GMK Cakes Reviews

4 | Northvale, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for GMK Cakes

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

4

2 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Marion · Married on 01/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake was the hit of our wedding- gorgeous and delicious!! We had a rose gold theme, and the cake was metallic rose gold with beautiful white flowers. It took our breath away! And Nav is a sweetheart- so helpful and caring. What a great experience! Marion and Alex

    Sent on 01/18/2018
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    GMK Cakes was top-notch! My wife and I were looking for a specific looking cake, and they were accommodating, responsive, and most extremely friendly & welcoming!

    Sent on 12/04/2017
  • S

    Zahira · Married on 02/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grandma's Kitchen really topped the cake (lol) with the wedding cake they prepared for my husband and I. It far exceeded our expectations and was unbelievably delicious. Our guests loved it and are still talking about it. Antoinette was extremely helpful, creative and floored us with her design. Highly recommended for vegans and non-vegans as they offer both cake-preparation options. Honestly I cannot encompass what a positive experience we had with Grandma's Kitchen in this review. All I can say is you will not be disappointed here.

    Sent on 03/02/2010
  • C

    Carol · Married on 08/19/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in August at the Rockleigh, and we had two possible bakeries included in the Rockleigh’s package. We went with GMK Cakes because they worked with us to get us the best deal.

    Nav from GMK Cakes was very welcoming, organized, and efficient throughout the entire process. We had a great cake-tasting experience. He was definitely willing to work with us to nail down the perfect cake, the perfect design, and the perfect price. He even stayed late for us for the cake-tasting to accommodate our schedule. We have the highest recommendations for him.

    One thing that couples who are doing this for the first time should know: The cake that comes included in the Rockleigh package (at either bakery) is pretty basic. Most fillings and flower designs are going to cost extra. Most of the cakes that are displayed at the GMK showroom and shown in their brochure include extra features. So be careful to ask what is included in your reception package. All those realistic-looking flowers are beautiful! But they add up. We ended up asking our florist to decorate the cake instead.

    GMK allowed us to have different cake types for different tiers. So we had vanilla cake for our 500 guests, and chocolate cake in the top tier for ourselves. For all tiers, we had vanilla buttercream icing, a layer of chocolate ganache in the middle, and strawberry pieces throughout.

    The cake was beautiful in the end and all our guests were very happy with it. We got huge compliments, particularly on the combination of moist cake and juicy strawberries. Personally, our only complaint is that the layer of chocolate ganache was thinner than we expected. The sample given to us at the cake-tasting was rich, thick, and decadent. It was almost like biting into a slab of chocolate in the middle of the cake. It was something we were looking forward to, and sad to miss out on.

    But, overall: fantastic cake, fantastic price, fantastic customer service. Definitely recommend.

    Sent on 10/09/2017