Glen Magna Farms Reviews

90 | Danvers, MA
See photos, pricing and details

90 Reviews for Glen Magna Farms

Recommended by 96%

90
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

13 User photos

Glen Magna Farms 1
Glen Magna Farms 2
Glen Magna Farms 3
Glen Magna Farms 4
Glen Magna Farms 5
Glen Magna Farms 6
Glen Magna Farms 7
+ 7
Sort by:
  • *

    Ginine · Married on 07/02/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dear Robin & Heather,

    Thank you so much for making our wedding so special. From start to finish, everything was perfect and it was EXACTLY how I always imagined my wedding day to be. All of our guests said that it was by far, the best wedding that they'd ever been too! The grounds are gorgeous, making our wedding pictures unbelievable. Vinwood Catering did an amazing job!!! The service, food and prices were better than we hoped. We got a lot of nice feedback from all of our guests and we will never forget our wedding at Glenn Magna. Thanks again ;)

    Best,

    Chris and Ginine Flahive

    P.S. If I could make ONE suggestion....
    I wouldn't leave the money box on the piano. That is the one thing that many guests said to us. They said it was a bad place and that a lot of people were afraid to leave the card there.

    Sent on 10/11/2011
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/02/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Glen Magna is a beautiful little esatate with very friendly staff. The grounds are amazing, and the house looked so beautiful on our wedding day. The venue is really designed for a small wedding however, especially if you want to have it inside the house (we had 55), and the sound system was somewhat problematic.

    Sent on 12/14/2010
  • A

    Alyson · Married on 05/14/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    One of the most beautiful spots on the North Shore, I would recommend Glen Magna to everyone! Heather is knowledgeable and so helpful in working with your other vendors. For the price, you cannot find anything better in Massachusetts!

    Sent on 05/17/2010
  • N

    Nicholas · Married on 08/18/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Heather and Tiffani were amazing. Very friendly, but more importantly they were organized and very professional. We didn't really didn't have everything planned to the T, so it was nice to hear their recommendations since they knew the venue and have many years of experience.

    On our wedding day Tiffani had an unfortunate family emergency. However, Harmony (who was in charge of Vinwood's services) stepped up and did an amazing job making sure our day went smoothly. Harmony had never done this before, but seemed like a natural and kept everything moving. Tiffani did come later and was very helpful as well.

    I highly recommend this venue for a few reasons. It is a beautiful venue (flower garden and new tent), the service was spot on, and we didn't have to over think things since everyone in charge was so good at what they do.

    Sent on 10/03/2018
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/07/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Glen Magna is such a unique and gorgeous venue. We had an outdoor wedding in July, everyone is still telling me how beautiful everything was. Can’t say enough great things about it!!!

    Sent on 10/03/2018
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/16/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is absolutely beautiful. The Glen Magna staff are very helpful, organized, and encouraging.

    Sent on 01/09/2013
  • User1711610 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our wedding was amazing! We had so many compliments, especially on the venue and location. Everyone loved the garden and the house and thought it was just a beautiful setting. We enjoyed working with the staff very much, and if we could would do it all over again!

    Sent on 01/10/2013
  • User4519281 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beautiful location for an outdoor wedding. Best kept secret of the northshore. Heather King was super experienced and very helpful and quickly responded to my many many emails. The mansion is beautiful, the ground impeccable. We had out ceremony and reception both on the property which was cheaper and very convenient for guest, vendors and us!

    Sent on 11/02/2014
  • Colleen

    Colleen · Married on 10/01/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Glen Magna is a beautiful venue; the inside of the mansion is gorgeous, and the gardens are wonderful, even in October. All of our guests commented on how beautiful the gardens and house were, and they really seemed to enjoy spending the ceremony and reception time there. The coordinators definitely know what they are doing, and will help to orchestrate the walk-through before, the rehearsal, and the day of.

    From our interactions with both of the wedding coordinators, Heather was more up-front and attentive to our needs as a couple. Robin came off, on several occasions, as a used car salesman with double-speak and trying to send business to specific friends/colleagues. We did have some issues getting in touch with the coordinators and scheduling visits, given that they tend to only be on-site a couple of days per week, and the weekends (from early spring through late fall) are completely scheduled for weddings. (So, if you're coming from out of town, it is very difficult to make a time work.)

    Ultimately, if we were doing it again, we would definitely use Glen Magna again, and we were really happy with the results on the day-of our wedding.

    Sent on 10/10/2011
  • J

    Johanna · Married on 09/18/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Glen Magna Farms was a great wedding venue-- the staff was super professional, patient, and helpful.

    Sent on 10/05/2010
  • A

    Angela · Married on 09/01/2012

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Glen Magna Farms is beautiful, and for this reason, I would absolutely get married there again. The grounds are large and pretty and the house has interesting rooms. We had a wedding planner of our own, so we didn't rely as heavily on their day-of coordinator, but during our meeting with our caterer, the venue staff, and our wedding planner, I frequently felt that the venue staff wanted us to do things in a certain way, even though it wasn't clear it was necessary to do so. Certainly not enough to undo the beauty of the place, but loses a bit for professionalism and flexibility. The venue is expensive (the price list is on the website), particularly given the additional cost of tent rental (only one company allowed) but it is nice that the price varies by day and season.

    Sent on 01/18/2013
  • User4494480 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    This venue is beautiful and classic New England. All of our guests commented on how they never knew Glen Magna existed, despite having grown up or lived in the area. The gardens and property are very well maintained and are very beautiful. We had a tent wedding, which worked well for our 100+ crowd.

    While I would definitely recommend this venue to another bride, I would make the strong suggestion to insist on working with a different coordinator than we did. We worked with Paige Plourde and she always just struck us as annoyed that she had to do anything and often we ended up being passed over to one of her co workers (Heather was great!!). Over the course of 6 months, we only sent 7 emails, so we were not that demanding. Also, when we went for our final run-through meeting Paige had failed to send us the checklist of important 'day of' questions. Also...she never sent any sort of follow up email, or 'Thank you' for using our venue. All of those things put together are why I have to give this a 3.5 / 5 for value, because whatever portion of our site fee went to pay Paige was, in my opinion, a waste of money.

    Sent on 10/22/2014
  • User2976210 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This wedding venue is absolutely perfect for an outdoor wedding. The gardens are spectacular and make a beautiful backdrop to your wedding pictures. The only drawback is Robin, one of the provided wedding coordinators. She was extremely helpful and detail oriented until the day of the rehearsal and the wedding. At the rehearsal, she seemed distracted and was curt and rude to family members and the wedding party. On the day of the wedding, we were told 2 hours before the wedding that we had 5 minutes to "call" the wedding because of rain and we were to have it in the reception tent. The forecast called for clearing weather so we decided to stick with the plan of having the wedding in the garden. From that point on, Robin turned hostile towards me and the entire wedding party and musicians. She insulted the DJ to the point that he packed up his equipment and started loading it in his car. We had to pay him extra to stay. The sound man packed up and left. Fortunately at this point, Heather, the other wedding coordinator stepped in and took over. She was calm and apologetic about Robin's behavior and saved the day. The guests had no idea about the behind the scenes drama! In spite of Robin, we had a beautiful wedding and a fantastic time and we would recommend this venue to anyone - with of course the exception of Robin!

    Sent on 01/13/2013
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/01/2016

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    When I first went to Glen Magna Farms I was in awe, this place is very very beautiful, and the grounds crew takes such good care of the outside of the house. The garden is beautiful, and an amazing place to get married....if it doesn't rain. However, if it does rain there is an indoor option, which is still beautiful. If you go with this vendor you must use the tent company that they tell you, and pick one of 5 caterers that they tell you. I worked only with Heather at the venue. Just a heads up every time you go to the venue, don't get there early because you spend about 15-20 min standing outside waiting for someone to answer the door. Even on the rehearsal day we were told to bring all wedding items, and we accidentally got there an hour early, just trying to beat traffic because we travel from an hour away without traffic, let alone in afternoon traffic. We were told that we would not be "received" for 30 more minutes. Heather was good about keeping everyone on track to make the rehearsal as fast as possible. The day of Heather kept things running smoothly. The day of the event you can get there 2 hours beforehand and you have one hour of clean up after the event.

    Sent on 10/08/2016
  • ttn452

    Thao · Married on 10/10/2010

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    This intimate venue is beautiful and a great value. The venue fee included use of all the grounds, entire house, and tables and chairs. GM only books one party per day so we didn't feel rushed to be in and out, either. Also, you're allowed to buy alcohol from vendors other than the caterer, which is a huge money saver. The downsides are that renting tenting (if applicable) can easily double your costs. We opted to have dinner inside the house to cut on costs, which was also very nice. Also, our event planner Janice was minimally helpful and a huge downer on our wedding day. Not only did she have a sourpuss attitude the entire wedding day, it felt like she resented being there all night (and our wedding ended on the earlier side at 9:30pm). She was like having a splinter in your finger on what could have been the "happiest day of our lives". She was late on both our rehearsal day and wedding day, leaving our wedding party and vendors to wait to be let into the house. I wouldn't recommend working with Janice if you decide to host your wedding at GM. Aside from Janice, our overall experience was good.

    Sent on 12/12/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review