Grandale Catering Reviews

91 | Purcellville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

91 Reviews for Grandale Catering

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

91

14 User photos

Order by:
  • J

    Jennifer Schultz · Getting married on 10/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent food, personalized to your wedding!

    Grandale is our favorite spot for date-night, lunch with friends, and outdoor dining. Everything we've ever had there has been fantastic, so we knew that they had to cater our wedding. The food and service were spectacular! Sarah (director) worked with us to plan our menu to fit our unique ceremony and delivered the food. Chef Marcus provided a delicious and delightful feast. Appetizers, salads, meals, and desserts each had a special touch/ingredient that made them especially tasty and surprising. I would highly recommend Grandale catering for your wedding!

    Sent on 05/27/2020
  • Abby

    Abby Swett · Getting married on 06/12/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply Amazing!

    Oh my goodness, where do we even start. Grandale was amazing. From our first tasting with chef, we knew this company was special. They helped us craft an absolutely amazing menu and our guests were raving that this didn't taste like typical 'wedding food'. It was divine. They even let us go 'off menu' and create some special items such as clam chowder shooters that were amazing! Sarah was just fantastic. She was so responsive and a vital part of making our day perfect. They even surprised us with making candied rosemary for our signature cocktail! The service the night of the wedding was absolutely top notch. Every server and bartender was kind and so helpful. A million thanks for making our day so perfect!

    Sent on 01/06/2020
  • Julie

    Julie C. · Married on 03/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale Catering Deserves 10 Stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Grandale Catering far exceeded our expectations... the amazing food is still being talked about 3 days later. Some of our guest tipped their waiters because the service was better then they receive in a five star restaurant “my drink was never empty”, “our table was always being cleaned”. Sarah Thompson the catering manager truly exceeded her job description that evening.... she gave us 1000% of her attention starting weeks before and carried out every detail the whole evening and even followed up the day after....we were so lucky to find Grandale Catering and their commitment to wonderful, fresh food...... Chef Author should be very proud of his team and of Sarah Thompson...thank you for everything......Julie C. 🤵🏻👰🏻

    Sent on 11/18/2019
  • V

    Vikram Sinnathamby · Married on 03/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommended

    We had a great experience working with Grandale for our wedding. We found them to be reasonably-priced, and we enjoyed the menu-creation process, which was fun and gave us as much control over the menu as we wanted, as well as helpful input from the head chef. We had some ideas of what we wanted, and the chef used that to create a full menu. We really enjoyed the food at our wedding, and our guests raved about it as well. They were really great about making sure everyone had access easily to food and drinks, especially during the cocktail hour. We were happy with the place settings and staff as well. We would recommend to our family and friends planning a wedding!

    Sent on 01/27/2020
  • A

    Amy Hinte · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellence

    Author is an amazing chef and has a first class staff that made our wedding meal absolutely perfect. As an detail obsessed bride I was thrilled with the service, the delivery and the communication throughout. Thank you so much team Grandale!

    Sent on 11/06/2019
  • David

    David Hoag · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Expectations exceeded with Grandale!

    The service from start to finish (from the first quote to the final clean up) Grandale Catering provided was amazing! We were in truly awe of the whole event, and Grandale did an more than excellent job. We were blown away ... the service throughout the entire event was very well done, very professional, beautiful, and just plain awesome. And the whole process from start to finish (sales to execution) was top notch. The selection process was made easy by the responsive communications during the sales process, as we developed a relationship from the beginning and felt like we were being taken care of to every detail. The tastings and the menu selection process with Kylie and Chef Author really indicated to us the high level of service and attention that would be given to our event -- we just felt totally comfortable. And then when Sarah took over as the coordinator closer to the event, it was clear she knew what she was doing, and every detail was attended to carefully and professionally.

    The food was outstanding! We knew it would be. But, I believe it went well beyond the expectations of our guests. Despite a little confusion by some as to the portions or “pace” at the beginning of dinner (a function of family style serving, which is exactly what we wanted), when the trays of amazing food kept coming, everyone’s faces were ones of amazement and contentment. I personally went to every table and I saw lots of empty plates and bowls/platters with some food still in them, and smiles on faces (so plenty, and outstanding) … everyone got what they wanted and then some, and it truly was not your standard wedding meal – and that’s what we wanted. And I appreciate Chef being able to do Paella -- it was beautiful and delicious (and so was the beef)!

    Grandale also worked very well with our Planner, and the Music, and the Venue, to make sure the timeline went smoothly and there were no hitches -- amazing teamwork, really. The staff (service, bartenders, rentals coordination, etc.) and Sarah (the coordinator) were outstanding. We are so happy that you all made our event truly special and unique.

    Sent on 11/09/2019
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience!

    Grandale staff were amazing from day one! They were personal and kind and felt truly engaged in our experience. The food was fresh and delicious! We were able to incorporate specific items we wanted while having good advice from the chef on seasonal options. We received many compliments on our food and service!

    Sent on 10/20/2019
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Far surpassed our expectations

    Everything about Grandale far surpassed our expectations for a wedding caterer! When doing tastings, we were blown away by the food because it was hands down the best we had tasted or ever had at any wedding. We were then excited to hear that we didn’t have to pick from a standard list of menu items but were able to sit down personally with the chef and design a menu unique to our personal tastes. Not only that but we were given a third tasting to make sure everything was as we had dreamed! I cannot say enough about the staff at Grandale, throughout the planning process they were extremely receptive and helpful in every way. In the months leading up to our events (both rehearsal dinner and wedding) we were assigned an event manager, Sarah who was amazing! She was like a wedding planner for us and she went above and beyond to make sure everything went on without a hitch! They even had safety pins to help with my dress later in the night! A week later our guests are still raving about the food as well as the attentiveness of all the staff and servers! Everyone was so impressed! We cannot thank you enough Grandale, Author, Kylie, and Sarah!

    Sent on 10/12/2019
  • C

    Carole · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Quality!

    Grandale was amazing for several reasons:
    1. They provide three free tastings.
    2. The food is amazing and high quality.
    3. They cater to all dietary needs.
    4. They send a take home box with the bride and groom.

    Sent on 07/27/2019
  • P

    Pamela Noto · Married on 05/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not Your Average Wedding Caterer

    Professional and high-quality. The rave reviews from our guests say it all!

    Sent on 11/18/2019
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 05/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent service all around

    Grandale was on our preferred vendor list (for good reason!). All of our guests raved about the quality of the food. We could not have been happier with their tastings and experience in making our special day exactly what we were looking for. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

    Sent on 06/13/2019
  • M

    Megan · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious food, great team

    We loved Grandale for two reasons. One-the food was incredibly delicious, cooked perfectly, not your average wedding food and the 3 tastings leading up to the wedding kept my tummy happy lol. Two-Chef Author and Sarah were so easy to work with, flexible and fun. If you have any doubts just check out the restaurant at 868 Vineyards to test them out, you won't be disappointed. The cost wasn't cheap, but good food rarely is and I would say they are the most reasonable and understanding of budget of all the caterers we contacted. Plus they are WAY more responsive than most of the others. You will not be disappointed if you book Grandale, and neither will your guests!

    Sent on 12/21/2018
  • M

    Michal · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Run, Don't walk to hire Grandale! :)

    Grandale was one of the best decisions we ever made for our wedding! Chef Author and Misty were a dream to work with. Misty worked incredibly hard to make sure that every single piece of my wedding reception went smoothly and Chef Author's cooking was delicious! I wouldn't hesitate reaching out to them. They're wonderful!

    Sent on 11/18/2019
  • Jason

    Jason · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Gourmet Food - Build Your Wedding Menu!

    Grandale catered our wedding on 10/20/2018 for about 125 people. Chef AJ was amazing to work with to build the menu for our wedding. We are really into food…Grandale was by far the best choice for amazing gourmet food, a plated meal, and excellent service, all at a reasonable price. We had a NY strip steak, duck breast and vegetarian option for our guest. We worked closely with the chef to develop the flavors for our dishes, rather than just picking off a list. He understood we like blackberry with duck, so he created a blackberry compote sauce to go over our duck with polenta and haricoverts. We heard from many guests it was the best food they have ever eaten at a large event. The night of our wedding, we did run into a few issues though…we discussed with the chef and events manager we did not want a tip jar out for the bartenders (we wanted to take care of them very well personally, but not make guests feel like they needed to tip) – Grandale agreed it was not the vibe they wanted at the event either. We confirmed no tip again before the wedding. When we (the bride and groom) went up to the bar about three quarters of the way through the event – there was a tip jar out…we were not happy. We got the event manager and she quickly scolded them…we understand it wasn’t her fault, but still upsetting it was something we specifically requested not happen, and it did. We also were told it would take about 25 minutes to serve all our guests, but it ended up taking about 45-50 minutes. This delayed the night a bit. There were a few execution errors made the night of the wedding, but I would still recommend them to anyone for catering their event/wedding. I would recommend you write out specifically want you want and don’t want, and review with the manager the day of the event. The food was spectacular though – and so fun to be able to build your own menu from start to finish for your wedding!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect choice!

    We could not have been happier with our entire experience with Grandale! We received 3 complimentary tastings - the trial, the menu creation, and the final menu tasting - and each was absolutely amazing, held at their stunning reastaurant. We really value local, farm to table style food, and that was a huge part of why we chose them. But the entire team was so easy and fun to work with, and made us feel so special, which was the icing on the cake! Everyone was so responsive to our questions and was happy to go over every single detail with us. At the wedding, everything was presented beautifully and tasted SO. INCREDIBLY. GOOD! We got so many compliments on the steak! The best compliment of the night was when someone told me, "I feel like I got to know you even better through the food choices." Score! Thank you so much to Misty, Author, Sarah, and the rest of the crew for effortlessly pulling off an A+ performance.

    Sent on 10/15/2018
  • S

    Susie · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! We hired Grandale to cater our Rehearsal Dinner and it was absolutely amazing! Everyone was raving about how delicious the salad, main course, and dessert was! Thank you SO much to Misty, Grandale, and the entire staff for making it such an amazing event. They set all the places at the tables and everything just looked so beautiful! I highly recommend Grandale to anyone looking to "wow" a crowd!

    Sent on 06/28/2018
  • D

    Dominique · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale was amazing to work with for our wedding from start to finish. Misty so was so helpful and accommodating through every step, Chef Arthur was an asset in planning our menu, and Sarah did a great job as our event manager. Everyone was talking about how good the food was. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • J

    Jessa · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Grandale Catering for our daughter’s wedding weekend. Our event coordinator, Misty, was incredibly helpful throughout the whole planning process. She worked two different events over the weekend for us that had lots of moving parts, she handled it all with professionalism, grace and precision. The staff were helpful, yet unobtrusive. The food was all delicious. Chef Author and his staff created beautiful and unique dishes that also kept in mind some dietary restrictions and allergies. They worked with us to bring to fruition a lovely weekend and went above and beyond the call of duty to make it just what we had envisioned. I highly recommend using Grandale for your event.

    Sent on 05/02/2018
  • C

    Corinne · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale was incredible. They catered to our vegetarian needs, provided multiple tastings to get everything just right, and went above and beyond in coordinating all of our rentals. The food was delicious - our guests especially raved about cocktail hour which included an impressive cheese spread as well as delicious passed appetizers. And Misty herself was a solid GEM making sure everything went off without a hitch. Thank you Grandale!!

    Sent on 05/16/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best part of wedding planning was the delicious tastings. All fresh locally grown ingredients. Chef Author was amazing to work with and very helpful.

    Sent on 10/22/2017
  • H

    Helen · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale Catering did an excellent job. The guest loved the food and the service was great.

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 08/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale listened to us and adjusted out menu to fit out wedding dietary needs. They went above and beyond in their willingness to please us.

    Sent on 09/10/2017
  • C

    Claire · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Misty and the Grandale staff were fantastic from our first meeting all the way to the end of our event. The food options were delicious as were the wine pairing suggestions. Any unusual request, Misty made it happen and everyone is still talking about the event. We highly recommend them for any catering event!

    Sent on 08/29/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Grandale Farm as our wedding caterer was one of the BEST decisions that we made while planning our wedding. Misty was amazing to me all during the planning process, and Sarah was a true professional handling everything perfectly when our wedding day arrived. One of my favorite memories from my wedding day was when I spotted Sarah after the ceremony, and we both ran over to give each other a big hug! And it was a real hug - I was so happy to see her face after so many months of planning, and she was beaming with happiness for me. That's the best kind of vendor relationship you could ask for when planning a wedding!

    Sent on 12/31/2017
  • K

    Kylene · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandale was wonderful to work with. They went above and beyond in every way and made our day go flawlessly. We looked at many different caterers as food and service was one of the most important parts of our wedding day. Misty was incredibly responsive and listened well to what we wanted, providing a to die for tasting. We loved how well local and seasonal ingredients were incorporated into the dishes and it clearly showed. After our first tasting we knew that Grandale was who we wanted for our big day.


    Chef Author helped us craft the perfect menu, incorporating all of our requests and giving great feedback and customization of the dishes! We got everything we wanted and the price was incredibly reasonable for the quality and flexibility you get. What we had at the tastings (all three of them!) was exactly what our guests got on the day of. No surprises and no cut corners. We received rave reviews from all of our guests on how good the standing and passed apps, entrees, and even the salads were! Note: get the crab dip, your guests will be talking about it for weeks.

    Grandale was a HUGE part of the day going successfully. They completely handled all the setup, take down, and coordination of the rentals (ceremony chairs, cocktail hour tables and chairs, reception tables and chairs, place settings, glassware, etc) with no work from us except choosing exactly what we wanted from their rental provider Select Event Group. We had no issues come up and a large part of that was due to Grandale's professionalism and preparedness. All the staff, under Sarah's direction, were so accommodating and did everything they could to make sure our guests had a great time.

    Sent on 06/29/2017