Hanic's Cake Shoppe Reviews

11 | Plainwell, MI
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Hanic's Cake Shoppe

Recommended by 84% of couples

4.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

11
Order by:
  • A

    Aubrey · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED our cake. Hanic's did an awesome job on the design we choose (sand and shells). It went perfect with our theme and the taste was incredible! Would highly recommend to any bride getting married in Kalamazoo, Michigan!

    Sent on 08/15/2010
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Angie at Hanic's Cake Shoppe made designing a cake effortless. My now husband and I had no idea of what we wanted, but we knew we wanted the cake to look classic and elegant. Angie was able to figure out just what we wanted, was flexible in the sizing as our guest's RSVP's came in thus staying within our budget, and was extremely patient with the many flavor changes that I put her through right up until about two weeks before the wedding. The cake tasted delicious and looked incredible. My husband and I are still getting compliments on it!

    Sent on 04/10/2011
  • R

    Robbie · Married on 03/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanic's Cake Shoppe made a beautiful and tasty cake.They are a true artist and able to create a masterpiece that is both beautiful and tastes incredible! All of our guests were amazed with the way our cake looked and also said it was the best cake they had ever tasted!They also have other great desserts as well!

    Sent on 05/14/2010
  • S

    Amber · Married on 11/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't of been more pleased with our wedding cake or the services we received from Hanic's! Our cake tasted incredible and the design was beautiful, even better than we expected. I would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 05/07/2010
  • R

    Aubrey · Married on 08/08/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was gorgeous. Angie was very helpful in suggesting cake flavors becasue we only had one flavor we cared about, but we wanted our guests to be happy as well. Angie gave us an alternative idea to our cake for the same price, which ended up being a very nice cake with different flavors for eveyone to enjoy. Our guests enjoyed the cake very much and we couldn't have asked for more. Thanks Angie.

    Sent on 08/27/2008
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/02/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy with my cakes. I have never been a cake person and decided to do something a little different with fresh strawberries. Angie worked with all my ideas and requests. The cakes turned out more beautiful than I imagined and tasted amazing. All the guests were going up for seconds.

    Sent on 09/12/2008
  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 08/05/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My cake was to die for! Not only was it the most beautiful cake I have ever seen, but it was delicious. My guests ate 3 pieces! My only regret was there were no leftovers. Angie is extremely talented and can design just about anything you through her way. Trust me I was a Chicago bride having a wedding in Michigan and my guests thought I had ordered the cake from the city. Hanic's is by far the best bakery in Michigan and extremely reasonable. Angie, I wish you made birthday cakes because I have cravings for your cake!





    Sent on 08/27/2008
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 06/16/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hanic's allowed us to come to their home and showed us various books with many photos of cakes. They also baked us a cake with two different flavors in each half so we could sample "the goods" for free! Best of all, we got to the take the leftover cake home with us! We choose a picture of the cake we liked and made a few small changes to it, along with a different type of icing used than the cake pictured, and Hanic's did a wonderful job interpreting what we wanted. When we arrived at the reception hall, we were amazed at how closely the cake resembled what we were hoping for. They did a wonderful job all around, we were quite happy and would recommend them to any future bride and her husband. Plus, their cakes are the best we've ever tasted! We just celebrated our one year anniversary, and our frozen cake tasted just as good as the day a year ago....

    Sent on 09/18/2008
  • christenandchris

    Christen · Married on 06/07/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our cake was beautiful and delicious; our only minor complaint would have been the somewhat limited variety of cake flavors/fillings available. We had hoped for one tier to be Italian Wedding Cake which was not available, and also hoped for one layer to have whole fruit filling which was also not available. We also thought we could sample more than one cake flavor but that wasn't the case, so we were slightly disappointed there. :(

    Regardless, Angie did a phenomenal job recreating our cake from just one photo and using buttercream instead of fondant to save us money and making it look exactly like we wanted, for a very reasonable price. Thank you, Angie! The one piece I did get to have was delicious. :) I highly recommend the lemon w/raspberry filling and the dark chocolate w/raspberry filling. Yum!!

    Sent on 06/19/2008
  • F

    Lyndsay · Married on 09/04/2009

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Angie is difficult to communicate with. She had trouble both understanding my needs and communicating her own. In the end my cake cost double what she had originally agreed to. The cake was excellent but in the end not worth all the trouble. This exchange was by far the worst associated with my wedding. In response to Hanic's comments: I paid nearly 600$ for 125 cupcakes and a 6 inch groom's cake with a $50 decorative dragon. I think that is a sufficient amount of money for some decoration. I didn't have a budget, and I don't see the $100 deposit on this detailing of my expenses. She never paid back the 100$ cupcake stand deposit...and it was not damaged, that is a complete lie (How exactly would one damage a cupcake stand anyway?). I also have correspondance from you asking what address I would like my refund sent to...Don't bother with this business unless you like getting robbed.

    Sent on 10/30/2009

    Hanic's Cake Shoppe's reply:

    Hello Lyndsay Germay, Your deposit was not refunded because you damaged the stand. Our contract (which you signed) clearly states that there is NO refund if the stand is damaged. We have photos of the stand before your rental and of the damage after your use of the stand. You have stated to us that you will write bad reviews about our business if we don't return your deposit. We can't do anything about your reviews however we can state why you are writing them. We are including the total for your cake, which clearly shows you were not charged double for your wedding cake, our prices are clearly listed on our website which you knew before ordering your cake.
    125 cupcakes @ $2.50 = $312.50
    6" round cake 12 servings @ $3.00 = $36.00
    stand rental $25.00
    cupcake flowers $25.00
    Molded dragon $50.00
    premium fillings $20.00
    4 cake flavors $30.00 (two are free, $15.00 for each additional flavor)
    delivery $35.00
    tax $29.91
    Thank you,
    Hanics Cake Shoppe
  • C

    carl · Married on 10/07/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Angie is a liar. Period. End of story.

    Sent on 10/23/2016