Weddings

Hollywood Schoolhouse Reviews

Hollywood Schoolhouse

Hollywood Schoolhouse

Woodinville, WA
Rating 4.5 out of 5, 24 Reviews
View more information

24 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 24

10 User photos

Sort by:
  • H
    Heather Married on 08/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We toured several venues around Seattle and while there were many good ones, nothing felt quite right. And then we walked into the Hollywood Schoolhouse, and we j u s t k n e w. It was beyond perfect- it fit our vintage aethetic, it had big windows for lots of light, an outdoor area for the ceremony... and it was pretty turnkey- all we had to provide was the decorations!

    The staff were wonderful - very kind and friendly, and the catering was absolutely delicious. Chef Frank even made us a gorgeous croquembouche in place of a wedding cake!
  • K
    Katrina Married on 06/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was beautiful at the Hollywood Schoolhouse! They were great, flexible, and very accommodating! The venue has a lot of natural charm and the location is awesome!
  • K
    Kiersten Married on 12/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The best location, so affordable, beautiful photos, and truly an overall magical experience. I am still so pleased that we chose them
  • K
    Keri Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hollywood Schoolhouse is a beautiful venue! One major draw is that minimal decor is needed because of the natural esthetic of the place. All of the staff are so sweet and were eager to help in any way they could. I think this place is an exceptional value for the price and the beautiful area it is in. My guests had a great time and loved the food as well! My only suggestion would be to increase the a/c upstairs as it felt warmer up there than downstairs.
  • M
    Micki Married on 03/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Updated: 3/27/2015

    My wedding was everything I had dreamed of!!! This venue is the perfect backdrop for my Vintage Glam wedding. Food by Chef Frank Pajota and team was spectacular! All the day of staff team were splendid and catered to your every need.

    Love this historical venue, the staff and everyone is so nice and accommodating. I cannot wait until my wedding!
  • L
    Lianna Married on 03/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hollywood Schoolhouse was an absolutely fabulous venue for our wedding! We loved the classic looking interior and chandelier lighting. The bridal and cocktail hour rooms were so beautiful they didn't require any extra decorating. Our photos looked amazing inside and outside the venue. The waitstaff were easy to work with and very professional. The food was also a hit, thanks to chef Frank. We wouldn't change a thing about our experience at the Hollywood Schoolhouse!
  • User1639962 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Last weekend my daughter and now son-in-law were married at The Hollywood Schoolhouse and it was absolutely gorgeous! The original old brick, hardwood floors and crystal chandeliers fit their vision perfectly. The staff was wonderful to work with making it easy for us to create the wedding John and Lindsay dreamed of. Chef Frank Pantoja provided a wonderful dinner which got rave reviews from our guests. Thank you so much!!
  • A
    Andria Married on 10/28/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got married here and absolutely loved it. From the moment we walked through, we were in love with the place and knew its where we wanted to marry. The venue itself is SO gorgeous, filled with antique furniture, beautiful chandeliers, exposed brick, original wood floors, beautiful outside grounds. Everything is a photo op, inside and out! The staff is helpful, friendly, flexible. The chef, Frank, really delivers. The food was excellent. All night people were telling us how beautiful the wedding was and how great the food is. Also this place is AMAZING with pricing. For 150 people it was about $10,000 for venue, food, alcohol (beer/wine), everything. Sundays are slightly cheaper, which was what we did, and also provides you more flexibility as you can get the venue any time you want that day. Everything is there and you don't bring in anything at all except for decor. I loved this place so much I can't wait to have another reason to go there!

    Prior to the wedding the entire top floor is available for getting ready. The bride gets basically the whole thing which is awesome for changing, etc. The ceremony happens downstairs and then everyone comes upstairs for "cocktail hour." They then flip the room and prepare it for dinner/reception. Everything happened very smoothly day of.

    My only complaint is that it is very challenging to get a rehearsal here because of all the other weddings booked. We got married on a Sunday and the only option was to come in the Thursday before at 1pm or the Saturday before at 8am OR you had to have your rehearsal dinner there.
  • User1019652 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So very helpful during the entire year of planning. VERY affordable, especially for 250 guests! We were able to go to the venue as many times as needed, and they helped with every question we had along the way. Their catering department was excellent, and their set up crew and day of coordinator were amazing. We hardly noticed their staff day of, very professional and discreet. Food was fabulous, and bar-tending service was superb. They provided everything we needed, without us having to rent anything extra.
  • J
    Jillian Married on 09/09/2006
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We booked the the Hollywood Schoolhouse on a Saturday morning, which cost us half as much as an evening event. It was a great value. They required that we use their catering but were very very flexible on what we could choose as our menu. We wanted a brunch reception with crepes and mimosas and they were happy to make that happen. I also loved that they did all of the table/chair set up for the both the ceremony and reception and all of the clean up. This saved our friends and family from a lot of unnecessary stress. Our guests were able to go outside or upstairs for drinks during the reception set up so everyone was happy during the transition. The place also had so much character and natural light that we barely spent any money on decorations. It didn't need anything! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone!
  • M
    Mikel Married on 09/18/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue was a dream come true! The price was great (compared to other venues of the same size, appearance, and professionalism), the staff so professional and quick on the wedding day, and once everything was set up it was like a fairytale (and looked beautiful before too)! The food and desserts were amazing as well! I got many compliments that this was the best wedding that many of our guests had ever been to!
  • User2656925 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Awesome venue, loved everything about it. We were planning to have the ceremony outside but it rained and had thunder and lightning the day of. The schoolhouse staff were able to pull off a flawless wedding inside with little notice, and everything from drinks to set up to parking was run very smoothly. Thank you!
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 07/26/2015
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Both the indoor and outdoor spaces are beautiful and unique at the Hollywood Schoolhouse, the windmill on the grounds is a particular highlight, and having both lovely inside and lovely outside spaces allows for easy flexibility for the ceremony and reception - which we took advantage of for our wedding, as we planned an outdoor ceremony on what ended up being a rainy day. While the weather may have been wetter than we would've preferred, we actually got some fantastic wedding photos out of it and moving the ceremony inside was trivial for both us and the staff. Also, we can’t say enough good things about the food, absolutely delicious! Chef Frank was really generous with his food tasting to help us decide on the reception menu and quickly replied to our questions regarding appetizers and food allergies. The staff were all organized, responsive, helpful, and accommodating - both in preparing for the ceremony/reception and day of. The one minor quibble we had was that the day-of staff started to do take down before the reception was actually finished and the hour set aside for cleanup in the contract started. But, as many of the guests had begun to leave by that point late on a Sunday night, it wasn’t terribly intrusive and the overall quality of service over the course of the day was superb. In summary, we absolutely loved our choice of venue and can highly recommend the Hollywood Schoolhouse: gorgeous spaces, wonderful food, and great staff.
  • M
    Matthew Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is a fantastic venue to host your wedding and reception, or only the reception. The best part of the Schoolhouse is how beautiful the venue is without any additional decorations. We didn't want to spend thousands of dollars decorating a venue we were already spending a lot for. The building has an elegant charm to it and really requires little to no additional decoration for it to look beautiful for your day.

    The wedding day ran flawlessly (the Schoolhouse staff rocked!) and we couldn't have imagined it going any better. The highlight of the night from the venue, by far, was Chef Frank's food. We can't even count how many people complimented how fantastic the food was. The food wasn't only great for being buffet food, it would be considered great served as a 5 course meal. The food was THAT GOOD!!

    The only slight negative is that there could be better communication between the schoolhouse and the Chef as we got closer to the event. There was some last minute communication prompted by myself to make sure everything was aligned, but both parties were flexible and everything worked out perfectly.

    Thank you to Chef Frank, his staff, and the staff of the Hollywood Schoolhouse for helping to make our day so special!
  • User2309256 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue is beautiful, there isn't a bad place for pictures in the place. The inside of the building is amazing and the outside with all the flowers and greenery is fairy tail like. Really the only thing negative I have to say is the week before our wedding we made our last appointment to go over the detail one last time and to pay the balance and the person we were to meet was late and had other appointments before ours that she forgot about, so we had to sit and wait for her. Also during the wedding the cafe across the parking lot had music going that could be heard during my ceremony that drowned out my music and ceremony. Wish they would of taken a break while my wedding was going on (it was only 20 minutes long) so that I didn't have that sound pollution.
    Other then that it was wonderful!
  • User2208810 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved our wedding at the Hollywood Schoolhouse. The wait staff were tremendously attentive and professional. The guests really got to enjoy themselves! The all-inclusiveness of this venue made it very affordable. And the grand chandeliers and vintage furniture made it require very little in decoration. I saved a ton by keeping decorations minimal here, and it looked phenomenal. Chef Frank was THE BEST to work with. He was so calm and easy-going, and flexible. We had a FEAST due to our smaller wedding size. The spinach stuffed tortellini with pancetta was so amazing, everyone was talking about it. In fact all of the food was so good, even for food-snobs! When we brought out ice cream for dessert, it was too hot to leave out for serving, so it was brought back down into the kitchen, and some people didn't get to have any of the ice cream, so it would have been better to have a cooler upstairs for that. I worked with Madalyn for our walk-through about a month prior to the wedding, and she was especially helpful. I just wish that the Schoolhouse would have cashed our payment checks sooner. We were making payments throughout the year leading up to the wedding, but they were not cashing the checks until weeks or sometimes several months later, which confused me and almost made me overdraw my checking account. Overall an excellent wedding here.
  • F
    Florence Married on 03/16/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue! love love love!
  • T
    Tim Married on 08/10/2013
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an excellent experience at Hollywood Schoolhouse. They price was excellent and we really loved both the interior and exterior. The staff was very easy to work with and always responded to our requests. Having the built-in caterer made it very simple and the food was outstanding. Highly recommended.
  • R
    Rachelle Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hollywood Schoolhouse is a beautiful venue that doesn't need dressing up to look stunning. We had a great experience with them, with a few minor hiccups:
    Their paperwork hasn't been updated recently and wasn't the clearest, so it required some back-and-forth, particularly about selecting beverages.
    When setting up, they started bringing out the beverages for a different wedding. Luckily, we caught it as it happened and it was corrected.
    We had been told that we'd have help cutting the cake, but when it came time to do it, help was nowhere to be found. We were able to wing it, but it was a stressful moment.

    Other than these minor things, everything on the day was easily taken care of and worked out stupendously! The food was great, and chef Frank accommodated the dietary needs of our guests with no hassle. PS: The meatloaf isn't on the list of standard menu items... but it's fantastic!
  • Angela
    Angela Married on 02/09/2013
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The ability to have the ceremony and reception in one place with a caterer on site was perfect. The food was AMAZING. It's a beautiful venue with so much character.
  • C
    Cheryl Married on 07/24/2011
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    My daughter selected this venue for her wedding. It has a small garden outside and is a beautiful older building inside. Beautiful woodwork, amazing old bar, great fireplace! They were in a transition period of their staff while we were working with them. We had an issue with the set up for the reception, they were not too flexible in that regards, but it wasn't noticable to our guest. They had ordered the wrong champagn for us, but quickly resolved it (Ste Michelle's is down the street). They could use a better sound system between the two large rooms. You must use their caterer. We were unsure about that because we had not tasted their food. Oh my!! It was fantastic!!! Frank, the chef at The Collectors Cafe, was so easy to work with. We had this beautiful table full of great food! We had so many compliments from our guests!! I had attended other events at the schoolhouse but hadn't thought of the wedding. It was a wonderful place!! If you like older buildings, it's beautiful!!
  • User972497 2+ years ago
    Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue that provides great atmosphere and lovely pictures. My biggest issue with the Hollywood Schoolhouse is that they were only open on weekdays during regular business hours - which made it difficult to visit them in person, since it did not work well with my work schedule. They also closed for an hour for lunch, which made it difficult to swing by during my lunch hour. You also have to use their catering company (which was good), so there isn't much flexibility there. Another issue was that there was some coordination issues between the Hollywood Schoolhouse staff and our DJ - not sure who is at fault, but there was an issue with buffet opening being announced, and later the cake-cutting being announced, and the Hollywood Schoolhouse staff being unprepared - which lead to us feeling semi-awkward while waiting for them to get everything together. Overall, they provide good service and it is a beautiful location to get married.
  • T
    Talisha Married on 01/16/2011
    Rating 2.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    The good - the schoolhouse is a beautiful venue that hardly requires any decoration and the food was delicious. Prior to the wedding, my experience with Lori with the schoolhouse and Frank with The Collectors Café was great. Lori was very responsive, allowing us to visit several times and Frank was easy to work with including within our budget and he allowed us to semi-customize the menu. Also, we received the deposit back very quickly and the caterers put to-go boxes of food and dessert in our limo which was a nice touch.

    The bad - Unfortunately there were issues just before the wedding and on the wedding day. At the rehearsal, we saw that several Christmas trees and garland were still up (Jan 16 wedding). We requested it be taken down and were told no and that we would have to move the trees ourselves if we wanted but that the garland had to stay up no matter what. Sometime between the rehearsal and wedding the trees were at least removed.

    On the wedding day, I paid for an extra hour to give time to decorate but at the scheduled time, not only was nothing setup for us to decorate (tables, chairs for the ceremony, tablecloths on tables, etc…), none of the Hollywood workers were around and did not make their presence known until well after. I was later told they were likely downstairs getting dishes ready but the things we needed setup in order to decorate were not done. Frank had stated his crew would place my tablecloths out but did not and none of the workers knew where the tablecloths were. There was no one who indicated they were the liaison to help us get the things we needed. I was later told there was someone in charge but she never made herself known.

    The really bad – There was a bag leftover of decorations from the party the night/day before that we had to move a screen to hide. It did not appear they had cleaned up fully from the previous party. We had a cocktail hour while they turned the space over from ceremony to reception and we went with bottles of beer (more expensive) rather than kegs so that beer would be served in addition to wine since the cocktail hour was upstairs from the reception. However, there was only wine made available, which was unattended after the initial pouring in plastic cups, although we paid for a bartender, which forced us to run out of wine early. We had to order more which totaled over $200 more than our original bar bill was supposed to be.

    Lastly, we paid for water glasses to be set on the reception tables and they were not. We wanted them to help give the illusion of a place setting to go with the napkin since silverware and plates would not be on the tables. I was later told the water glasses were placed somewhere else but I only wanted them for on the tables.

    After the wedding I notified Lori of my issues and she expressed over and over that her team indicated the event went great. I told her I wanted my money back for half the extra hour I paid, half of the extra bar bill because beer wasn’t obviously made available, and all of my money back for the water glasses. After several back and forth emails she finally returned the money for the water glasses after threatening legal action. Her responses otherwise were only to defend her team for what they usually do despite me telling her what they actually did.
  • B
    Becky Married on 05/20/2013
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    Gorgeous, accommodating, everything you could need in a venue! Beautiful brick work combined with chandeliers and white trim....stunning. We had a pretty day so ceremony was outside and then we moved in for reception. The photos are gorgeous!