Gumbo Entertainment Reviews

12 | Bellflower, CA
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Gumbo Entertainment

Recommended by 100%

12
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • O

    Omar · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We owe Todd a huge thank you for giving us the wedding we always pictured! Music is incredibly important to us, so we interviewed a dozen DJs before landing on Gumbo Entertainment. It was clear from our first meeting that Todd is extremely professional, super knowledgeable, and most importantly a great listener. We had a litany of specific and idiosyncratic requests that Todd made happen. Whenever we hit a roadblock, Todd found a solution to get around it. When we needed to adjust our whole setup for the rain, Todd painlessly reworked it all. He met with us often (even though we were planning from out-of-town) and double-checked ever last detail to make sure we got the wedding we wanted. Ultimately, it paid off handsomely. There wasn't a moments lull on the dance floor! And our guests are still talking about how perfect the music was.

  • K

    Kim · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Todd Buteaux was about as good as a DJ gets! We bought a "Wed Deal" and then panicked afterwards knowing that the DJ can make or break the wedding. I emailed Gumbo and Todd reassured me that he had been in the business for over 20 years and I shouldn't worry. I still worried a little but decided that it was a done deal. About 3weeks before the wedding we met with Todd and breathed a sigh of relief, as we immediately felt comfortable with him. He did not disappoint! The dance floor was filled all night and everyone commented on what a great DJ he was! He even hit the dance floor at the end of the evening and boy could he dance! I would not only recommend Todd, I would go so far as to say, it would be a loss if you can't hire him for your wedding, or party!

  • B

    Ben · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding this past weekend and Gumbo made it one of the greatest parties I could have ever imagined. Todd was more than accommodating for all of our requests, providing all of the extra equipment we needed and helping out throughout the night! We really enjoyed the teamwork that we felt working with him as we blended some wedding classics with our own personal music selections. I never once felt nervous about the music and when planning a wedding, that is a HUGE relief. Thank you Todd for making the night SUPER fun and memorable. And thanks for being so willing to travel!!

  • C

    Craig · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My bride and I were married on Kauai in August and wanted to bring some aloha back for our guests at our reception in Southern California. Along with the aloha we wanted a professional DJ who could reach out to our entire group without being overbearing. The folks at Gumbo were exactly what we were looking for. Todd, our DJ, was extremely professional throughout the entire planning process, set up and during our reception. Everyone commented on his mix of music that got everyone up and dancing. He was able to reach out to a very diverse age group and get them all to the dance floor. Should we need DJ services again, or should my friends or family need DJ services, Gumbo will be on the top of the list. Professional, friendly, accessible, and attentive - Gumbo stepped up to the plate for us and I highly recommend them.

  • C

    Catherine · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TODD BUTEAUX WAS THE BEST DJ ANYONE COULD ASK FOR!!! He made the flow of the entire event run so smooth. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect day and knowing that Todd was on his game made us feel at ease knowing we were in the best hands! From the big band jazz songs of Frank Sinatra for cocktail hour to the calm sounds of John Legend for dining, Todd made the guests feel as though they were controlling the music with songs the crowds would play on their own stereo's. You can never so wrong with Gumbo Entertainment's very own Todd Buteaux!!!! BOOK HIM!! HE'S AMAZING!!!!

  • S

    Shelby · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Courtney from Gumbo Entertainment for our wedding. Courtney was great to work with. Even though we lived out of state, he communicated with us several times through email and over the phone to help make our wedding just the way we wanted it! He did the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception music. We gave him a list of songs/artists we wanted to hear during the wedding and he made it all work, keeping people on the dance floor and having a great time!!! Best of all, Courtney was just as excited as us and our guests to be a part of our wedding! We would strongly recommend Courtney and Gumbo Entertainment for other weddings.

  • User2562469 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have chosen better than Gumbo Entertainment. We planned our own wedding which means, we learned, that we were at the mercy of many of our vendors. With Todd as our DJ we could not have been in better hands. Todd worked with us, asked us questions that we didn’t even know we needed answers for, and helped us to sculpt the perfect music set for our wedding. And not only that, Todd is a superb MC with excellent timing who helped move the evening along without a hitch. He talked us through the right games for our wedding beforehand, and executed them on the night with flair and fun!! We chose to hire him after seeing him DJ a friends’ wedding where, again, he was outstanding. Thanks Todd! We cannot recommend you and Gumbo Entertainment enough!!
    -Rachel & Austin

  • F

    Farah · Married on 04/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Corey from Gumbo Entertainment for our recent wedding ceremony and reception. While we didn't give him much guidance on what type of music to play, he quickly picked up on the vibe of the guests and played the BEST music!! Everyone was on the dance floor and I have received so many messages and texts about how how GREAT the music was. Not only was the music good, but he followed the timeline and was a really good MC, as well. During the days/weeks leading up to the wedding, Corey was always extremely responsive to all emails/texts and even scheduled in-person meetings with us! I will definitely be using Gumbo Entertainment again!

  • M

    Marci · Married on 11/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so happy I chose to have Gumbo Entertainment DJ my wedding. Todd was an EXCELLENT DJ and made the event very fun! The music was the perfect balance of conversation savvy background music and dance music that drew people to the dance floor. He was a great MC too! Gumbo Entertainment was very professional to work with, very communicative, quick to respond to communications and very straightforward. Todd had a lot of great ideas for music, that turned out really well and added some comedy as well. He also worked really well with all of the ideas we gave him. He helped make our event fun, warm, and memorable! I would highly recommend Gumbo Entertainment!

  • T

    Taylor · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I chose Gumbo Entertainment for our wedding in Bakersfield, California in June, 2011. Courtney Geigle was our DJ. I can't say enough good things about his work and his professionalism! We were so happy with our decision. Courtney not only played great music the entire night, but kept the wedding flowing perfectly as well! I had multiple meetings via email and phone with him and had given him a list of the different music we wanted played. Courtney followed exactly what we wanted and added music in that flowed perfectly! Courtney worked well with my other vendors and ran things smoothly. Many of my guests commented on how great Courtney was, stating it was the most fun they had ever had at a wedding! Courtney kept the party going until 2am! I noticed during my DJ search that most of the DJ's had a 5-6 hour maximum no matter what the situation. Courtney was more than happy to go as long and as late as we desired!! My husband and I were beyond satisfied, thanks to Courtney our wedding reception was amazing!! I highly recommend Gumbo Entertainment, but in particular, Courtney Geigle, you will love him!!

  • J

    jenny · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a destination wedding in Santa Barbara, California- not being familiar with any vendors in California, my coordinator recommended Corey as a DJ for our wedding. Corey was flexible the entire time- especially as we had a 3 hour time difference between us during planning. His recommendations for music were helpful and he understood the type of vibe and energy we wanted our guests to experience at the cocktail hour and reception. It was important to us that everyone at the wedding was up dancing and having a great time. Corey and Todd were very friendly and easy to work with. They absolutely exceeded my expectations- our guests are still talking about how much fun they had.

  • J

    Jodi · Married on 03/27/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough fantastic things about Gumbo Entertainment, or more specifically, about Todd, the DJ who made our wedding reception a smash hit!! Everything about that day, from the cocktail hour, dinner, cake cutting, and of course dancing, was not only super smooth, but loads of fun thanks to the skills and professionalism that Todd displayed.

    Todd met with us a few weeks before our wedding and immediately put us at ease with his attentive yet relaxed attitude. He listened to and wrote down all of our songs requests, making sure that the play list for background dinner music, as well the songs my husband and I wanted on the dance floor, were of forefront importance. Todd also went over the time line for the reception, giving us great tips about how to make sure the flow of the evening was entertaining and fun for all of our guests, all night long.

    Everything about Todd confirmed that we were in very good hands, but once the actual event was underway, we realized just how amazing he really is. Guest after guest kept coming up to me during the reception and complimenting the music, saying how much fun the reception was and what a great job Todd was doing. I've even had people contact me months after the wedding, asking for his number for their own upcoming events!!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review