Grandale Catering Reviews

78 | Purcellville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

78 Reviews for Grandale Catering

Recommended by 98%

78
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

4 User photos

Grandale Catering 1
Grandale Catering 2
Grandale Catering 3
Grandale Catering 4
Sort by:
  • M

    Megan · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food, great team

    We loved Grandale for two reasons. One-the food was incredibly delicious, cooked perfectly, not your average wedding food and the 3 tastings leading up to the wedding kept my tummy happy lol. Two-Chef Author and Sarah were so easy to work with, flexible and fun. If you have any doubts just check out the restaurant at 868 Vineyards to test them out, you won't be disappointed. The cost wasn't cheap, but good food rarely is and I would say they are the most reasonable and understanding of budget of all the caterers we contacted. Plus they are WAY more responsive than most of the others. You will not be disappointed if you book Grandale, and neither will your guests!

    Sent on 12/21/2018
  • Jason

    Jason · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Gourmet Food - Build Your Wedding Menu!

    Grandale catered our wedding on 10/20/2018 for about 125 people. Chef AJ was amazing to work with to build the menu for our wedding. We are really into food…Grandale was by far the best choice for amazing gourmet food, a plated meal, and excellent service, all at a reasonable price. We had a NY strip steak, duck breast and vegetarian option for our guest. We worked closely with the chef to develop the flavors for our dishes, rather than just picking off a list. He understood we like blackberry with duck, so he created a blackberry compote sauce to go over our duck with polenta and haricoverts. We heard from many guests it was the best food they have ever eaten at a large event. The night of our wedding, we did run into a few issues though…we discussed with the chef and events manager we did not want a tip jar out for the bartenders (we wanted to take care of them very well personally, but not make guests feel like they needed to tip) – Grandale agreed it was not the vibe they wanted at the event either. We confirmed no tip again before the wedding. When we (the bride and groom) went up to the bar about three quarters of the way through the event – there was a tip jar out…we were not happy. We got the event manager and she quickly scolded them…we understand it wasn’t her fault, but still upsetting it was something we specifically requested not happen, and it did. We also were told it would take about 25 minutes to serve all our guests, but it ended up taking about 45-50 minutes. This delayed the night a bit. There were a few execution errors made the night of the wedding, but I would still recommend them to anyone for catering their event/wedding. I would recommend you write out specifically want you want and don’t want, and review with the manager the day of the event. The food was spectacular though – and so fun to be able to build your own menu from start to finish for your wedding!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • S

    Susie · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! We hired Grandale to cater our Rehearsal Dinner and it was absolutely amazing! Everyone was raving about how delicious the salad, main course, and dessert was! Thank you SO much to Misty, Grandale, and the entire staff for making it such an amazing event. They set all the places at the tables and everything just looked so beautiful! I highly recommend Grandale to anyone looking to "wow" a crowd!

    Sent on 06/28/2018
  • D

    Dominique · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale was amazing to work with for our wedding from start to finish. Misty so was so helpful and accommodating through every step, Chef Arthur was an asset in planning our menu, and Sarah did a great job as our event manager. Everyone was talking about how good the food was. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • J

    Jessa · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Grandale Catering for our daughter’s wedding weekend. Our event coordinator, Misty, was incredibly helpful throughout the whole planning process. She worked two different events over the weekend for us that had lots of moving parts, she handled it all with professionalism, grace and precision. The staff were helpful, yet unobtrusive. The food was all delicious. Chef Author and his staff created beautiful and unique dishes that also kept in mind some dietary restrictions and allergies. They worked with us to bring to fruition a lovely weekend and went above and beyond the call of duty to make it just what we had envisioned. I highly recommend using Grandale for your event.

    Sent on 05/02/2018
  • C

    Corinne · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale was incredible. They catered to our vegetarian needs, provided multiple tastings to get everything just right, and went above and beyond in coordinating all of our rentals. The food was delicious - our guests especially raved about cocktail hour which included an impressive cheese spread as well as delicious passed appetizers. And Misty herself was a solid GEM making sure everything went off without a hitch. Thank you Grandale!!

    Sent on 05/16/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best part of wedding planning was the delicious tastings. All fresh locally grown ingredients. Chef Author was amazing to work with and very helpful.

    Sent on 10/22/2017
  • H

    Helen · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale Catering did an excellent job. The guest loved the food and the service was great.

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 08/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale listened to us and adjusted out menu to fit out wedding dietary needs. They went above and beyond in their willingness to please us.

    Sent on 09/10/2017
  • C

    Claire · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Misty and the Grandale staff were fantastic from our first meeting all the way to the end of our event. The food options were delicious as were the wine pairing suggestions. Any unusual request, Misty made it happen and everyone is still talking about the event. We highly recommend them for any catering event!

    Sent on 08/29/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Grandale Farm as our wedding caterer was one of the BEST decisions that we made while planning our wedding. Misty was amazing to me all during the planning process, and Sarah was a true professional handling everything perfectly when our wedding day arrived. One of my favorite memories from my wedding day was when I spotted Sarah after the ceremony, and we both ran over to give each other a big hug! And it was a real hug - I was so happy to see her face after so many months of planning, and she was beaming with happiness for me. That's the best kind of vendor relationship you could ask for when planning a wedding!

    Sent on 12/31/2017
  • K

    Kylene · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale was wonderful to work with. They went above and beyond in every way and made our day go flawlessly. We looked at many different caterers as food and service was one of the most important parts of our wedding day. Misty was incredibly responsive and listened well to what we wanted, providing a to die for tasting. We loved how well local and seasonal ingredients were incorporated into the dishes and it clearly showed. After our first tasting we knew that Grandale was who we wanted for our big day.


    Chef Author helped us craft the perfect menu, incorporating all of our requests and giving great feedback and customization of the dishes! We got everything we wanted and the price was incredibly reasonable for the quality and flexibility you get. What we had at the tastings (all three of them!) was exactly what our guests got on the day of. No surprises and no cut corners. We received rave reviews from all of our guests on how good the standing and passed apps, entrees, and even the salads were! Note: get the crab dip, your guests will be talking about it for weeks.

    Grandale was a HUGE part of the day going successfully. They completely handled all the setup, take down, and coordination of the rentals (ceremony chairs, cocktail hour tables and chairs, reception tables and chairs, place settings, glassware, etc) with no work from us except choosing exactly what we wanted from their rental provider Select Event Group. We had no issues come up and a large part of that was due to Grandale's professionalism and preparedness. All the staff, under Sarah's direction, were so accommodating and did everything they could to make sure our guests had a great time.

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • R

    Risa · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Author and Misty were wonderful to work with. Grandale provided a cocktail hour with passed hors d'oeuvres and food stations as well as our reception with 4 different types of meals. We had multiple consultations and tastings at the restaurant during the planning, and they handled the rental of linens, etc. They also guided us through the process of getting our own liquor license and tents for the event. Grandale accommodated all our special requests for our wedding, and the service was impeccable on the day of. Nobody was waiting in line for food or drinks, and the dining room was set up beautifully! Most importantly, the food was delicious. Everyone was full from the cocktail hour, but they still polished off the meals! We wanted to add an Asian flair to the menus and cater to some different tastes, and our guests commented on how creative and delicious everything was!

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AJ was so flexible throughout the entire planning process! It was as though nothing phased him a bit! Very pleasant to work with.

    Sent on 09/28/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with Grandale's food at our first tasting and didn't look into any other caterers for our Labor Day weekend wedding at nearby Stone Tower Winery. From booking to menu selection, Misty and Chef Author were amazing and extremely helpful and responsive. They both gave wonderful suggestions to customize our menu selections to exactly our liking. We are so happy we went with them! The food was so good and guests are still talking about it.

    Sent on 12/01/2016
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale impressed us on every level. First and foremost, their food is delicious. We plan to return to the restaurant often to celebrate our anniversaries, birthdays, or other special events. Chef Author and the rest of the staff are professional, courteous, organized, and led us through every step of the process. They were both flexible and creative with ingredient options for every part of the meal. It was easy to work with them to pick out an incredible meal that was truly a focal point of our wedding celebration. I highly recommend Grandale catering - go there and taste for yourself!

    Sent on 07/28/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The catering services provided by Grandale were unbelievable. From our first visit to the restaurant, we fell in love with the food. During our later visits to plan the food for our reception, Chef Arthur was amazing in helping us through the process. After talking to us about our likes and dislikes, he worked with us to create a delicious and unique menu. As for the food that was served at the wedding, it tasted just as fresh and delicious as the meals that were prepared just for us at the restaurant.

    Sent on 04/09/2016

    Grandale Catering's reply:

    Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know that you were pleased with our service and offering. We wish you all the best and hope you will come see us at Grandale Vintner's Table often!
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 12/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married on New Years Eve and Grandale was my caterer. I would highly recommend them! They are so professional but most importantly they are in charge of your food for your wedding! The food is absolutely top notch amazing! We had so many compliments on how delicious it all was. They really made the whole night go smoothly. They are so organized and provided the best service on my wedding.

    Sent on 01/14/2016
  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have been happier with them. Delicious, local food. Everyone commented on how wonderful the food was!

    Sent on 01/20/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We simply cannot say enough good things about Grandale. They catered our October 3 wedding at Breaux Vineyards, and did an absolutely spectacular job! We received SO many compliments from our guests on how fantastic the food and the service were. One guest remarked how amazing the food was compared to "typical wedding food"- generous portions (we had a plated meal), exquisite food, everything cooked to perfection... not your usual dried-out meat or tiny portions. Chef Author and Misty are a delight to work with, very responsive, and are so professional and experienced they will totally make you feel at ease, important for an event when most people's anxiety is high! Working with them made the wedding planning process FUN, and not a chore at all - starting with the first private tasting at their lovely, cozy restaurant, to the menu selection meeting, to the final tasting (several ready-made romantic dates for you and your fiance!), and of course, the wedding- everything was perfect. HIGHLY recommend, if you want top notch catering at your event!

    Sent on 12/08/2015
  • E

    Elena · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale is amazing. We got married at the Barns at Hamilton Station in the fall and Misty and AJ helped us create a delicious fall themed menu. You get so much food during your tastings - it was amazing. All seasonal, all fresh. Their staff day of was top notch and so polite. There are about a million reasons I wish I could use Grandale again. The people are truly wonderful.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I couldnt have asked for a better catering experience. The food was prepared with great care and a fine attention to detail. To say it simply, the food was exquisite. The staff was extremely responsive to our requests throughout the entire planning process and on the day of. We highly recommend Grandale!

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • M

    Marshell · Married on 06/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went with Grandale Catering after receiving a recommendation from our wedding coordinator at Stone Tower Winery. Everything about working with Grandale was amazing! The food is delicious, and Chef Author and Misty were such a pleasure to work with. All of the tastings were yummy, and Grandale was very flexible to work with especially given the fact that my husband and I were 7 hours apart during our wedding planning process. Everyone on the Grandale team is extremely professional and I appreciated how responsive they were during the planning process.
    We got a lot of compliments on our food selections! We LOVED our appetizers and how the Grandale staff made sure the bride and groom got to enjoy the cocktail hour even though we were taking pictures. The crabcakes, mac&cheese bacon cups and the guacamole bruschetta were PERFECTLY DELICIOUS! Flank steak and chicken cordon bleu for dinner were delicious as well!! My husband and I plan on returning to Grandale Farms restaurant on our one year anniversary. We love Grandale!!

    Sent on 07/14/2015
  • User4648357 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at 868 Estate Vineyard in Purcellville, VA. The on-site restaurant, Grandale, is the reason we were drawn to this location. My husband and I could be considered food snobs; we cook at home often and cook great food using local ingredients whenever possible. If we go out to eat, we look for great restaurants serving exceptional cuisine. We sampled food from caterers and the food was mediocre, we did not want our guests eating typical wedding food. The moment we had our first bite at Grandale Restaurant, we looked at each other and knew this was the caterer & location for us. Chef Author Clark helped us create a menu specifically for us based on the season and locally available products. Events manager Misty kept me calm through the entire planning process. Misty and Mary did a wonderful job executing on the day of the wedding. The staff was courteous and wonderful to my guests the entire night. I would highly recommend Grandale restaurant to other brides searching for a fantastic caterer for their wedding.

    Sent on 12/31/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review