresses and try on veils. She was kind to my best friend who was there with me, and my Mom who skyped in to watch the whole process. Sarah was sweet, kind and extremely helpful. I appreciated her opinion,insight, and experience. She truly cares about her clients/customers. Everything was done smoothly and effortlessly. I was more than satisfied with the care and attention I received from Sarah at Maya Couture!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Claire as my consultant at Maya Couture in Norfolk and I had an amazing experience! She looked at my wedding dress Pinterest board before my appointment and already knew what designers and styles I liked. Claire allowed us to feel like we had control of the appointment, letting us walk around and pick dresses, while also adding her ideas and expertise. She even pulled a bridesmaid dress in the color I was considering and had my sister (the maid of honor) put it on so we could see it next to the wedding dresses. Claire was so bubbly and friendly and made me feel so comfortable throughout the appointment. It was like shopping with my best friend, who also happened to be super knowledgeable about wedding dresses! I definitely recommend going to Maya Couture to find your dress!

  • C

    Colleen · Married on 12/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved working with Kori at House of Maya. She listened to my ideas and was able to gauge my reactions to each gown. She was knowledgeable and professional and was able to ease my nerves. My parents and I found her funny, engaging, and very thoughtful. It was a great experience!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By far the best bridal experience I've had! My consultant Clair was AMAZING, she was very personable and picked dresses that fit my style without me having to tell her. I would highly recommend Maya Couture to any bride looking to find their perfect dress, as well as Claire.

  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah was absoutely perfect! She helped me find my dress almost right away. I didn't have much hope after not finding dresses at three other places but Sarah really came through and helped me find a dress I loved

  • K

    Kristina · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    House of Maya is amazing! Claire was my consultant and she was amazing!! From the beginning, she was more like a great friend helping me in my dress search than a consultant. She was professional and super fun to be around. I would recommend having her as a consultant to anyone! She knew exactly what my taste was and found the best dresses for me!

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just purchased my dress here and it was my first bridal appointment ever. I had apprehensions at first, but from the start of booking to point of purchase, everything went smooth. Request Claire Mueller as your stylist. She was very supportive during the whole process, didn't pressure me to purchase a dress or rush me to narrow down my choices. She also helped me in and out of each dress which other stylists didn't do from what I've heard. She was sincere, friendly, and didn't try to force a sale or force me into something i wasn't comfortable in regarding the dress or the dress price! I also had a large party with me and she was friendly to them and very welcoming. She has been great with the follow up communication so far. I hope the rest of my experience here is as great as it was when I purchased my dress.

  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of working with Sarah K and she went above and beyond to help me find my dream gown! Immediately upon entering the salon myself, my mother, sister, grandmother, and future mother in law recieved the friendliest greeting and it didn't stop there. Everyone at Maya Couture really made us feel welcome and comfortable during the entire appointment. Sarah took the time to get to know me, my style, venue and theme of my wedding to really make sure I found the right dress. She let us pick the dresses to start and then after several she definitely knew what I would love and she picked out the perfect dress for me. It was my first time trying on dresses but I felt comfortable with Sarah the entire time, even though trying to get into all the dresses was a workout. She was professional, fun, and you can tell she loves what she does. I couldn't have asked for a better expirence or a better person to work with. If you need a dress please go to Maya Couture... you won't regret it! Now I can't wait to back for my fitting. :)

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah K was absolutely the sweetest person ever. Mya couture has everything you need for your special day I'm so glad I found them .I was so undecided on which gown I wanted however, Sarah was right by my side until I made my final decision.

  • A

    Anat · Married on 09/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They have an amazing selection of gowns and the best service. It is personalized and every employee there still gets excited over how beautiful the bride looks, no matter how many brides they have dressed before. 100% recommended.

  • K

    Katelyn · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the best experience here buying my wedding dress! Amanda was phenomenal and pulled numerous dresses that reflected the styles I said I had liked. The boutique experience was great (they even wrote my name on an outside chalkboard which I loved) and staff was amazing. I couldn't be happier with my wedding dress and happy I bought it at Pure English!

  • H

    Hannah · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maya Couture has a huge selection of dresses and the consultants are so personable and helpful. They went above and beyond to make me feel special. My consultant even offered to work with me for an extra hour after my appointment was over to make sure the dress liked was the one and try on veils. I love the dress picked and loved every minute of the shopping experience here.

  • J

    Jillian · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend going to Maya Couture for bridal gowns. They have a huge and beautiful selection, at reasonable costs. I had a wonderful experience shopping, as stylists Emily and Claire welcomed my mom, future mother-in-law and I. They listened to what styles of dresses I'd tried on previously, and encouraged me to explore through the racks for whatever caught my interest. Unfortunately, Emily had to leave for a family emergency, but Claire took over like a champ. If you're looking for a fun stylist for makes silly sound effects as you're slipping on gorgeous dresses, Claire is your girl, and is the best for it. What I found at Maya Couture is that the stylists are never pushy and don't rush you. They listen, wait, gauge your reactions, and make thoughtful suggestions. You'll feel amazing in their selection of dresses, and you'll feel comfortable with their caring stylists. Really, you can't go wrong here. I'm so pleased to say that I bought my wedding gown with them, and can't wait to wear it for my wedding in September.

  • A

    Ariana · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren was an AMAZING consultant - she was helpful, welcoming, and made buying my wedding dress a wonderful experience. She had some great suggestions for me, but she wasn't pushy at all - and she really took her time to make me feel comfortable. My dress is so beautiful and I'm so happy that I bought it at Privé Bride in Ghent!

  • D

    Daisha · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love my dress. I had planned on saling it after, but I just love it too much. They help you find exactly what you want and if you want they let you try other dresses to see if maybe you want to try something else. They are the best and make you feel like the beautiful bride you are.

  • K

    Kinsey · Married on 06/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maya Couture is THE shop to go to find your wedding dress. The visual displays are fantastic and the store is just pretty in general.

    I worked with Claire to find my dream wedding dress. I highly recommend working with her. Even before my appointment, she reached out to me via email to get to know my preferences and I was able to send some pictures of what I liked so she could pre-shop for me. When I arrived, I was greeted right away. She showed me a few dresses that she picked out already and then let my entourage and me shop around. After we were done, I went to the dressing room with Claire. This was my first experience having a salesperson help me put on clothes, and I did not feel awkward or weird. Claire just kept the conversation flowing pretty smoothly so it almost felt like I was talking to one of my friends as I was getting ready. Claire was very patient and understanding of what I wanted and needed - she didn't try to be pushy or throw her opinions at me. She truly wants the bride to be happy and find the gown of her dreams (that is in budget of course). Overall, just a fabulous experience with Maya Couture and Claire!!! I would work with them again.

  • K

    Kara · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maya Couture was hands down the best Bridal shop that I went to to find my wedding dress. The atmosphere was very relaxed and they do not overbook their clients so I was able to get one on one attention. Sarah was my stylist and she was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. She was extremely friendly and sweet as I tried on many dresses. She listened to what I wanted and helped me pick out the perfect dress without going over my budget. Sarah was so patient with me as I tried on many dresses and then retried them on! I definitely recommend going to Maya and asking for Sarah!

  • A

    Alexis · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great staff and service! The dress selection is amazing! Found my perfect dress!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kori was amazing! I came into Maya Couture without a clear idea of what I wanted in my wedding dress. She helped me and my (huge) entourage pick out a variety of dresses and begin to narrow down which dress style was right for me. I was a little bit nervous about the whole process, but Kori totally put me at ease. She had a great sense of humor, there was absolutely no pressure to rush, and she was completely professional. After getting a much better idea of the type of dress I was looking for, it became apparent that my perfect dress was likely waiting for me at Pure English. Kori agreed to come with us to Pure English and called ahead to make sure the ladies there knew I was coming and to pull some dresses in my style. I finally said yes to the dress, and couldn't be happier with how the day went. I will be referring all of my future bride friends to Kori at Maya Couture!

  • K

    katrina · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Given one on one attention by Kori and she recognized my style without ever having to mention the designer I was interested in!

  • C

    Christine · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I visited Privee after having regrets from buying my first wedding gown. I was in town for only a couple of days. After visiting the flagship store at Maya, I expressed interest in seeing what Privee had to offer. I was able to get an appointment immediately. Timing would have that I had the entire salon all to myself! Lauren was my consultant. And, she is absolutely amazing!!! We had so much in common. First thing when I walked in, she wanted to know what my story was and asked all the right questions to help me figure out how to find the perfect dress for my wedding. We teamed up and selected a number of dresses. I fell in love with the first dress I tried on, but we kept going. Lauren was extremely patient, kind, honest, professional, and knowledgeable. Ultimately, we went back to the first dress and I was even more excited by the dress. What's so crazy about this dress is I would have never been able to articulate this dress before finding it. It's completely me...just the right amount of dress, so I'm not swimming in fabric, the right amount of bling, and then subtle but noticeable sparkle throughout, and surprisingly...it has lace! My experience at Privee rivaled Kleinfelds. The salon is located in the heart of quaint Ghent in Norfolk, VA. It is spacious and pristine. And, what's extra special about Privee is you can buy more dress for your dollars, or simply save...which is quite the treat considering all that is spent on anything wedding related. Also, I'm one where the veil is more important to me than the dress. As Lauren eloquently stated, the veil is the bow on the package. A gift that is wrapped in paper is nice...but when there's an exquisite bow on top, it makes the gift all the more exciting. And, boy is she right! Not only did "we" find the perfect dress, we found the ultimate veil. I actually now have a Blossom Veil, which I never imagined I would be willing to spend the money of a Blossom Veil. They are absolutely incredible...and I have one!

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I purchased my dress from Privee Bride in Ghent and had my alterations done at House of Maya in downtown Norfolk. The experiences at both were fantastic. I was set on one particular dress and they didn't have it when I came to try on dresses, but they had other dresses from that designer. Turns out I didn't need the one I wanted to try on because anither by the designer was just so beautiful on I knew it was the one and never looked back. Alterations were done complete a month before the big day. Highly recommend these professionals!

  • J

    Jordan · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah at Privee is fantastic!!!. She listened to my wants in a dress and helped me to pick the perfect dress for my day. The shop has a lot of options at great prices. Sarah was professional and very sweet and I cannot thank her enough for her help. I can't wait to wow my groom on our wedding day.

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honestly, I couldn't have picked a better place to find the dress of my dreams. I walked in there and it was just a great atmosphere. I had the pleasure of working with Claire and she was just absolutely amazing. She kept my spirits high and helped me find the perfect dress! Thank you so much for everything, I cannot wait to pick up my dress in a couple months :D