Weddings

Gurney's Star Island Reviews

Gurney's Star Island View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.2 out of 5

Awards

  • 11

2 User photos

Sort by:
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They gave us the wedding of our dreams! Loved working with Kaitlyn, Bretlin and Denise. Immaculate service, beautiful location and delicious food. We even got pictures on a yacht!!!! It’s not cheap, but worth every penny.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding was phenomenal!! Gurney's Montauk Yacht Club is an absolutely stunning venue and hotel. The Farmhouse Ballroom is so gorgeous! My guests absolutely loved the indoor/outdoor feel with the bar outside and the dancing and tables inside. I was supposed to get married outside but it was a really windy day. Getting married in the farmhouse ballroom blew my mind away, though! You can't go wrong with any of the ceremony/cocktail hour locations. The venue completely fulfilled (and exceeded my expectations)! Bretlin worked with me every step of the way as I made a ton of changes, Kaitlyn answered everyone of my million questions, and Denice did a wonderful job arranging everything the day of. Donovan was an amazing banquet coordinator and the wait staff was so nice and so attentive. The drinks were strong, the food was great and the wedding day went super smooth. I could not have asked for a better day!
  • Stefanie
    Stefanie Married on 05/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our Rehearsal Dinner at the Montauk Yacht Club and stayed here for our wedding weekend and it was perfect. Everyone we encountered and worked with were helpful and friendly and the dinner was amazing! We had the Italian buffet with an open bar and it was perfect, our guests really enjoyed the food.

    The event was held in their Vanderbilt Room on the second floor and had a private balcony which everyone enjoyed taking pictures on and looking out onto the beautiful property.

    We highly recommend the Montauk Yacht Club for your event in Montauk!

    Love, Stefanie and Daniel Valenti
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We cannot say enough good things about the Montauk Yacht Club! It was the *perfect* place for us to host our wedding and all of the people working there made us feel really important in a genuine way. Amanda, the catering manager, was more than helpful - she was instrumental to making our dream wedding possible. She was quick to get back to us (all of our hundreds of questions) and offer all options as well as her advice when we couldn’t make up our mind about something. She truly is the reason why our wedding was perfect. The MYC itself is beautiful, clean, and nautical. It has enough character that you don’t need much to decorate but also has a clean enough slate for you to put your own spin on things. The service, food, and drinks were all top notch. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
  • C
    Claudia Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    MYC is an ideal place to have a wedding; the food is amazing, the ballroom is gorgeous, the staff is attentive, the wedding coordinator is phenomenal, the guest rooms are adorable, the property is stunning - all of it was SPECTACULAR!

    Amanda, the wedding coordinator, really is the one that made it all happen for me and I highly recommend making sure you work with her to ensure your ideal wedding. She helped me with any questions/concerns, and went above and beyond to make sure that my day was just perfect. The room that I spent the day getting ready in was tended to by a gracious staff and anything I wanted was just a phone call away. The room itself was gigantic with amazing views of the bay and looked great in pics. I can go on and on, but just go take a visit and see for yourself!!!

    All in all my only regret is that I can't have another wedding here, but my husband and I will surely be back for our anniversary!
  • B
    Barbara Married on 06/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I always think a reception is only as good as the food and the staff.
    The Yacht Club did not disappoint. The food was delicious, the staff was professional and kind to all guests. Amanda was wonderful. She spent lots of time answering lots of questions from the bride and groom. She made sure the room was beautiful when guests arrived. She worked real hard to make our reception perfect. It was!
  • User1372380 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When looking for a wedding venue my (now) husband and I had a lot of criteria to be met. The Montauk Yacht Club offered everything we were looking for and more. It goes without saying that the setting is gorgeous but what you may not know just from a visit is how wonderful Michelle, Amanda, and the rest of the catering staff at MYC are to work with.

    They were great about communicating and making sure we were happy throughout the whole planning process. The entire staff at the MYC is so detail oriented and just what a bride and groom need to put their minds at ease. When it came time to the actual wedding day they truly made sure our day was seamless and perfect.
  • M
    Marlene Married on 10/12/2012
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful time hosting our wedding at the Montauk Yacht Club. The staff there is incredibly helpful and extremely attentive to details. The wedding coordinators Lily and Michelle are wonderful women who helped us greatly to make our Big Day run without a hitch. We highly recommend the Montauk Yacht Club for weddings/and other events in season and also beyond, as they are open longer than most resorts in the area. They are very used to planning and preparing for weddings and were extremely helpful and loving in the process! We could not have done it without their help and will forever be thankful to their services! We return every year on our anniversary and cherish our memories created at MYC!
  • K
    Kaitlin Married on 04/13/2013
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The Montauk Yacht Club was the perfect spot for our wedding. Our family owns a home in Montauk so we knew right away the Yacht Club was where we wanted it. The Yacht Club hosts beautiful affairs and you can be assured everything that day will run perfectly and smoothly.
    What can be a bit troublesome for a bride and groom is the Yacht Club's flexibility. This is not a venue that will "comp" things, make special accommodations, waive fees, honor room block rates, etc. The General Manager of the MYC, Lloyd, does not make clients feel important or special in any way- he gives you the feeling that you're the one that's lucky to be there, and not vise versa.
    Our wedding was beautiful and elegant. Food was delicious (we opted for the lobster tail and filet). Michelle Schwehr, Director of Catering, ran a beautiful affair, was knowledgeable, and professional, but if you're looking for a warm and fuzzy contact to help plan your wedding, look elsewhere.
  • D
    Dawn Married on 06/12/2015
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    I booked the MYC in October and got married the following June, Amanda was very helpful the day of the wedding and tmade sure all the details I requested were accurate. The venue was so beautiful and was exactly how I imagined my wedding day to be. The weather was good until some "montauk fog" came through right as we left for the church but everyone had a great time. Our guests stayed off site because the rooms were a bit pricey but they did offer us a complimentary room the night of which was conveniently located right next to the hall. Would recommend this venue if you are looking for a beachy yet formal venue!
  • User993322 2+ years ago
    Rating 2.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I wish I could give MTK Yacht Club a better review because the venue itself is beautiful. When I first signed up for my wedding I was made to feel that I should be lucky that I'm being allowed to have my wedding there. It ended up getting a bit better after having a call that ended with me in tears.

    I had a wedding planner on-site which is an ABSOLUTE must if you are having your wedding here as the staff is just not able to handle. Long and short... the venue is gorgeous. I do recommend having your wedding there however I do recommend that you have a wedding planner or at lease someone on-site the day-of to assist.