54 Reviews for Friendly Crossways

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Accommodations (4)
Cocktail Reception (4)
Uncovered Outdoor (3)
Buffet (3)
Hors d'Oeuvres (3)
Server(s) (3)
Parking (3)
Dessert (2)
Family Style (2)
Plated (2)
Barware (2)
China (2)
Flatware (2)
Wheelchair Access (2)
Indoor (1)
Event Planning (1)
Outside Cake (1)
Outside Alcohol (1)
54 Friendly Crossways Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We had a super fun wedding weekend at Friendly Crossways. You and all your friends can sleep over at the house (a refurbished farmhouse) for 2 nights. Their home-cooked catering is excellent. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Alex, 6/8/18, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Friendly Crossways was everything we could have imagined and more for a perfect wedding weekend. The setting is gorgeous and will make any weather situation magical. Our friends enjoyed the hostel and land so much that we plotted ways to come back as a group. Our parents had wonderful long conversations with the staff during the day and late night when things were not hectic. The fire circle surrounded by loved ones to start the weekend and to end the wedding helped make it all a dream.

For planning, Mary and Lisa were very helpful and communicative on all details and all the various questions that came up along the way. They are very experienced and handled a lot of details that made the important event smooth including building a beautiful and highly functional bar setup. On the day of, Keith was available to troubleshoot a leaky situation with our friends due to heavy morning rain. For catering, Mary created a vegan/vegetarian menu and made accommodations for several preferences and allergies. My best man and other meat eaters, who joked about needing to bring their own food, could not stop telling us how much they enjoyed the baked zucchini. Skip the traditional cake and go with pies, that is a command, not a suggestion :).

For those looking to have a full weekend wedding and go rain or shine outdoors, this is definitely the spot to have it. There is a lot of DIY elements so be prepared to put in the effort and your design hats. We also could not have pulled off a successful event without the help of many friends pitching in, especially one who we had 100% trust in and acted as our liaison/coordinator and made sure things happened better than we could plan them. Go with Mary for the catering, take advantage of using the kitchen for group brunches, and make sure to ask Mary and Lisa for their suggestions in planning and design as their feedback helped tweak things in better directions.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Thien, 8/5/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The owners of this beautiful wedding venue are personally involved in planning and putting on each and every wedding. This is exceptional, as are their terms...where else can you rent a beautiful pastoral hostel/retreat center that sleeps 60 people for an entire weekend for a flat fee?

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Paul, 7/29/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Friendly Crossways was the most wonderful place to have a wedding! My husband and I got married there this past summer, and we could not have asked for a more perfect location and venue. It was so great to have the hostel exclusively for the entire weekend. We had our rehearsal dinner right there at FC on Friday, and the wedding was Saturday evening, and then we had a brunch on Sunday morning, and Mary Helan and Keith were so helpful and accommodating and flexible the entire time. We enjoyed our rehearsal dinner on their beautiful front porch, and had a great evening at the fire pit both Friday and Saturday after the wedding. We had a very DIY wedding, and it was perfect having Friday afternoon, and all Saturday to set up. It made the entire setting up process so much more relaxed and enjoyable than it would have been at a traditional venue where we only had 6-8 hours. Because of this, on the day of the wedding I was extremely relaxed and calm, which is what every bride needs on the day of their wedding. They were so helpful of special requests, and they really try to make the entire experience relaxed and carefree for the couple. All of the staff were tremendous and went above and beyond the call of duty. The food was incredible, Mary Helan is an amazing chef, and she truly does not made a bad dish. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect, and FC was the perfect spot for an outdoor, countryside wedding celebration. I would recommend Friendly Crossways to anyone who wants a beautiful wedding that you will remember for the rest of your life!

Profile Picture Alison , 7/29/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We are so happy that we chose Friendly Crossways for our July 2017 wedding! The spot was overflowing with flowers and green in the summer, and perfectly reflected the relaxed environment that we wanted for our wedding weekend. We were easily able to host a large group of friends and family on-site, which we wanted.
Mary Helan and Keith were wonderful hosts, and their expertise in putting on weddings helped tremendously. Communication throughout the process was excellent, and they were always very responsive to our questions and requests. The food! I can’t forget to mention how wonderful the meal was. I am so pleased with every aspect of our wedding weekend at Friendly Crossways.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Emily, 7/8/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Mary and Keith at Friendly Crossways did so much behind the scenes to make my daughter and daughter-in-law's wedding weekend a magical and wonderfully pleasurable time for all who came to celebrate. I can't imagine a better place to have held this joy-filled event - a venue that many people said felt just right for who this particular couple are and for the people they love and who love them. Those who go to - and stay at - Friendly Crossways to celebrate important events are lucky indeed, including getting to enjoy Mary's amazing cooking.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Deborah, 5/28/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

From the very beginning Mary Helen and Keith made us feel welcome and excited to have our wedding on their property. They were accommodating to all of our requests, including our wedding meal of pulled pork and mac and cheese. There is so much room for the bridal party to stay on site, and additional guests as needed. As our friends are from all over the country, it was perfect to be able to have everyone together from Friday-Sunday. Keith also went above and beyond to make sure that a very important light fixture was hung in the tent. Words cannot express our gratitude for making our day perfect!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Lauren, 5/20/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

My husband and I knew as soon as we saw Friendly Crossways, that this was the only wedding venue for us. We loved that we could add our own personal touches on everything and that we could spend the entire weekend with family and friends. Mary Helen and Keith were great, helping us work out all of the little details so things could come together smoothly. Even when it rained during our ceremony, they did everything they could to make our outdoor ceremony work and keep our guests as dry as possible. We also had Mary Helen cater, and the food was delicious! All of their staff was fun, friendly and professional. We could not have asked for a better place to get married!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jennifer, 10/1/16, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Our wedding weekend could not have been a more wonderful experience, and we have Friendly Crossways in large part to thank for that. Mary Helan and Keith understood the event we wanted to have from the very beginning, and were always responsive in answering our questions along the way. The few hiccups we hit in planning were mostly due to being first time event planners, but in spite of the work it took to pull it off, we couldn't be happier. For a laid-back wedding with lots of time to spend with family and friends, we can't imagine a more perfect venue.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User7060431, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We are SO happy that we found Friendly Crossways for our July wedding! It was a magical weekend (complete with a double rainbow overlooking the fields!) with a beautiful venue, delicious food, and an incredibly personalized touch (we were the only guests on-site for the entire weekend).

When we began our wedding search, we realized that one of our biggest priorities was creating a sense of genuine community and hospitality for our family and friends. Friendly Crossways was amazing place to do just that! We loved having the retreat center and property for a rehearsal dinner picnic the day before the wedding AND a Sunday lunch the day after the wedding-- it was a beautiful and relaxed gathering spot for people to come together! In the months leading up to the wedding, Mary Helan was a responsive and helpful point-of-contact. She answered our many questions thoroughly and with many great ideas and we particularly appreciated how she worked with our budget in creative and thoughtful ways!

During the wedding weekend itself, Mary Helan, Keith and their staff were very welcoming and also gave us the space to feel like we truly could feel at home in the retreat center. They really seemed to share our joy and helped us create a very personalized, special day!

This is certainly a "do it yourself" style venue--- it will be up to you to coordinate vendors, to create your vision, to delegate tasks-- but through the decision making and work of this, you will be SO supported by Mary Helan and will feel like your wedding weekend is in very very good hands.

We are so delighted that we chose Friendly Crossways for our wedding!
- Julie and Alyssa

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Julie, 7/23/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Having our wedding at Friendly Crossways made for a seamless, authentic, and welcoming weekend for us and all of our guests; the venue did an excellent job of tying together all the individual parts we had planned to make for a breathless and spectacular event that was everything we wanted. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue to any couple who is looking to have their wedding in a beautiful setting with the feel of a weekend retreat!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Megan, 5/28/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We had our wedding last month at Friendly Crossways, and it really was the perfect venue for us. It was very important to us to find a place that felt relaxed and that gave us the time and space to spend with all our guests who'd traveled so far to celebrate with us. Friendly Crossways was all those things! We loved having the venue for the whole weekend, which was easy for our guests - especially those who stayed at the venue with us. As a bride, it was lovely not to have to travel anywhere the day of the wedding, and so I felt quite relaxed and unhurried. My only regret is that we didn't start the wedding a bit sooner (we started at 4:30). I found myself wishing we'd had a bit more time for the reception, but that may just be that we were having so much fun and didn't want it to end!

Mary Helan and Keith were so wonderfully helpful and kind - they really make you feel that your wedding is not just a business transaction but a special occasion to be celebrated. They made sure everything ran smoothly, and Mary Helan's food was absolutely delicious - the guests raved about it! I only wish I'd gotten to eat more of it! We especially loved the fire circle and our guests really loved the lawn games as well. Everyone had such a good time and so many people asked us how we'd found this wonderful place! I'm so glad we chose Friendly Crossways!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Hannah, 5/21/16, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

We had our wedding at Friendly Crossways last August and it was nothing short of fabulous! Friendly Crossways helped us create a weekend wedding experience we didn't know was possible in the Boston area. Friday and Saturday night, 30 of our friends and family stayed over and everyone had a blast. Mary Helan was somehow present whenever you needed her, but never in the way. We saw Keith less, but everything went off without a hitch, so I know he was doing behind the scenes work to make things run smoothly. Mary Helan also catered our reception and everyone was raving about the food! She and Keith were both extremely professional and helpful. If you're looking for a local destination wedding with laid-back, yet professional staff, this is the place for you!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Bethany, 8/15/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My husband and I LOVED Friendly Crossways, and so did all our guests. It was the perfect setting for our laid back and casual outdoor wedding. Everyone was wowed by how beautiful and idyllic the grounds were. It was a truly magical place to get married. We loved everything about it. The venue is beautiful and magical, Mary Helan and Keith are such wonderful people, and Mary Helan's food is to die for. We spent the entire weekend at Friendly Crossways with family and friends and the venue created a perfect setting to make our unique vision a reality. Mary Helan was a pleasure to work with. She was accommodating, communicative, and was invested in helping us achieve our unique vision. Let me break it down for you because there is so much to rave about! (1) The property is large. There were at least 3-4 different sites we could choose to have the ceremony. They allow you to have your ceremony wherever you'd like on the property as long as it isn't too close to the honey bees :) On site lodging made everything better – we had 45 friends stay with us! Keith made a campfire both nights our guests loved. (2) Keith + Mary Helan They were committed to helping us make our wedding day exactly how we envisioned it. We corresponded frequently leading up to the wedding and Mary Helan was always quick to respond. She was understanding that wedding planning can be overwhelming, and kept reminding us to have fun with our planning. It was such a relief to work with someone who is as laid back as we are. MH listened to the vision we had for our wedding and helped us actualize it. It was awesome that she was invested in making our wedding feel as uniquely like "us" as a couple, as we were striving for it to be. (3) The Food: FC catered and the food was incredible. Great vegetarian options. Many ingredients came from her garden and everything was fresh. She made delicious pies, using her own blueberries! She provided large and diverse menu options. If I could I'd give more than 5 stars!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Rebecca, 8/1/15, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Videography
5.0

Friendly Crossways was the PERFECT venue for our wedding. We wanted a spot that would let us have a welcoming, down-to-earth, ROCKING party, and that was exactly what we got. Mary Helan was hugely helpful throughout the whole planning process. We opted to use her in-house catering, and we're glad we did! The best part of having our wedding at Friendly Crossways was being surrounded by friends and family who stayed at the venue all weekend. We'll forever remember the late nights in front of the fire pit with all our loved ones. Thank you, Mary Helan and Keith!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User5105597, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Friendly Crossways is absolute perfection. We had the most glorious wedding weekend that we could have possibly imagined. Everything about everything was perfect. Our wedding was in October and the colors in Massachusetts were gorgeous. The space was accommodating and comfortable, the owners are flexible and are delightful to work with, the outdoor space is beautiful, and we were able to plan everything to our liking. I can't imagine getting married anywhere else.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Adrianne, 10/11/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Mary and all her staff made our wedding weekend unforgettable! She went above and beyond; she even cooked a Venezuelan meal (first time ever and it was delicious!!!). The venue is definitely unique. Our family and frineds from out-of-state/country had a wonderful stayed at the hostel. This venue gives you a whole weekend event not just couple hours. We couldn't have picked a better place to have a dream wedding (rain or shine :-) Thank you!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Vero, 9/13/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Planning our wedding at Friendly Crossways was easy and fun, and the weekend itself was relaxed, beautiful, and delicious! Much of the food came from the host's garden and tasted great. We were also allowed to use the kitchen and dining hall for more casual family gatherings. The host of the venue is professional and experienced with a quirky sense of humor that made the entire event lots of fun. And...a fantastic fire pit!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User4335525, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Unique Services (Other)
5.0

We had a American/German wedding at friendly crossways. We got a warmly welcome, see a very professional preparation for all guests and the couple. We celebrating in a tent what was prepared in the appropriate colours of the couple, with a nice dancefloor and enough space for our special German wedding - games. The owners helping us to fulfill our special wishes, the rooms were well prepared and the food was exellent. The ceremony was warm and emotional for all of us and the special location in front of the stones made it perfect. Thanks to the owners from the German group of the wedding .
the grateful German father in law and the whole family+

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User4636936, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding weekend at Friendly Crossways was truly blissful! Having friends and family with us onsite from Friday night until Sunday afternoon left us with lasting memories we couldn't have gotten elsewhere. It felt like we were all staying at a big family house, complete with the smells and sounds of our family and friends making breakfast together when we woke up on Sunday, we all got to relax with coffee overlooking the countryside and chat about the night before. And what a night! We had the space and flexibility to create just what we wanted, with lots of beautiful lawn for games, a big bonfire and candlelit cocktail tables outside. Plenty of room for a huge tent, with an oversized dance floor and stage for the band. Mary Helen did the food which was amazing, she knows her stuff and everything ran smoothly. The steak tips are seriously good. And the view of the surrounding fields and countryside really make the perfect backdrop for a fun, private event to let loose. I've had several friends tell me it's the best wedding they've been to and I'm lucky to have found it, and I agree :) Thanks Mary Helen!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Colleen , 6/14/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Friendly Crossways is a truly fantastic and wonderful place for a wedding. It was really important to us to have a place that we could call home for the entire weekend and Mary Helan and Keith definitely made us feel like family. They and their entire staff were amazing. Our guests raved about the food (Mary Helan's catering is fabulous - try the steak tips!), the beautiful setting, and how much we were able to make the whole event feel unique and special (bonfire and smore's after the reception was a huge hit). Many of them joked that they thoroughly enjoyed spending a weekend at our "country home". We loved being able to play lawn games during cocktail hour and serve our own homebrew at the reception. You can make the event as DIY as you like and if not, Mary Helan can recommend vendors to fill just about any need. The whole weekend exceeded anything we could have imagined and feel very lucky to have found such a special place for our wedding.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Susannah, 10/5/13, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We recently hosted a "vintage carnival" themed wedding at Friendly Crossways. When I came up with this theme I realized that it required a very specific type of venue - one that would allow us to keep such a fun theme classy, one that would still have a beautiful location for our ceremony, and one that would allow us plenty of time for set up! Friendly Crossways provided this and MUCH more. My family lives all over the country, and my husband and my families had never met prior to the wedding. Being able to rent the grounds for the entire weekend allowed for the most beautiful part of our wedding, which was being able to spend time with those we don't see often enough and watching our two families blend. We truly had a beautiful wedding. Our rehearsal dinner (a BBQ on the porch) was absolutely delicious and we immediately started to feel like Friendly Crossways was our home and the staff was our family. Having sleeping arrangements on site was so wonderful, it allowed us all to spend more time together and also not worry about anyone drinking and driving. The grounds were spectacular for our ceremony, the tent was gorgeous, and it was so fun to leave our reception and go to a bonfire with our friends and family for continued fun. After the bonfire we went back into the basement and continued the fun with our friends playing games, and some of the staff even joined us! It was so much fun, the entire weekend truly was magical. Mary Helan was incredibly helpful and responsive during the year or so that I spent planning, and her food was so great, I definitely recommend using her as your caterer. This is the perfect site for anyone who wants a green, DIY wedding where they can relax, connect with family and friends, and just have a beautiful time. My guests haven't stopped raving!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Marissa , 9/14/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I cannot thank Mary Helan and Keith enough for a beautiful wedding weekend. Patrick and I wanted a casual, laid-back setting where people could stay over and relax for the weekend with us. Mary Helan and Keith were always very quick in responding to any questions we had during the planning process. The house is beautiful and cozy and the backyard was a stunning setting for our wedding. The food was delicious (we had lime-marinated grilled chicken and tomato corn pie) and people throughout the night were commenting on how great it was. I could not be happier with the experience I had working with Mary Helan and Keith and I highly recommend them as a wedding venue and caterer.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Laura, 8/24/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Everything you will read in these reviews about Friendly Crossways is true—it is a magical place to be married. The grounds are stunning, peaceful, and romantic. Our guests described the setting and the feel as “idyllic,” a “sylvan paradise,” and “elegantly simple, simply elegant.” In the two nights and three days we spent there, we felt our families blending in a way we could not have achieved with a single evening event or even by staying several nights at the same hotel. While we were excited to find Friendly Crossways from the very beginning, we were completely sold when we met Mary Helan and her gracious family and tasted her delicious food. For the wedding we had sea bass, couscous, vegetable pie, and asparagus and everything was fresh, flavorful, and hearty but light all at the same time. A friend who was at her fourth of four weddings this summer, including one at a very upscale hotel, said this was the best food she’d had at any of them (and she shared this as she filled up on her second plate!). Mary Helan is incredibly helpful and accommodating, and although she hosts many weddings, she made me feel like her only bride. She welcomed information about our guests to ensure that she accommodated allergies and dietary preferences and even made a special effort to have peppermint stick ice cream from a specific local vendor on hand for my grandmother. The lack of central air on an unusually hot weekend in July was challenging, but the rooms have window fans and the living room/conference area has an excellent a/c unit. The ceremony space was also shaded enough by the start of our 4:30 pm wedding ceremony that our guests were comfortable, and the evening cooled significantly. The weekend was even lovelier than we had imagined it would be, and we couldn’t be happier that we chose to spend this special time at Friendly Crossways.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Naomi, 7/6/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue