Weddings

H & J Hospitality Reviews

H & J Hospitality View more information

40 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 40
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

10 User photos

Sort by:
  • J
    Jennifer P. Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful space, great food, great service

    We had the pleasure of working with H&J Hospitality for our rehearsal dinner last month and we were so glad we went with them. Their event space was beautiful with a gorgeous view of the lake and rolling Ithaca area hills, and a lovely outdoor deck for eating and a patio walking area and pond that all of our guests enjoyed. The food was great, and the service was excellent, everyone was so professional from the booking process to the night of!
  • Melanie
    Melanie Married on 06/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great full-service caterer!

    We booked H&J for our small wedding, and they did an amazing job as a full catering service! The food was good, and they had a nice selection to choose from at reasonable prices. Besides the food, they had excellent service. We rented a DIY type venue (Ithaca Farmers Market), and they took care of pretty much everything! This included providing an amazing event coordinator, setting up decorations (and even supplied some!), renting tables/linens,, and cleaning up after the wedding was done. Also, they were able to accommodate a smaller guest count (which not all vendors do) without any problems! They really made the day go smoothly! We would recommend them for the full catering experience for any special occasional.

    H & J Hospitality's reply:

    Melanie and Anton, it was wonderful to work with you both! I'm so glad we could help you have such a wonderful day. Congratulations to the two of you!
    --Julianna
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    H&J Catering is a wonderful wedding catering business!
    After my husband and I had chosen The Farmers Market in Ithaca, NY as our wedding venue, we were looking for caterers who could provide food and drinks for our wedding reception. After searching for several months with a particular budget in mind, we chose H&J catering because they offered the full package of buffet, open bar, and table decorations within our personal price range.

    Highlights of H&J Catering:
    The Coordinator: Rene Peckham was organized, attentive, and enthusiastic about our wedding plans and went above and beyond my expectations for a caterer. Rene made sure my husband I ate: she and other waiter served both of personally at our wedding. In addition to her and and her staff always being coordinated and on the ball, she worked very well with the photographer and DJ to keep everything flowing smoothly. She was supportive and enthusiastic about each aspect of the planning and made our day easy, fun, and magical.
    Decor: The decorations made the market look very elegant. Rene added a hanging sheet to a booth, so that I had somewhere to hide before walking down the aisle.
    Buffet: The food was excellent: there were three main entrees and various sides. H&J Catering did a wonderful job of accommodating unique food allergies (and all of their food is nut free). After dinner there was coffee and tea (we brought a tier cake from Wegmans).
    Transitions: The transitions from ceremony to cocktail hour, and on to dinner, were so smooth many guests later commented they didn’t realize the changes were happening. The whole event went very smoothly thanks to Rene and the catering staff!
    Flexibility: We never felt pressured to spend more money on extra menu items, and Rene was very accommodating when we decided to bring our own cake.
    We are so pleased with our choice to have Rene and the H&J Catering staff at our wedding. 100% recommend H&J! Thank you Rene for making our wedding day magical!

    H & J Hospitality's reply:

    Thank you, Jackie!
    You were a pleasure, and easy to work with. I'm so glad you and Timo had a great day, and I wish you many more years of happiness!
    Rene Peckham, Sales Manager H&J Hospitality
  • L
    Laura Married on 07/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough good things about H&J--and especially Rene who was our "day of" coordinator. I put that in quotes because we were planning from afar and she really made the entire experience and planning process so easy. She also made sure that the decor and vision I had all came together. The food was all great--cocktail hour, apps, salads, and entrees. Thank you to the whole team--I would highly recommend H&J!!!

    H & J Hospitality's reply:

    Thank you Laura! You and your family were a pleasure to work with. I'm glad the day was all you were dreaming of, and wish the same for the many years to come!
    Rene Peckham, Sales Manager
  • Abigail
    Abigail Married on 10/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These guys are awesome! My husband and I got married last week at the Fontainebleau Inn, and H&J catered our wedding there. The food was delicious, the table settings they rented for us were lovely, and Rene was wonderful to work with. Throughout the whole process she made it very easy for us to customize the menu, and we felt very serviced and taken care of. We had a buffet style dinner and seasonal cobblers for dessert, and were very pleased with the outcome. I would highly recommend them!

    H & J Hospitality's reply:

    It was our pleasure to serve you, we try to go above and beyond to make your special day a great success. The Bride & Groom are our priority.
    H&J Hospitality wishes you many happy years to come.
  • Olivia
    Olivia Married on 09/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used H&J for almost everything besides florals, photography, and dinner (we opted to go with Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - no regrets!). We worked mostly with Rene and she is just AMAZING. I sent her emails all the time about the most mundane things and she would always respond promptly, cheerfully, and (most important) helpfully. She went out of her way to find solutions for us (researched padded vs. plain chairs, found out if electric heaters were available to rent from her vendor contacts, let us borrow platters for free to display our cupcakes from another vendor, allowed us to choose wine & beer that wasn't listed).

    When we moved our date up almost an entire year, she had no problem with it at all. Unfortunately the date we chose was one she was unavailable for, so Mike was there instead. Rene handed off all of the information to him and it went off without a hitch. It was so nice to have a vendor that was reputable, established, and professional to make sure everything went smoothly on our wedding day. I can't thank them enough!
  • B
    Rebecca Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Such a great team! We had widely varying numbers due to a number of guests traveling from out of town, and Rene at H&J was completely flexible and understanding. The food was amazing, timely, and well coordinated with everything else going on. I cant say enough about how great they were!! xxx
  • K
    Katie Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    H&J catered my Ithaca wedding 7/8/17 for about 150 people, buffet style outside under a tent. We also did our liens, service ware and glassware rentals through them even though the venue required us to use a different bar service. Food was great and the planning process working with Rene was one of my best vendors. She was truly amazing and a pleasure to work with.

    The first vendor I contacted for catering was All Occasions Catering & Events Planning. They responded back that I would need at least $24-$31,000 ON TOP of what I said my budget was. The self dubbed "Goddess" Patty said I would look "penurious" (her exact words) and offered the unsolicited advice that my partner an I get second and third jobs to afford a more lavish wedding. I was beyond upset and suddenly dreading the entire wedding planning process if this was going to be the type of greedy judgmental attitude I got. Luckily the next person I got was Rene. She said my proposed budget would be tight but definitely doable and offered a few ways to cut costs, such as offering free compostable ware instead of renting silverware. In end, other areas of the wedding came in under budget so we elected so add an extra entree choice to the package and do silverware, china, glasses, and liens and even with all of that only went about 2k over our original goal (a far cry from another 20-30k!).

    Rene was extremely responsive to emails, usually responding within 10-15 minutes during business hours. She was very helpful in drawing up numerous estimates so I could compare prices adding and excluding different things and got everything back to me within a day or two at the most. I was planning from out of town and asked to schedule a very last minute tasting which she was able to accommodate. Overall she was just very cheerful and pleasant to deal with out of all my vendors. She wasn't able to be on site for my actual wedding but handed over all the details and everything went smoothly.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 06/24/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I worked closely with Rene from H&J over the last year. She went above and beyond to answer any and every question I had. She responded quickly and made sure every detail was taken care of. On our wedding day, the staff arrived and did everything perfectly! I would HIGHLY recommend H&J, as well as Joe's Restaurant (for rehearsal dinner). They made our wedding problem free and simply amazing.
  • M
    Mary Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I went through H&J Catering for our wedding last month and could not be happier with the services we got. From our food trial to day of services, H&J was nothing but professional and amazing. A number of people told me after the wedding that they were beyond impressed with how good the food was (as we all know wedding food can sometimes be pretty meh). We went with the salad, grilled chicken with lemon beurre blanc sauce, crusted cod and pesto pasta and grilled vegetables as our options and they were so, so good. I would absolutely recommend them for any catering needs.
  • K
    Kay-Kay Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    H & J just catered my wedding in July and they were perfect!! They were extremely professional and easy to work with. Everyone loved the food! My only regret was not being able to eat more!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 06/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you so much to Tom and the whole crew at H&J Catering! You really helped to make our wedding the most amazing day. From the get go, Tom was extremely accommodating with my fiance and I as we were planning our wedding from out of state. He was very flexible in helping us find a time to meet with him and have a taste test when we were in the area, and we were extremely happy with the food options. The spiedies won us over - being Central New York natives and now living in Boston, we wanted to honor our roots by including spiedies in our menu. On day of, I didn’t have to worry about a thing. The crew was there on time and everything looked amazing. Two caterers even brought my new husband and I our meals direct to our table (even though we were going buffet-style). They were extremely gracious and attentive. What’s more, we had many compliments through the night and for days after at how good the food was (the vegetables were my favorite!), and our vegetarian guests were blown away by the delicious options available to them.
  • User2636847 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend H&J. Chelsea was amazing to work with! She was incredibly flexible, responsive, and accommodating. Totally exceeded all expectations. Rene coordinated the catering on the wedding day. She and her team transformed a venue in 1.5 hours into something spectacular- setting up tables, chairs, center pieces, flowers, candles, pie stands, ect. Guests raved about the food. The value of the overall package was great!
  • User2630280 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dustin worked with me for the year leading up to my wedding to perfect the menu, and allowed me to feed all my guests a very high quality meal on a realistic budget. There were so many menu options to choose from, and a lot of ancillary services like cake cutting were included in their event rates. H&J provided me with plenty of linen and china rental options.

    The staff that came out to our wedding were fabulous. They were unobtrusive but genuinely friendly, and they were very professional. They handled a lot of the decorating, placing hundreds of candles and even places fresh flowers on and around my wedding cake.

    I am so glad we hired H&J Hospitality to provide the food for our special day, we didn't have to worry about a thing and our guests enjoyed a lovely meal.
  • M
    Margaret Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    H&J did an amazing job caterering our outdoor wedding on a private property 30 minutes away from their kitchen. The food was on point, delicious, hot and beautifully displayed; we received so many compliments. Dustin was so amazing to work with, by far the best vendor we had! He was quick to respond to every question and request we had throughout the months leading up to our wedding, which were many! They worked within our budget to design a food and bar menu that we could both afford and be proud of. They went above and beyond during service, all the staff was professional and attentive! I would recommend H&J to anyone looking for a caterer for their event.
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 09/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dustin was amazing to work with from start to finish for our wedding. He was very responsive and helpful and accommodating. He organized all of the table and linen rentals and is very knowledgable. He and his staff did a great job the evening of our wedding despite a huge rainstorm. All of our guests raved about the food. We are very glad we went with H&J!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used H&J for our wedding on September 12, 2015. Dustin, the catering manager, and his staff were awesome. Leading up to the wedding Dustin was quick with his responses, caring and attentive. Their professionalism was beyond our expectations. The food was outstanding. I can't say enough about H&J! It was pouring rain all day, the staff was in and out of the rain, soaking wet, but always had a smile on their faces and willing to do anything to accommodate or guest. Outstanding service!
  • J
    Julio Married on 08/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Accommodating, Extremely Professional From Start To Finish, And Fantastic People To Work With!
    Dustin and the H&J crew saved the day on our wedding day!

    1. H&J graciously accommodated my wife and I's request and agreed to work with another catering company in order to serve Americana and Filipino food for our mixed wedding! From the very beginning and throughout the process, Dustin was organized, personable, easy to contact, prompt to respond via e-mail's, and we felt like he understood our view of what we wanted for our wedding.

    2. H&J helped SAVE our wedding day because the other caterer was a no-show and unresponsive for the entire cocktail hour and 3 hours late to serving their part of the entree's. On the day of our wedding Dustin and the H&J team helped manage food, manage guests, and keep guests happy. Dustin worked with the MC to re-arrange the timeline of serving food with wedding events and the H&J staff were quickly on board and entirely helpful.

    3. What I am most appreciative for is how professional, calm, and reassuring Dustin was as he frequently called the caterer for me, discreetly kept me up to date, and told me to enjoy my time with my friends and family. Dustin and the H&J crew were so professional that my wife and guests were not aware of the background chaos and really made OUR wedding the focus of the day.

    4. When the other caterer/food finally came 3 hours later, the H&J staff immediately prepped the food and provided excellent service to our guests!

    5. Thank You So Much! Britt and I are very grateful and look back on what a great day it was, it really would not have been possible without your help!

    I would recommend Dustin and the H&J company to future couples for their excellent service and professionalism.
  • User2283901 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    H&J was a great deal and very accommodating for a couple that wasn't always the most organized and needed some guidance. Chelsea was extremely helpful crafting a menu and schedule for our wedding at the Farmers Market, keeping our costs in check and always gracious and responsive. All of our guests were ecstatic about the excellent vegetarian buffet and the great bar service. What's more, set-up, service, and breakdown went off without a hitch, so we could just sit back and relax after the ceremony. Highly recommended for folks who want to tailor a wedding to their personal tastes.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 08/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was held in early August at Emerson Park Pavilion, and H&J did a fabulous job catering the event. From the time we signed up for the venue two-years ago (we had to sign up early, because it's a very popular venue in the summer), H&J worked with us to make our event exactly what we wanted. We initially worked with Adrienne, and later worked with Andrea and Maria, each of whom was very professional, accommodating, and easy to work with. On the day of the wedding, the weather was beautiful, and all of the planning we had put in worked out perfectly. We had the food catered family-style, which was a big hit with our guests. Several people commented to me that they really enjoyed the food. For cocktail hour, we upgraded the passed appetizers to include shrimp cocktail, lamb lolly-pops, and crab cakes. Each was really delicious, although many people commented on how great the lamb was. All-in-all, we are super happy that we went with Emerson Park and H&J. I cannot imagine it turning out any better!
  • J
    Jim Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dustin and his team executed our wedding with a magic touch resulting in the perfect experience for us and our guests. From meeting with him early on to taste the food, to the expedient response time on our questions, and working within our budget H&J deliverdr the highest level of quality and enabled our wedding to be one of the most memorable for all who attended.
  • User1879835 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful experience working with H&J Hospitality for our wedding. We worked with Kelly, who went above and beyond to make sure that everything was perfect and exactly what we wanted. She was quick to respond to any of our questions and concerns throughout the whole planning process, and offered lots of great suggestions. Food and drinks were one of the most important things on our list, and H&J Hospitality nailed it. All of our appetizers and entrees were delicious. Our guests could not stop talking about how good all of the food was - we had people telling us they wished we had take-out containers so they could take some home with them! On top of providing outstanding food, Kelly and the rest of the H&J staff were so helpful with setting up at the venue and making sure that everything flowed smoothly throughout the night. We owe them a lot of credit for helping us have our perfect wedding!
  • User1930618 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our contact at H&J was Dustin. Throughout the wedding planning process he was calm and collected and very patient - it was wonderful to have someone like that in the midst of what felt like so much chaos! He was excellent at talking to my (somewhat elderly) mother, who needed things explained in great detail, without ever seeming to get frustrated with her. On the day of the event, everything rolled out just as he said it would. No surprises, no crisis. Our photographer even got a picture of the catering team laughing and smiling - that's how they all were! Everyone was happy and pleasant and helpful, so much so that many of our guests mentioned it afterwards. They made a great impression.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 08/09/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I really have nothing bad to say. We worked with Dustin who was so incredibly helpful. First he helped us personalize our menu and gave great suggestions, which is why we decided to choose H&J. Then throughout the entire process as we fine tuned the details, he was quick to respond and easy to work with, especially with making the menu fit our budget since we had 180 people.
    Our guests raved about the food during dinner and even after the wedding. So choose H&J!! And get the Smoked Gouda Mac & Cheese ;)

    -Sarah & Jesse
  • M
    Melani Married on 07/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the best experience with H&J. The food was absolutely delicious and we heard nothing but praise from our guests. We were lucky to have found such a wonderful catering company.